Theme - The Devourer's Host

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from The Devourer's Host)
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1237 articles and 89% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
CG Storm Troopers (1 year review) Rocketman Ace (1 year review) Exemplar Interdiction (1 year review) Supreme Guardian (1 year review)


Circle Logo.jpg Theme - The Devourer's Host

Circle Theme Force
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt

Tharn art.jpg

To sow terror and reap death, blackclads who embrace the primal aspects of Orboros turn to the Tharn. With murderous howls, Tharn warriors charge from the darkest forests to strike fear into their enemies’ hearts before ripping them out and devouring them whole. These gruesome, gore-streaked combatants run side by side with all manner of beasts, intent on slaking their thirst on the blood of the Circle’s foes. Theirs is a history of violence, and their motivations for war do not stray beyond devotion to the Devourer Wurm and an attunement with the basest of instincts.


Theme Rules - Remix

CID icon.jpg

Rules subject to change - 2019 Theme Remix
All existing theme forces are changing from the "free cards" system into a new "Requistion Points" system. There will be an interim period between the end of 2019.07 to mid 2019.09 where players can use whichever system they prefer.

The Remixed version became officially available on the 26th July.

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the The Devourer's Host theme force can include only the following Circle models:

  • This army can also include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Circle.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Circle] rule.
    • Minion units can have non-Ranking Officer attachments

Full model list

The models allowed in The Devourer's Host are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.07   (Edit)

Warlocks

  • All Circle warlocks
  • Well, except for Bradigus (★)

Warbeasts (Limited)

Units

Solos

  (Warlock Attachment)

Structures

Minions

  • Up to one solo
  • Up to one unit

(★) Notes:

  • Technically Bradigus1 is allowed in this theme, but as of the time of writing (2019.06) his Stonebinder rule is incompatible with the theme's requirement for Living warbeasts.
  • The Primal Archon is explicitly allowed, so doesn't use up your "Up to one Minion solo" slot.

Requisition Points

You can spend each Requisition Point on either:

Theme Bonuses

  1. Each model in this army that can gain corpse tokens begins the game with one corpse token.
  2. One Tharn Bloodweavers unit in this army gains Ambush.
    Ambush - You can choose not to deploy a model/unit with Ambush at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model/all models in the unit with Ambush in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.

Recent Changes

2018.10 Tharn Dynamic Update

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • Game-wide Remix changes
  • Primal Archon added to the list of allowed models.
  • Freebies expanded (used to just be a Circle solo, or a Circle CA)
  • Benefits stayed the same

Theme Rules - Old

Old Restrictions   [Show/Hide]
  1. An army made use the The Devourer's Host theme force can include only the following Circle models:
Old Bonuses   [Show/Hide]
  1. This army can include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Circle.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Circle] rule.
    • Minion units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
  2. For every 20 points of Tharn models/units you can add free of cost either:
    • One Circle solo, or
    • One Circle command attachment.
    • Free models don't count towards free models.
  3. One Tharn Bloodweavers unit in this army gains Ambush.
    • Ambush - You can choose not to deploy a model/unit with Ambush at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this model/all models in the unit with Ambush in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.
  4. Every model that can start with a corpse token does start with one.

Thoughts on this Theme Force

Recent Change icon.png

Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.

See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.

Devourer's Host in a nutshell

This is a thematic Tharn army that gives you a few bonuses for playing mostly with Tharn. If anyone needs heart tokens to start with it's Death Wolves so they can survive at least some incoming fire. Remember that corpse tokens alas only boost melee rolls, so no games with the Blood Pack or Ravager Shaman.

Tharn Ravagers are not as tough as they seem at first glance. You've excellent skirmishers in Tharn Bloodtrackers, solid tough and hard hitting melee infantry in Tharn Ravagers, utility in Tharn Bloodweavers, a little ranged firepower in the Tharn Blood Pack, and sheer speed and mobility in the Tharn Wolf Riders. And then a nice collection of solos that support all of the above, plus the Death Wolves.

