Skarlock Thrall

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1213 articles and 91% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Crucible Guard Assault Troopers (one year review) Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (one year review) Cinerators CA (one year review) Exemplar Warder (one year review)


Cryx Logo.jpg Skarlock Thrall

Cryx Thrall Solo - (Warcaster Attachment)

Skarlock thralls are insidious creatures of blackest sorcery. Linked to their warcasters by bonds so powerful they can act in their master's stead, skarlocks move against enemies with a confidence born of a baleful intelligence.

Basic Info

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

Skarlock Thrall
Missing Info
SkarlockThrall WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR
MAT 3
RAT N/A
M.A. 6
DEF 14
ARM 12
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
FA 1
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
  • Attached - Before the start of the game, attach this model/unit to a friendly Faction warcaster/warlock for the rest of the game. Each warcaster/warlock can only have one model/unit attached to it.
  • Soul Taker: Soul Cage - This model collects souls from living enemies who die within 2" of it. This model can store up to three souls and spend them for the following:
    • Strength of Death - During its Combat Action, this model can spend soul tokens to boost one attack or damage roll for each token spent.
  • Magic Ability [ 6 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast a single spell.

Weapons

  • Claws - 0.5" reach, P+S 6 melee weapon

Spells

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF


Dark Fire

(★ Attack) 10 - 12 - Yes
If this spell destoys a living enemy model then the caster gets the soul token regardless of the proximity of other Soul Takers.
Spell Slave (★ Action) or (★ Attack) Stats vary every time

While in its controlling warcaster/warlock's control range, this model may cast a single spell from their boss's spell list with a COST of 3 or less, excluding upkeep spells and spells with a RNG of "SELF" or "CTRL".

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Skarlock Thrall

Skarlock Thrall in a nutshell

The Skarlock is an offensive solo that pops off Dark Fire and other "zap" spells each turn, and occasionally moonlights as a support solo with non-offensive spells.

With the severe restrictions that Spell Slave has (see below) it is best to think of this model as a way to increase your ranged presence with Dark Fire, and to consider any spells it gains via your warcaster as just icing on the cake. In saying that, though, there are a few casters where it can act in a full-blown support role quite well. Spamming Ghost Walk for Deneghra1, for example.

The Skarlock directly competes with the WSC who also have Spell Slave, but also have three times the Dark Fires, provide a free upkeep, and provide Puppet Master. However they cost 5 points more, so very occasionally a Skarlock can work as a budget option.

Combos & Synergies

Some casters could do with a Spell Slave, but don't need the full suite of abilities that the WSC bring.

  • Pirate Queen Skarre only needs a spell slave to cast Ritual Sacrifice. She also has 1 upkeep, but it doesn't get cast most games. Therefore for her the Skarlock is a better choice than the WSC.
    • A Skarlock can cast Ritual Sacrifice on itself. So it plus three Scrap Thralls gets you 4 turns of the spell at a very low cost.
  • Deneghra1 has two spells a slave can cast: Ghostwalk (super useful) and Venom (which only very occasionally you'll want to Spell Slave).
    She has two upkeeps so on paper the WSC are a better choice, but these upkeeps are so deadly that often you don't need to upkeep them. Therefore for her the Skarlock is a comparable choice than the WSC.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • It's a special order model.
  • As well as the "obvious" restrictions listed on the card (no upkeeps, no SELF, no CTRL, no COST 4+), you're also limited by the definition of "spellcaster" which renders almost every support spell the Skarlock could cast as near-useless. Why? Well basically if the spell description includes a sentence that has "the spellcaster's battlegroup" or "the spellcaster's control area" you have to mentally delete that sentence from the spell effects, because the Skarlock has neither. For example:
    • Excarnate lets you RFP an enemy and create a free grunt in your control area? Nope! The Skarlock gets to RFP them but he can't create a freebie.
    • Siphon Bolt lets you remove focus from the enemy and have the spellcaster gain it? Nope! The Skarlock gets to remove the point of focus but no one gets to gain it.
    • And so on and so forth.
  • The Skarlock is made largely redundant by the Withershadow Combine. The only reason to take the Skarlock is if you're trying to save 5 points.

Tricks & Tips

  • Keep him safe casting support spells until the late game, when you can risk (and/or need to risk him) getting him forward and casting an offensive spell.


