Strider Blightblades

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Legion Logo.jpg Strider Blightblades

Legion Unit

Mk4 icon.png
Unlimited Only
This model can only be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can see the other models with / without mk4 rules on this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

In the arena of reconnaissance and assassination, few can compare with the blighted Nyss striders. Their incredible speed and elusiveness are gifts of their draconic master that cannot be duplicated through mere instruction and training. Strider rangers silently stalk their prey with longbow and sword. Strider blightblades eschew the longbow in favor of a pair of wicked blades infused with blighted energies to infect any that suffer their touch.

Basic Info

Strider Blightblades
Missing Info
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
M.A. N/A
DEF 15
ARM 11
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
1.2 pts each
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • AD symbol.jpg Advance Deployment
  • CMA symbol.jpg Combined Melee Attack
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • Stealth symbol.jpg Stealth
  • Ambush - You can choose not to deploy this unit at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place all models in the unit in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.


Blade (x2)
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
0.5 3 9

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Strider Blightblades

Strider Blightblades in a nutshell

Blightblades are the close-combat version of the Strider Scouts. They eschewed the use of bows, and picked up two dagger-like weapons instead. That might look like a seemingly bad trade, but unlike the Scouts they can operate completely on their own. Their job is to cause mayhem among the back lines of the enemy picking off isolated units, artilleries, and solos; simply put, Blightblades serve to put pressure on the enemy flanks. They have two initial attacks that, combined with CMA, allow them to scale their damage output according to the selected target. Thanks to Stealth and an above average DEF, they are very hard to be dispatched of at range, and can sometimes escape retaliation if they fail to terminate their targets on the charge.

They achieve all this with their bread and butter Ambush ability. While Ambush is generally a gimmick or Cute trick, Blightblades have the mobility to get into position, and cause some actual harm for your opponent. Thanks to this, they can contest or even control zones and flags quite early. On their own, they can run up to 17" from any table edge (except the back of your opponent's deployment zone), or deliver a charge up to 13.5" away - almost the size of the Killbox in Scenarios. They won't do much against heavies - though some well-placed CMA on the charge can surprise some targets.

While Critical effects are not often a good mechanic to form a game plan around, each Blightblade has two chances to apply Grievous Wounds to their targets, an effect that, depending on the target, can have a significant impact against Hordes armies, opposing infantry that rely on tough, and certain warmachine armies with easy access to repair effects.

Combos & Synergies

Blightblades are usually operate way too forward from your own lines to rely on support from warlocks, and other units can rarely keep up with them. However, Legion sports plenty of other extremely mobile assets that can be used to put further pressure on the enemy's flanks, complementing the Blightblades or even forcing the enemy into pincer tactics:

  • Kallus1 arguably helps Blightblades more than most Legion warlocks, and their penchant for digging into inconvenient places serves him well in return. Dark Guidance boosts the Blightblades' accuracy and critical rate with the additional die, and their Ambush and SPD allow them to get into dangerous places to spawn Incubi for the enemy on Kallus's feat turn.
    • Bear in mind these tactics may require Kallus to play uncomfortably far forward to tag the Blightblades in his control area, so be careful not to rely too heavily on this.
  • Blightblades can become uncomfortably hard to hit during Fyanna2's feat, and if they're in range she can keep them safe from blasts with Iron Flesh.
    • Like Kallus, this can be a little risky due to her smaller control area, so this may not always be the most reliable of strategies, but when it works it works well enough.
  • Raptors and Annyssa Ryvaal - with a near-unparalleled movement, they can be in the position early enough to help your Blightblades. Tagging their (preferably Tough) targets first with a few Grievous Wounds can make their attacks all the more deadlier if you're lucky enough to land criticals.
  • The Hellmouth and its tentacles are all about board control and limiting the opponent's movement options in the field. Adding Ambush from the Blightblades to the mix will likely to force your enemy to make mistakes.
  • Afflictor and Angelius are both fast and maneuverable flight models, and offer board control animi to help force flank engagements that benefit Blightblades. Just make sure to not fly out of their warlock's CTRL area, or have a Shepherd handy nearby.
  • With their high SPD and DEF, Raeks often operate at the front of your main army, so they can team up nicely with the Blightblades to harass the flanks or enemy frontrunners.
  • Not much can be said about the Harrier, but if you manage to get one near the Blightblades' (living) target, they become essentially DEF16 - something that causes trouble even for elite troops.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • They can hardly do anything against tough targets even with a full unit CMA.
  • Usually operate way too far for direct support.
  • Die to any form of retaliation that can bypass their DEF and Stealth. Beware AOEs and blast damage.

