The Dreamer

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Grymkin Logo.jpg

The Dreamer
Grymkin Warlock

"A dreamer can dream of beautiful things, but her slumber can also nightmares bring."

Having rejected Menoth’s reality, the Dreamer chose to live within the more pleasing confines of her own dreamworld. Existence itself conforms to her slumbering visions—or is punished for its resistance. Freed from Urcaen with the other Defiers, the Dreamer imposes her phantasmal will upon the mortals of the Iron Kingdoms.

Basic Info[edit]

The Dreamer[edit]

The Dreamer
Missing Info
The Dreamer.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 15
ARM 14
CMD 7
FOCUS N/A
FURY 7
THRS N/A
HP 15
F. Field N/A
WJP N/A
WBP +28
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
N/A
N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Warlock - All warlocks come with a stack of standard special rules - most notably being awesome.
  • Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapon(s) even while in melee, but with limitations. Click the link for the full rule.
  • Future Sight - This model can boost attack and damage rolls after rolling.
  • Hat Trick - When an enemy model with a large or smaller base is boxed in the Dreamer's control, the Dreamer can replace it with a Phantasm model with the same or smaller base size. You can only have one Phantasm model of each base size in play at a time. Replaced models are removed from play.
  • Wraith Walker - At the end of your Control Phase, this model can gain Incorporeal for one round unless it gained Incorporeal during the last round.

Weapons[edit]

  • Call to Sleep - 10" range gun that does no damage.
    • Reload [1] - This model can spend fury to make up to 1 additional ranged attack(s) with this weapon during its Combat Action. It can make one additional attack for each fury spent.
    • Sleepwalker - 1) A living warrior model hit by this attack becomes stationary for one round. 2) On a critical hit vs a living non-warcaster/warlock enemy warrior model, you can take control of it, make a full advance and a basic attack, and then it becomes stationary. You can't be hit by free strikes during that movement.

Spells[edit]

If an enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock model is damaged, that model can be placed anywhere completely within 3" of its current location. A model can only be placed once by the Gate per turn.
Place a 5" AOE anywhere completely within the caster's CTRL range. While completely within the AOE, friendly Faction models gain cover. Enemy models treat the AOE as rough terrain.
  • Enfeeble - Cost 2, 8" range, Offensive Upkeep
Target model/unit suffers -2 to attack and damage rolls.
While in the caster's control range, models in its battlegroup roll an extra die on all melee attack and melee damage rolls, then discard the lowest. Manifest Destiny lasts for one turn.
  • Mirage - Cost 2, 6" range, Upkeep
Target friendly Faction model/unit gains Apparition. (Apparition - During your Control Phase, place this model anywhere completely within 2" of it's current location.)

Arcana : All Fall Down[edit]

  • Trigger - When an enemy model in the Dreamer's control disables a friendly Faction model with an attack.
  • Effect - For one turn, when an enemy model destroys or RFPs a friendly Faction model with an attack during its activation, at the end of its activation the enemy model becomes knocked down..

Grymkin warlocks use Arcana instead of feats.
At the start of every game, the Grymkin player chooses 3 Arcana Cards for that game. One card must be the warlock's unique Trump Card (above) but the other two are from the generic set.
During the game, the Grymkin player can use each chosen Arcana once, at any time that the trigger conditions are met.

Phantasms[edit]

Phantasms
Missing Info
Lord Tyrant Hexeris.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Warcaster 0
BASE Small / Medium / Large
SPD 7 / 6 / 4
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 14 / 12 / 10
ARM 12 / 16 / 18
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5 each
F. Field N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
N/A
N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • All Phantasms
    • Soulless - This model doesn't have a soul.
    • Annoyance - Living enemy models within 1" of this model suffer -1 to attack rolls.
    • Created - This model does not begin the game in play. Instead, it is created by other model's abilities.
  • Small Phantasm
    • Dodge - When an enemy misses this model with an attack at any time except when it is advancing, this model can immediately advance 2" ignoring free strikes.
    • Mark Target - While this model is in formation, other friendly Faction models gain +2 to ranged attack rolls if they target an enemy within 5" of this model and in its LOS.
  • Medium Phantasm
    • Channeler [Friendly Faction warlock] - While this model is in a friendly Faction warlock's control range, that model can channel spells through this model.
  • Large Phantasm
    • Arcane Pulse - When this model is destroyed by an enemy attack, enemy upkeep spells on model’s within 8˝ of it expire.
    • Bulldoze - When this model is B2B with an enemy model during its Normal Movement, it can push that model up to 2" directly away from it. A model can be pushed by Bulldoze only once per activation. Bulldoze has no effect when this model makes a trample power attack.

