Shadowhorn Satyr

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Circle Logo.jpg Shadowhorn Satyr

Circle Satyr Heavy Warbeast

Satyrs are elusive beasts, protected for centuries by the druids of the Circle Orboros. Only recently have these loyal creatures been called upon to join battles abroad. Shadowhorns possess a nimble athleticism which lets them perform impressive feats in battle, such as using an attacker’s own momentum against it.

Basic Info

Shadowhorn Satyr
Missing Info
Shadowhorn Satyr.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 6
STR 10
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 17
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 3
THRS 8
HP 26
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 12
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here to read the long version.
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • Bounding Leap - Once per activation, after making a full advance as its Normal Movement but before performing its Combat Action, this model can be forced to be placed completely within 5" of its current location.
  • Set Defense - A model in this model's front arc suffers -2 on charge, slam power attack, and impact attack rolls against this model.

Weapons

  • Horns - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee attack
    • Hard Head - This model can add this weapon's POW to its head-butt and slam power attack damage rolls.
  • Claw (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 13 melee attacks
    • Open Fist symbol.jpg Open Fist
    • Beat Back - Immediately after a basic attack with this weapon is resolved during this model's Combat Action, the enemy model hit can be pushed 1" directly away from the attacking model. After the enemy model is pushed, the attacking model can advance up to 1" directly toward it.
    • Chain Attack: Throw - If the Shadowhorn hits the same model with both initials with this weapon, after the attack it can throw that model without spending focus or being forced.

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF


Elusive

1 SELF - - Round -
The caster gains Dodge for one round.
Dodge - When an enemy misses this model with an attack at any time except when it is advancing, this model can immediately advance 2" ignoring free strikes.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2018.10 Tharn Errata

  • Gained Pathfinder
  • It used to have to cast its animus Puissance to get Beat Back. Now it has Beat Back innately and the animus became Elusive instead.


Thoughts on Shadowhorn Satyr

Shadowhorn Satyr in a nutshell

The Shadowhorn Satyr isn't a heavy, so much as a light with delusions of grandeur. It's a very fun warbeast, able to take flying leaps then two handed throw people, but is one of least damaging melee heavies in the entire game. Fortunately a few Circle casters have a nice collection of buffs; like most Satyrs the Shadowhorn has a lot of attacks for its points and so gets a lot of work out of buffs. On the other hand like most cheap heavy warbeasts the Shadowhorn is meant to be balanced against heavy warjacks assuming a buff vs two focus allocated to the warjack.

Combos & Synergies

The Shadowhorn needs buffs - and lots of them. On the other hand it is cheap - so really beenfits from anyone who can hand out mass buffs.

  • Gorax Rager or Feral Warpwolf - bonus to hit and to damage from Primal? Yes Please. And with the Shadowhorn being so cheap for a combat heavy it doesn't matter.
  • Kaya the Wildheart - Synergy is everything the Satyrs want. It takes the Shadowhorn up to MAT 9 and P+S 17. You can even primal them up to MAT 11, P+S 19, which is incredible for a bargain basement warbeast, and not very hard to do either.
  • Kromac, Champion of the Wurm - his feat plus Primal is enough to have the Shadowhorn hit respectably hard.
  • Tanith the Feralsong - the Satyr is excellent at getting weird places, and if it goes in first it can easily use scything touch.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Like all models with a Chain Attack, your chances of getting three hits off in succession are going to be a lot lower than you think. It's only just over 50% against DEF 11 unless you boost
  • For a melee combat heavy it's very pillow fisted. It won't hurt heavies much even with a damage buff.
  • You can't head-butt or throw a model with a larger base so the chain attack doesn't work on gargantuans, colossals, or battle engines.
  • It may be hella fun but it's hard to make the Shadowhorn worth its points.

Tricks & Tips

  • Look for targets to two-handed throw people into.
  • You can move 11" non-linearly before your two handed throw. You can also use Beat Back to set things up.
  • It's frequently worth not even bothering primalling, and skipping straight to the two handed throw.
  • It's often the case that the best place to throw a heavy is straight out of the controller's control area, leaving them knocked down and neutralised for a turn.
  • Set defense makes him DEF 15 vs charges; this combos well with his animus, potentially allowing you to dodge away from an attacker unscathed.


