Shrine of the Lawgiver

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Protectorate Logo.jpg Shrine of the Lawgiver

Protectorate Exemplar Structure

The Exemplar shrine is much more than a simple place of worship. Within its walls, individual Exemplar knights hold vigil to reaffirm their oaths of brotherhood and service to the Creator of Man. Within the foundation of every shrine are stones recovered from ancient ruins unearthed near Icthier, the first city built in Menoth’s name. Within the basilica is a reliquary holding the remains of an Exemplar hero, still wearing the armor of the order and with a relic blade close at hand, an inspiration to all who meditate within. Every sworn Exemplar stands ready to take up arms and join battle at a moment’s notice, should such a shrine be threatened. Divine scripture encircles its central chamber; these verses of faith and fury act as a guide to the brotherhood that holds the shrine to be sacred. So holy are these structures that enemies of the faith find themselves undone in the presence of an Exemplar shrine, their unworthy flesh consumed by manifested divine wrath.

BAHI icon.png

Black Anchor Heavy Industries
BAHI models are not available through normal distributors or local retailers. Players must purchase them directly from PP's online store.

See also Category: BAHI.

Basic Info

Shrine of the Lawgiver
Missing Info
Shrine of the Lawgiver.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Huge
SPD Immobile
STR {{{str}}}
MAT {{{mat}}}
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 5
ARM 20
CMD 12
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 28
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 14
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Structure - All structures share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big fat buildings. Click the link for full text.
  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Forward Deployment - This model can be deployed up to 8" beyond your deployment zone.
  • Soul Taker: Gatekeeper - This model can collect soul tokens. When a living friendly Faction model is destroyed while in this model's command range, this model gains the destroyed model's soul token. This model can have up to three soul tokens at any time. This model can spend soul tokens for the following:
    • Path of Urcaen - You can spend soul tokens on the Shrine at any time during its activation to use Path of Urcaen. For each soul token you spend, you can choose one friendly Protectorate model in the Shrine's CMD range to gain Ghostly for one turn. (Ghostly - This model can advance through terrain and obstacles without penalty and can advance through obstructions if it has enough movement to move completely past them. It cannot be targeted by free strikes.)
    • Strength of Death - During its Combat Action, this model can spend soul tokens to boost one attack or damage roll for each token spent.
    • Vault of the Faithful - During your Maintenance Phase, you can remove up to three soul tokens from this model to return one destroyed small- or medium-based friendly Faction Grunt to play for each soul token removed. Models return with 1 unmarked damage box. Place the returned Grunts completely within this models command range, in formation, and completely within 3" of another model in their unit. Returned Grunts must forfeit their Combat Actions the turn they are returned to play.
  • True Sight - This model ignores cloud effects when determining LOS. This model also ignores Stealth.
  • Well of Souls - The Shrine begins the game with three soul tokens.

Weapons

  • Divine Wrath - 14" range, POW 14 ranged attack
    • Magical dam symbol.jpg Damage Type: Magical
    • Jaws of Urcaen - If this attack's original target is an enemy model and is boxed by this attack, you can make a SP 6 attack using the boxed model as the attack's point of origin. The SP 6 attack can target models in the boxed model's back arc. Models hit suffer a POW 14 magical damage roll. Models boxed by an attack with this weapon are RFP'd.
    • Rear Attack - Attacks with this weapon may target models in the attacker's rear arc.
    • Reload [1] - This model can spend soul tokens to make up to 1 additional ranged attack(s) with this weapon during its Combat Action. It can make one additional attack for each soul spent.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Shrine of the Lawgiver

Shrine of the Lawgiver in a nutshell

The Shrine brings a warcaster-independent recursion method to Protectorate lists. Besides returning models to play, it has a powerful boostable gun with potential infantry clearing and can give Ghostly to models via spending souls, something unique to the faction.

