Stoneward & Woldstalkers

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search

We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Stoneward & Woldstalkers
Circle Unit

I’m a’ firin’ mah forest lazer!!

Basic Info[edit]

Stoneward & Woldstalkers
Missing Info
Stoneward & Woldstalkers.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Stats: Human / Wolds
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR N/A
MAT 6 / -
RAT 4 / 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 14 / 12
ARM 13 / 15
CMD 9 / 4
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE 6
COST 10
1.7 each
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Stoneward
    • Voulge - 2" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon
  • Woldstalker Grunts
    • Arcane Strike - 10" range, POW 12 gun
      • Damage Type: Magical - As above

Abilities[edit]

  • Stoneward
    • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Blackclad - This model is a Blackclad model (but the unit is not a Blackclad unit).
    • Magic Ability [ - ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
      • Concentrated Fire (★ Action) - Models in this unit gain a +1 cumulative bonus to ranged damage rolls for each other model in this unit that has hit an enemy model with a ranged attack this activation.
      • Zephyr (★ Action) - Models in this unit can immediately advance up to 3".
    • Self-Sacrifice - If this model is disabled by an enemy attack, you can choose a non-disabled model in this unit wihtin 3" of this model to be destroyed and this model removes 1 damage point.
  • Woldstalker Grunts
    • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
    • Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapon(s) even while in melee, but with limitations. Click the link for the full rule.
    • Pathfinder - As above

Analysis of Stoneward & Woldstalkers[edit]

Stoneward & Woldstalkers in a Nutshell[edit]

The Woldstalkers are a set of shooty stone shrimp that can put some hurt on a heavy at range. The guns start at POW 12, but with Concentrated Power in play the last one will hit at POW 17 (assuming everyone hits) which is high enough to start dinging heavies.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Druids of Orboros can use Pulse of the Earth to knockdown some random cannon fodder, ensuring these guys hit and get that Concentrated Fire bonus to maximum before attacking a real target.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • The Stoneward doesn't have an attack worth talking about. Meaning you get fewer actually useful models than you would in a minimum unit of Reeves of Orboros or Tharn Bloodtrackers for the same cost.
  • They have a low DEF for infantry so they lose shooting duels, even if they are almost blast immune.
  • Since the stones are CMD 4, if the Stoneward dies then chances are good that most of the stones will be out of formation and unable to do anything next turn.
  • At 10 points it is only slightly behind the curve. Unfortunately it shares a theme with the Sentry Stone & Mannikins and there is almost no army you can build where a unit of Woldshrimp is worth a pair of Sentry Stones.
  • Since the Woldwyrd was buffed to POW 12 on its shooting (and counts for free points in Bones of Orboros) and can make boostable shots there's even less of a place for the Woldshrimp.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • If they get stuck in melee, you can Zephyr them back out again before they shoot. (Beware free strikes)
  • They can aim and still move via Zephyr.
  • They can use Zephyr to "hit and run".
  • You can declare a charge with this unit, in extreme circumstances, but note the Stoneward won't be able to use a Magic Ability that activation.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Hordes: Metamorphosis (2009)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Circle models[edit]

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder (Attached) - Gallows Grove - Reeve Hunter - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - War Wolf
Lord of the Feast - Una1 (Lesser) - Wolf Lord Morraig
Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2018.10

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Concentrated Fire      (Edit)

  • Note that the bonus is based on other models hitting. So if you have two attacks, you won't get the bonus on your second attack even if your first hits.
  • Note that the bonus is based on number of models that hit. Not number of attacks that hit. So even if you have two attacks and both hit, the other models in the unit only get +1.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Zephyr      (Edit)

  • You cannot use Zephyr until everyone in the unit has moved (as no model in a unit can perform an Action until all models have completed their Move). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot use an Action on the same turn you Run or Charge.(Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Self-Sacrifice and/or Roth's Mercy     (Edit)

  • The model that is destroyed is not destroyed by an enemy attack, instead it is destroyed by the Self-Sac ability. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This allows you to nullify many enemy abilities (such as Overtake and Blood Boon).
    • However, it will not nullify all abilities, some abilities don't care who destroyed what (such as Soul Taker or Body Snatcher).
  • An enemy ability that prevents healing (such as Entropic Force) does not prevent you triggering Self-Sacrifice ... it just prevents the part where you heal.
    • This means you could end up with 2 dead models and 0 healed models; an opponent is perfectly within his rights to let you declare self-sacrifice, remove a 2nd model via self-sacrifice, then refuse to let you heal the first one.
  • If multiple models are caught in the same attack (for instance, an AOE), then they can't self-sacrifice to each other (because they're all disabled at the same time).
    • However, if you have Self-Sacrifice & Tough they trigger at the same time. So you resolve tough first and if anyone in the AOE passes they become non-disabled. Since it's simultaneous, that model is now a valid target for self-sacrifice for the other guys in the AOE.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Gunfighter      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General
  • You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
  • A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).

Targeting

  1. Outside of melee
    • If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
  2. In melee, but didn't charge
    • If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
    • This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
    • If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
  3. Charged into melee
    • If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
    • If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
  4. Other targeting notes
    • Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
    • If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
    • Gunfighter doesn't change the RNG of your gun, it just provides you an ability to use it while in melee and imposes some targeting restrictions.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 1", that will further limit who you can target.
      • If you're affected by a debuff that reduces your RNG to 0", you cannot make attacks (refer 'Weapon Statistics', page 19 of rulebook).

Attack Roll

  • You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
  • Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
  • How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
    • they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
    • they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
  • Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).

Missing the Attack Roll

  • If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
    • Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
    • but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).

Incorporeal Gunfighters

  • Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
  • Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).

Gunfighter + an AOE weapon

  • If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
  • If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.

Gunfighter + a spray weapon

  • Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
  • If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.

Units of Gunfighters

  • If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
  • Redirected attack:
    • If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
    • If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
    • If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.

Other interactions

  • Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
    • If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
    • These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
    • Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
    • Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
      • Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
      • Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
    • Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
      • Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
      • Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
  • Gunfighter vs RNG modifiers (Edit)
    • Unlike what most people might tell you, Gunfighter doesn't have a "range", it just lets the model make ranged attacks while in melee. The gun's actual RNG is unaffected though, until you put something like Windstorm (-5 RNG) on it. Then what happens is:
    1. If the gun is RNG 7, Windstorm will reduce it to 2". Thus it won't affect any Gunfighter attacks.
    2. If the gun is RNG 6, Windstorm will reduce it to 1". Thus you can only make Gunfighter attacks vs models within 1" (if you can - charging Gunfighters may be more limited).
    3. If the gun is RNG 5, Windstorm will reduce it to 0". Thus you can't make any attacks as per 'Weapon Statistics' (page 19 of the core rulebook).
    (Infernal Ruling)