Storm Raptor

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Storm Raptor
Circle Gargantuan Warbeast

The storm raptor soars over the battlefields of Immoren, its body crackling with electrical energies. Its silhouette blots out the sun while its keen eyes scan for those who would oppose its druidic masters of the Circle Orboros. The captive lightning that flickers through its feathers is unleashed in blinding arcs of voltaic energy as the raptor dives upon its prey, talons extended for the kill.

Basic Info[edit]

Storm Raptor
Missing Info
Storm Raptor.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Warcaster 0
BASE Huge
SPD 7
STR 13
MAT 6
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 18
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY 4
THRS 9
HP 50
F. Field N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 34
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Gargantuan - Gargantuans are even bigger warbeasts, with additional special rules. Click here for the Gargantuan rules.
  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here to read the long version.
  • Flight - This model ignores (almost) all terrain when moving. This model can move over other models, and ignores intervening models when declaring charges.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Immunity: Electricity - This model does not suffer electrical damage. Lightning cannot arc to or from this model.
  • Plasma Nimbus - If this model survives a melee attack, the attacker suffers a POW 10 electrical damage roll.
  • Deceptively Mobile - This model can advance up to 3" at the end of an activation where it didn't run or fail a charge. It can do this despite the normal restrictions on gargantuans moving only during their Normal Movement.
  • Flying High - Ranged attacks targeting this model suffer –3 RNG. Friendly models can advance through this model if they have enough movement to move completely past its base. This model loses Flying High if it loses Flight.

Weapons[edit]

  • Lightning - 14" range, POW 14 ranged attack.
    • Reload [2] - This model can be forced to to make up to 2 additional ranged attack(s) with this weapon during its Combat Action. It can make one additional attack for each time it is forced.
    • Damage Type: Electricity - This weapon does electricity damage.
    • Sustained Attack - During this model's activation, when it makes an attack with this weapon against the last model hit by the weapon this activation, the attack automatically hits.
    • Energy Pulse (★ Attack) - This attack does not need a target. Each other model within 6" of this model's front arc are auto-hit and suffer a POW 12 electrical damage roll.
  • Talons (x2) - 2" reach, P+S 17 melee weapon.
    • Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.
    • Critical Disruption - On a critical hit, a warjack hit will lose all focus points. It also can't gain focus or channel spells for one round.
    • Electro Leap - When a model is directly hit with a basic attack made with this weapon, you can have lightning arc to the nearest model within 4" of the the model hit, ignoring the attacking model. The model the lightning arcs to suffers an unboostable POW10 electrical damage roll. Lightning arc damage rolls are not considered to have been caused by an attack. Resolve lightning arc damage rolls simultaneously with the damage resulting from the attack that caused the leap.
  • Beak - 2" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon.
    • Disruption - A warjack hit will lose all focus points. It also can't gain focus or channel spells for one round.
    • Electro Leap - When a model is directly hit with a basic attack made with this weapon, you can have lightning arc to the nearest model within 4" of the the model hit, ignoring the attacking model. The model the lightning arcs to suffers an unboostable POW10 electrical damage roll. Lightning arc damage rolls are not considered to have been caused by an attack. Resolve lightning arc damage rolls simultaneously with the damage resulting from the attack that caused the leap.

Animus[edit]

When a friendly Circle model makes an an electrical attack targeting an enemy model in 10" of the caster, the attacker gains +2 to the attack roll. Also, when an enemy model suffers an electrical damage roll (from any source) while in 10" of the caster, it suffers +2 damage. Sky Fire lasts for one round.

Recent Changes[edit]

2018.10 Tharn Errata - The bird got a substantial rework

  • -4 points cost, +1 MAT
  • Skyfire animus became 10" range (used to be CMD range)
  • Gained Pathfinder (just in case Flight is removed), Flying High, and Deceptively Mobile
  • Gun buffed
    • +2" range
    • Gained +1 Reload and Sustained Attack
    • Swapped Lightning Generator on the gun for Energy Pulse


Thoughts on Storm Raptor[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Change
This model/theme's rules have recently changed dramtically, and the "Thoughts On" section has not (yet) been updated to reflect its new capabilities.

Please feel free to update the article and remove this warning.

Storm Raptor in a nutshell[edit]

The Storm Raptor is a mixed bag. It has very high speed, but being on a huge base means there are very few ways to extend that (Sprint, Apparition, etc don't work). It fries low ARM infantry that hit it. It has a two shot lightning generator gun meaning it can clear infantry. But it is one of the least hard hitting huge based models anywhere, and isn't terribly tough.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Krueger the Stormwrath - even more zapping than normal thanks to Sky Fire
  • Anything with electrical rolls it can buff.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • It is a really big target and not that tough.
  • Heavies won't be bothered about plasma nimbus
  • Currently, its animus only buffs a handful of things in faction (Druids, Goat Riders, Krueger1 and 2, Celestial Fulcrum, Woldwrath and itself). It is the sort of thing that could be great after another release or two.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • The beak has straight disruption (as opposed to critical), which is very rare outside of Cygnar. Against warjacks (apart from colossi), hit them with that at least once. Even if you don't kill them, warjacks without focus won't be able to hit back very much.
    • Watch out for support solos with Empower, as they can both give focus for the jacks, and nullify Disruption.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Hordes: Devastation (2015)

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for generic warbeasts (Edit)

Themes only for Living warbeasts (Edit)

Other Circle models[edit]

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder (Attached) - Gallows Grove - Reeve Hunter - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - War Wolf
Lord of the Feast - Una1 (Lesser) - Wolf Lord Morraig
Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2018.10

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Energy Pulse      (Edit)

  • Although most abilities that cause auto-hits give you the option to roll to hit if you really wanted to, Energy Pulse does not have that option.
The reason for this is ...   [Show/Hide]
there is no attack roll for Energy Pulse. It says "each model is automatically hit"
Compare to Sustained Attack: "the attack automatically hits"
or Guided: "Attacks made with this weapon automatically hit".
Those other abilities imply an attack roll with a weapon. Energy Pulse does not.
  • Since Energy Pulse does not target, Stealth doesn't stop it. Stealth's auto-miss only kicks in when someone targets the stealth model from more than 5" away. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Since Energy Pulse does not target, abilities that "prevent a model being targeted by ranged attacks" (such as Submerge or Passage) don't stop it.
  • Auto-hits are considered direct hits, so they can be Shield Guarded. (Locked thread)
  • For the purposes of Thunderhead's Sustained Attack ability, all models hit by an Energy Pulse are considered to be the last model hit by that weapon.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reload      (Edit)

  • You can use Reload to make additional attacks after a Special Ranged Attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have (x2) of a weapon with Reload (such as Caine1), the special rule will only be written on the card once. But you can reload both weapons to the max limit. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Disruption      (Edit)

  • If a model is disrupted, it cannot get focus for any reason. Whether the rule says 'allocate', 'gain', 'receive' or 'give' ... Disruption stops it all. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Despite being unable to channel spells, a warjack can still be the target of spells just fine.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Electro Leap      (Edit)

  • Electro Leaps are optional.
  • Electro Leap is a weapon property. As such, it doesn't apply to Power Attacks at all.
  • A Steamroller flag can be hit by Electro Leap (if it's the nearest model). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Not considered an attack (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
    • The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
      1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
        • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
        • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
      2. It is a damage roll from a model so:


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Gargantuan      (Edit)

  • In Warroom all gargantuan's have their animus incorrectly labelled as "spells". This is a known bug. (Staff Comment)
  • Refer to the Gargantuan article for a recap of their rules.
  • Huge Base (Edit)
    • Coming on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook. Click here for a summary of them.
    • You can draw LOS from your Left arc to a target in your Right arc (and vice versa). See also this diagram
    • Huge-based models get bonus distance on Power Attack Slams. But this bonus doesn't apply to slams caused by other means, such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target, then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Flight      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • Flight doesn't ignore:
    • Impassable terrain and hazardous terrain
    • Templates that stay in play and do damage to models moving through them (such as a Scather).
    • Free strikes.
  • Trampling with a flying model (Edit)
    • Flight allows you to trample "over" medium- and larger-bases.
    • Although you trample "over" them, you don't get to make a trample attack vs them and you don't ignore their free strikes. Refer the core rulebook.
      • Unless, of course, you have an exception like Blade Rush.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Deceptively Mobile      (Edit)

  • This rule doesn't give you carte blanche to move whenever you like, and doesn't work with stuff like Overrun.
    When it says "can move [...] as a result of Deceptively Mobile" it means it can move while applying that rule. (Locked thread)

Rules Clarification : Flying High - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Plasma Nimbus      (Edit)

  • If you're hit by a CMA, only the primary attacker takes damage from Plasma Nimbus.
  • For a warbeast with Plasma Nimbus and a crippled body, you roll less one dice for the Plasma Nimbus damage.

Rules Clarification : Sky Fire - None yet. (Edit)