When the Slaughter Fleet descends on its victims, it disgorges roaring hordes of blighted trollkin and black ogrun hungry for battle and blood. These inhumanly tough warriors form a vanguard for whole crews of Scharde sailors. Together they fall upon unsuspecting ports and coastal communities, putting entire populations to death. The lucky are left to rot on the beach, while the less fortunate fill the bellies of hungry bloodgorgers.
| An army made use the Slaughter Fleet Raiders theme force can include only the following Cryx models:
Full model list
The models allowed in Slaughter Fleet Raiders
This list was last updated: 2018.01 (Edit)
- All non-character Cryx warjacks
- Other character warjacks can be taken, but only if they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.
(★) Despite being treated as a Cryx unit during a game, the DSM still use up your Mercenary slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Mercenary unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)
- You may include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Cryx.
- These models can be included even if they have the Partisan [Cryx] rule.
- Mercenary units in this army can include attachments, including a Ranking Offcier
- If you include the Devil's Shadow Mutineers they count as a Cryx unit, not a Mercenary unit .
- Despite this, they still count against your "up to one Mercenary unit" allowance (in exactly the same way a Partisan unit would). (Infernal Ruling)
- Note that there is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take them, plus another Merc unit.
- For every full 20 points of Cryx units in this army, you can add one Cryx solo or Cryx CA.
- Free models don't count towards the 20 points.
- Warjacks gain Gang Fighter.
- Gang Fighter - When making a melee attack targeting an enemy model in the melee range of another friendly Faction warrior model, this model gains +2 to melee attack and melee damage rolls.
- You gain +2" deployment zone.
| No changes since 2017.11
Thoughts on this Theme Force
Slaughter Fleet Raiders in a nutshell
This is the closest thing Cryx has to a fully fledged sub-faction; the theme provides both melee and ranged options for your core units; it has both light, medium, and heavy-ish infantry; and one of the theme benefits affects warjacks without compromising your desire to get maximum free cards. There are many possible army builds within this theme force, and I don't expect it to be "solved" anywhere in the near future.
Slaughter Fleet is an amazing theme and it's very caster-independent, so any caster can play in it. However while every caster can be good in Slaughter Fleet, they're not all good with the same things. Some want to make use of the Gang Fighter benefit, some want to make use of all the good guns, some want to focus on the melee troops, and some want hybrid builds.
Blighted Trollkin Marauders are a universally good unit. They have decent stats all around, CRA, and can get caster-independent Stealth by stacking their Ashen Veil with to Axiara's Prowl. They can work well with anyone.
Bloodgorgers are an amazing anti-infantry unit but they can be vulnerable to guns on the approach, so you're gunna want something to help deliver them. That can be anything from Asphyxious2 clouds, Coven feat or Agathia Feat, an armor buff like Skarre3's Deceleration, or even just Smog Belcher clouds. Do note, that unless you have a damage fixer, Gorgers will struggle into higher armored units.
- Black Ogrun are your heavy-ish infantry, with ARM 15, 5 hitpoints, and tough
- Boarding Party - Decent melee, bad-to-ok gun, and the cheapest unit of multiwound troops in the game. Their preferred targets are heavy infantry and light 'jacks, but really they're in your list to be ablative armour.
- Ironmongers - Support unit that repair warjacks
- Smog Belchers - Ranged unit, good against a variety of things.
- Blighted Trollkin are your medium infantry, with ARM 16, 1 hitpoint, and tough
- Bloodgorgers - Melee unit that mulches enemy infantry
- Marauders - Ranged unit, good against a variety of things.
- Everything else is light infantry
The majority of your attacks sit in the P+S 10 to 12 range, which means you'll struggle vs ARM 18+ targets.
You'll want to bring a caster with ARM debuffs and/or Ragman.
You may also want to put some heavy hitters in your battlegroup, as opposed to utility 'jacks.
Other than the Gorgers when they charge, none of the core units have pathfinder. You'll probably want to bring a caster with Ghost Walk and/or Saxon.
The theme encourages you to take units to earn free cards, but another benefit applies only to warjacks. Some players see this as skornegy, and finding the perfect balance between infantry and warjacks can be difficult.
Unlike most themes, the SFR have a starter set. This is a decent purchase as you save about 8% over buying the contents individually. The contents are:
You'll notice that there is no warcaster or warjacks included. Also, aside from the Gorgers and Gerlak, they're all support pieces. And even Gerlak is more of a support piece until the mid-to-late game.
