|99% of this website is about Mark 3 (mk3), which is the previous edition of the game (2016 to 2022). The reasons for this are explained here.|
1% of the website is about Mark 4 (mk4), but only in regards to which mk3 models are useable in mk4 Prime and which are mk4 Unlimited. See Legacy Armies for more detail.
This model has not (yet) been updated with Mk IV rules, as of 2022.11. Privateer Press have promised it will get updated ... eventually.
You can view the Mk3 models that have been updated on this page.
Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.
Among the most powerful thralls ever created, a soulhunter is an unholy vision of terror incarnate. Its menacing mass of plating, piping, gears, furnace, and flesh is an amalgamation designed for swift ferocity. It boasts slick skin cured by dark alchemy and inscribed with runes of thrall magic as well as a riveted carapace handcrafted by necrotechs. It's steam-enchanced flesh and musculature is fused with the powerful body of a Scharde-bred charger. The hungry necrotite furnace within its equine ribcage burns with a baleful corpse-fire, venting choking black smoke from the ominous flues running along its reinforced spine.
||3 or 5
||10 or 16
|3.6 pts each
- Soul Taker: Body Count - This model can gain soul tokens. When this model destroys a living enemy model with an attack, this model gains the destroyed model's soul token. This model can have up to three soul tokens at any time. This model can spend soul tokens for the following:
- Strength of Death - During its Combat Action, this model can spend soul tokens to boost one attack or damage roll for each token spent.
- Soul Phase - This model can spend a soul token to become Incorporeal for a turn.
- Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.
- Soul Reserve - This model begins the game with a soul token.
- Scythe - 2" reach, POW 6, P+S 13 melee attack
- Sickle - 0.5" reach, POW 4, P+S 11 melee attack
- Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 10 mount attack
Thoughts on Soulhunters
Soulhunters in a Nutshell
Soulhunters are a skirmish unit, and they hate getting bogged down in melee. They excel at taking out enemy light infantry (especially living enemies), have a chance of hurting light warjacks, but are relatively useless against high ARM targets.
Their MAT isn't good enough to hit high DEF targets all that often, unless you manage to gain a soul token beforehand or apply liberal debuffs (which is very easy for Cryx to do). Then you can start the "soul train", where you use one soul token to help you kill an enemy, then gain a soul token to spend against for the next enemy, etc. Note that the soul tokens can not be used to buy additional attacks.
As far as durability is concerned, their high DEF and health boxes will make them take slightly more effort to kill than most opponents realize. But don't bank on their defensive stats to keep them alive - Their real shield is their SPD and Reposition move. Use smart positioning to stay out of the scrum - these guys should always be getting the charge, not being charged themselves.
Combos & Synergies
- ARM debuffs like Parasite or Scything Touch let Soulhunters punch above their weight class, and with 3 attacks apiece they can really ding something up.
- Darragh Wrathe can speed them up with Death Ride.
- Soulhunters pair very well with casters who can give them Ghost Walk.
- Aurora1 in Strange Bedfellows gives them Flight and extra speed with Aerogenesis, and Parry on feat turn. With Arcane Might they can also boost without souls.
- Goreshade2 - Mirage or Occultation are great upkeeps for them and with his feat he can cycle Mechanithralls or Scrap Thralls into fallen Soulhunters, which are the highest-value models for him to return with his feat. Curse of Shadows is always great with cavalry for unimpeded impact attacks.
- Goreshade3 - He can bring them back with Mockery of life and protect them with Occultation.
- Deneghra0 - Curse of Shadows on a stick.
- Deneghra2 also has CoS and Breath Stealer as a hitfixing tool. Her feat turns them Incorporeal even without Soul Phase.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- They're a very expensive unit, and if you use them unwisely it's just like throwing points down the drain.
- It can be tempting to move into 0.5" to get your extra Mount and Sickle attacks, but this can leave you open to free strikes when you try to Reposition away (unless you use Soul Phase).
- Life Drinker is almost a non-ability for these guys - their ARM is so low that anything that hits them is likely to kill them, they don't often wander around half-damaged looking for a heal.
- Soul Phase lasts only for your turn, so it won't keep them safe from retaliation.
Tricks & Tips
- Vs enemies with less melee range, stop your charge at 2" so that you can Reposition away without suffering a free strike. It means less attacks, but staying mobile is often more important. Also, it allows another friendly unit to charge the now-softened-up target.
- On the other hand, getting the enemy into Sickle range can lead to not only an extra attack, but also healing yourself.
- Try and charge an enemy model in such a way that they're within 0.5" of one enemy and 2" of a second. Use your Sickle to kill the guy within 0.5" (with the bonus charge damage, there's a good chance the weaker weapon will still kill your target), then your Scythe to kill the one within 2", then Reposition away without suffering free strikes.
- Use Soul Phase to go incorporeal before Repositioning (since it can be used any time during their activations). This will allow them to Reposition anywhere, even deeper into enemy lines and ignore non-magical weapons.
Other Cryx models
Rules Clarification : Life Drinker - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Cavalry (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
- Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
- Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
- Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
- If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
- Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
- Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
- You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Movement
- Impact Attacks "pause" your charge move, and as such don't normally trigger "ends an advance" abilities (such as Countercharge).
- The exception is if your Impact Attacks include your charge target, then you have to end the charge movement and turn to directly face the charge target before rolling any dice. In this case, stuff like Countercharge will get triggered before you get to roll your Impact Attacks.
- You cannot "pause" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance: a Pathfinder cavalry model pausing halfway over an obstacle; a flying cavalry model pausing while it 'overlaps' other models; or any cavalry model pausing halfway through an Incorporeal model.
Impact Attacks - The attack(s)
- You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
- If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
- If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)
- Impact Attacks cannot be boosted, refer core rulebook.
- You cannot buy additional attacks while resolving Impact Attacks. Additional attacks can only be bought during your Combat Action, after resolving your initial melee attack(s) / special melee attack.
Impact Attacks - Other
- You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.
- If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
- Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
- Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
- Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
- Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)
- Cavalry model with no melee weapon
- If you have a Mount weapon but no regular Melee weapon (such as the Efaarit Scout), you can still declare a charge. (Locked thread)
- You can make Impact Attacks along the way.
- Once you get to the charge target, however, you can't make a melee attack against it. Because you can't use the mount weapon for a charge attack, due to the way the Cavalry rules are written. (Unless you have a rule like Trampling Hooves.)
- If you don't charge, the mount attack can be used as an initial melee attack.
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
- Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
- Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
- Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
- Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
- Although flyers can move over obstacles/models, and horses can pause to do impacts while charging, flying horses cannot make impact attacks while overlapping models/obstacles. You need to pause in a legal position.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- End of Activation (Edit)
- You cannot resolve two end-of-activation movement effects (refer to "End of Activation Movement" in the core rulebook). For EOA stuff that doesn't involve movement, though, it gets a bit more murky:
- Some EOA abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability (like Reposition), and some don't (like Refuge).
- Whether it is explicit it or not, by definition an EOA ability is the last thing you can do for that activation. For instance, if you resolve Refuge and then continue your activation to cast more spells, then you have not used Refuge at the end of your activation.
- You cannot do an "at any time" ability during or after triggering an EOA ability; you cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
- If you start resolving an EOA movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while resolving the EOA movement, and after the EOA movement your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's EOA movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
- See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.
Rules Clarification : Soul Reserve - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Body Count (Edit)
- This model only gets the soul if it's the closest eligible model. Body Count doesn't have the "regardless of proximity of other models" wording like Dark Fire does.
Rules Clarification : Strength of Death - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Soul Phase (Edit)
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities
- "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
- Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
- After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
- Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
- Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
- In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
- When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
(Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
- Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
- Warcasters/warlocks/etc can normally cast a spell or use their feat "At any time". However, there is a core rule saying they cannot do so on the same activation that they run. So, they are subject to all the same restrictions listed above, plus they can't cast/feat before running.
- Units: See below.
- In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
- If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Units with "Any Time" abilities
- You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
- A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after they run (Infernal Ruling) or fail a charge. Because that makes that specific model's activation to end even though the unit's activation is still ongoing, and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
- You can use an "Any Time" ability before running, however.
- A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)