Weapons[edit]

  • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.


Thoughts on The Dreamer[edit]

The Dreamer in a nutshell[edit]

A fragile, yet powerful control caster, The Dreamer has tools to mess with threat ranges, shut down key enemy models, and support her army both offensively and defensively.

Arcana thoughts[edit]

All Fall Down is one of the more complex Arcanas. It can be especially useful if you jammed your enemy and he is forced to attack you.

Only the triggering disabled model must be in your CTRL range - once the trump has been called, model being destroyed outside her CTRL can cause enemies to be knocked down.

Three things to watch out for:

  1. Non-attack damage - Damage rolls that don't originate from attacks won't cause knockdown. Most common examples are collateral damage, electro leaps and continuous effects.
  2. Unexpected LOS - if the enemy's frontline kills your frontline, you're dead and they're knocked down. Suddenly both backlines have LOS to each other and you can expect some incoming ranged attacks at your caster and/or critical support pieces.
  3. Timing - The knockdown triggers at the end of activation, after Sprint/Reposition happened, so the enemy can withdraw to safety. Also, successful Tough rolls on troops like Piggybacks can block your Arcana working.

Spell thoughts[edit]

  • Abyssal Gate - a bit expensive spell, but can be the starting point of assassinations or removal of important enemy models
  • Artifice of Deviation - excellent protective tool for your army, and a punishing board control spell against enemies who lack Pathfinder.
  • Enfeeble - a DEF+ARM fixer against the most dangerous enemy models, which pairs nicely with the phantasms' Annoyance against living warbeasts.
  • Manifest Destiny - another fixer, this time about the MAT of your warbeasts, and make the damage level more reliable. Of course, MAT is not an issue, if you managed to put stationary upon your target with the Dreamer's gun.
  • Mirage - Makes slower models faster, and allows backing out of combats. Really good on Piggybacks to keep their Shield Walls, and still advance some distance up the field.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • If you can, you are allowed to put all the 3 phantasms into play in the same turn.
  • Killing a large based model will allow you to put any of the Phantasms into play currently not on board, not only the large one. On the other hand, killing a huge based model will not allow you to put any of them into game.
  • Killing models with the Man-Sized rule (mainly weapon teams) will allow you only to put a small phantasm into play.
  • Do you want to try an assassination run, but an enemy model is threatening free strikes? Use some cannon fodder to give your opponent free strikes (doesn't even have to be the same model), then trigger your Trump when he does so. Once the problem model is knocked down, you can continue with the previously scheduled assassination. Works especially well with the small Phantasm, as the enemy will either hit it, or will let it get into position to mark its target.
  • Manifest Destiny includes you as well, but since you have only gunfighter attacks, and your Phantasms are unarmed, they won't benefit from it.
  • All Fall Down works well against feats which would provide a second move and/or attack after the models completed their activations: if they're knocked down upon killing your models, they won't get the extra move from the feat. Such feats can be found on Stryker2, Vayl1, or Thagrosh2.
  • In a 2+ caster game, other Grymkin warlocks can channel through her Phantasm.

List Building Advice[edit]

Strategy[edit]

The Dreamer is everything except a straightforward warlock. Thanks to her toolbox she is just as good at winning with scenario, as with attrition, and thanks to her phantasms, assassination victory is also quite possible.

Theme Thoughts[edit]

The Dreamer has tools for both Grymkin themes, but her phantasms needing large bases to be maximally useful means that she only reaches her full potential in a list with lots of heavies. This just happens to be an ideal list for Dark Menagerie. The typical Dark Menagerie list (circe late 2018) includes two Cage Ragers, three Skin & Moans, three Gorehounds, and the Death Knell (with four Gremlin Swarms & a pair of Crabbits being the free cards). This list was pioneered by Patrick Dunford and won Iron Gauntlet 2018, making use of a frontline of huge bases to brick up and abuse the Dreamer's Phantasms.

Army[edit]

There are hardly any bad choices for her between her spells, the utility of her phantasms, and her gun.

  • Crabbit - to intercept the magical shooting attacks coming your way (but not spells).
  • Rattler - Manifest Destiny can trigger the Berserk+Overtake combination all the more reliably.
  • Glimmer Imp - Paralyzing Gaze stacks nice with the small phantasm's Mark Target ability

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Low defensive stats, on a par with Sevvy1 - though Wraith Walker can keep you safe from non-magical attacks
  • Susceptible for anti-magic techs
  • Models who resist knockdown, push, or stationary can cause a lot of headache
  • "Call to sleep" works only against warrior models.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • Originally released 2017.03
  • The phantasms are mockeries of various Warmachine and Hordes models.
    • The small based is a member of the Khador Winter Guard (or possibly Sorscha)
    • The medium based pumpkin man is a Lancer, who also happen to be an Arc Node.
    • The large based plush is a Skorne Titan Gladiator

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for generic warlocks (Edit)

Other Grymkin models[edit]

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup
Warlocks

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Arcana
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser

Crabbit

Light

Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy

Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks
Twilight Sisters

Solos

Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Trapperkin - Witchwood
Baron Tonguelick - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night Eilish Garrity, the Occultist

Video Battle Reports[edit]

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Arcana     (Edit)

  • Normally Arcana can only be triggered during the enemy turn. However, sometimes a free strike will allow you to trigger an Arcana during your own turn.
    • This can potentially lead to having two Arcana active at the same time.
  • Arcana can be triggered/used while the warlock is knocked down.
  • Any given warlock can't have duplicates of the same Arcana.
  • In a multi-warlock game, each warlock can't have duplicates of the other's Arcana.
  • In a Steamroller tournament:
    • You choose your Arcana cards before the start of each game.
    • You choose them on your clock. ie during your deployment time.
    • In a Grymkin vs Grymkin mirror match, one player chooses on his clock, then the other on their clock, then both reveal, then deployment starts.

The Heretic - Reckoning - None yet

The Dreamer - All Fall Down   [Show/Hide]
  • Once triggered, there is no range limit to which models can be affected. An enemy model could be fighting a Grymkin model on the opposite side of the board from the Dreamer, and it'll still get knocked down.
The Child - Wrath   [Show/Hide]
  • Determine which warbeasts are currently in The Child's CTRL range before increasing her CTRL range. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can trigger this if The Child herself is damaged.
    • Say you have a warbeast at max fury that you want to transfer to. You cannot have The Child suffer damage, then trigger Wrath, then transfer the damage to the now-not-at-max-fury warbeast. Because, as per Appendix A Timing Sequence, damage transfer occurs at step 9g, but damage to The Child that lets her trigger the Arcana occurs at step 10a.
  • You can trigger this if a warbeast out of your CTRL range is damaged (although they won't get the benefit).
  • When your FURY stat drops back down to normal, any excess fury tokens are discarded.

