Stonecold Black Bella

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1356 articles and 93% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Mercenary Logo.jpg Stonecold Black Bella

Mercenary Thamarite Privateer Character Solo

The Duchess of Dread, the Larceny Lass, that filthy Thamarite pirate...Bella has gone by many names over the years. These days, folks call her by a name that best matches her demeanour towards others: Stonecold.

Before the apocalypse, Bella enjoyed her position as first mate for the infamous pirate warcaster, Fiona the Black. It was Fiona who taught Bella all she truly needed to succeed in life: how to fight, how to steal, how to stab someone in the back. Fiona wasn’t the least bit surprised when Bella inevitably betrayed her over the biggest haul they’d ever scored and then set sail on her own journeys. It comes with the territory.

Shop icon.jpg

Boxed Set
Black Bella2 comes in a Riot Quest starter set, alongside 4 other solos: Boomhowler3, Yssylla, Yuri2, and Shivers.

At the time of writing (2020.07) they are not available for individual purchase.

Basic Info

Black Bella2
Missing Info
Black Bella2.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 6
MAT 7
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 15
ARM 12
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 5
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Riot Quest - Although this model has rules which allow it to be played in Warmachine and Hordes, it was primarily designed for the Riot Quest game. RQ is set in an alternate and/or future timeline where the Infernals won the war. Some of the RQ models have a deliberately goofy aesthetic.

Mercenary - This model will work for Crucible Guard, Cryx, Cygnar, Khador, and the Protectorate.

Abilities

  • Call to Sacrifice [ Sea Dog ] - If this model is disabled by an enemy attack, you can choose a non-disabled friendly Sea Dog model within 5" of this model to be destroyed. If another model is destroyed as a result of Call to Sacrifice, remove 1 damage point from this model.
  • Dual Attack - This model can make melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
  • Money is Power - This model can have up to 3 loot tokens at any one time. During its activation, it can spend them to boost attack or damage rolls. This model can boost one roll for each token spent.

Weapons

Frostwing
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
12 1 - 12
  • Black Penny - This attack ignores the target in melee DEF bonus.
  • Scavenge - When this model hits an enemy with this weapon, it gains 1 loot token.
Telescoping Blade
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
1 / 4 4 10
  • Chain Weapon symbol.jpg Chain Weapon
  • Weapon Master symbol.jpg Weapon Master
  • Blood Reaper - When this model makes an initial attack with this weapon, it makes one melee attack with this weapon against each model in its LOS that is in this weapon’s melee range. Blood Reaper attacks are simultaneous.
  • Chain Strike - This weapon becomes RNG 4 during this model's activation.

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions
    • Infernal players can use this model in the Hearts of Darkness theme, but only if Crosse2 is leading the army.
    • Furthermore, Mercenary models can be hired by other Factions. Normally those Factions' themes will have a limit on how many models they can hire. Refer to #Other Theme Forces, below.

Thoughts on Black Bella2

Black Bella2 in a nutshell

She's a combat solo with a boosting ability. She sits back plinking dudes and earning loot until she has a chance to charge a good target, then gets stuck in and threshers everything to death.

She can destroy a whole host of infantry in the exact same way as Bella1 if she gets the chance, but she won’t be a drain on your clock in the same way killing spree can be.

Outside of the Talion Charter she is quite difficult to deliver as her defensive stats are above average but merely ok; a wandering AOE can take her out fairly trivially.

Combos & Synergies

Non-casters

Casters

  • Captain Allison Jakes - In Flames in the Darkness Black Bella becomes a Cygnar model, so she can feat on her. Blood Reaper, 4" range, and E-Leaps can turn entire infantry lines to dust.
  • Zerkova1 has clouds that also apply -2 to enemy attack rolls.
  • She is one of the better throw-away targets for Shae's Storm Rager spell, turning her into a fearsome missile. As with other pirates he gives her absurd threat ranges.
  • Rahera's black spot spell allows her to earn multiple loot tokens with her owl before she goes in to spend them all on threshers. The DEF debuff Blackspot provides also helps her puny RAT of 6. Her feat also helps her earn loot and reducing RNG on enemy guns helps everyone.
  • Stryker1 or Ossrum offer Snipe so the owl can pilfer loot at RNG 16".
  • Crosse2 - Ghost Walk is pretty neat on her. With Run & Gun you can also back up after you killed something with the owl, Meaning you can potentially cheat out another turn with her after you committed her into melee, as Run & Gun occurs at the end of your activation.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • She's dependant on Sea Dogs to stay alive, else she dies to blast damage like any other low ARM solo.
  • Anything that RFPs before disabled (such as Consume) or prevents models removing damage (such as Entropic Force) will negate Call to Sacrifice.
  • RAT 6 and only a single shot per turn means she might have trouble amassing loot.
  • Blood Reaper is not optional. With a 4" reach she can be a real danger to your own troops once battlelines get mixed up.

