Storm Troll

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1356 articles and 93% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Trollblood Logo.jpg Storm Troll

Trollblood Light Warbeast

Unlike the many varieties of trolls that prefer to blend into their environments, a storm troll primed with galvanic energy and ready to attack is a blazing beacon of power, intimidating well beyond its size. Deadly lightning erupts from the array of natural conductors that runs the length of its spine, playing along its sides before bolting from its mouth at anything that arouses the troll’s ire.

Basic Info

Storm Troll
Missing Info
StormTroll.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR 9
MAT 5
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 16
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 3
THRS 9
HP 22
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 8
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

Weapons

  • Lightning - 10" range, POW 12 ranged attack
    • Electricity dam symbol.jpg Damage Type: Electricity
    • Lightning Generator - When a model is directly hit with a basic attack made with this weapon, lightning arcs from the model hit to d3 consecutive additional models. The lightning arcs to the nearest model it has not already arced to within 4" of the last model it arced to, ignoring this model. Each model the lightning arcs to suffers an unboostable POW 10 electrical damage roll. Lightning arc damage rolls are not considered to have been caused by an attac. Resolve lightning arc damage rolls simultaneously with the damage resulting from the attack that caused the lightning arc.
  • Claw (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee atttacks
    • Open Fist symbol.jpg Open Fist
    • Cortex Damage - When a warjack is hit by this weapon, it suffers 1 damage point to its first available Cortex system box.

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Lightning Fists

2 6 - - Round No
Target friendly Faction model gains Immunity: Electricity and its melee weapons gain Electro Leap. Lightning Fists lasts for one round.
Electro Leap - When a model is directly hit with a basic attack made with a weapon wtih Electro Leap, you can have lightning arc to the nearest model within 4" of the the model hit, ignoring the attacking model. The model the lightning arcs to suffers an unboostable POW 10 electrical damage roll. Lightning arc damage rolls are not considered to have been caused by an attack. Resolve lightning arc damage rolls simultaneously with the damage resulting from the attack that caused the leap.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2020.11 Vengeance of Dhunia CID

  • Cost down to 8 (from 9)
  • Lightning Fists became COST 2 RNG 6 (instead of COST 1 RNG SELF)
  • Gained +1 RAT
  • Lost Critical Disruption on Claws
  • Gained Cortex Damage on Claws


Thoughts on Storm Troll

Storm Troll in a nutshell

The Storm Troll is one of the elemental light trolls, it can struggle to stand out against its brother the Pyre Troll which is a more dedicated ranged support beast with a damage based animus. By comparison the Storm Troll is a mixed arms warbeast with an anti infantry gun and anti Warjack fists. It also has a support animus but this one is often reserved for models tied up in melee with chaff infantry to clear them faster.

Repulsor Field makes the Storm Troll oddly survivable, not quite to the same level as the Swamp Troll or Troll Bouncer but still better than a normal elemental Troll.

All this in one package makes a Troll that does a bit of everything but doesn’t really have a dedicated target without warlock and army support.

Combos & Synergies

  • Borka, Vengeance of the Rimeshaws likes turning into an electrocutioner - and the storm troll loves stationary targets it can hit.
  • Captain Gunnbjorn - Kill Shot and Guided Fire are great on any warbeast with a gun.
  • Ragnor - oddly vs Warjacks cortex damage lets you automatically trigger weight of stone. During feat turn Repulsor Field can become obnoxious and Earth’s sanctuary, pathfinder and steady are generally good buffs.
  • Dhunian Knot - when you have 1 single shot puppet master is very useful.
  • Krielstone - as with all models a bit of extra armour never hurts.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • When not frying infantry with its gun it’s thoroughly mediocre in most other areas.
  • The arcs are unboostable.
  • There are other ways of killing infantry that don't rely on devoting a warbeast to the task.
  • Because of its low Mat and it’s need to hit to trigger e-leap, so it eats Fury.

Tricks & Tips

  • lighting generator on its gun makes shield guards a lot less useful as if you are within 3 inches to use shield guard you will be 4 inches away for a zap (providing you roll high enough and more models are not in the way).
  • watch out you don’t get pushed out of melee range on your own turn vs abilities like retaliatory strike and defensive strike, push the Troll B2B with these kinds of models.

Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Domination (2011)

Other Trollblood models

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks

Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn1 - Gunnbjorn2 - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor

Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dannon Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Sons of Bragg - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - T Champions - T Fennblades - T Highwaymen - T Long Riders - T Runeshapers - T Scouts - T Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer

Solos

Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Bumbles - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - General 'Thunderstone' Brug - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Ledfoot & Tredz - Northkin Shaman - Pyg Tank - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North - Vengeance of Dhunia
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation.
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
  • If a frenzying warbeast has two melee weapons with the same POW, it can choose which one to use. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Electricity      (Edit)

  • When electricity arcs/leaps, you ignore models with Immunity:Electricity. The arc "skips" them.
  • If you attack a model with Immunity:Electricity, the arc/leap won't go anywhere at all. The arc is "grounded".
  • Incorporeal models do not have Immunity: Electricity (they just ignore non-magical damage). As such electricity can arc/leap to and from incorporeal models.

Rules Clarification : Regeneration - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Repulsor Field      (Edit)

  • A model that starts B2B and hits you will be exactly one inch away after resolving Repulsor Field, so will still be just in range to hit you with a 1" melee range weapon. Similarily, after 2 hits they will be exactly 2" away and still ... etc.
  • If a model with Repulsor Field is destroyed, the attacking model will not be moved (as there is no model to move directly away from). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If multiple models with Repulsor Field are trampled over and not destroyed, player with Repulsor Field would pick which Repulsor Field triggers first. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you push a model to a position where it regains Incorporeal (for instance you push it out of range of an Exorcist) then what happens is (Being Checked by Infernals)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Lightning Generator      (Edit)

  • Not considered an attack & "Non-attack damage roll" (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • There are two ways you can get these "non-attack" damage rolls. Either way, they interact with other special abilities that trigger on 'attack/damage' (such as Vengeance) in the same manner, and as such we'll call both types "Pure Damage" for brevity.
    • Type 1 - A secondary damage roll that is not considered to be an attack:
      Some attacks create a second damage roll that is explicitly "not considered an attack" (such as Electro Leap).
    (Note that although the second damage roll is not an attack, the original attack certainly is and will trigger stuff normally. These clarifications don't apply to the original attack.)
    • Type 2 - Non-attack damage roll:
      Some special abilities & special actions tell you to make a damage roll without mentioning whether it is considered an attack or not (such as Vent Steam and Flak Field).

    • Pure damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • Pure damage is not an attack, so doesn't benefit from stuff that affects 'attack damage rolls' (such as Bethayne1's feat). (Infernal Ruling)
    • Pure damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • Pure damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
      1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
        • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
        • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
      2. It is a damage roll from a model so:
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws. (Locked Thread)
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Cortex Damage      (Edit)

  • The damage to the cortex is applied before making your normal damage roll.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Lightning Fists      (Edit)

  • Since it applies to melee weapons, not melee attacks, it won't apply to Power Attacks. It will apply to Mount Attacks, though.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Electro Leap      (Edit)

  • Electro Leaps are optional.
  • Electro Leap is a weapon property. As such, it doesn't apply to Power Attacks at all.
  • A Steamroller flag can be hit by Electro Leap (if it's the nearest model). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Not considered an attack & "Non-attack damage roll" (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • There are two ways you can get these "non-attack" damage rolls. Either way, they interact with other special abilities that trigger on 'attack/damage' (such as Vengeance) in the same manner, and as such we'll call both types "Pure Damage" for brevity.
    • Type 1 - A secondary damage roll that is not considered to be an attack:
      Some attacks create a second damage roll that is explicitly "not considered an attack" (such as Electro Leap).
    (Note that although the second damage roll is not an attack, the original attack certainly is and will trigger stuff normally. These clarifications don't apply to the original attack.)
    • Type 2 - Non-attack damage roll:
      Some special abilities & special actions tell you to make a damage roll without mentioning whether it is considered an attack or not (such as Vent Steam and Flak Field).

    • Pure damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • Pure damage is not an attack, so doesn't benefit from stuff that affects 'attack damage rolls' (such as Bethayne1's feat). (Infernal Ruling)
    • Pure damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • Pure damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
      1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
        • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
        • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
      2. It is a damage roll from a model so: