Tharn Wolf Rider Champion

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Tharn Wolf Rider Champion
Circle Tharn Solo

Scarred and battered veterans, wolf rider champions are the embodiment of the speed, agility, and ruthlessness for which their kind are known. Each has survived countless battles and has built a reputation one perfect kill at a time. Champions subdue only the most willful and physically imposing dusk wolves as mounts, regarding the training of such beasts as a challenge and desiring a hunting partner with strong predatory instincts to match their own.

Basic Info[edit]

Tharn Wolf Rider Champion
Missing Info
Tharn Wolf Rider Champion.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 9
STR N/A
MAT 8
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 15
ARM 14
CMD 9
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 8
F. Field N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 7
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks. Click the link for the full rules text.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Annoyance - Living enemy models within 1" of this model suffer -1 to attack rolls.
  • Backstab - This model gains an additional die to hit and damage rolls when it attacks from the target's back arc.
  • Dual Attack - This model can make melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
  • Jump - After it makes a full advance during its Normal Movement but before it performs its Combat Action, you can place this model anywhere completely within 5" of its current location. Any effects that pervent charging also prevent this model from using Jump.
  • Leadership [Tharn Wolf Riders] - Friendly Tharn Wolf Riders models in this model's command range gain Prowl.
  • Prowl - While this model has concealment, it gains stealth.
  • Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.

Weapons[edit]

  • Thrown Javelin - 7" range, POW 9 ranged weapon.
    • Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
    • Thrown - If this model has a STR buff/debuff, it is added to the POW of this weapon.
  • Javelin - 1" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon
    • Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
  • Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 12 mount attack.

Recent Changes[edit]

2018.10 Tharn Dynamic Update - The Wolf Rider Champ got almost a complete overhaul

  • Points cost -1
  • DEF +1, MAT +1
  • Gained Backstab and Prowl
  • Swapped Assault for Dual Attack
  • Swapped Veteran Leader for Leadership [Prowl]
  • Lost Quick Work

Analysis of Tharn Wolf Rider Champion[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Change
This model/theme's rules have recently changed dramtically, and the "Thoughts On" section has not (yet) been updated to reflect its new capabilities.

Please feel free to update the article and remove this warning.

Tharn Wolf Rider Champion in a Nutshell[edit]

The Wolf Rider champion is basically a big wolf rider with Backstab who hands out Prowl. If you like Wolf Riders then it's an elite one that costs more than two Wolf Riders. If you don't like them, then avoid them.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Tharn Wolf Riders, obviously.
  • Grayle the Farstrider can put Storm Rager on them, letting them hit a bit above their weight class. His feat ups their threat range and adds a little to their survivability against guns.
  • Iona the Unseen provides a massive force multiplier with her feat; since their ranged javelin is thrown, it also gets a POW increase. Surefoot and Phantasm ups their survivability, but you usually want it on units.
  • Kaya3 and Morvahana2 provide Fog of War for insta-Stealth. Morvahna 2 can provide re-rolls for its hit and damage, and Kaya 3 ups the Champion's DEF for one round.
  • Krueger2 can turn a model around to give the Champion an easy Backstab.
  • Tanith the Feral Song can put Scything Touch on one. Not only does it increase its damage output, but the Wolf Rider is also mobile enough to get almost anywhere on the board to spread it out.
  • The Devourer's Host - they are currently the most expensive free solos in Devourer's Host and, with Backstab, are excellent solo hunters that can get some really weird places.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • They are expensive enough to be worth shooting. But not durable enough to survive much shooting - they die to two POW 11s on average rolls.
  • If playing hit-and-run they don't normally do a whole lot of damage (although can make really awkward opponents to take out)

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • The Wolf Rider Champion can walk, Jump, and Reposition further than it can run (by 1").
  • The Champion can charge and fire its javelin off before making its charge attack roll (see the Infernal's ruling under Dual Attack).

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released near the start of Mk3 (2016.12)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Circle models[edit]

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder (Attached) - Gallows Grove - Reeve Hunter - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - War Wolf
Lord of the Feast - Una1 (Lesser) - Wolf Lord Morraig
Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2018.10

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Annoyance - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Backstab      (Edit)

  • Backstab always applies on a free strike, because free strikes are always in the back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Backstab applies to magic and ranged attacks, too.
  • For a caster with Backstab that uses an arc node to attack their target: Backstab doesn't care about the point of origin of the attack, and does not interact with Arc Nodes at all.
In other words, if your arc node is in the target's back arc & but the caster is not, then Backstab doesn't apply. And vice versa, if your arc node is in the front arc & you're in the back arc, then Backstab will apply.
  • Models with Circular Vision aren't immune to Backstab. They still have a back arc, and backstabbers can stand in it.
  • Steamroller objectives have facings, and can be backstabbed. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Before the game starts you should discuss with your opponent the facing of the objective.
    • In Steamroller 2017, objectives face towards the opposing deployment zone.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Attack      (Edit)

  • If you have multiple ranged attacks and/or melee attacks, you can intermingle them in any order. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can charge, make a ranged attack, then make your charge melee attack. Even though you made a ranged attack, that doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must complete all initial attacks before buying attacks. You can't go: Make an initial melee attack, then buy a melee attack, then make an initial ranged attack. (Locked Thread)
  • You can't use Dual Attack with a (★) attack. Dual Attack only lets you make either:
    1. Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
    2. Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
      Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
  • There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
    • If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
  • Your ranged attack(s) can target a model you are not in melee with. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bounding Leap and/or Jump     (Edit)

  • You cannot use Jump or Bounding Leap if you forfeit your movement. "After making a full advance" is a conditional requirement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can only use Jump or Bounding Leap after a full advance, which means you can't do it after a Slam, Trample, or Charge.
  • You can use "At any time" abilities between completing your move and doing the Jump/Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Jumps & Leaps are a "placement". They do not trigger free strikes, and you can even jump over solid buildings of infinite height.
  • If you cannot advance more than 0" (for example suffering from Shadow Bind) then you can Jump/Leap. Making an advance of 0" is sufficient to trigger Jump/Leap.
  • Jump only
    You cannot use Jump if you are suffering "any effect which prevents charging". So...
    • If you forfeit your Normal Movement, you cannot Jump. (For the same reason as given above.)
    • If you forfeit your Combat Action, you cannot Jump. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you "cannot make attacks" (such as with Morvahna1's feat), you cannot charge, therefore cannot Jump. (Locked Thread)
  • Unit with Jump
    • Complete all the models' Normal Movement before starting any Jumps. Then do all Jumps (that you can do and/or want to do) before starting any Combat Actions. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Models in a unit can Jump even if they don't receive a Press Forward order (failing to be told to charge is not the same as being prevented from charging). (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prowl      (Edit)

  • You can still benefit from Prowl even if the attacker "ignores concealment".
    Because even though they ignore it that doesn't change the fact that you have it, and all you need to do is have it in order to get Prowl.
  • If a debuff removes Stealth, Prowl does not reapply stealth. But this ruling is being rechecked. (Infernal Checking)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Leadership      (Edit)

  • If you have two Leaders handing out the same buff, then sometimes they stack (Bronzeback) and sometimes they don't (Exemplar Bastion). (Infernal Ruling)
  • See specific models for case-by-case clarifications.

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Thrown      (Edit)

  • You do not add the model's base STR to the thrown spear, just modifiers. The base STR is already included in the POW of the weapon. (Locked thread)