The Wanderer - Divergent Path - None yet

The King of Nothing - Taste of Ashes   [Show/Hide]
  • There is no range limit on who gets damaged. If the nearest model(s) is 48" away, it'll get damaged anyway.
  • The warbeast that you trigger the Arcana on will also cause d3 damage to d3 models. It's not just "from then on".
  • You roll a separate d3 damage for each damaged model.
  • If multiple warbeasts are killed by a single attacker (such as with an AOE) you resolve the "d3 damage" sequentially, one warbeast at a time.
    If the original attacker is destroyed by this damage, the rest of the "d3 damages" fail to trigger because the attacking model is no longer in play. (Infernal Ruling)

  • Note that The Shadow and the Shroud Arcana have the trigger tied to your lower CMD range.
Ill Omens   [Show/Hide]
  • Note that there is no range limit on the effect of Ill Omens.
Ruin   [Show/Hide]
  • For Ruin, refer to the clarifications on Arcane Vortex. It's essentially the same in-game effect and has the same clarifications.
Sacrifice   [Show/Hide]
  • Kreuger1's feat puts AOEs in play which causes damage immediately, then damages anyone walking around in them later. Sacrifice can be triggered by the damage when the AOEs are first put in play, but not from damage taken when walking around in the AOE. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sacrifice can be triggered from damage taken the Sunhammer spell. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sacrifice can be triggered from stuff like Electro-Leap and Chain Lightning. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If your warlock transfers damage and that kills a warbeast, it doesn't count as the enemy destroying the warbeast and Sacrifice can't be triggered. (Infernal Ruling)
The Shadow   [Show/Hide]
  • The model that is advanced into must be smaller-based than the enemy model doing the advancing.
  • The only restrictions on the new warbeast are what are stated. You can cast spells on it, force it, give it corpse tokens, whatever you like.
  • You cannot trigger this by taking control of an enemy model, because it's not an enemy model while under you control.
  • If you trigger it during your opponent's turn, the warbeast will be in play for the remainder of your opponent's turn, you can activate it during your next turn, and it'll expire at the end of that turn.
  • If you manage to trigger it on your own turn (an enemy model got an Admonition move, or something) then you can activate the warbeast this turn, and it'll expire at the end of your opponent's next turn.
  • Whether you need the actual physical model for something that is only in play for one round, or whether you can use a marker instead, is a decision that must be made by the Event Organiser. A PP event will always require the correct model. (Infernal Ruling)
Accursed   [Show/Hide]
  • Enemy models can regain the abilities they lost. For instance, having Zombify cast on them.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reload      (Edit)

  • You can use Reload to make additional attacks after a Special Ranged Attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have (x2) of a weapon with Reload (such as Caine1), the special rule will only be written on the card once. But you can reload both weapons to the max limit. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sleepwalker      (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warlock      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • General
    • Damage from a feat is neither an attack nor Damage Type: Magical (unless the feat says it is).
    • FURY (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warlock's card. Fury (lowercase) refers to fury points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FURY stat, not double your fury points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warlocks are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warlock rules.
  • Reaving & Leeching
    • If you choose to Reave, it's all or nothing. You must Reave all the Fury (up to your limit) and you can't choose to "let some disappear". (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is Removed From Play, you can still reave fury off it. (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is destroyed or RFP'd while under your opponent's control then:
      1. You cannot reave fury off it. Because it is still enemy at the time it was destroyed/RFP'd, and you can't reave from enemy warbeasts.
      2. After it is taken off the table, it returns to your control and is eligible for Spirit Bond and (possibly) Return to Play stuff (like Thagrosh1's feat).
  • Transferring Damage
    • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcaster and Warlock pages respectively, for the "regular" rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argus can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • The non-caster models are trooper models but are (normally) not Grunt models. Therefore they're not eligible for stuff like Revive.
  • Steamroller 2018
    • The non-caster models can contest scenario zones & flags.
    • The caster model cannot contest.
    • The caster model can control rectangle zones and flags by himself.
    • However, to control a circular zone, the entire unit needs to be within the circle.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Gunfighter      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General
  • You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
  • A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).

Targeting

  1. Outside of melee
    • If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
  2. In melee, but didn't charge
    • If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
    • This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
    • If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
  3. Charged into melee
    • If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
    • If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
  4. Other targeting notes
    • Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
    • If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
    • Gunfighter doesn't change the RNG of your gun, it just provides you an ability to use it while in melee and imposes some targeting restrictions.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 1", that will further limit who you can target.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 0", you cannot make attacks (refer 'Weapon Statistics', page 19 of rulebook).

