Theme - Bump in the Night

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1356 articles and 93% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Grymkin Logo.jpg Theme - Bump in the Night

Grymkin Theme Force
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

The grymkin are not an organized military force. They do not come to battle in regimented formations; indeed, they attack with scarcely any perceivable order at all. When a mass of motley grymkin lumber to war in the service of their masters, they advance as a haphazard but terrifying horde. Descending upon a viceridden population, they indulge in their unique appetites as they demand their due of wicked humanity.

Theme Rules

For the core rules on how Theme Forces work, see this article.

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Bump in the Night theme force can include only the following Grmykin models:

  • You may also include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Grymkin.
    These models can be included even if they have the Partisan [Grymkin] rule.
    Minion units in this army can include non-Ranking Officer attachments.

Full model list

Requisition Points

You can spend each Requisition Point pm either:

Theme Bonuses

  1. Grymkin warrior models in the army gain Rise.
    Rise - If a model with Rise is knocked down at the beginning of your Maintenance Phase, it stands up.
  2. You can reroll your starting roll for the game. Your starting game roll can only be rerolled once as a result of this special rule.

Recent Changes


Thoughts on Bump

Bump in a nutshell

Bump in the Night is an infantry theme with a focus on skirmishing. Typically this takes the form of a block of Dread Rots or Piggybacks, backed up by ambushing Murder Crows and the insane damage potential of Neigh Slayers. Bump opens up the Grymkin support options, with only one support model, Karianna Rose, restricted to Dark Menagerie. Indeed Bump can be played perfectly well as a battlegroup theme plus infantry.

At faction release Bump was in an awkward state. The pieces each worked individually well, but the theme force & its benefits were clunky and the list did not lend itself well to the kind of tactical synergies that define the most competitive lists in the game. This all changed with Grymkin wave 2. Bump is now Grymkin's default list for most matchups, a deep and compelling theme which shows off everything the faction has to offer.

Theme weaknesses

No Gremlins

Gremlin Swarms are one of the best scenario contesting models in the game. This is not a major weakness, due to the wide variety of skrimishing options available in Bump, but it is notable due to how effective these models are at triggering arcana or contesting enemy scoring positions.

No Lady

The absence of Lady Karianna Rose leaves you with no fury management outside your warlock. This again is not a major weakness for Bump, due to the strong incentive to include lots of units (or the Death Knell) instead of having a large battlegroup, as well as Grymkin warlocks generally high FURY stat. Letting beasts enrage into chaff such as Dread Rots is also a perfectly viable gameplan for Grymkin, especially if they can gain a positional advantage with the fury investment.

Skirmish Focus

All of the currently released Grymkin units fall into either the Support or Skirmish category. Support units are very useful, but do little work by themselves, existing as they do to enhance other elements of the army. Skirmishers are generally good at occupying space, but not necessarily taking or holding that space. Dread Rots are cheap and hit well above their points thanks to Weapon Master. Hollowmen have Combined Range Attack & Blood Boon via the Lantern Man, giving them a reliable source of both damage and additional bodies for the unit. Neigh Slayers have Armor-Piercing, making them extremely effective at fighting up into large targets with high natural ARM. However all of these units lack for staying power, and can easily be taking off the table by almost every kind of attack in the game. While your troops might be cheap, they die like they are cheap.

Limited Shooting

While Bump does provide access to up to two units of Hollowmen, the lack of any kind of heavier ranged attacks means that the enemy has little to fear when engaging a Bump in the Night army at range. This is a big weakness of Grymkin in general, lessened somewhat by solo options such as Lord Longfellow and the Witchwood which can provide some ranged output to support the Hollowmen.

Slow Corpse Economy

Unlike Dark Menagerie, a Death Knell in Bump in the Night does not start the game with any corpses and thus does not start the game with its defensive aura switched on. This can be a problem in the initial engagement, especially at range, often putting a soft cap on how rapidly the Bump force can advance up the table on the first couple of turns. This problem will sort itself out thanks to the abundance of weak troops which will inevitably die, but it is absolutely worth considering when playing with the Death Knell or the Grymkin heavies.

List building tips

Bump in the Night is a very open theme, with five major units (and the Death Knell) to consider as well as numerous support options. The battlegroup is even more diverse thanks to Grymkin's wide variety of unique 'beasts. Like with Dark Menagerie, Bump in the Night lists thus tend to be built around what their warlock provides. Generally speaking Bump will focus on scenario play or attrition, lacking the kind of long range threats or movement shenanigans which make assassination lists work.

