Theme - Black Industries

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Cryx Logo.jpg Theme - Black Industries

Cryx Theme Force
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders

Cryx’s necrofactoriums churn out a seemingly endless supply of bonejacks and helljacks to wreak havoc on the Dragonfather’s enemies. These black-iron creations fall upon their prey like a pack of hungry beasts indulging in wanton slaughter. Attending the warjacks are a small army of necrotechs, ironmongers, and other specialists who keep the machines operating at peak ferocity.

Theme Rules[edit]

Theme Restrictions[edit]

An army made use the Black Industries theme force can include only the following Cryx models:

Full model list[edit]

The models allowed in Black Industries are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2018.04   (Edit)

Warcasters

  • All Cryx warcasters

Warjacks

  • All non-character Cryx warjacks
  • Deathjack
  • Malice
  • Other character warjacks can be taken, but only if they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Units

Solos

Mercenaries

  • Up to one solo
  • Up to one unit

(★) Because Cephalyx are specifically allowed in this theme, they don't use up your Mercenary slot.

Theme Bonuses[edit]

  1. You may also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Cryx.
    • These models can be included even if they have the Partisan [Cryx] rule.
    • Mercenary units in this army can include attachments, including a Ranking Officer.
  2. For every full 30 points of warjacks in this army, you can add one warjack that costs 7 points or less to the army free of cost.
  3. Cryx heavy warjacks gain Carapace.
    • Carapace - This model gains +4 ARM vs. ranged attacks and free strikes.
    • This benefit does not apply to light warjacks or Colossals.
  4. You gain +2" deployment zone.

Recent Changes[edit]

Thoughts on this Black Industries[edit]

Black Industries in a Nutshell[edit]

This is Cryx's warjack-centric theme. Infernal Machines also provides a buff to warjacks, but this one is better (for warjacks).

One of the main drawbacks of Cryx warjacks is that they get shot off the table before making it to melee. The Slayer and Seether, especially, were susceptible to shooting (as it was easy to cripple at least one arm and eliminate their special attacks). Carapace fixes this issue in spades, so at last Cryx players can field the warjack-heavy list they've always dreamed of.

Theme weaknesses[edit]

Carapace limitations
Carapace only works vs ranged and free strikes - your warjacks are still made out of tissue paper vs melee and magic. So make sure you use your +2" deployment, your superior jack SPD, and clever positioning to dictate which player will strike first.

Low model count
With most of your points spent on warjacks, and few units available, can leave you with a small force that makes it difficult to score scenario zones. This can be slightly offset by the Cephalyx and Mercenary options available to you.

If your opponent can land a few critical debuffs and stop even a few models from participating meaningfully, it can completely kneecap your army.

Also, with fewer models you potentially have fewer attacks, making it harder to deal with infantry swarms or anything else that needs you to roll a lot of dice. You can offset by having "high value" attacks - rather than hinging your strategy on lots of attacks at low MAT/RAT you have fewer attacks with good MAT/RAT.

Starting with a 25 point force[edit]

As this is a warjack-centric theme, you can't really go wrong just buying whatever heavy warjacks you like the look of. However if you want a bit better direction than that, and assuming you bought the mk3 Battlegroup starter set, I suggest you try:

25

Deathjack is an expensive, but powerful and focus-efficient character warjack that works well with many casters. With Agathia he is an excellent target for Hellwrought, and he can cast Hellfire for a bit of extra "ranged" ability.

Aiakos1 is one of my favourite solos. He can work as a focus battery, fuelling a warjack so your caster doesn't have to. He can speed up his jacks with Escort and/or make them more deadly with Grievous Wounds. Lastly, he is a decent combat solo in his own right. I put the Reaper on him for no other reason than they both have harpoons and that tickles my fancy.

The Warwitch Siren is a good utility solo, with 3 different spells that let her adapt to what is needed each turn.

The other models you'll already be familiar with from earlier games.

Warjack thoughts[edit]

Given that the normal game size is 75 points, the first thing you need to decide is whether you're going to aim for two free jacks (60 points) and leave yourself plenty of room for units and support, or whether you're going all-in for three freebies (90 points) and only going to have ~10 points of support. Also decide whether you need arc nodes, or whether you want to look at the flying jacks (the Helldiver tends to get overtaken by a fast battlegroup).

The theme doesn't benefit lights at all, so aside from the freebies you want to fill up with heavies.

  • The Seether is a good option for those Cryx casters that become focus-starved when running a battlegroup-heavy list (which is most of them). It charges for free, has high MAT so often doesn't need to boost, and Carapace makes it survive to melee - which is all it ever needed to become a good jack.
  • Slayer spam becomes a realistic strategy in this theme. In fact it's so good, every point you spend on anything else should prompt the question "Would an equal weight of Slayers be better?".
  • The Harrower can give you a way to deal with swarms of enemy infantry, with its Thresher attack.
  • The Deathjack is always popular. Hits hard, casts extra spells, and less focus burden on your caster. What's not to love?
  • The Inflictor is transformed into an ARM 23 Shield Guard.

