Tharn Ravager White Mane

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search

Circle Tharn Solo

Fluff

Basic Info[edit]

Tharn Ravager White Mane
Missing Info
Tharn Ravager Whitemane.png
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR {{{str}}}
MAT 8
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 15
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 8
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 5
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Heart Eater - When this model destroys a living or undead enemy model with a melee attack, it gains the destroyed model's corpse token. It can carry up to three tokens, and can spend them to buy or boost melee attacks.
  • Rapid Healing - When a model with Rapid Healing is damaged by an enemy attack, immediately after the attack is resolved remove d3 damage points from it.
  • Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
  • Treewalker - This model ignores forests for LoS and gains +2 DEF against melee attacks while in a forest.
  • Veteran Leader [Tharn] - While in this model's command range, other friendly Tharn models gain +1 to attack rolls.

Weapons[edit]

  • Tharn Axe - 2" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon
    • Brutal Charge - This model gains +2 damage on charge attacks with this weapon.

Recent Changes[edit]

2018.10 Tharn Dynamic Update - The White Mane got a total rework

  • Lost Overtake
  • Gained Countercharge, & Rapid Healing
  • Weapon lost Grievous Wounds, but gained Brutal Charge
  • Veteran Leader applies to all Tharn (it used to only apply to Tharn Ravagers)


Analysis of Tharn Ravager White Mane[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Change
This model/theme's rules have recently changed dramtically, and the "Thoughts On" section has not (yet) been updated to reflect its new capabilities.

Please feel free to update the article and remove this warning.

Tharn Ravager White Mane in a Nutshell[edit]

The Tharn Ravager White Mane is the Tharn Veteran Leader, helping everyone hit more accurately. It's also a second wave model with a reach MAT 8 POW 15 counter-charge.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Tharn Blood Pack greatly appreciate getting elite offensive stats from Veteran Leader.
  • Tharn Ravagers obviously.
  • Tharn Bloodtrackers who are an excellent skirmish screen, empowering his counter-charge. They also appreciate the Veteran Leader bonus, especially against their non-Prey.
  • Tharn Bloodweavers when you want to locust the enemy infantry
  • Both versions of Kromac, as well as Iona the Unseen, are Tharn and therefore benefit from Veteran Leader.
  • The Devourer's Host Theme allows him to start with a corpse token.
  • The Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron can load him up with corpses. Since Puppet Master lasts for one round, it can benefit his Countercharge.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Heart Eater fails against constructs.
  • Not particularly hardy even with Tough and Rapid Healing. Don't expect him to live that long outside a forest if the enemy wants him dead.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Buff, buff, buff. He really isn't very complicated.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Hordes: Metamorphosis (2009)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Circle models[edit]

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Heart Eater      (Edit)

  • The attacker needs to be the closest eligible model. For instance if you destroy a Mechanithrall from 2" away but a Necrosurgeon is in B2B with it, the Necrosurgeon will get the corpse.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Rapid Healing      (Edit)

  • A warlock with Rapid Healing can transfer damage to a warbeast, then still trigger Rapid Healing because they're still considered to have been damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Triggering Countercharge
  • You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
  • If an enemy ends an advance out of LOS, but you have an ability that lets you "ignore LOS when declaring a charge target" (such as Flight) then that does not let you trigger countercharge. Because you need to meet the countercharge trigger conditions before you can declare a charge.
  • What does trigger Countercharge
    • Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Countercharge
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • When a unit is moving, countercharge is triggered on a model-by-model basis. So you can countercharge after any model in the unit has finished its move within range, but you can only countercharge that model who just finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the entire unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

What can your opponent do?

  • Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
  • They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).

Attacks & Boosting

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.

After the Countercharge

  • You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)

Enemy "Skipping" their movement

  • If your opponent 'forgets' to move their model and didn't declare they're forfeiting movement (they just said "I'm activating this model and making an attack") then do they count as moving or not?
  • Technically the rules don't have a default condition for this, and it becomes a Sportsmanship issue for you to sort out with your opponent.
  • However, the Judges document (which is used to run all official PP events) states that the model officially counts as "Advancing 0 inches" and thus will trigger Counter Charge. Most players follow the Judges document for casual play as well.

Unit with countercharge

  • This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
  • Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
  • If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
  • If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
  • If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
  • If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).

Other interactions

  • Since Countercharge isn't an actual activation, you can't trigger in-activation stuff like Sprint or Quick Work.
    • Exception: Very rarely you can trigger Countercharge during your own activation. For instance your opponent triggers Admonition to try and move away.
  • Countercharge vs. Admonition (etc) ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation - if a model with Admonition (or similar) uses it to (try to) move away.
      • You move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge off their admonition-move.
    • In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
    • Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge).
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
    • Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
    • This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Treewalker      (Edit)

  • Treewalker does not ignore forest's concealment bonus.
  • The DEF bonus doesn't stack with the "intervening terrain vs melee attackers" bonus, because forests don't count as intervening terrain. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Veteran Leader      (Edit)

  • Veteran Leaders don't give themselves the buff, because of the "other models within ..." clause.
    • Although if you have two models giving out the buff, then they can give it to each other. (Locked thread)
  • Some versions say "friendly" and some don't. Regardless, Veteran Leader only buffs friendly models. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Brutal Charge      (Edit)

  • If your charge movement was less than 3", your first attack is not considered a 'charge attack' and thus you won't get the Brutal Charge bonus.