Tesselator

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1297 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Convergence Logo.jpg Tesselator

Convergence Light Warjack

fluff

Basic Info

Tesselator
Missing Info
Tesselator.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 7
STR 6
MAT (★)
RAT (★)
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 15
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 22
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 7
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Vector - A vector is a specialised type of warjack used by the Convergence. It swaps out the Cortex for an Induction Node, and this changes how it gets access to focus. Also its MAT & RAT is always equal to its controller's. Click here for a full rundown
  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Flight symbol.jpg Flight
  • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.

Weapons

  • Pneumatic Trajectile (x2) - 9" range, POW 10 ranged weapons
    • Reload [1] - This model can spend 1 focus point to make one additional ranged attack with this weapon during its Combat Action.
    • Volume Fire - Gain +1 to attack and damage rolls with this weapon against medium-based models, and +2 vs large- and huge-based models.
  • Bash - 0.5" range, POW 0, P+S 6 melee weapon

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions
    • There are three Convergence Partisan models that, between them, can take this warjack in a plethora of Mercenary, Cryx, and Cygnar themes.
    • These models are Aurora2, Asphyxious4, and Nemo4.

Thoughts on Tesselator

Tesselator in a nutshell

A decent cheap shooty jack that might manage four shots in a turn. This is not a waste of focus due to induction, but it wouldn't be a viable jack in any other faction.

The Tesselator is a dedicated ranged light that puts out a fairly high quantity of ranged attacks (2 initials, each with Reload [1]). While stronger against larger targets thanks to Volume Fire, we still want Tesselators to harass light infantry decently. Much like the Negators, we intend Tesselators to be brought in groups, 2-3+ at a time. With two chances to spend focus on Reload, and multiple opportunities to boost attack or damage rolls, a group of Tesselators should be incredibly focus efficient via Induction, as long as you keep them all close enough to one another.

Combos & Synergies

  • Iron Mother Directrix : One of the best casters to run Tesselators with due to the range increase from Fire Group and the damage bonus from her Exponent Servitors.
    • The range increase means the Tesselators can do more of what they love and pump large volumes of fire into targets while staying out of harm's way. 11" range with the 3" reposition means they can be 14" away from their target after dumping 4 attacks on them, which should keep them relatively safe from most charging opponents.
    • If the Exponent Servitors put Imperil on a Heavy Warjack, preferably one with relatively low armor, then the Tesselators will be shooting it with 4 POW14 shots each. Against something like an Ironclad the Tesselator shots are dealing damage on a 5+, add a Void Archon into the mix for another -2 armor and suddenly these 7 point light jacks are shooting significantly above their weight!
      • This is especially true on Feat turn where the Tesselators will be effectively RAT10 against large models. Landing a Flare and an Imperil on a high-DEF low-ARM heavy like a Warp Wolf on Feat turn will let a couple of Tesselators eat it alive from range.
      • With a handful of Tesselators, Backlash, and enough Elimination Servitors you could theoretically kill a caster in one turn of shooting at a knocked down heavy, which would be hilarious.
    • Being RAT 8 on Feat turn is amazing for this jack, the odds of hitting vulnerable infantry goes way up and lets those 4 shots each really shine. When shooting small-based infantry the Tesselator wants to be hitting things that die to POW10 shots and those tend to have higher defense, but with a few Flare applications the Tesselator starts mulching evasive targets pretty effectively.
    • Directrix makes her jacks Arc Nodes and having a SPD7 Arc-Node with Flight is very useful, letting you get threats for spells you wouldn't otherwise be able to manage with Convergence's other, much less mobile jacks.
  • Aurora2 can do similar things to her mother. Her feat is a flat +2 damage buff to their shooting against non-flying models and she can give them Flying High to keep them safe from shooting. Hand of Destruction further enhances their out put. She doesn't give them extra range on the guns but her feat gives them +2 SPD, so it evens out.
  • Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex : With the addition of the Induction Relay ability the Tesselators can move forward, shoot, induct focus 9" away back to the other Tesselator/s it's running with, and then reposition back as long as an ADO ran up to where you want them to be shooting from first. Without this ability, the Tesselators are unable to move their full SPD forward to get into range without moving out of induction range of the other Tesselators that want to be able to move up and shoot with it. It also allows them to flank just a bit harder without taking chunks of focus out of the main army's induction chain, which is hugely important.

