Tharn Wolf Riders

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Circle Logo.jpg Tharn Wolf Riders

Circle Tharn Unit

An eerie chorus of wolves precedes the attack of wolf riders. Bloodtrackers astride huge duskwolves, these warriors strike faster than most enemies can react. The wolves pull down their prey with powerful jaws, and their riders hurl javelin after javelin. Soon nothing remains on the field but meat for crows and the sound of howls fading into the distance.

Basic Info

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support As of 2019.09, PP have removed the SOS info from the Retailer Support website.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

Tharn Wolf Riders
Missing Info
Tharn Wolf Riders.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 9
STR
MAT 7
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 15
ARM 14
CMD 9
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 3 / 5
COST 11 / 18
3.6 each
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Cavalry symbol.jpg Cavalry
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • Annoyance - Living enemy models within 1" of this model suffer -1 to attack rolls.
  • Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.
  • Dual Attack - This model can make melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
  • Jump - After it makes a full advance during its Normal Movement but before it performs its Combat Action, you can place this model anywhere completely within 5" of its current location. Any effects that pervent charging also prevent this model from using Jump.

Weapons

  • Thrown Javelin - 7" range, POW 9 ranged weapon.
  • Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 12 mount attack.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2018.10 Tharn Errata

  • MAT +1, DEF +1
  • Gained Jump
  • Swapped Assault for Dual Attack


Thoughts on Tharn Wolf Riders

Tharn Wolf Riders in a Nutshell

Tharn Wolf Riders are Tharn Bloodtrackers on steroids. Same MAT, same RAT, same javelins. A lot more expensive per model, but a whole lot more mobile with Dual Attack, and effectively DEF 16 in melee against living foes. Between Pathfinder, Jump, and Reposition 5 they might be the most mobile unit in the game. How good are you at hit and run?

Combos & Synergies

  • The Tharn Wolf Rider Champion gives them Prowl, potentially allowing them to survive against shooting.
  • Veteran Leader from the Tharn Ravager White Mane, although he might have trouble keeping up with them.
  • Because of the Thrown rule, anyone that can buff their strength will buff both melee and range. Baldur 1's Stone Skin is a good example
  • Curse of Shadows on Wurmwood and Mohsar allow them to move through models and is an ARM debuff, in addition to stopping the affected model from free striking. This lets them make impact attacks without stopping and damage harder targets as well, as well as disengage from jamming models without having to Jump.
  • Kaya3 can provide them with concealment via Fog of War, which will also trigger Prowl if the Wolf Rider Champion is around. Her feat provides additional DEF and allows them to move through enemy models.
  • Morvahna2 also has Fog of War. She has a MAT buff via Carnivore, as well as allow re-rolls for attack and damage. She can also return them to play with her feat.
  • Iona the Unseen helps shore up their defenses with Surefoot, Leadership (Dodge), and Phantasm. Her feat increases their ARM, while the STR portion will affect both of their Javelin's attacks.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • They're a special order model.
  • They are expensive enough to be worth shooting. And die on average rolls to POW 12s
  • If playing hit-and-run, they don't normally do a whole lot of damage (although can make really awkward opponents to take out)
  • Not particularly hard-hitting without buffs/debuffs, even on the charge.

Tricks & Tips

  • Because they are cavalry, on a charge they get 3d6 to hit and 4d6 for damage. This makes them deceptively accurate and hard-hitting.

Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Evolution (2007)

Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Thrown     (Edit)

  • You do not add the model's base STR to the thrown spear, just modifiers. The base STR is already included in the POW of the weapon. (Locked thread)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Cavalry model with no melee weapon
    • If you have a Mount weapon but no regular Melee weapon (such as the Efaarit Scout), you can still declare a charge. (Locked thread)
    • You can make Impact Attacks along the way.
    • Once you get to the charge target, however, you can't attack it. You can't use the mount weapon for a charge attack, due to the way the Cavalry rules are written. (Unless you have a rule like Trampling Hooves.)
    • If you don't charge, the mount attack can be used as an initial melee attack.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder     (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Annoyance - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Attack     (Edit)

  • If you have multiple ranged attacks and/or melee attacks, you can intermingle them in any order. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can charge, make a ranged attack, then make your charge melee attack. Even though you made a ranged attack, that doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must complete all initial attacks before buying attacks. You can't go: Make an initial melee attack, then buy a melee attack, then make an initial ranged attack. (Locked Thread)
  • You can't use Dual Attack with a (★) attack. Dual Attack only lets you make either:
    1. Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
    2. Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
      Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
  • There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with.
  • Your ranged attack(s) can target a model you are not in melee with. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bounding Leapand/or Jump     (Edit)

  • You cannot use Jump or Bounding Leap if you forfeit your movement. "After making a full advance" is a conditional requirement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can only use Jump or Bounding Leap after a full advance, which means you can't do it after a Slam, Trample, or Charge.
  • You can use "At any time" abilities between completing your move and doing the Jump/Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Jumps & Leaps are a "placement". They do not trigger free strikes, and you can even jump over solid buildings of infinite height.
  • If you cannot advance more than 0" (for example suffering from Shadow Bind) then you can Jump/Leap. Making an advance of 0" is sufficient to trigger Jump/Leap.
  • Jump only
    You cannot use Jump if you are suffering "any effect which prevents charging". So...
    • If you forfeit your Normal Movement, you cannot Jump. (For the same reason as given above.)
    • If you forfeit your Combat Action, you cannot Jump. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you "cannot make attacks" (such as with Morvahna1's feat), you cannot charge, therefore cannot Jump. (Locked Thread)
  • Unit with Jump
    • Complete all the models' Normal Movement before starting any Jumps. Then do all Jumps (that you can do and/or want to do) before starting any Combat Actions. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Models in a unit can Jump even if they don't receive a Press Forward order (failing to be told to charge is not the same as being prevented from charging). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition     (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)