Attack Roll

  • You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
  • Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
  • How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
    • they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
    • they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
  • Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).

Missing the Attack Roll

  • If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
    • Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
    • but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).

Incorporeal Gunfighters

  • Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
  • Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).

Gunfighter + an AOE weapon

  • If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
  • If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.

Gunfighter + a spray weapon

  • Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
  • If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.

Units of Gunfighters

  • If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
  • Redirected attack:
    • If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
    • If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
    • If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.

Other interactions

  • Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
    • If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
    • These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
    • Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
    • Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
      • Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
      • Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
    • Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
      • Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
      • Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
  • Gunfighter vs RNG modifiers (Edit)
    • Unlike what most people might tell you, Gunfighter doesn't have a "range", it just lets the model make ranged attacks while in melee. The gun's actual RNG is unaffected though, until you put something like Windstorm (-5 RNG) on it. Then what happens is:
    1. If the gun is RNG 7, Windstorm will reduce it to 2". Thus it won't affect any Gunfighter attacks.
    2. If the gun is RNG 6, Windstorm will reduce it to 1". Thus you can only make Gunfighter attacks vs models within 1" (if you can - charging Gunfighters may be more limited).
    3. If the gun is RNG 5, Windstorm will reduce it to 0". Thus you can't make any attacks as per 'Weapon Statistics' (page 19 of the core rulebook).
    (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Future Sight      (Edit)

  • Adding/Removing dice (from other abilities)
    • If you are under an effect that causes you to roll extra dice and drop the lowest/highest (such as Star Crossed or Manifest Destiny), it goes (Infernal Ruling):
      1. Step 5a. Add/remove all dice (as per normal) except the dice you'd get from boosting (not normal, but as per Future Sight)
      2. Step 5b. Roll the dice (as per normal)
      3. Step 5b.1 Decide whether or not to boost (not normal, but as per Future Sight)
      4. Step 5c. Remove the dice (as per normal)
  • Rerolls
    • If you use Future Sight before deciding to reroll, then you must keep the boost. You don't get to "unspend" the focus/fury.
      So it would go [Roll]-[Future Sight boost]-[Reroll with boost] (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you haven't used Future Sight before deciding to reroll, then you still have the option to use it after the reroll. You haven't "lost" Future Sight just because you didn't use it the first time.
      So it would go [Roll]-[Reroll with no boost]-[Future Sight boost]
  • Attack rolls
    • With reference to the Apdx A Timing chart; Future Sight moves "Boosting the roll" from Step 5a to straight after Step 5b. (Infernal Ruling)
    • All other effects that add/remove dice are still carried out at Step 5a.
  • Damage rolls
    • Vs warjacks/warbeasts you must complete the damage roll (step 9) before rolling the location (step 10).
      If you're one of those players that roll damage and location together, you have forfeited your option to boost after seeing the dice roll. (Because otherwise you'd be like "Oh, I rolled column 4. I'll boost it to make sure I cripple the arc node.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hat Trick      (Edit)

  • If the enemy model has any effects that trigger on boxed they can resolve them first before you get to resolve Hat Trick. Refer 3rd paragraph of "Triggers" in the main rulebook.
  • You cannot use Hat Trick to RFP enemy models if you already have the Phantasm(s) in play. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Wraith Walker      (Edit)

  • Continuous effects expire as soon as you use Wraith Walker, because Incorporeal models are immune to them.
  • However you can't use WW until your Control Phase, and the damage occurs during the Maintenance Phase, so you will suffer at least one round of damage.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Incorporeal      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Damage & Debuffs
  • All spells do magical damage. Refer to the latest errata.
  • If a weapon or spell does multiple types of damage (such as Chain Lightning doing Electricity damage), then you'll still be hurt by the spell. "Incorporeal" is not the same as "has immunity to all damage types". (Infernal Ruling)
  • "Mundane" weapons can still apply debuffs to Incorporeal models, even though they can't damage them. For instance, an Ironclad could hit an Incorporeal model with a Tremor Attack and knock the incorporeal model down; Small-based Incorporeal models can be Consumeed, etc. (Infernal Ruling)