Drawbacks & Downsides

Text

Tricks & Tips

Text

Other

Trivia

Released 2020.03

Other Convergence models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters

Aurora1 - Aurora2 - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion

Light

Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator - Negator - Tesselator

Heavy

Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor

Colossals

Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Asphyxious4 - Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Negation Angels - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Destructotron 3000 - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Prefect Hypatia - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector

Battle Engines

Nemo4 - TEP

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Clockwork Legions - Destruction Initiative - Strange Bedfellows

Refer to Category: Convergence of Cyriss Mercenary

This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Vector      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Cortex
  • They don't have one.
  • They're immune to all effects that specify "cortex" - for instance, the spell Domination.
  • They're not immune to disruption. You cannot allocate or induct to a disrupted Vector.

Interface Node and Induction

  • A Vector can induct any number of times, to any number of Vectors, as long as it has focus to spend.
  • You can induct to the same Vector repeatedly, if you want.
  • You cannot go over the normal focus limit as a result of Induction. Refer to the Interface Node rules in the core rulebook.
  • You can induct to a Vector that has already activated. Although the only tactically-wise target is the Corollary.
  • Anything which prevents a model 'gaining' focus will prevent a Vector receiving focus via Induction.
  • When a Vector spends a focus to charge/run/slam/trample, it does so before movement. So you need to resolve Induction from its original position, not its final position.
  • A Vector doesn't need to be in its caster's control range to give/receive focus via Induction.
  • Warcasters can't Induct or be Inducted to.
  • Similar to a normal warjacks, when a Vector has its Interface Node crippled it does lose the focus currently on it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can't spend focus to buy attacks (and Induct the focus) if no one is in your melee range. (Infernal Ruling)

MAT & RAT

  • Vectors use their controller's current RAT/MAT.
    • The line that reads "use their warcaster's RAT/MAT" was supposed to change to "battlegroup controller" in the 2020 update. (Infernal Ruling)
  • So, for things which affect RAT/MAT directly (such as Deneghra1's feat):
    • If your warcaster is affected, then all of your Vectors are affected.
    • If your Vector is affected, then it simply doesn't care.
  • And for things which affect your attack roll (such as Positive Charge)
    • There is no interaction between the caster and Vectors for 'attack roll' bonuses.
    • If your warcaster is affected, then your Vectors don't care
    • If a Vector is affected, then that Vector is affected (but not other Vectors)
  • And for things which affect other stats (such as -2 SPD, STR, etc)
    • Vectors work the same as normal models for all other stats. There is no special interaction between caster and Vectors in that regard.

Some MAT/RAT examples

  1. A caster has a MAT 6 and RAT 4.
    All Vectors in its battlegroup are MAT 6 and RAT 4
  2. In that same battlegroup, a Vector is affected by the Deneghra1's feat (affected models suffer -2 RAT & MAT).
    That Vector remains MAT 6 and RAT 4.
  3. In that same battlegroup, the caster is affected by the Coven's feat.
    All Vectors become MAT 4 and RAT 2.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Flight      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • Flight doesn't ignore:
    • Impassable terrain and hazardous terrain
    • Templates that stay in play and do damage to models moving through them (such as a Scather).
    • Free strikes.
  • Trampling with a flying model (Edit)
    • Flight allows you to trample "over" medium- and larger-bases.
    • Although you trample "over" them, you don't get to make a trample attack vs them and you don't ignore their free strikes. Refer the core rulebook.
      • Unless, of course, you have an exception like Blade Rush.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reload      (Edit)

  • You can use Reload to make additional attacks after a Special Ranged Attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have (x2) of a weapon with Reload (such as Caine1), the special rule will only be written on the card once. But you can reload both weapons to the max limit. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Burst Fire and/or Volume Fire - None yet. (Edit)