Tricks & Tips

  • In Talion Charter under Storm Rager and with Sea Dogs to sacrifice into she is easy to deliver.
  • She is slightly less easy to deliver under Crosse2 in Hearts of Darkness as blast damage is still a major threat, but she does have assess to the Umbral Guardian.
  • if you charge you MUST complete the charge action first meaning you need to melee and then use the gun. But if you walk into combat you can shoot, get your token then fight.

Other

Trivia

  • Released 2020.12

Other Theme Forces

Crucible Guard (Edit)

Cryx (Edit)

Cygnar (Edit)

Khador (Edit)

Protectorate of Menoth (Edit)

Other Mercenary models

Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn1 - Ashlynn2 - Aurora2 - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

"Juniors"

Asphyxious4 - Crosse1 - Nemo4

'Jack Marshals

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - MacHorne2 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Steelhead Ironhead

Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments

Doctor Stygius - Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Non-character Units

Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Legion of Lost Souls - Ogrun Assault Corps - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)

Character Units

Alexia1 - Asphyxious4 - Croe's Cutthroats - Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Herne & Jonne - Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus & Edrea - MacHorne1 - The Commodore Cannon - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Non-character Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Death Archon - Gobber Tinker - Menite Archon - Morrowan Archon - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - Swamp Gobber River Raider Thamarite Advocate - Thamarite Archon - Void Archon

Character Solos

Alexia2 - Alexia3 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Balthazar Bamfist - Black Bella1 - Black Bella2 - Bloody Bradigan - Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Bosun Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Captain Crawtooth - Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dez1 - Dez2 - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Doctor Stygius - Eilish1 - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Eiryss4 - First Mate Hawk - Flubbin1 - Flugwug the Filcher - Crosse1 - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gorman1 - Gorman2 - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Gubbin1 - Gubbin2 - Gudrun1 - Gudrun2 - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Harlowe Holdemhigh - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Lord Rockbottom - MacHorne2 - Major Harrison Gibbs - Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer - Savio Montero Acosta - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye - Stannis Brocker - Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage - Thor Steinhammer - Underboss Vizkoya - Viktor Pendrake - Weird Wendell - Widget1 - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines

Hammerfall Siege Crawler - Nemo4

Independent Warjack

Malvin & Mayhem

Theme Forces (Edit)
Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2021.03

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Call to Sacrifice      (Edit)

  • This ability is optional.
  • This ability will be blocked by "anti-heal" effects (such as Grievous Wounds or Entropic Force).
  • This ability will not trigger if the model is disabled by damage rolls not coming from an ennemy attack (like Electro Leap, a continuous effect, or a friendly attack).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Attack      (Edit)

  • If you fail a charge, then you do not get to make ranged attacks.
  • If you have multiple ranged attacks and/or melee attacks, you can intermingle them in any order. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can charge, make a ranged attack, then make your charge melee attack. Even though you made a ranged attack, that doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must complete all initial attacks before buying attacks. You can't go: Make an initial melee attack, then buy a melee attack, then make an initial ranged attack. (Locked Thread)
  • Dual Attack doesn't let you mix initial attacks with a (★) attack. Dual Attack only lets you make either:
    1. Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
    2. Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
      Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
    • You could theoretically make a special melee attack and then buy additional ranged attacks (or vice versa) ... but the core rules say "The rules for these special attacks indicate the nature of any additional attacks that can be made afterward, if any" so the special attack would have to explicitly allow a swap - and I'm unaware of any that do so.
  • There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with.
  • Your ranged attack(s) can target a model you are not in melee with. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.

