Trollkin Sorcerer

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Sorcerer)
Jump to: navigation, search
Trollblood Logo.jpg Trollkin Sorcerer

Trollblood Trollkin Weapon Attachment

The sorcerers of the trollkin are not timid lore masters but determined and lethal combatants. Typically born with the white skin and red eyes of albinos, making them easily recognized as trollkin sorcerers at birth, they often command powers associated with elements prevalent in the region of their birth. Thus, many originating from the north command the cold winds of winter as a powerful weapon that can be used to attack or defend.

Basic Info

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support As of 2019.09, PP have removed the SOS info from the Retailer Support website.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

Trollkin Sorcerer
Missing Info
TrollkinSorcerer.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR
MAT 5
RAT N/A
M.A. 6
DEF 12
ARM 14
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 3
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Combat Caster - When this model's unit receives the Press Forward order, before its Normal Movement, this model can make one Magical Ability special action or special attack. It can then run or charge normally.
  • Magic Ability [ 6 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.

Weapons

Spells

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF


Disbinding

(★ Action) - Unit - - -
Enemy upkeep spells and animi on this unit expire.
Razor Wind

(★ Attack) 10 - 12 - Yes
This spell has zero special effects.
Rituals of Power

(★ Action) - Unit - Round -
While the Sorcerer is in formation, the weapons of models in his unit gain Damage Type: Magical. Lasts for one round.

Theme Forces

Since it can be attached to any unit, it can be in every theme (as of 2019.07):

Thoughts on Trollkin Sorcerer

Trollkin Sorcerer in a nutshell

The Sorcerer(s) is a utility weapon attachment that works really decently well with a number units and is superfluous on others.

It clears the unit of upkeeps with Disbinding, grants magic weapons to his entire unit so they can smite incorporeal models like the feared Wraith Engine or annoying Gremlin Swarm, additionaly it serves as a simple extra body in units that rely on their body count.

The sorcerer also gains any benefits granted by Tactics or Granted unit leaders or Fell Calls.

Weapon Attachment

You can't attach a Sorcerer to the following units:

Combos & Synergies

  • Trollkin Champions are probably the unit that can make use of one or more sorcerers. First an foremost they can spread damage around with Sanguine Bond, and the sorcerer(s) add his ARM and boxes to the pool of the unit. Secondly they have a CA that grants them several effects, Relentless Charge being the one the sorc appreciates the most. Finally, giving POW 12 weapon masters with 2 initails per model that can recieve Kriel Stone buffs magical weapons lets them deal with Wraith Engines superbly.
  • If attached to Fell Caller units such as the Sons of Bragg or Boomhowler's the Sorcer will benefit from the Fell Calls, whcih can be cute but is probably not worth it.
  • The sorcerer can cast razor wind before running to engage. This can be a useful way to set up gang for Trollkin Scouts or position for defensive line on champions.
  • Attaching a sorcerer to a krielstone lets it store an extra fury. Paying 9 pts to get 3" extra on the aura isn't exactly worthwhile, but if you need to shave 1 point off a list that contains a max stone+elder, dropping down to min stone+elder+sorcerer only loses 1" of aura.
  • In Kriel Company you can attach them to Boomhowlers.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He's a special order model
  • He can only disbind on your turn, so if the opponent can just put a debuffon your unit and wreck it in one turn (e.g. Parasite), he doesn't help.
  • Even with Combat Caster, you can't use Disbind before issuing/receiving an order. So he can't get rid of Rebuke until it's already hampered the unit.
  • If your meta doesn't see much Grymkin, Cryx or Protectorate, you might not need magic weapons all that much.

Tricks & Tips

  • Remember you can attach 3 sorcerers to a unit (if you care to shell out the points, and the cash). There are some cheeky things that that enables, like extra durability on Champions or extra aura range on the Krielstone.

Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Gargantuans (2013)

Other Trollblood models

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor
Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dannon Blythe & Bull - Greygore Boomhowler & Co. (1) - Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Sons of Bragg - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - T Champions - T Fennblades - T Highwaymen - T Long Riders - T Runeshapers - T Scouts - T Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer

Solos

Boomhowler, Solo Artist (2) - Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Ledfoot & Tredz - Northkin Shaman - Pyg Tank - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.08

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Trollkin Attachment

  • If a unit has a mix of base sizes (such as Dannon Blythe and Bull), then it is not a medium-sized base unit and the Sorcerer can't be attached to it. (Infernal Rulings)
  • It could hypothetically be attached to a warlock unit, but so far each warlock unit contain Pyg models so don't count as a Trollkin unit.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attachment     (Edit)

  • You cannot field this model "just by itself".
  • Adding an Attachment doesn't change the unit type for targeting purposes. For instance, if you add a Soulless Escort to a Houseguard unit, it is still a Houseguard unit and can still be targeted by stuff that only works on "Target Houseguard unit" (like the Houseguard Thane's abilities). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you can add an Attachment to multiple unit types (such as the Soulless Escort, Trollkin Sorcerer, or Ranking Officer) then there's a few weird interactions:
    • The Attachment will benefit from any Granted abilities, and any Orders given.
    • If the unit gets a benefit from a theme force, the Attachment will too. (Infernal Ruling)
      For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
    • The Attachment can benefit from and/or trigger any "models in this unit..." style abilities that aren't actually on its card, but only if at least one model with that rule is still in play. Depending on the wording of the rule, the attachment may have restricted benefits.
      Example 1 "If a model in this unit is ... each model in the unit can ..." : an Attachment can benefit from a Vengeance move and attack. Or, conversely, its unit can get Vengeance if the attachment is killed.
      But if everyone except the Attachment is killed, the Attachment won't benefit from Vengeance.
      Example 2 "This model can ... to other models in its unit" : an Attachment can have damage assigned to it via Sanguine Bond, but if it takes damage it can't share it to the main unit.

Rules Clarification : Attachment Deployment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combat Caster     (Edit)

  • The unit has to receive the order before you can trigger Combat Caster, so you cannot use it if you are suffering from "cannot give/receive orders" (such as Rebuke) or a "the order does not take effect" (such as the Pandemonium Arcana). You can still move and cast a spell normally, though.
    • Special Mention: The Trollkin Sorcerer can't trigger Combat Caster while suffering Rebuke (even though one of his spells would make Rebuke expire).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability     (Edit)

  • Combat Action
    Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Non-Combat Action
    There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability at any time (eg Geomancy and Necromancy), or can cast a spell "for free" under specific conditions that would otherwise require their Combat Action (eg Battle Wizard and Combat Caster). These models get around all the restrictions listed above.

Rules Clarification : Disbinding - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Razor Wind     (Edit)

  • The text description has no in-game effect. It's just for flavour.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Rituals of Power     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")