Subduer

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Please help review these models: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Mercenary Logo.jpg Subduer

Mercenary Cephalyx Monstrosity

The cephalyx are masters of transforming flesh, crafting killing machines of meat and bone to fight their battles. The Subduer can take specimens alive or dead, ensnaring foes in its nets before inflicting gruesome wounds with its blade.

Basic Info

Subduer
Missing Info
Subduer.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 10
MAT 5
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 18
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 36
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 11
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Monstrosity - Monstrosities have a number of special rules (which you can read here) that make them slightly different to warjacks or warbeasts, but overall fulfill a similar role - being big and stompy.

Abilities

Weapons

Net Launcher
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW   LOCATION 
10 1 3 - Left
  • Catch - If this weapon directly hits an enemy model with an equal or smaller base, immediately after the attack is resolved the model directly hit can be pushed directly towards this model until it contacts a model, an obstacle, or an obstruction. After the model directly hit is moved, this model can make one basic melee attack against it. After resolving this melee attack, this model can make additional melee attacks during its Combat Action.
  • Quake - On a direct hit against an enemy model, all models hit are knocked down.
Heavy Blade
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S   LOCATION 
1 6 16 Right

Theme Force

Recent Changes

2021.10 Mega Update

  • +2 DEF
  • +1 ARM
  • +1 RAT
  • +4 RNG on the gun

Thoughts on Subduer

Subduer in a nutshell

The Subduer is the ranged monstrosity, intermediate hitting power, and generally tricksy.

Combos & Synergies

  • Cephalyx Agitator - the agitator makes the monstrosities hit harder.
  • Cephalyx Overlords because anatomical precision is a great way of giving focus to monstrosities
  • Cognifex Cyphon has a great package for Monstrosities! Preserverance makes it ARM 20, while Blur puts it at DEF 15. Breath Stealer makes for great hitfixing, so you can Catch something and pull it closer, something that stacks well with Gallows, and of course there's the feat for +3 ARM, STR and SPD. Onslaught also gives it much needed Pathfinder, albeit only on a charge. Which this Monstrosity is the least likely to do.
  • Herne & Jonne for a RAT increase.
  • Kayazy Eliminators and Asphyxious4's Servitors can load it up with focus thanks to Anatomical Precision and Puncture respectively.
  • Thexus - TK is a great hit-fixing tool. Deceleration puts it at ARM 20 against shooting.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Base MAT/RAT 5 is pretty sad. You need to rely on the Agitator's Instigate to hit the broad side of a barn.
  • No assault or dual attack means it has to either walk and shoot or charge and not make a ranged attack at all, which makes for less out put and a short threat range.

Tricks & Tips

  • Cut it with Agitators for focus
  • Using the net to pull an enemy into Thexus' CMD range and then not *quite* killing it is a great way to activate Aggressive Reaction, letting the rest of your monstrosities charge for free. Then kill what you pulled in last.

Other

Trivia

Who can control this Monstrosity

Monstrosities must be controlled by a Cephalyx warcaster. Thus, to include them in your force, you first need to find a Cephalyx 'caster that works for your force.

Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus

Other Mercenary models

Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn1 - Ashlynn2 - Aurora2 - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

"Juniors"

Asphyxious4 - Crosse1 - Nemo4

'Jack Marshals

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - MacHorne2 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Steelhead Ironhead

Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments

Doctor Stygius - Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Non-character Units

Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Legion of Lost Souls - Ogrun Assault Corps - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)

Character Units

Alexia1 - Asphyxious4 - Croe's Cutthroats - Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Herne & Jonne - Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus & Edrea - MacHorne1 - The Commodore Cannon - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Non-character Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Death Archon - Gobber Tinker - Menite Archon - Morrowan Archon - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - Swamp Gobber River Raider Thamarite Advocate - Thamarite Archon - Void Archon

Character Solos

Alexia2 - Alexia3 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Balthazar Bamfist - Black Bella1 - Black Bella2 - Bloody Bradigan - Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Bosun Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Captain Crawtooth - Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dez1 - Dez2 - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Doctor Stygius - Eilish1 - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Eiryss4 - First Mate Hawk - Flubbin1 - Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 - Flugwug the Filcher - Crosse1 - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gorman1 - Gorman2 - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Gubbin1 - Gubbin2 - Gudrun1 - Gudrun2 - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Harlowe Holdemhigh - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Lord Rockbottom - MacHorne2 - Major Harrison Gibbs - Malvin2 - Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Princess Delores Graciela - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer - Savio Montero Acosta - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye - Stannis Brocker - Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage - Thor Steinhammer - Tubbin - Underboss Vizkoya - Viktor Pendrake - Weird Wendell - Widget1 - Widget2 - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines

Hammerfall Siege Crawler - Nemo4

Independent Warjack

Malvin1 & Mayhem1

Theme Forces (Edit)
Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Drag , Pull, and/or Catch     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Timing
With respect to the Attack Sequence:
  • Pull is resolved at Step 12.
  • Enemy effects (such as Retaliatory Strike or Enliven) are resolved at Step 13.
  • Drag and Catch are resolved at Step 14.


Ranged Attack Damage (Drag and Catch only)

  • If a model is destroyed by the ranged attack, Drag/Catch does not trigger.
    • Corpse tokens, soul tokens, and etc will be generated from the model’s original position.
    • Sicne it doesn't trigger, you won't get the free melee attack from Drag/Catch (even if there's something different already in your melee range).