Rules Clarification : Money is Power - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Black Penny - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Scavenge - None yet. (Edit)
}} Rules Clarification : Chain Weapon - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blood Reaper      (Edit)

  • Blood Reaper occurs every time you make an initial attack (but not on additional attacks).
  • Blood Reaper is not optional.
  • All attacks generated are Basic Attacks.
  • Blood Reaper will hit friendly models.

  • If a model has Dual Attack and Blood Reaper, they can shoot and quasi-Blood Reap in the same activation.
  • Lord of the Feast only:
    • The combination of Heart Eater (can spend corpses to boost melee damage), Death-Powered (gets bonus STR per corpse), and Blood Reaper (makes simultaneous melee attacks) have a weird interaction: even though the damage is simultaneous, the damage rolls are sequential.
    • This means that if you spend a corpse to boost damage, your P+S immediately decreases for that damage roll and the next damage roll(s), even though the damage is simultaneous.
    • The P+S of previous damage rolls are unaffected, though,
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • Simultaneous melee attack (Edit)
There are several abilities/spells that allow a model to make simultaneous melee attacks vs everything in range (Blood Reaper, Cyclone, Flashing Blade, High-Impact, Thresher)
      Some have Infernal Rulings that pertain only to themselves, but the clarifications below are applicable to all of these abilities:   [Show/Hide]
Targeting/Timing
  • To make a multi-melee-attack (MMA) you have to make individual melee attacks vs every model, and this means you need to target every model with a melee attack. If a model "may not be targeted by melee attacks" (such as Una2's feat) then you have to 'skip' it when you resolve the attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The attacks are simultaneous.
    • If a model is out of LOS when you start the MMA, then you may not attack it during the MMA (even if the MMA kills what is blocking your LOS).
    • You need to target everything, then resolve all effects that trigger on "target" before starting any attack rolls. Then complete all attack rolls and do everything that triggers on "hit" before starting any damage rolls, and etc.
    In practice and to save time though, if neither player has effects that trigger on "being targetted, hit, damaged, etc" then they'll normally do the hit and damage rolls on a model-by-model basis.
    • If a model collects tokens from destroyed models (for instance the Cryx Harrower that collects souls), it cannot collect them until all MMA are resolved.
Charging
  • If you charge and cast a spell to generate MMA, then none of those MMA count as a charge attack. You've "paused" your charge. IF the charge target survives the spell, then you get to make a charge attack vs it.
  • If your MMA is simply tied to your weapon, though, then note that only the damage roll against your charge target is automatically boosted - other models caught in the MMA suffer an unboosted damage roll (although you can spend focus/fury to boost it)
Triggering other abilities
  • Most abilities that give the attacker a bonus move/attack tend to use the phrase "destroy one or more enemy models with a melee attack" and as such you'll only trigger this ability once. For example Berserk, Quick Work, Black Spot, etc
  • Other abilities, though, can be triggered off every attack in the MMA.
Most of these ones only trigger off a basic melee attack, so don't stack with Thresher. But if your MMA is basic, things might get a bit complicated with these abilities:
  • If you have Beat Back on the attacker, it is resolved after the attack. Every model that survives the MMA is eligible to be Beat Back-ed, and the attacker chooses the order. Pick one, push it and follow it, then decide if you want to Beat Back another survivor. Each push will recenter the directly away / directly toward part of the push. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have Electro-Leap on the attack, it is resolved after all attack rolls but before any damage rolls. The models that you just attacked will have electo-leaps bounce between them (as they will generally be the closest to each other). After the Electro damage is resolved, you can roll melee damage vs any models that survived the electric damage. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Chain Strike and/or Lunge     (Edit)

  • The extra melee range kicks in the instant you start your activation, and if that makes you engage an enemy then it means you can't aim.
  • The extra range does apply during Frenzies (because that is defined as an activation)
  • The extra range doesn't apply during free strikes or when your opponent takes control of your model.
  • It doesn't increase the range of Power Attacks, because you do not apply weapon special rules to Power Attacks (unless they specifically reference Power Attacks, like Hard Head does). (Locked Thread)
  • If you're affected by another range-altering rule (such as Jakes2's feat) then that won't override Chain Strike. (Infernal Ruling)