Support thoughts[edit]

Solos that can help shift the focus burden off your caster are the Warwitch Siren, Aiakos1, Deneghra0, and the Iron Lich Overseer (ILO).

Special mention goes to the ILO who brings an ARM debuff which can make up for the sometimes pillow-fisted Cryx 'jacks. The combo of a Carapaced heavy (who has no need for the ILO's Stealth) with the Crush drive plus Dark Shroud is not to be sneezed at. Do this with a Seether and it'll hit hard enough to kill almost anything in one activation, and it won't take much more than two heavies to kill even a colossal.

However, the ILO has been somewhat sidelined since 2018.10 when Deneghra0 was released. She brings another ARM debuff and, as a "Junior" Warcaster, is generally superior to a 'Jack Marshal. On the other hand, you can take both.

Battlegroup Caster thoughts[edit]

Since this is the warjack theme, you'll want a caster that can run a battlegroup well.

Asphyxious3[edit]

Mobility speeds his jacks up and provides pathfinder. His Field Marshal makes them tougher in melee. Combined with their natural good defense, they become extremely difficult to deal with in an efficient manner. His Feat provides a potentially massive focus turn. Altogether he might be the single best caster for Black Industries.

Gaspy3, 9 Slayers
This list became a bit infamous throughout 2018 and it is, as the name would imply, 9 Slayers, 3 lights, and 9 points of support.

What makes this so strong is the combination of Unyielding, Carapace, and Mobility. Your Slayers are ARM 21 vs shooting, ARM 19 vs melee, and ARM 23 vs free strikes.

They're so fast they can rocket up the board and prevent the enemy getting to the scenario, and position themselves to avoid getting charged. If they do get bogged down they can walk (or trample) out and shrug off most free strikes.

Goreshade1[edit]

Can teleport warjacks with Soulgate, increase their damage with Dark Shroud, and provide even more anti-ranged tech with Stealth. Also, he's one of the few casters that take the Cephalyx Mind Slaver & Drudges in earnest and not for scenario reasons.

Lich Lord Venethrax[edit]

He has no trouble running large battlegroups with his Terminal Velocity spell. Free charges make Slayer spam a viable choice. Field Marshal: Countercharge is good fun, too.

Mortenebra1[edit]

She has no trouble running large battlegroups with her Sacrificial Lamb spell. All her spells are geared around buffing warjacks, when it comes to it.

Mortenebra2[edit]

Her battlegroup is more durable with the Salvage Field Marshal, her feat gives them Flank, and 2 of spells (Fail Safe and Locomotion) are warjack-only buff spells.

Middling Battlegroup casters[edit]

Skarre2[edit]

She can get good efficiency out of warjacks with her Field Marshal: Future Sight, but typically she struggles to fuel large battlegroups and tends to prefer units in her army.

Casters - Other[edit]

Scaverous Hateful Eight[edit]

This is a fairly well known list, which is more fun rather than competitive. It puts 5 character heavy warjacks in the list.

75 point list
Lord Exhumator Scaverous
   

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • Released 2017.09

Other Cryx models/themes[edit]

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC) - Deneghra0 (BGC)
Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units - Living BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates
Units - Undead

Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters - The Withershadow Combine

Solos - Living/Construct

Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Severa Blacktide - Warwitch Siren

Solos - Undead

Agrimony - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.02

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • For your solo, if you select a solo that comes in multiples (such as Swamp Gobber River Raiders) you get the normal number of solos. Not just a single model. (Locked thread)
  • As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
    • they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
    • they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
  • The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit (eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]")   [Show/Hide]
  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points    [Show/Hide]
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Number of free models   [Show/Hide]
  • If a model is normally added to your army in multiples (such as 3 Scrap Thralls for two points, 2 Crabbits for seven points, etc) and you choose to use your free card on such a model, you only get one model. (Infernal Ruling)
    • There are some exceptions, such as Storm Division's benefit explicitly saying you'll get 3 stormcallers.
    • There is one odd exception, for Children of the Dragon, where it was ruled that you'll get 5 incubi. However that ruling is an exception, not a general case.

Protectorate - The Faithful Masses   [Show/Hide]
  • A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Cryx - Ghost Fleet   [Show/Hide]
  • The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast   [Show/Hide]
Cryx - Slaughter Fleet Raiders   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Cryx unit during a game, the DSM still use up your Mercenary slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Mercenary unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Kriel Company   [Show/Hide]
  • Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.

Legion - Children of the Dragon   [Show/Hide]
  • If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Carapace - None yet. (Edit)