Theme Weaknesses

Easy to counter
The list is easy to tech against; even Ravagers go down to standard anti-infantry tech. Rapid Healing sounds good on paper, but rarely will you survive long enough to see it. Maybe it'll mean it takes 3 attacks instead of 2, to kill you.

Low Damage output
Outside your Battlegroup nothing has P+S over 13, which means you'll struggle vs ARM 18+ targets.

You'll want to bring a caster with ARM debuffs.

You may also want to put some heavy hitters in your battlegroup, as opposed to utility 'beasts.

Difficult list choices
Death Wolves and Lord of the Feast are excellent but don't count towards free points.

Starter Set

Starter set

Unlike most themes, the Tharn have a starter set. This is a worthwhile purchase as you save about 12% over buying the contents individually. The contents are:

  • A 6-man unit of Tharn Ravagers plus their command attachment.
  • A 6-woman unit of Tharn Bloodweavers plus their command attachment.
  • The character unit Brighid & Caul
  • This adds up to 34 points, plus the Ravager CA who you'll take as your first free card.

You'll notice that there is no warlock or warbeasts included.

List Building Tips

Since the errata and new releases this has become a pretty versatile theme with a lot of ways of building; a list starting with Bloodtrackers, ambushing Bloodweavers, and the Death Wolves is going to be applying a lot of scenario pressure with all the advance deploying (and ambushing) Pathfinders, whereas a list that starts off with two full units of Ravagers with their unit attachments is basically threatening to charge head on at the enemy and shatter them whatever they may be.

The Spirit Cauldron helps a lot in spreading around corpse tokens. You should really consider it as your minion unit.

The most expensive free models you can get are the Tharn Wolf Rider Champion at 7 points and the Lord of the Feast at 6 for a potential 20 free points for the army. At 5 points there's the Tharn Ravager White Mane and the attachment for the Tharn Ravagers.

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.

Warlock Thoughts

Krueger1

Deploying max Tharn and a small battlegroup. Ravagers can be protected by Gale Winds on the approach and have a 2” melee when they get there.

Kromac

He is a Tharn and thus fluffy and looks excellent.

Morvahna1

She is very good at regrowing Bloodtrackers or Tharn Ravagers. All Tharn appreciate Mortality.

Morvahna2

She likes to feat back Tharn Ravagers and rerolls can keep their overtake/heart eater chains going for a long time; she also likes feating back Tharn Wolf Riders for their position and hitting power. The Tharn Blood Pack of course have Hunter which allow them to ignore her fog of war (while the Bloodtrackers are normally forward enough to shoot beyond it)

Una2

She has Hand of Fate, which lowers the odds of missing an attack and enables a single Ravager to plough through a whole unit if he can constantly kill and buy with corpse tokens. Popular army compositions concentrate around half a dozen Griffons and two units of Ravagers plus the Death Wolves.

Baldur1

He can buff Ravagers to high enough ARM to survive light gunfire and electro-leaps, and makes them hit hard enough to kill heavies.

Iona the Unseen

She was made to run Tharn in Devourer's Host, and her entire card reflects it. She provides Dodge within her CMD, shores up their defenses with Surefoot and Phantasm, and her feat massively ups their survivability and hitting power.

Other

Trivia

  • Released 2017.01

Other Circle models/themes

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. (There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take the full FA.)
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as Order of Illumination Resolutes in Heavy Metal), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a freebie, you can spread them into different units.
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Flame in the Darkness   [Show/Hide]
  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Band of Heroes   [Show/Hide]
  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Snacking      (Edit)

  • You can use Snacking to RFP your target even if you're at full health. (Locked thread)
  • Snacking occurs at boxed, and thus:
    • Doesn't prevent abilities that trigger at disabled (such as Tough, Self-Sacrifice, etc).
    • Might prevent abilities that trigger at boxed, depending on who the active player is and whose model the ability triggered on. Refer the 'Triggers' section (pg 10 of the pdf)
    • Does prevent abilties that trigger at destroyed (such as collecting soul tokens, etc)
  • You can snack friendly models.
  • You may choose where each individual point of healing goes.
  • If you kill multiple models with a single attack (such as trampling over them) then you get to heal once for each model killed.