Shifting Stones

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Feora2 (theme thoughts) Imperatus (Dawnguard and non-vyros combos)


Circle Logo.jpg

Shifting Stones
Circle Stone Unit
Stone Keeper
Command Attachment

Shifting stones are fulcrums of natural power that tap into the pervading essences of Orboros to alter the flow of battle radically. Their mysterious power allows them to bathe nearby allies in raw life essence, sink quickly into the earth and rise again wherever they are needed, or send another creature to a completely different area of the battlefield.

Stone keepers are unwavering devotees of the earth-shaping path of druidic magic. These stoic blackclads share a deep connection with the magic-infused stones of the Circle. Calling upon the earth itself to do their bidding, stone keepers enshroud their rocky charges in mystical fog, shower their foes with a hail of rock, or warp their own flesh to stone-like rigidity.

Basic Info

Shifting Stones
Missing Info
Shifting Stones.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Stats: Stones / Human
BASE Small
SPD - / 6
STR {{{str}}}
MAT - / 5
RAT N/A
M.A. - / 6
DEF 5 / 13
ARM 18 / 13
CMD 5 / 7
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5 / 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 3 +1CA
COST 3 +2CA
1.3 each
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Weapons

  • Stones
    • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.
  • Stone Keeper
    • Voulge - 2" range, P+S 10 melee weapon

Abilities

  • Stones
    • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
    • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
    • Circular Vision - Models never gain a back strike bonus against this model.
    • Immobile - This model has no Normal Movement or Combat Action. It cannot be moved or knocked down. It is automatically hit by melee attacks
    • Serenity - At the beginning of your Control Phase, before leeching, you can remove 1 fury point from a friendly Faction warbeast within 1" of this model.
    • Shifting Powers - Choose one of the following effects at the start of this unit's activation:
      • Healing Field - Models in this unit that are in formation, and friendly Circle models within 2" of one or more of them, can remove d3 damage points. Roll separately for each model.
      • Shifting - Place each model in this unit that is in formation anywhere completely within 8" of its current location.
      • Teleportation - If all 3 Stones in this unit are in formation, place one friendly Circle model whose base is within the triangular area between the Stones anywhere completely within 8" of its current location. The placed model must forfeit its Normal Movement after being placed this turn. A model can be placed only once per turn as a result of Teleportation.
  • Stone Keeper
    • Advance Deployment - As above
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
    • Disorientation - If the unit uses Shifting, the Stone Keeper cannot advance this turn.
    • Granted: Prowl - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain Prowl. (Prowl - While this model has concealment, it gains stealth.)
    • Magic Ability [ 6 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast a single spell.

Analysis of Shifting Stones

Stone Keeper CA

Shifting Stones in a Nutshell

The Shifting Stones are fury management, heal your models, let your models teleport, and generally provide a lot of flexibility. You can even take them in every theme, so you should always have at least 1 unit.

Thoughts on adding the CA

The Stone Keeper is an odd bird. On the one hand, he increases their CMD tremendously, allowing you to spread out their healing ability and more easily get a model into the teleportation triangle. But they don't especially care about prowl, since they are hard to shoot off the table already, though it does make it harder for opponents to pick off a lone stone. His spells aren't very useful, either preventing him from getting picked off, or providing a short range AOE with a crit knockdown. If the unit is close enough to use that, something has probably gone wrong. It is hard to justify him if you aren't in theme or the unit's use is integral to your plans.

Combos & Synergies

  • Any melee beatstick likes to be teleported straight into the enemy's face. Charging is better if you can since most opponents won't leave a better opening for you to teleport into though. Wold Guardians are the only beasts that gain any additional distance over charging from being teleported
  • Construct warbeasts. Healing them is especially useful, and they can struggle to remove fury since they can't frenzy.

Drawbacks and Downsides

  • They aren't fighters.

Tricks and Tips

  • They're useful to block charge lanes and contest zones, due to their high ARM, boxes, and inability to be moved by anything. Many a game was saved by a stone contesting a zone.
  • If one stone dies, they can't teleport other models. But they still can move themselves, so jam them into the enemy.
  • Remember you can teleport a model that has already moved. this especially useful for your warlock since you can play a bit carther forward to cast spells and catch more stuff in a feat but still move them to safety afterwards.
  • Keeping them with a beast that is playing forward can be useful, if your opponent can't finish the beast off the stones will be able to fix any damaged aspects, and the beast will be able to use more fury with the stones around. An unsure opponent may commit attacks to the stones potentially saving your beast and giving you more attacks.

Other

Trivia

Theme Forces

Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Circular Vision      (Edit)

  • This only prevents the normal bonus afforded from back strikes. It does not prevent things such as Backstab, which simply requires being in the rear arc.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Immovable and/or Immobile and/or Buried     (Edit)

  • There is no functional difference between "cannot move" and "cannot be moved".
    Even if you gain bonus movement (such as Dodge) via a spell or theme benefit, you still can't move. (Locked thread)
  • Witchwood only:
    • Since the Witchwood doesn't have Normal Movement, it can't gain the Aiming bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Serenity      (Edit)

  • Each model with Serenity can pick one warbeast to remove fury from, that is within range of the ability. They may pick the same or different warbeasts.
    So, for example, a warbeast with 4 Serenity models around it can have 4 fury removed from it. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shifting Powers      (Edit)

  • Shifting Powers are not a Action or Attack, so you can still do them while stationary etc. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Healing Field      (Edit)

  • The Stone Keeper has Healing Field too.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shifting      (Edit)

  • The Stone Keeper has Shifting too.
  • If you choose Shifting, you must place the Stone Keeper and he is forced to suffer Disorientation.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Teleportation      (Edit)

  • The "Must forfeit its movement" is a penalty, not a requirement.
    • You can teleport models that have already activated and used their movement.
    • You can teleport models that do not have a movement (ie Wurmwood).
  • Since you must forfeit your movement, you cannot gain the Aiming bonus.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Disorientation      (Edit)

  • This prevents all advances, so the Stone Keeper can't advance from bonus movements (like Reposition) either.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prowl      (Edit)

  • Whether you can trigger Prowl is a bit awkward; As long as you have concealment you can trigger Prowl ... even if the attacker ignores concealment, (such as with Hunter).
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds for LOS" (such as Bird's Eye) you get Prowl.
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds completely" (such as Alchemical Mask) you don't get Prowl. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Similar for standing in a forest.
  • If a debuff removes Stealth, Prowl does not reapply stealth. But this ruling is being rechecked. (Infernal Checking)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Rock Hammer - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Stone Shield - None yet. (Edit)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here