Suppressor

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Suppresor)
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1219 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Locke (1 year review) Suppresor (one year review) Exemplar Bastion Seneschal (one year review) Exemplar Errants (One one year review)


CG Logo.png Suppressor

Crucible Guard Heavy Warjack

Crucible Arms has taken over the production of the Ordic Toro chassis, an aggressive workhorse heavy warjack armed with sword and shield that has fought with the Ordic Army for decades. The Suppressor fields versatile pyrodraulic jets capable of burning, freezing, or rusting adversaries.

Basic Info

Suppressor
Missing Info
Crucible-Heavy Warjack-Supressor 3492.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 6
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 11
ARM 18
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 30
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 13
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Alchemically Treated - When this model suffers a corrosion damage roll and/or fire damage roll, roll one less die. Additionally, this model never suffers the Corrosion continuous effect or the Fire continuous effect.
  • Dual Attack - This model can make melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.

Weapons

  • Pyrodraulic Jet (x2) - 8" spray, POW 12 ranged weapons
    • Attack Type - Each time this weapon is used to make an attack, choose one of the following special rules:
      • Ice Cage - This attack causes no damage. Instead, a model hit without Cold Immunity suffers a cumulative -2 DEF penalty for one turn and, if hit three times in one turn, it is made stationary for one round.
      • Incendiary - This attack causes fire damage, and models hit suffer the Fire continuous effect.
      • Rust - This attack causes no damage. Instead, constructs hit suffer –2 ARM for one turn.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Suppressor

Suppressor in a nutshell

The Suppressor is a support style heavy warjack based on the Toro chassis. It brings a variety of debuffs to bear against an opposing army. With Dual Attack the Suppressor can apply its effects to slightly improve its melee game, although its primary function is the spray attacks. Many players treat the Suppressor as a tougher (and repairable) source of Rust, which can be critical in the current meta overflowing with amazing constructs.

Combos & Synergies

  • Prospero grants it Veteran Leader and Guided Fire to dramatically increase its ranged accuracy (and to a lesser extent, its melee aswell). Note that the Veteran Leader applies even if the Suppressor is not part of Prospero's battlegroup.
  • Captain Eira Mackay provides her feat and either Flare or Alchemical Accelerant to buff the Suppressor's damage or accuracy. She also really likes both Ice Cage & Rust as sprays to enable her own personal output (especially if she intends to charge).
  • The Vulcan can remove elemental immunities from would-be targets.
  • The Retaliator can oil things up for him.
  • Marshal General Baldwin Gearhart & Mr. Clogg has Hot-Shot to melt multiwounds units and hurt lights, as ALL damage rolls on its sprays will be boosted. He also provides Prey from his feat, which can make for some truly silly attacks once you factor in the Suppressor's debuffs.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • It costs as much as a heavy warjack but hits like a light one.
  • It is pretty flimsy for a heavy warjack, but it has to get up close and personal to get the most out of its guns.
  • RAT 5 sprays aren't that great
  • If you just want a spray then the Retaliator costs only 2/3 as much.
  • If you want a lot of sprays the Railless Interceptor is only a few points more.
  • Can struggle with target priority. If the enemy simply has too many models to effectively debuff, the Suppressor can often flounder and achieve very little.

Tricks & Tips

  • Dual Attack allows you to charge and spray over your opponent. Remember this to set up some interesting angles to catch the enemy by surprise.
  • Ice Cages stack even with other models. If a Suppressor manages to tag a model with both its icy sprays, even a single one of your Combat Alchemists will be enough to trigger stationary, as it will have an effective RAT of 10 on the move.
  • Charges with Dual Attack allow for some excellent positioning.
  • Keep in mind that the benefit from Ice Cage (-2 Def) or Rust (-2 Arm) can be applied before doing the melee attack. The Suppressor is effective Pow 16 into constructs and Mat 8 into non-constructs.

Other

Trivia

  • Released with the Faction launch (2018.06)
  • Wrecked Suppressor: Terrain Rules in NQ Prime #6

Other Crucible Guard models

CG Logo.png       Crucible Guard Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters Aurum Legate Lukas di Morray - Aurum Adeptus Syvestro - Marshal General Baldwin Gearhart & Mr. Clogg - Aurum Lucanum Athanor Locke - Captain Eira Mackay
Warcaster attachments Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (Crucible) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Prospero (BGC)
Light Liberator - Retaliator - Vanguard
Heavy Suppresor - Toro - Vindicator
Colossal Vulcan
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Infantry - Assault Troopers - Combat Alchemists - Dragon's Breath Rocket - Rocketmen - Shock Troopers -
Ranking Officer : Doctor Alejandro Mosby
Solos Rocketman Ace - Mechanik - Trancer
Prospero - Gorman - Hutchuck
Battle Engines Railless Interceptor
Theme Forces
Magnum Opus - Prima Materia
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Crucible Guard Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2018.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant     (Edit)

  • If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
  • You choose your Attack Type during Step 1 of the Attack Sequence. So, if your target can only be targeted by certain kinds of attack (such as a Menoth warjack with Passage), then you can choose an Magical Damage attack type and target it. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ice Cage      (Edit)

  • Models with Immunity Cold can be damaged by this attack, they just ignore the DEF penalties.
  • Remember, stationary only prevents what it says it does. Refer the recap on stationary for what models can/can't do.
  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Incendiary      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
  • In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Rust - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Alchemically Treated - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Attack      (Edit)

  • If you have multiple ranged attacks and/or melee attacks, you can intermingle them in any order. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can charge, make a ranged attack, then make your charge melee attack. Even though you made a ranged attack, that doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must complete all initial attacks before buying attacks. You can't go: Make an initial melee attack, then buy a melee attack, then make an initial ranged attack. (Locked Thread)
  • You can't use Dual Attack with a (★) attack. Dual Attack only lets you make either:
    1. Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
    2. Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
      Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
  • There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
    • If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
  • Your ranged attack(s) can target a model you are not in melee with. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.