Teraph

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1327 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Legion Logo.jpg Teraph

Legion Light Warbeast

The Teraph - the most patient and silent dragonspawn - burrows into the ground to lay in ambush where it strikes with its poisonous tail or explosive breath whenever an enemy comes close. Known for the speed of its strike, the Teraph forms an essential part of the Legion's formations. It can sow terror and confusion when it obliterates a foe in cloud of blighted ash.

Basic Info

Teraph
Missing Info
Teraph.png
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR 8
MAT 5
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 16
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 3
THRS 9
HP 20
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 10
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock
  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

Weapons

  • Tail Strike - 2" reach, POW 4, P+S 12 melee attack.
  • Bite - 0.5" reach, POW 3, P+S 11 melee attack.

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Counterblast

1 SELF - - Round No
When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within the spellcaster's command range, the spellcaster can make one basic melee or ranged attack targeting that model, then Counterblast expires. Counterblast lasts for one round.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2020.09 Virtues Errata

  • Blight Blast weapon swapped Crit Cont Fire for regular Cont Fire.
  • Blight Blast gained Burning Ground

Thoughts on Teraph

Recent Change icon.png

Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.

See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.

Teraph in a nutshell

The Teraph is a ranged artillery piece in the Legion's arsenal, with an odd set of tools. The closest equivalent to find is the Grenadier in Cygnar. It boasts Advance Deployment, Dig-In, and decent threat range on a 4" AOE gun, but falls short in the accuracy department, and its single shot is just a tad bit above the POW we consider average. As a Legion beast, some of this is offset by Eyeless Sight, and combined with its forward board presence, makes it likely it will be able to aim after the first turn or so.

It bears some obvious similarities with our other ranged beast, the Ravagore, and polar opposite traits too; so much actually, that it is hard to talk about the Teraph without comparing it to its big brother. As a rule of thumb: if you try to play it as a Ravagore on budget, you gonna have a bad time.

  • Whereas the Ravagore is a scary centrepiece, which dictates where the enemy will put its valuable models, the Teraph is a reactive beast. Thanks to Advance Deployment and Dig In, you can answer to the enemy's plans, concentrate on scoring in less focused zones, and make flanking infantries or gunslingers harder time to claim scenario points.
  • The Ravagore has good board controlling presence with its Scather template, deterring single-wound models from entering into it. The Teraph has Continuous Fire and Burning Earth, both of which are useful and arguably better; because despite more models having fire immunity and despite flying models not being effective a POW 12 damage roll is a lot better than 1 damage point into anything that isn’t single wound infantry.
  • The Ravagore can bring all the might of the Carnivean chassis into bear, if the enemy engages it in melee. The Teraph still must rely on a single weapon, with Critical Poison on it; making melee a last-ditch effort.
  • The Ravagore relies on its sturdy frame and lots of health boxes to survive, while the Teraph is adept at lurking, and being a nuisance in general - especially when dug in.
  • The Terap's animus can see more frequent use that the Ravagore's though still not a one-size-fits-all solution.
  • The 6 points it take to upgrade into a Ravagor is rather steep and can be used for a multitude of other options. For just two points more you can take a Blight Archon to run your Teraph and the combination is better than a singular Ravagore.

If your intend to build a gunline-heavy army, the Teraph may be able to find a place in your list, but don't expect it to go toe-to-toe against hard targets. If you need a zone scoring piece, who can deal with small, flanking elements of the enemy, this might be the beast for you.

Combos & Synergies

  • Kallus2 loves to watch the world burn and the Teraph is a cheap and easy way to accomplish this.
  • Blight Archon - Dig In and Dragon's Blood can make it a real problem to remove. Counter Blast with a 10" CMD range AND 10" Spray is also a very cute combo.
  • Croak Raiders for that sweet, sweet oil.
  • Hellmouth - Distance Deployment and Advance Deployment go hand in hand. The Hellmouth can drag key models close to you, then you can rain death upon them. Impervious Flesh ensures that the Hellmouth itself is nigh-untouchable by the Blight Blast, and completely immune against Crit Fire and blast damage.
  • Lylyth1 - Parasite makes everything shine, and the Teraph is no exception to the rule in this case. Advance Deployment helps ensure its early participation in her laser guided target elimination game plan, and a justification could be made for a large model count army for her to maximize volume of attacks.
  • Lylyth2 - Pin Cushion can work wonders on the Teraph's templates, plus under her feat a pair of them can cover a 16" wide area with their templates (plus spaces between them).
  • Its animus might be worth a consideration on any caster who has a proper beatstick (Rhyas), or gun in his/her hand (Lylyth). Thagrosh1 and Thagrosh2 deserve particular mention due to their strong sprays, and respectable melee weapons.
  • A Shepherd or two can turn it into an autonomous gun platform that can risk going outside the control range of your warlock.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Accuracy is an issue whether it’s at range or in melee. You are basically hoping for some good deviations, it’s best to boost the shot if you are banking on Scorched Earth.
  • As a medium sized beast it hit rather flimsily in melee.

Tips & Tricks

  • It shines in multi-zone scenarios, where it can almost single handedly work on the flanks and fend off lighter attackers trying to score those zones. Thanks to Advance Deployment, it can pick whichever side the enemy's forces are weaker.
  • always boost the attack roll on the gun - you only get the template on a hit.