Incorporeal models moving

  • If an incorporeal model declares a charge, then they stay incorporeal until they actually make an attack. So, for example:
    • If they're Countercharged after finishing their own charge movement, they will be Incorporeal while resolving the Countercharge attack.
    • If they fail the charge, they will stay Incorporeal.
  • Entering hazards: "Enters or ends its activation" can only be triggered once each turn.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation outside the hazard, moves into the hazard and loses Incorporeal, it would not take any damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • If the Incorporeal model begins its activation inside the hazard, stays inside the hazard, and loses Incorporeal, it would take damage from ending its activation in the hazard.
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Moving through an Incorporeal model

  • A model that is pushed into an Incorporeal model will go all the way through, only if the push is large enough to get all the through. If the push is too short, the moving model will "bounce back" to where they first started overlapping the incorporeal model. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The core rules that allows models to be pushed through the Incorporeal model will override any ability/spell that uses the phrase "is pushed until it contacts a model" (such as Grip, Drag, and Catch). (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that is thrown or slammed into an Incorporeal model will end in the normal spot, and the Incorporeal model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.
    • If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (ie it's a Wraith Engine), then the moving model is repositioned as per the 'Rule of Least Disturbance'.

Other

  • Incorporeal models can engage enemy models. They can't make free strikes or bodyblock enemies, but they do prevent enemy models making ranged attacks, and everyone gets the 'Target in Melee' bonus.

Rules Clarification : Abyssal Gate - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Artifice of Deviation      (Edit)

  • For models that get a bonus from being near rough terrain (ie the Earthborn Dire Troll), then:
    • If they're outside the CTRL area they don't get any bonus, because the terrain still is Open despite the spell. There is no rough terrain for them to be nearby.
    • If they're inside the CTRL area they do get the bonus, because they're treating the terrain they're within as rough.

Rules Clarification : Enfeeble - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hand of Fate and/or Manifest Destiny and/or Signs & Portents     (Edit)

  • This buff affects any damage roll that is caused by a model, not just normal attacks. For instance, it can affect the damage roll when a Berserker explodes via Unstable. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Discard Die (Edit)
    • The dice must be discarded - you can't keep it even if you want it for a critical hit.
    • For instance: if you discard "the lowest die", need 6+ to hit, and roll a 3, 3, and a 4 ... then you must discard one of the 3s, and you'll end up with a non-critical hit with the 3 + 4.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Mirage      (Edit)

  • The upkeep needs to be paid before you can get the Apparition move. Refer Step 4 vs Step 5 of "Control Phase" in the core rulebook.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Apparition      (Edit)

  • If a model is B2B with you when you use Apparition then they will be exactly 2" away afterwards. So you can't get away from 'long reach' melee weapons.
  • Unit members must always be placed in formation. Refer to the "Placed" section if the core rulebook.
    • If a trooper can't be placed in formation (because it's more than 2" out of formation to begin with) then it can't be placed at all.
    • The unit commander is always "In Formation" by definition, so can be placed where he likes.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.

Rules Clarification : Soulless - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Annoyance - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Created - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dodge      (Edit)

  • Dodge triggers after any missed attack - melee, ranged, or magic.
  • If you shoot at a model with Dodge that's in melee and miss, Dodge will trigger regardless of whether you then hit the random new target or not.
    • The Dodge movement occurs after making the attack against the new target.
  • An enemy model with 2" melee range that is B2B with you before you Dodge, will be exactly 2" away afterwards, and thus will be able to attempt a 2nd melee attack.
  • If you're missed by an AOE attack, but it doesn't deviate very far and still hits you then: Dodge still triggers, but the AOE does damage before you get the Dodge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dodge plus Riposte (Edit)
    • If a model has both Dodge and Riposte, Dodge triggers before Riposte (Appendix A Step 12 vs Step 14).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Mark Target      (Edit)

  • The model with the Mark Target rule needs to have the target in LOS for anyone to benefit. And within 5", of course. (Infernal Ruling)
  • And the model actually making the attack also has to have the target in LOS in order to, you know, target it.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)
Channeler - LOS

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.