List Building Tips
- Axiara is great and should be your first free card. Her Tactician ability is invaluable, especially if you're running multiple medium-based units (and why wouldn't you?)
- Ragman can be worth consideration due to the theme's lack of models with Dark Shroud. He also benefits from the mass of medium bases blocking LoS to him as well as plentiful access to living Sac Pawns with Tough for when the enemy does get a bead on him.
- A max unit of both Bloodgorgers with Jussika and Trollkin Marauders with Axiara and Gerlak are a potent 41 point package, which can form the heart of any Slaughter Fleet Raiders list.
Gang Fighter shouldn't be underestimated, especially on the cheaper warjacks.
- 7 point Scavenger - If you can trigger Gang and Finisher, it's effectively a MAT 9, P+S 13 weapon master
- 8 point Stalker - MAT 9, P+S 14 with two Blessed attacks. And Jump.
- 10 point Slayer - MAT 9, with two attacks at P+S 18 and one at P+S 14. It's not too shabby for 10 points.
Sure on paper DEF 13, ARM 17 looks terrible becauae lol dietoguns, but on the table your opponent will be distracted by your infantry. If you spam 2 to 4 Slayers you've got a serious threat.
- A Kraken can be screened by all the medium bases and reach over them with it's 4" noodle arms.
She can put reinforcements in place for living models, and loves to be screened by lots of medium base models (although LOS to her huge base will never get screened). Dash and Deceleration help her deliver the troops while Draconic Blessing makes the trolls wreck face.
Released in the themeopaclyse (2017.09), updated almost immediately in the Black Fleet CID (2017.11)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- For your solo, if you select a solo that comes in multiples (such as Swamp Gobber River Raiders) you get the normal number of solos. Not just a single model. (Locked thread)
- As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take multiple.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so...
- they can count towards free points (if applicable). For instance, Nyss will count towards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- they can be taken free of cost (if applicable). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans
- Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
- If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Benefits for a single model/unit
(eg "One unit of [blah] gains [yaddah]") [Show/Hide]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points [Show/Hide]
- If a unit counts towards your free points, then all attachments count too; regardless of whether the attachment is the same model type. For instance:
- If the unit gets a benefit from a theme force, the Attachment will too. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
Number of free models [Show/Hide]
- If a model is normally added to your army in multiples (such as 3 Scrap Thralls for two points, 2 Crabbits for seven points, etc) and you choose to use your free card on such a model, you only get one model. (Infernal Ruling)
- There are some exceptions, such as Storm Division's benefit explicitly saying you'll get 3 stormcallers.
- There is one odd exception, for Children of the Dragon, where it was ruled that you'll get 5 incubi. However that ruling is an exception, not a general case.
Protectorate - The Faithful Masses [Show/Hide]
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Protectorate - The Creator's Might [Show/Hide]
Cryx - Ghost Fleet [Show/Hide]
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Cryx - Scourge of the Broken Coast [Show/Hide]
Cryx - Slaughter Fleet Raiders [Show/Hide]
- Despite being treated as a Cryx unit during a game, the DSM still use up your Mercenary slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Mercenary unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance [Show/Hide]
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Trollblood - Kriel Company [Show/Hide]
- Despite being treated as a Trollblood unit during a game, Dannon, Blythe, and Greygore still use up your Minion slot during list creation. They are more like a Partisan Minion unit, in that respect. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Bones of Orboros [Show/Hide]
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - Call of the Wild [Show/Hide]
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host [Show/Hide]
- Free Tharn models do count towards the free corpse tokens. (Infernal Ruling)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
Legion - Children of the Dragon [Show/Hide]
- If you select Incubi as your "one" solo, you get five of them. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Gang and/or Gang Fighter (Edit)
- You can gain the Gang bonus vs knocked down/stationary models (refer to the latest Errata).
- You can gain the Gang bonus on free strikes, but generally only the first "Ganger" will get it.
- For example, if a target is engaged by two models with Gang, when it leaves the melee range of the first Ganger it suffers a free strike with the Gang bonus. Then it leaves the melee range of the second and suffers a normal free strike.
Models in this Theme Force
Refer to Category: Slaughter Fleet Raiders