Combos & Synergies

  • Since you bring back models in the Maintenance Phase, they can make Vengeance attacks. Models with Vengeance in Protectorate are Exemplar Cinerators, Daughters of the Flame under Thyra, or units that Reznik2 has put Death March on.
  • Anything that improves the Shrine's accuracy is welcome; Death Sentence from Severius1 and Kreoss3, knockdown effects like Kreoss1's feat or Scourge from Malekus, and the Reckoner's Flare are some examples.
  • Eye of Menoth from Severius0 or Severius1 increase its accuracy and damage output, making Divine Wrath and Jaws of Urcaen quite dangerous.
  • Blood of Martyrs has Side Step, but will take free strikes from enemies it bounces off of; Ghostly can keep it safe from those and allow it to dig deeper while ignoring terrain.
  • Hand of Silence allows you to direct souls to the Shrine or any other model with Soul Taker, useful for if you have multiple models with that rule.
  • Since the Shrine is an Exemplar model, the Exemplar Bastion Seneschal allows other Exemplars to move and see through it via Tactician.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • This model is a BAHI model. It is not available in stores, it can only be purchased directly from PP's online store (or 2nd hand).
    It is easy to get in the US, and somewhat easy to get in the EU after PP organised a UK warehouse in early 2019, but for players elsewhere in the world the shipping costs and/or local import taxes make BAHI models hard to get a hold of.
  • The Shrine (obviously) can't move, meaning you'll need to be careful about its position. Additionally, it can't contest any scenarios; although 14 points aren't ludicrously expensive, it might be too much for some lists.

Tricks & Tips

Placeholder

Other

Trivia

  • Released in Exemplar Interdiction CID (2018.05)

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Crevasseand/or Jaws of Urcaen     (Edit)

  • Crevasse only
    • The spray generated by the spell is a magic attack.
    However, when it comes to stuff which triggers from spell-casting (like Arcane Vortex) the spray is a bit weird, because you are already halfway through the spell-casting sequence (refer Appendix A).
    • You can use Arcane Vortex vs Crevasse when the first target is picked. You can't use Arcane Vortex when the spray target is picked. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Rear Attack - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reload     (Edit)

  • You can use Reload to make additional attacks after a Special Ranged Attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have (x2) of a weapon with Reload (such as Caine1), the special rule will only be written on the card once. But you can reload both weapons to the max limit. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Structure     (Edit)

  • The main differences between structures and the other huge bases are:
    • Structures can't aim.
    • Structures can't forfeit their Normal Movement (because they have none). If they're hit by an effect that makes the target "forfeit either Normal Movement or Combat Action as it's controller chooses" (such as Stranglehold) then the structure must forfeit its Combat Action.
    • Unlike Colossals and Gargantuans, your opponent can take control of your structure. There are very few such abilities that work on this model type, though.
  • Huge Base (Edit)
    • Coming on a huge base triggers a bunch of rules scattered throughout the rulebook. Click here for a summary of them.
    • You can draw LOS from your Left arc to a target in your Right arc (and vice versa). See also this diagram
    • Huge-based models get bonus distance on Power Attack Slams. But this bonus doesn't apply to slams caused by other means, such as Critical Smite or the Hurricane's Thunder Charge ability.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Forward Deployment     (Edit)

  • This model is placed at the same time as your normal deployment, not with your advance deployment models.
  • A model that is deployed touching a scenario zone does not count as within that zone, so won't contest/control it. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Gatekeeper - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Path of Urcaen     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ghostly     (Edit)

  • Ghostly doesn't let you move through other models, just terrain.
  • Ghostly doesn't let you ignore damage from hazardous terrain. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Strength of Death - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Vault of the Faithfuland/or Dark Abyss     (Edit)
Return to Play - Other Units (Edit)

  • "Return" is quite simple if you only return models to your own unit (like Blood-Bound) or only return independent models (like Thagrosh1's feat). But if you're returning models to other units, then click to read more.   [Show/Hide]
    • If you can return multiple troopers at once, they don't all have to be the same unit. Spread the love around.
    • Troopers must return to their original unit. Even if you have two units of the same type (such as two units of Convergence Eradicators) then you can't have 4 die from unit [A] and return them all to unit [B].
    • If your rule is something like "return d3 models to units within CMD range" (Old Witch3) then it is d3 models total, not d3 models to each and every unit.
    • If your rule is something like "spend 1 soul to return 1 Grunt" (Enigma Foundry) then it doesn't matter where the souls came from originally. Think of them like currency, in this case.
    • Troopers are placed sequentially, and you can leap frog the "within 3" of another model in its unit" requirement.
    • You can Return models even after a unit is reduced to just Attachments (Weapon or Command)
      • If your Return ability lets you return a Leader or Officer model, then they will immediately become the unit commander and redefine the "in formation" bubble.
      • If your Return ability only allows Grunts, then the Grunt will not be field promoted when he arrives.
        This means that, in the unusual scenario where the Leader model has different wargear to the Grunts (such as Cygnar Stormguard), then that wargear is effectively 'lost'.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : True Sight     (Edit)

  • You only ignore clouds for LOS. Models can still get the concealment bonus, trigger Prowl, etc from clouds. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.

Rules Clarification : Well of Souls - None yet. (Edit)