Caster - Attack roll

  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the dice roll.

Stealth - It affects both LOS and the attack roll

  • Since Stealth has both a LOS modifier (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed) things get a little complicated.
  • If only the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models and block LOS, but the caster will auto-miss models more than 5" from the channeler.
  • If only the caster ignores stealth, then only models within 5" of the channeler block LOS, but the caster won't auto-miss no matter what you target.
  • If both channeler and caster ignore Stealth, it works as you'd expect.
  • Stealth Examples     [Show/Hide]
    • Caster has Eyeless Sight, channeler does not.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model doesn't block LOS
        • Attack roll - Doesn't auto-miss
     
    • Caster hasn't got Eyeless Sight, channeler does.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as the attacker doesn't ignore Stealth.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model blocks LOS, so you can't target the rear model.
        • Attack roll - N/A
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Arcane Pulse      (Edit)

  • Anti-Upkeep vs a unit (Edit)
    • If an upkeep is on a unit, then all you need to do is make it expire off any member of the unit and the spell will expire from the entire unit.
    • It doesn't matter if the target is in formation or not. (Locked thread)
    • However, if an upkeep is on a single model within a unit (such as Scything Touch) then you need to dispel it off that particular model to make it dispel. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Bulldoze      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

(A) People think Bulldoze works like a bowling ball hitting tenpins.
But this is wrong because the models haven't been moved DIRECTLY away.
(B) Whereas if you move models DIRECTLY away, you bulldoze the first guy okay, but then the next one's path is blocked (shown in red), and you get stuck.

Bulldoze - General

  • Models are pushed directly away from you at the point of contact. Some players do this incorrectly, refer to the section on moving models, below.
  • You cannot cast spells or use any other "any time" abilities when you 'stop' to resolve the Bulldoze movement. It's just a pause, not a stop.
  • The size of the Bulldozer vs the Bulldozed does not matter. A small model bulldozes a large model just fine. (Just don't expect to move a Colossal etc.)
  • Bulldoze only works during your Normal Movement. This includes full advances, runs, charges, and slams, but doesn't include stuff like Reposition or Energizer.
  • You can't make free strikes against models you Bulldoze (because for them it is involuntary movement).
  • Enemy models with 2" melee range will still engage you after being bulldozed. Because they will be exactly 2" away and thus still within 2".
  • An enemy model can only be pushed once by the Bulldozer, but if you have multiple Bulldozer models then you could push the same enemy multiple times.
  • If you contact a model you want to Bulldoze while overlapping another model or an obstacle, then you can "pause" on top of that other model/obstacle while resolving the Bulldoze, then continue your movement off the other model/obstacle. (Locked thread)


Bulldoze - Charges / Slams

  • If you attempt to Bulldoze a model out of your charge lane but it does not move far enough, you can't Bulldoze again. You will continue your charge, contact it again, and stop.
  • You can use Bulldoze to get the charge bonus against models between 1 and 3" away. Simply move into B2B, bulldoze them 2" to make some more room, then you can move 2" further forward to get to the "moved at least 3 inches" requirement.
    • Similarly for Slams vs models within 1-3".
  • If you Bulldoze your charge target out of your melee range, this doesn't break the "once in your melee range the target must stay in your melee range" rule. Bulldoze is an exception. (Infernal Ruling)


Bulldoze - Moving the models
A lot of people think they can bulldoze straight through the enemy lines, like shown on Image A. But what actually happens is more like Image B. This is due to 3 important factors you need to apply:

  1. Bulldoze pushes models directly away from your base. Not at an angle. Directly. Away.
  2. If there is a model behind the bulldozed model, the model will STOP.
    • And in this situation, a model beside the pushed model is effectively behind it unless you're pushing at a perfect tangent.
  3. A model can be pushed only one time via Bulldoze.
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit the Phantasm's categories, go to Click here