Other

Trivia

Released way back in Primal Mk1 (2006)

Other Legion models

Legion Logo.jpg       Legion Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks

Absylonia1 - Absylonia2 - Anamag - Bethayne1 - Bethayne2 - Fyanna2 - Kallus1 - Kallus2 - Kryssa - Lylyth1 - Lylyth2 - Lylyth3 - Rhyas1 - Saeryn1 - Saeryn2 & Rhyas2 - Thagrosh1 - Thagrosh2 - Vayl1 - Vayl2

Other Warbeast Controllers Beast Mistress - Blight Archon
Lesser Blight Wasps - Shredder - Harrier - Mekanoshredder - Stinger
Light Afflictor - Naga Nightlurker - Nephilim Bloodseer - Nephilim Bolt Thrower - Nephilim Protector - Nephilim Soldier - Raek - Teraph
Heavy Angelius - Carnivean - Neraph - Ravagore - Scythean - Seraph
Azrael - Golab - Proteus - Typhon - Zuriel
Gargantuans Archangel - Blightbringer
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units B.N. Archers - B.N. Hex Hunters - B.N. Legionnaires - B.N. Raptors - B.N. Scather Crew - B.N. Swordsmen - B. Rotwings - B.O. Warmongers - B.O. Warspears - Chosen - Grotesque Banshees - Grotesque Raiders - Hellmouth - Ice Witches - Strider Blightblades - Strider Scouts - Spawning Vessel
Blackfrost Shard
Solos Beast Mistress - B.N Shepherd - B.N. Sorceress - B.N. Warlord - Forsaken - Grotesque Assassin - Incubi - Spell Martyr - Strider Deathstalker - Succubus - B.O. Warmonger War Chief
Ammok - Annyssa Ryvaal - Fyanna the Lash - Craelix
Battle Engines Throne of Everblight
Theme Forces
Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Legion of Everblight Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.10

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • If you deploy in fire hazard terrain (Burning Earth), then you get set on fire before the game starts.
Deploying a model in a hazard counts as being "put into play" in the hazard. Being put into play counts as "entering". When you enter a hazard, you trigger the hazard.
  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
  • In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Poison - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Burning Ground      (Edit)

  • Templates that do damage (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Most templates that do damage to models that walk into them are defined as "Hazards" (such as Burning Ground) but there are a few that aren't Hazards (such as Creeping Barrage and Wall of Fire). The differences are:
      • A hazard is a terrain element
      • Damage from a hazard is never considered to be from the model or weapon/spell that put it into play. So hazards never gain special rules of the weapon/spell (such as a Damage Type or Poison), nor does it gain special rules of the model (such as Hand of Fate).
      • Damage from a non-hazard is considered to be from the model that put it in play. So non-hazards do get stuff like Hand of Fate. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Damage from a hazard is not from an attack (so won't trigger stuff like Vengeance)
      • Damage from a non-hazard is also not from an attack. Instead it will be a Special Action (Covering Fire), or a "instead of making an attack, place a template" (Creeping Barrage), or etc.
     
    • Damage templates from spells is complicated:
      • (Infernal Ruling)
      • Spells that leave templates that are not hazards (such as Razor Wall) do Damage Type: Magical.
      • Spells that leave templates that are hazards (such as Breath of Corruption) follow the rules for hazards, which are most likely not magical damage but it varies by the hazard.
      • The initial damage when you place the template, if any, is Damage Type: Magical.
      • For example, Breath of Corruption's initial POW 12 corrosion damage roll is Damage Type: Magical in addition to Damage Type: Corrosion. But the hazard that is put into play from Breath of Corruption is not Damage Type: Magical, just Damage Type: Corrosion.
     
    • By default, when you put a template into play it doesn't do damage to models they overlap. The exceptions are templates that are created by an AOE weapon, and templates that explicitly say they do damage when they're placed.
    • A model which is "placed" also counts as "entering" an area, so the template will damage any one who teleports/spawns into it, too.
    • If two templates are overlapping, a model that enters them will take two points of damage.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
  • Blind vs Eyeless Sight (Edit)
    • If you put Eyeless Sight on a Blind model, it will still be Blind but it will not suffer the effects as long as it has Eyeless Sight. (Infernal Ruling)
    This means stuff like Hidden Blade will still trigger.
    Also, if the model subsquently loses Eyeless Sight, it will immediately go back to suffering the effects of Blind.

Rules Clarification : Soulless - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dig In and/or Foxhole Buddy     (Edit)

  • Unlike nearly every ability in the game, Dig In doesn't have a "expires after one turn/round" clause.
  • Thus you could spend your action on turn 1 to Dig In and (assuming you don't move or get engaged) stay Dug In on turn 2 and use your action to make ranged attacks.
  • Being pushed counts as moving. (Locked thread)
  • If a model with Dig In is added to play or returned to play, it does not count as "starting the game". It can't be put into play already Dug In. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can use Dig In while you're in someone's back arc. You are engaging, but not engaged.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Counterblast      (Edit)

  • What does trigger Counterblast
    • Counterblast triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • You can trigger Counterblast during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Counterblast
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • Models can trigger this by walking into your back arc or out of LOS, but you still need LOS to make your attack. Unless you have something like Ghost Shot.