Succubus

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Legion Logo.jpg Succubus

Legion Solo - (Warlock Attachment)

Products of generations of Everblight’s manipulations, succubi are fonts of blighted arcane power. To create each one, a specially selected Nyss is brought to the spawning pools and ritually bathed in the blood of a warlock. It emerges as something no longer wholly Nyss, attuned to the warlock whose blood actualized its second birth. This ritual empowers each succubus as an amplifier of its warlock’s own gifts. With their every thought and action these creatures carry out the will of their masters and the dragon itself.

Info icon.png

"Succubus" normally refers to this model, but there is one other model (Craelix) that uses "Succubus" as a subtype tag.

Basic Info

Succubus
Missing Info
Succubus.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT N/A
M.A. 7
DEF 14
ARM 12
CMD 6
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
FA 1
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Attached - Before the start of the game, attach this model/unit to a friendly Faction warcaster/warlock for the rest of the game. Each warcaster/warlock can only have one model/unit attached to it.
  • Arcane Assist - If its warcaster/warlock is in this model's command range during your Control Phase, the warcaster / warlock can upkeep one spell for free.
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.

Weapons

  • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Spells

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF


Blizzard

(★ Action) 5 3 - Round -
Choose a friendly Faction model within 5˝ of this model. Center a 3˝ AOE cloud effect on the chosen model. The AOE remains centered on the model for one round. If the chosen model is destroyed or RFP'd, remove the AOE from play.
Hex Bolt

(★ Attack) 6 - 13 Round Yes
A model hit by this spell cannot make special actions, special attacks, or power attacks for one round
Influence

(★ Attack) 10 - - - Yes
Take control of target enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model. The model immediately makes one basic attack, then Influence expires. A model can be affected by Influence only once per turn.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2019.01 Cornucopia Errata

  • Blizzard now uses the word "Choose" instead of "Target", letting you put it on Spell Warded models. Which is moot for Legion players anyway, afaik.


Thoughts on the Succubus

Succubus in a nutshell

The Succubus is an all around useful support piece that can be used by any of our warlocks, except Saeryn & Rhyas, Talons of Everblight. Generally, Absylonia1 skips on the Succubus as well, since the biggest reason you consider her in a list is for Arcane Assist. The extra fury saved from the free upkeep means more fury for transfers, boosts, or more spells.

Arcane Assist is free every turn, so the second reason you want a Succubus is for Blizzard. Hex Bolt and Influence may come into play very very occasionally, but an on demand cloud for your warlock to hide in is worth it's weight in gold as Legion relies on stacking DEF buffs to stay in the game.

Combos & Synergies

Not every warlock will necessarily need a Succubus, as some don't have enough upkeeps, or have plenty of fury to throw around, but every one can make a case for it if you want the safety or flexibility. Generally the Succubus is most useful on our FURY5 and FURY6 warlocks, or warlocks with multiple upkeeps that they want in play all the time. As mentioned above, the Twins can't use her, and Absylonia1 doesn't need her because of resourceful.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Typical flimsy Legion defensive stats. Beware boostable blasts.
  • Has to stay close to your warlock for Arcane Assist and Blizzard, limiting the usefulness of her other spells (even though they're less useful to begin with).

Tricks & Tips

  • Try to activate your warlock first, so that you know exactly where the Succubus needs to stand to give it Arcane Assist next turn.


Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Domination (2011)

Other Legion models

Legion Logo.jpg       Legion Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Absylonia1 - Absylonia2 - Anamag - Bethayne - Fyanna2 - Kallus1 - Kallus2 - Kryssa - Lylyth1 - Lylyth2 - Lylyth3 - Rhyas1 - Saeryn1 - Saeryn2 & Rhyas2 - Thagrosh1 - Thagrosh2 - Vayl1 - Vayl2
Other Warbeast Controllers Beast Mistress
Lesser Blight Wasps - Shredder - Harrier - Stinger
Light Afflictor - Naga Nightlurker - Nephilim Bloodseer - Nephilim Bolt Thrower - Nephilim Protector - Nephilim Soldier - Raek - Teraph
Heavy Angelius - Carnivean - Neraph - Ravagore - Scythean - Seraph
Azrael - Golab - Proteus - Typhon - Zuriel
Gargantuans Archangel - Blightbringer
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units B.N. Archers - B.N. Hex Hunters - B.N. Legionnaires - B.N. Raptors - B.N. Scather Crew - B.N. Swordsmen - B. Rotwings - B.O. Warmongers - B.O. Warspears - Chosen - Grotesque Banshees - Grotesque Raiders - Hellmouth - Ice Witches - Strider Blightblades - Strider Scouts - Spawning Vessel
Blackfrost Shard
Solos Beast Mistress - B.N Shepher - B.N. Sorceress - B.N. Warlord - Forsaken - Grotesque Assassin - Incubi - Spell Martyr - Strider Deathstalker - Succubus - B.O. Warmonger War Chief
Ammok - Annyssa Ryvaal - Fyanna the Lash - Craelix
Battle Engines Throne of Everblight
Theme Forces
Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Legion of Everblight Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attached      (Edit)

  • Attached models are not (normally) part of the warcaster's/warlock's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
(You need the Companion rule to become part of the battlegroup).
  • Thus, attachments are not affected by battlegroup-only effects such as Energizer (unless they're a Companion).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Arcane Assist and/or Arcane Support     (Edit)

  • Arcane Assist: The caster needs to be in the support model's CMD range.
  • Arcane Support: The support model needs to be in the caster's CTRL range.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.

Rules Clarification : Blizzard - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Hex Bolt - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Influence      (Edit)

Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
  • General
  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Movement
  • You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
  • Melee Attacks
  • Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
  • Destroying the Controlled model
    If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
  • Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel! (Infernal Ruling)