The Movement

  • You cannot Drag/Pull/Catch models with a larger base size than you.
  • The movement is a Push effect, which is involuntary movement.
    • It is not an advance and will not trigger stuff like Countercharge.
    • They won't take free strikes because it is involuntary movement.
    • They will take damage from any hazards they're pushed through/into (such as Scathers).
  • You can drag your target through Incorporeal models, if there's enough space on the other side, because the rules for Incorporeal specifically allow this. (If there's not enough space, the push will stop on the far side of the Incorporeal model.)
  • You cannot drag models through Curse-of-Shadows-ed or similar models, because those rules refer to "models can advance through this model" and a push is not an advance.
  • You may drag models that you are already in melee with. However most models can't shoot while in melee, so this is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon (see the corner-case scenarios, below).
  • If you get to trigger Drag/Pull/Catch on a free strike (mostly just Pull), the moving model will never get out of your melee range. They have to keep advancing out and being pushed back until either they run out of movement, or you fail a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you push a model to a position where it regains Incorporeal (for instance you push it out of range of an Exorcist) then what happens is (Being Checked by Infernals)


The Free Melee Attack(s) (Drag and Catch only)

  • If the target model doesn't end up in melee range (whether because the ranged attack killed it outright, or something blocked the drag movement) then you don't get a free melee attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks.
  • If the dragged model can't be targeted by melee attacks, you may not make your free drag attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For both of the above two cases, you may still complete your initial ranged attacks and buy additional ranged attacks as per normal (if you have more guns and/or Reload).
  • You may make the free melee attack against models that "cannot be pushed" (assuming you're in melee range already). The "After the model is moved" is a timing clause, not a conditional clause.
    • To pull this off, you need an ability that allows you to make ranged attack while you're already in melee, so is pretty much limited to just Colossals and/or models attacking objectives.
  • After using Drag/Catch, the attacking model may make a single melee attack without spending focus. (So Black Ogrun can make a single melee attack.)
  • After doing the free attack, you may buy additional attacks if you have a method of purchasing them. Models with Drag but no focus/fury (such as Black Ogrun) can't buy additional attacks (despite what is implied by the rule on their card) - it's just a standarised wording for Drag.


More corner-case Rules Clarifications

  • Models that can make Ranged Attacks while in melee
    • This section is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon who, thanks to being Colossals, can continue to shoot after dragging something into melee with themselves. It can also apply to any model shooting at a "can never be in melee" model (eg Scenario objectives).
    • When you start your activation, you still need to choose either 'initial ranged attacks' or 'initial melee attacks'. If you choose melee attacks, then you will never get to shoot your Drag weapons.
    • If you shoot a Drag weapon you need to resolve the drag move and the free melee attack, but afterwards you're still in "shooting" mode. The best way to think of it is it's "interrupting" your normal ranged attacks and after resolving it, you go back to completing your initials. So it might go:
      • Shoot the Drag weapon.
      • Drag the enemy closer.
      • Resolve the free melee attack.
      • Drag resolved. Now you finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
    • Once you've completed all your initial ranged attacks (and any free drag melee attacks) then you have the option of buying additional attacks (ranged if you have Reload, melee otherwise.
    • However, if you get overexcited and start buying melee attacks after the free drag one then you don't get to finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
    • This is because shooting the rest of your guns is completing your "Initial Ranged Attacks" but by buying melee attacks you have jumped ahead to "After Initial Attacks" (refer first sentence of "Additional Attacks" pg 36 of Prime).
  • Black Spot + Drag or Catch
    • If you trigger Drag/Catch, then any attacks you get from Black Spot can be either ranged or melee, your choice. (Infernal Ruling)
This combo can lead to an infinite number of attacks, but it depends on your dice.
  • Case A (Fail): Make initial ranged attack, destroy the target with the ranged attack.
Drag does not trigger.
Black Spot does trigger, and the free BS attack must be a ranged attack because you don't have any rule that gets around the core rule "models cannot make both ranged and melee attacks during the same activation" (unless you have Dual Attack).
The free BS attack cannot generate any more free BS attacks.
  • Case B (Success): Make initial ranged attack, damage the target with the ranged attack.
Drag triggers, and now you have gotten around the core rule about mixing attack types. (Infernal Ruling)
Destroy the dragged model with a melee attack, and trigger Black Spot. The free BS attack can be either ranged or melee.
So you make a ranged attack and try to Drag another one to restart the sequence.
Theoretically, if you keep managing to damage + Drag targets with the free ranged attacks, and destroy + Black Spot them with the free melee attacks, you never run out of free attacks.
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Quake      (Edit)

  • If the weapon misses, then it will deviate and do blast damage as per a normal AOE (assuming it has a POW to begin with).
  • Other effects of the attack will still occur (such as the Mitigator's auto-point of damage to all models hit).
  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Monstrosity      (Edit)

  • Although they share many rules with warjacks, monstrosities are most definitely not warjacks. They are unaffected by stuff that interacts with warjacks (such as Jack Hunter giveing +d6 damage vs warjacks).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight      (Edit)

  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
  • Blind vs Eyeless Sight (Edit)
    • If a model is Blinded, and then given Eyeless Sight, then that model ignores Blind ... but it is technically still Blinded. So if you somehow later lose Eyeless Sight (for instance walking out of the range of Menoth's Sight), it will immediately go back to suffering the effects of Blind. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Also this means stuff that only works vs Blind models (ie Hidden Blade) will still trigger vs a "Was Blinded but then got Eyeless" model.
  • Anti-Cloud abilities vs Burning Earth (Edit)
If you make a piece of terrain "Burning Earth" it counts as a cloud effect in addition to it's original type. This has 2 odd rulings:
  1. If any part of the terrain piece is "hit" by an ability that makes clouds expire (such as Gale Winds) then the entire terrain piece is taken off the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If a model can ignore clouds but not the original terrain type, they don't ignore the terrain. For instance if you have a burning forest, then Eyeless Sight can't see through the forest. (Infernal Ruling)