Beast masters of the Circle Orboros are right to be proud of the powerful warbeasts they add to their order’s arsenal. When large numbers of these beasts are brought together, they can deal a decisive blow against the Circle’s many enemies. The warbeasts’ natural ferocity fuels them in battle to eradicate any opposition.
Theme Rules - Remix
Rules subject to change - 2019 Theme Remix
All existing theme forces will be changing from the "free cards" system into a new "Requistion Points" system. There will be an interim period from the start of 2019.08 to mid 2019.09 where players can use whichever system they prefer.
The new version is not "officially" available. The info below is from a spoiler.
In the Remix, Call of the Wild has been merged with The Wild Hunt
Theme Rules - Old version
Old Restrictions [Show/Hide]
An army made use the Call of the Wild theme force can include only the following Circle models:
Old Bonuses [Show/Hide]
- This army can also include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Circle.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Circle] rule.
- Minion units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
- For every full 25 points of living Circle warbeasts in this army, you can add to the army free of cost either:
- one Circle solo, or
- one Shifting Stone unit.
- The COST of all animi cast by warbeasts is reduced by 1.
- Gain +1 to your starting roll
2019.07 Theme Remix
Thoughts on this Theme Force
Call of the Wild in a nutshell
Ever go "Hmm I want to tear everything apart with packs of warpwolves"? Then this is the list! Also the animus cost bonus makes it very viable to start casting them like crazy. With Blackclad Wayfarers giving hunters mark your warbeasts are going to be extremely economical in thrashing things (as long as your support pieces live of course).
In terms of what models are available, there's a lot of overlap with The Bones of Orboros and Secret Masters, so any of the three themes are a good option to start a new Circle collection.
Reduced Animus Cost
It's true, a warbeast with a COST 1 animus will have it reduced to COST 0 and be able to cast it for free in this theme!
Barring enemy debuffs increasing the COST back up again, that is. Remember that when altering the COST of something, you do multiplication/division first, before addition/subtraction. So for example:
- Versus Lamentation (which doubles the COST): COST 1 on the card, when the warbeast tries to cast it Lamentation and the theme benefit apply "simultaneously".
- A COST 1 animus will double to 2, then the theme reduces it to 1.
- A COST 2 animus will double to 4, then the theme reduces it to 3.
- Versus Scaverous's feat (which increases the COST by 1): The cost will increase by 1, then decrease by 1, so you'll end up just paying the normal cost.
Special mention Tanith1's feat which is kind of counterproductive in this theme, because it imposes a "minimum cost 1".
- Animi that normally cost 3, will cost 2 on non-feat turns and cost 1 on feat turn.
- Animi that normally cost 2, will cost 1 on all turns.
- Animi that normally cost 1, will cost 0 on non-feat turns, and go back to costing 1 on feat turn. Like I said, counterproductive.
Refer to Infernal Ruling (link in the #Rules Clarifications) for full explanation about Tanith.
- No normal units aside from shifting stones and minions. This is bad when you need such units to win.
- Running pure beasts in high point games gets tricky as opposed to pure jacks. Make sure that Fury is under control!
List Building Tips
- The problem with the free models isn't what to take, but how many of which you want! Try to find your sweetspot of Stones, Stoneshapers, and Wayfarers. Wilder is a must though.
- It may be useful to have a minion like Maximus to have a combat solo, or a Gremlin Swarm for contesting.
Building Call of the Wild at 25 points
Call of the Wild is a good list to start with - and if you can't think of anything to use here's a good place to start that manages to fit ten free points into a 25 point list.
Casters of Note
- Oh hi Kaya1, Kaya2, Kaya3. Whats that? You don't do anything to help infantry? Only Beasts? Oh my!
- Taking Una2 prevents you from taking Una1, who is the only Circle Lesser Warlock available.
- Released in the themeopocalypse (2017.09)
Other Circle models/themes
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Rerolling the starting roll [Show/Hide]
- If the original dice roll is a draw, you can choose to either use your theme-benefit-reroll (TBR) on your die only, or let both players reroll the dice and save your TBR for later.
- If you lose the original dice roll, then use your TBR and get a draw, then that's your TBR used up. Both players will now reroll the tie normally until there is a winner/loser.
- If both players have a TBR and the original roll is not a tie, then the loser will reroll (unless he really wants to lose). If his new roll results in:
- If the loser is now the winner, the ex-winner can use his TBR to try and beat it.
- If the loser is now tied with the ex-winner, then the ex-winner can choose whether to use his TBR or save it for later, as described in #1.
- If both players have a TBR and the original roll is a tie, then both players reroll it until there is a winner/loser, then you can start using your TBR as described in #3.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- If your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
- they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans
- Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
- If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models". (Infernal Ruling)
- This may change with the remix 2019.08
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit
(eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]") [Show/Hide]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments [Show/Hide]
- If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
- If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a freebie, you can spread them into different units.
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Cryx - Ghost Fleet [Show/Hide]
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast [Show/Hide]
Protectorate - The Faithful Masses [Show/Hide]
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might [Show/Hide]
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance [Show/Hide]
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter [Show/Hide]
- The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)
Circle - The Bones of Orboros [Show/Hide]
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host [Show/Hide]
- Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt [Show/Hide]
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Legion - Children of the Dragon [Show/Hide]
- If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)
Skorne - The Exalted [Show/Hide]
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Trollblood - Kriel Company [Show/Hide]
- Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)
Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus [Show/Hide]
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)
Infernals - Hearts of Darkness [Show/Hide]