Tips & Tricks

  • When Ambushing, go for back strikes. Effective MAT 8 will hit even the most nimble troops on average, and with the number of attacks you can roll, it will often eliminate the need for CMA to boost your odds to hit.
  • CMA lets you to scale your damage output - do your math, whether you need more attacks, or more damage from fewer strikes.
  • CMA on a unit with multiple initial attacks is a very flexible asset. You are no bound to make both of your initials as CMA - you can charge in and make the individual models' first attack as a normal charge attack (thus, take advantage of the extra damage die) then make a full-unit CMA for your second initial, if needed.
    • Conversely, any models that make it to the same target and moved far enough to get the charge bonus can CMA together to make the charge attack much more powerful (for a unit of their stature). Or both can be giant CMAs. Or you can pair up some and do single attacks with others. Or you can adjust your CMA ratios on the fly based on how your rolls are going.
  • Critical Grievous Wound is best considered as a nice bonus rather than a reliable strategic asset. If you really need it, just deliver your basic attacks without CMA; the more you attack, the greater the chance is to cause a critical hit.
  • As with most Ambush units, Blightblades also have Advance Deployment. If you don't expect your opponent to fall for the Ambush tactic, or you play against a theme list that forbids Ambushing entirely, you have the option of deploying as normal and going for similar tactics or just using the Blightblades as fast jamming bodies.



Released in Hordes: Exigence (2014)

Other Legion models

Legion Logo.jpg       Legion Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar

Absylonia1 - Absylonia2 - Anamag - Bethayne1 - Bethayne2 - Fyanna2 - Kallus1 - Kallus2 - Kryssa - Lylyth1 - Lylyth2 - Lylyth3 - Lylyth4 - Rhyas1 - Saeryn1 - Saeryn2 & Rhyas2 - Thagrosh1 - Thagrosh2 - Vayl1 - Vayl2

Other Warbeast Controllers

Beast Mistress - Blight Archon - Thagrosh0

Lesser Blight Wasps - Shredder - Harrier - Mekanoshredder - Stinger
Light Afflictor - Naga Nightlurker - Nephilim Bloodseer - Nephilim Bolt Thrower - Nephilim Protector - Nephilim Soldier - Raek - Teraph

Angelius - Azrael - Carnivean - Golab - Neraph - Proteus - Ravagore - Scythean - Typhon - Seraph - Zuriel

Gargantuans Archangel - Blightbringer
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines

Blackfrost Shard - B.N. Archers - B.N. Hex Hunters - B.N. Legionnaires - B.N. Raptors - B.N. Scather Crew - B.N. Swordsmen - B. Rotwings - B.O. Warmongers - B.O. Warspears - Chosen - Grotesque Banshees - Grotesque Raiders - Hellmouth - Ice Witches - Strider Blightblades - Strider Scouts - Spawning Vessel - Virtue Host


Ammok - Annyssa Ryvaal - Beast Mistress - Blight Archon - B.N Shepherd - B.N. Sorceress - B.N. Warlord - Craelix - Forsaken - Fyanna1 - Grotesque Assassin - Incubi - Spell Martyr - Strider Deathstalker - Succubus - Thagrosh0 - Virtue Champion - B.O. Warmonger War Chief - Yssylla

Battle Engines Throne of Everblight
Theme Forces
Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Legion of Everblight Minion
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Grievous Wounds      (Edit)

  • GW prevents "repairs" as well as "heals".
  • It does not stop a warlock transferring damage, or stop the wounded model from being able to 'heal' someone else.
  • Does not affect models with the Massive rule.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as intervening terrain) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, or two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • Stealth models are not invisible and you can target them - you'll just auto-miss most of the time.
  • You can target them with a charge.
  • You can target them with an AOE, have it auto-miss and scatter, luckily land on top of them anyway, and that will hit them.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ambush      (Edit)

  • If you attach a WA or CA to this unit, and the attachment doesn't have Ambush, then they all get to Ambush anyway. (Locked Thread)
  • Ambush and Apparition both occur at Step 5 of the Control Phase. However, Ambush specifies the "end" of the Control Phase so you cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Declaring Ambush:
    • Choosing whether a unit deploys normally or ambushes needs to happen before deployment.
    So it goes: do the starting roll, Player 2 chooses sides, Player 1 declares Ambushes (if any), then Player 2 declares Ambushes (if any), then Player 1 starts deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you have both Prey and Ambush, then you declare your Prey target at the normal time (even though the Prey-er isn't currently on the table). (Infernal Ruling)