Other

Trivia

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC) - Deneghra0 (BGC)
Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units - Living

BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Units - Undead

Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters - The Withershadow Combine

Solos - Living/Construct

Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Severa Blacktide - Warwitch Siren

Solos - Undead

Agrimony - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attached      (Edit)

  • Attached models are not (normally) part of the warcaster's/warlock's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
(You need the Companion rule to become part of the battlegroup).
  • Thus, attachments are not affected by battlegroup-only effects such as Energizer (unless they're a Companion).

Rules Clarification : Soul Cage - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Strength of Death - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dark Fire      (Edit)

  • "Regardless of proximity" soul takers (Edit)
    • The model which ignores distance doesn't always get the soul. Abilities which say you "can't" collect souls (such as Soul Ward) trump it, due to the general rule that "can't trumps can".
    • If there are multiple models that all have the "regardless of proximity" clause, then you randomise who the soul goes to. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Spell Slave      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Explanatory Note

This Rules Clarification is very similar to the ones for Necromancy and Geomancy (since all 3 are very similar abilities). Where Spell Slave is unique, the text has been coloured blue.

Who does the casting

  • It is the model with Spell Slave that does the casting, not the warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
    • It's not anything simple like "the warcaster gets an extra spell" during the warcaster's activation.
    • Nor is it the "Spell Slave acts like an arc node". (On that note, Spell Slaves can't use arc nodes).
    • Any buffs/debuffs currently on your warcaster/warlock are completely irrelevant to the Spell Slave's casting.
  • For stuff that interacts with spellcasters (such as Witch Hunter) it is the location of the Spell Slave that matters, not the location of the warcaster.
    • If the Spell Slave is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, it cannot cast spells. Regardless of where your warcaster is.
    • If the warcaster is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, that has no effect on what the Spell Slave can do.

When/how does a Spell Slave cast

  • Spell Slaves use their Magic Ability to perform either a (★ Attack) or (★ Action).
    • Because you use your Combat Action to do (★ Attack) or (★ Action) you must complete your movement before casting a spell (unlike warcasters).
    • Typically, you cannot cast a spell after charging, because instead you must use your Combat Action to make a melee attack.
    • If you forfeit your action, or are affected by a enemy abilities that prevents you using your action, you will be unable to cast spells.
    • After casting a spell, a Spell Slave's activation ends (unlike what happens when your warcaster casts spells) because it has now completed both its move and its action.
  • Spell Slaves do not pay the full cost of a spell, so are unaffected by stuff which changes the COST of a spell; such as Lamentation. (Infernal Ruling) or Scaverous's feat (Infernal Ruling)

What spells can they choose to cast

  • A Spell Slave cannot cast spells with a range of SELF or CTRL or with a COST more than 3, or that are an UPKEEP.
    • In addition to this, a Spell Slave is heavily limited by the definition of 'Spellcaster'. Specifically:
      1. Spell Slaves can't cast spells that use the phrase "Spellcaster's battlegroup" because (most) spell slaves aren't in the battlegroup.
      2. Spell Slaves cannot benefit from anything that occurs in the 'Spellcaster's CTRL area' because they don't have one. (Infernal Ruling)
        For instance, a Spell Slave that casts Excarnate will not be able to summon a new grunt.
      3. Spell Slaves cannot benefit from spells that give the caster Focus. Such benefits are limited to models with the 'Focus Manipulation' rule, which only warcasters have.
        For instance, a Spell Slave that casts Siphon Bolt would still take focus from the enemy, but won't gain any focus itself.
      4. Sometimes a Spell Slave can cast a cast a spell, but they will miss out on some of the benefits of the spell (as described above)
    • A Hordes Spell Slave cannot cast animi, because they're not "spells on the warlock's spell card".

How can they boost the spell

  • You can not use focus that is on the warcaster to boost spells that the Spell Slave casts. (refer rulebook section on using focus to boost: only the model with focus on it can spend it, and only during its own activation)
  • Spell Slaves can only boost if they have a special rule allowing them do so - for instance, the Skarlock Thrall can spend soul tokens on spells via its 'Strength of Death' ability.

Other

  • The Spell Slave doesn't gain any buffs/abilities that are on your warlock/warcaster (such as True Sight).
  • The Spell Slave cannot channel spells through arc nodes. You can only channel through nodes in your CTRL area, and none of the three models have a CTRL area.
  • The Spell Slave can use spells like Annihilation to gain enemy souls. But generally they will be unable to use the soul tokens so they will stay on the Spell Slave for the rest of the game (doing nothing). (Infernal Ruling)