Other

Classic sculpt

Trivia

  • Resculpted around 2013, now comes in a triple kit with the other two satyrs
  • Released in Hordes: Metamorphosis (2009)

Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hard Head     (Edit)

  • You can add the POW even if the weapon system is crippled.
  • Hard Head doesn't get applied to collateral damage, because that is a separate type of roll. Refer page 45 of the mini rulebook.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Beat Back     (Edit)

  • You cannot use Beat Back if you destroy the target; because you can't advance towards a model that is no longer on the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can trigger Beat Back even if the model is no longer in your melee range after the attack. For instance, if you used a Pitch to throw it away, you can still Beat it Back. (Locked thread)
  • The free advance doesn't depend on the target being pushed, but it is dependent on you trying to push them:
    • If you try to push something which Cannot Be Pushed (such as a Colossal), then it won't move and then you can advance directly towards it.
    • If you choose not to push your target, then you choose not to trigger Beat Back, so you don't get to advance.
  • Beat Back can be used to push larger models.
  • See also the clarifications on Pushes.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Chain Attack: Throw     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Chain Attack     (Edit)

  • Some Chain Attacks generate a Power Attack (such as Chain Attack: Throw. These Chains can be used after charging, even though Power Attacks normally can't be used after a charge. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buying extra attacks with fury or focus cannot trigger a Chain Attack - only initial attacks can trigger it.
  • If you have 3 weapons but only 2 of them are associated with the Chain Attack, then you can make that 3rd initial attack at any point without it preventing the Chain Attack from triggering.
    Also, interrupting your initials to resolve the Chain Attack will not prevent you taking the 3rd initial.
    For example, the Cryx Nightmare has two Claws with a Chain Attack, plus some Tusks. When he makes his initial attacks he can go:
    • [Claw] - [Tusks] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack] ... even though the two Claw attacks weren't sequential.
    • [Claw] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack] - [Tusks] ... even though he did the Chain Attack before getting to his initial Tusk.
    • [Tusks] - [Claw] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack]
    • He cannot go ... [Claw] - [Claw] - [Tusks] - [Chain Attack] ... because you must resolve the Chain Attack as soon as it's triggered, or not at all.
  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See the Throw article for a general recap of the core Throw rules.
    • See the Open Fist Rules Clarifications for stuff specific to a Power Attack Throw.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bounding Leapand/or Jump     (Edit)

  • You cannot use Jump or Bounding Leap if you forfeit your movement. "After making a full advance" is a conditional requirement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can only use Jump or Bounding Leap after a full advance, which means you can't do it after a Slam, Trample, or Charge.
  • You can use "At any time" abilities between completing your move and doing the Jump/Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Jumps & Leaps are a "placement". They do not trigger free strikes, and you can even jump over solid buildings of infinite height.
  • If you cannot advance more than 0" (for example suffering from Shadow Bind) then you can Jump/Leap. Making an advance of 0" is sufficient to trigger Jump/Leap.
  • Jump only
    You cannot use Jump if you are suffering "any effect which prevents charging". So...
    • If you forfeit your Normal Movement, you cannot Jump. (For the same reason as given above.)
    • If you forfeit your Combat Action, you cannot Jump. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you "cannot make attacks" (such as with Morvahna1's feat), you cannot charge, therefore cannot Jump. (Locked Thread)
  • Unit with Jump
    • Complete all the models' Normal Movement before starting any Jumps. Then do all Jumps (that you can do and/or want to do) before starting any Combat Actions. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Models in a unit can Jump even if they don't receive a Press Forward order (failing to be told to charge is not the same as being prevented from charging). (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Set Defense - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Elusive     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dodge     (Edit)

  • Dodge triggers after any missed attack - melee, ranged, or magic.
  • An enemy model with 2" melee range that is B2B with you before you Dodge, will be exactly 2" away afterwards, and thus will be able to attempt a 2nd melee attack.
  • If you're missed by an AOE attack, but it doesn't deviate very far and still hits you then: Dodge still triggers, but the AOE does damage before you get the Dodge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dodge plus Riposte (Edit)
    • If a model has both Dodge and Riposte, you can choose whether to dodge or riposte first. Appendix A Step 13 applies here, because the controller of the model being attacked is not the active player.