Stalker

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1225 articles and 88% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Locke (1 year review) Suppresor (1 year review) Fire of Salvation (1 year review) Severius0 (1 year review)


Cryx Logo.jpg Stalker

Cryx Light Warjack

SamePageIcon.jpg

You may be looking for one of these:

The Stalker is a nightmarish fusion of darkness and steel designed for a single purpose: to butcher those who oppose the will of the Dragonfather. With a shadowy hull that seemingly writhes and ripples in the light, this insidious creation is nearly indiscernible from a distance.

Basic Info

Stalker
Missing Info
Stalker.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 7
STR 7
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 15
ARM 13
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 18
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 8
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Bounding Leap - Once per activation, after making a full advance as its Normal Movement but before performing its Combat Action, this model can spend 1 focus to be placed completely within 5" of its current location.
  • Extended Control Range - When checking to see if this model is in its controller's control range, double the range.

Weapons

  • Eviscerator (x2) - 1" reach, POW 5, P+S 12 melee weapons.
    • Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.
    • Grievous Wounds - A model hit by this weapon loses Tough and cannot have damage removed from it for one round.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Stalker

Stalker in a nutshell

The Stalker is an assassin. It is perfectly suited to work on the flanks, with Extended Control Range and Stealth keeping it safe. Even if it gets engaged, its high DEF will keep it safe from most unboosted attacks. It's fast, has Pathfinder to get to its target, and has good enough MAT and P+S to wreck most non-warjack models. And let's be honest, that thing is just downright creepy looking.

It's generally either an early-game piece used to scalpel out a key solo that has positioned itself badly (sometimes it is worth throwing away an 8 point warjack to kill a 4-5 point solo), or a mid-game piece that runs up the flanks for the first couple of turns. It doesn't normally survive to the late-game.

Combos & Synergies

  • Any caster that can give it extra movement, to close the last little gap to the enemy caster. For example, Mortenebra1 (Overrun), Scaverous (Telekinesis), or The Coven (Infernal Machine). In a pinch, Sturgis2's feat also counts.
  • It is useful to Mortenebra2's feat. It can jump into an enemy's back arc to trigger Flank, without blocking your heavies' charge lanes.
  • Usual caveat of the Cryx de-buff engine: stack abilities (Bane Warriors Dark Shroud), feats and spells (pDenny), or STR buffs (Skarre1) to let it punch way above its weight class.
  • They're a popular choice for Aiakos1 who can speed them up (Escort) and, because Aiakos has a low Focus stat, he appreciates their extended control range. Also, you get an all-stealth, all-jump, secondary battlegroup, which is pretty cool.
    • I particularly like Aiakos1 and Scaverous, because between them they can push the Stalker's threat range up to an absurd 19".
  • Since they often work on the flank, they can be good in the Theme Forces with ambushing units (Black Industries or Scourge of the Broken Coast). If the enemy moves towards the flank to deal with the Stalker, your ambushing unit can jump in to help out.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Has all the durability of a wet paper bag.
  • It relies on the high DEF and stealth to survive, so anything that auto-hits will give it a bad day.
  • Unbuffed it struggles against high ARM targets.
  • The model is difficult to assemble. First off the arms/legs can be difficult to align without them hitting each other, and second you've got 4 tiny contact points with the base. Most players put a piece of decorative scenery on the base and stab the legs through it, and/or put the legs adjacent to the scenery and put glue on the side of the leg.

Tricks & Tips

  • Jump is a place effect, not an advance. Use it to circumvent enemy abilities which trigger on "advance" (such as Admonition, Counter Charge, Enliven).
  • Sometimes, if assassination is difficult to come by, it can be worthwhile to sacrifice the Stalker to finish off an enemy objective.
  • You threaten 2" further with a Jump than you do with a Charge, for the same focus cost. Very useful when your target cannot be charged (like Polarity Shielded units). On the other hand, if you Jump you don't get boosted damage on your first attack. Choose wisely.

Other

Trivia

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC) - Deneghra0 (BGC)
Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units - Living

BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Units - Undead

Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters - The Withershadow Combine

Solos - Living/Construct

Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Severa Blacktide - Warwitch Siren

Solos - Undead

Agrimony - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Grievous Wounds      (Edit)

  • GW prevents "repairs" as well as "heals".
  • It does not stop a warlock transferring damage, or stop the wounded model from being able to 'heal' someone else.
  • Does not affect models with the Massive rule.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bounding Leap and/or Jump     (Edit)

  • You cannot use Jump or Bounding Leap if you forfeit your movement. "After making a full advance" is a conditional requirement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can only use Jump or Bounding Leap after a full advance, which means you can't do it after a Slam, Trample, or Charge.
  • You can use "At any time" abilities between completing your move and doing the Jump/Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Jumps & Leaps are a "placement". They do not trigger free strikes, and you can even jump over solid buildings of infinite height.
  • If you cannot advance more than 0" (for example suffering from Shadow Bind) then you can Jump/Leap. Making an advance of 0" is sufficient to trigger Jump/Leap.
  • Jump only
    You cannot use Jump if you are suffering "any effect which prevents charging". So...
    • If you forfeit your Normal Movement, you cannot Jump. (For the same reason as given above.)
    • If you forfeit your Combat Action, you cannot Jump. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you "cannot make attacks" (such as with Morvahna1's feat), you cannot charge, therefore cannot Jump. (Locked Thread)
  • Unit with Jump
    • Complete all the models' Normal Movement before starting any Jumps. Then do all Jumps (that you can do and/or want to do) before starting any Combat Actions. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Models in a unit can Jump even if they don't receive a Press Forward order (failing to be told to charge is not the same as being prevented from charging). (Infernal Ruling)