  • Murder Crows are a good choice, as they gain Ambush from the theme benefit allowing them to get into the enemy army where their combination of Gang & Prey can wreck havoc on larger targets
  • Hollowmen are in many ways the signature unit of Bump thanks to their unique role as Grymkin's sole ranged unit. That isn't to say that all Bump lists must include the Hollowmen, indeed it is often better to omit their inclusion to allow you to take another unit which hits harder in melee.
  • Neighslayers are extremely hard hitting thanks to Armor-Piercing, able to trade up with little effort into seemingly impregnable targets. Of special note is how they interact with the Heretic's Fury spell, as well as his Prey-like arcana.
  • Piggybacks are very resilient thanks to Tough & Impervious Flesh, much more so than their stats would suggest. They were the Grymkin unit most in need of help, which in Grymkin Wave 2 they got with the arrival of the Piggyback Officer. Generally speaking these big boys won't see play without the Officer, though builds which merely make use of the Death Knell do exist.
  • Dread Rots are the chaff of Grymkin. Only 1.2 points per model, they are an extremely cheap source of Weapon Master which if delivered can cause disproportionate damage to the enemy. However they do need a delivery mechanism, such as Zevanna Agha's 18" Windstorm.
  • The Death Knell, while a staple of Dark Menagerie, is less so in the theme which can provide it with an overabundance of corpses. The main issue with the battle engine is how long it can take before its defensive aura becomes relevant, and how much longer it can take for their to be extra corpses to pass to a Skin & Moans (or Cage Rager, or Grave Ghoul). The Death Knell is recommended, though not essential, when running lots of Dread Rots or Piggybacks (or both). +2 ARM on the Piggybacks pushes them to 19 (20 if Grymkin Wave 2 changes hold), which with Impervious Flesh makes them immune to unboosted POW 14s.

Starting a 25 point Brawl list

In 2020.11 Jaden Iwassa, one of the LOS authors, put together this list for the Brawlmachine format. He even wrote about it's playstyle, which you can read here.

The Heretic: [+28 WBP]
Cask Imps (x2): [1 pt]
Mad Caps: [4 pts]
Malady Man: [Free] (6 pts)
Swamp Gobber River Raider: [1 pt]
Neigh Slayers (Max unit): [12 pts]
  • Command Attachment: [4 pts]

Total RRP: USD $269 (based on PP's online store prices 2021.05)

For more Brawlmachine list ideas, see Category: Brawl List

Caster Thoughts




Released 2017.09

Other Grymkin models

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick


Lesser: Crabbit

Light: Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy: Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Gargantuan: Slaughterhouse

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters


Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Defiled Archon - Four Horseymans - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Isiah, Dread Harvester - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Weird Wendell - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night Refer to Category: Grymkin Minion
This index was last updated: 2021.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Rise      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Themes that change a model's Faction   [Show/Hide]
  • Many themes swap which Faction a model counts as. They're slightly inconsistent with how exactly this is worded. Despite this inconsistency - whenever a model is considered a different faction to normal, it will not be its original faction. (Infernal Ruling)
For instance Lukas stops being a Crucible Guard model when taken in an Infernal army, and as a consequence he cannot take Toros or Vanguards in Infernals. (Infernal Ruling)
Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.


  • See also the section on Partisans
Including Partisan Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  • Since Partisans are Mercenary/Minion models, there are two ways you can add them to a theme force:
    1. If they are on the list of allowed models, then you can take as many as you want, plus another Mercenary unit/solo.(Infernal Ruling)
      They can be explicitly allowed (for example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf).
      They can be implicitly allowed (for example Scourge of the Broken Coast allows "living Cryx models" and Partisan Cephalyx fit that criteria). (Infernal Ruling)
    2. If the Partisan isn't on the list of allowed models, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so:
    • They can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description).
    For example Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • They will get any theme benefit that they fit the description for.
    For example Storm Division gives all Cygnar models Immunity Electricity, so Partisan Mercs in that theme get immunity too.
    For example Nemo4's Mechaniks get Reposition [3] in Heavy Metal. (Infernal Ruling)
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
  • Models with the Man-Sized rule count as small-based models for the purposes of being a Requistion Option. (Locked Thread)
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • With reference to special abilities that themes give to models, Ranking Officers, adding new models, and/or taking control of models:
    1. Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list or put a new model into play. A model already in play will not lose or gain any theme benefits mid-game based on any changes of faction status or otherwise. (Infernal Ruling)
    2. However, if the theme gives a benefit to models "at the beginning of the game" (such as Devourer's Host letting models begin the game with 1 corpse token) then this benefit does not apply to new models that are put into play mid-game. (Locked Thread)
    • Example 1: Sons of the Tempest says "ATGM units in this army gain Pistoleer". If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Pistoleer while under their control even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • Example 2: Storm Division gives Immunity:Electricity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
    • Example 3: Stange Bedfellows gives solos Swift Vengeance. If Nemo4 creates a new solo mid-game, that solo will have Swift Vengeance.

See also these Theme-Specific Rulings   [Show/Hide]
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Black Industries      (Edit)

  • The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models"​. Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
  • The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
  • (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : The Creator's Might      (Edit)

  • ​Elias Gade is allowed in Creator's Might. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can spend the "Two Vassal solos" requistion option on one Vassal Mechanik and one Vassal of Menoth. Warroom has a bug and tells you that you can't. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Flame in the Darkness      (Edit)

  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
  • Morrowan Battle Priest:
    • If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
      Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
    • If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
    • If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Llaelese Resistance      (Edit)

  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can have a non-character unit with a character attachment (i.e. Captain Karli). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : The Talion Charter      (Edit)

  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : The Bones of Orboros      (Edit)

  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : The Devourer's Host      (Edit)

  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : The Wild Hunt      (Edit)

  • The animus benefit doesn't apply to enemy warbeasts. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The animus benefit doesn't stack with the Druid Wilder's Herding ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Oracles of Annihilation      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : The Exalted      (Edit)

  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Band of Heroes      (Edit)

  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : The Blindwater Congregation      (Edit)

  • Void Leeches attached to a Gatorman Posse will gain Snacking, but they won't gain extra hitpoints. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magnum Opus      (Edit)

  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hearts of Darkness      (Edit)