Sentry Stone & Mannikins

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1265 articles and 88% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Circle Logo.jpg Sentry Stone & Mannikins

Circle Stone Unit


Basic Info

Sentry Stone & Mannikins
Missing Info
Sentry Stone & Mannikins.png
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Stats: Stone / Sticks
BASE Small
SPD - / 6
MAT - / 5
RAT - / 4
M.A. N/A
DEF 5 / 12
ARM 18 / 12
CMD 6 / -
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 8 / 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 1 Stone 3 Sticks
1.7 each
FA 2
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • Mannikins
    • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
    • Fury-Linked - At any time during its unit's activation, this model can spend fury points on its unit commander to boost one attack or damage roll for each fury point spent.
  • Sentry Stone
    • Officer symbol.jpg Officer
    • Immobile - This model has no Normal Movement or Combat Action. It cannot be moved or knocked down. It is automatically hit by melee attacks
    • Strange Growth - This model can be placed completely within 5" during its activation and can not be placed otherwise.
    • Prowl - While this model has concealment, it gains stealth.
    • Forest Growth - Once per turn at any time during its unit's activation, this model can spend 1 fury point to use Forest Growth. When it does, center a 3" AOE on this model. The AOE is a forest that remains in play for one round.
    • Wellspring - 1) If there are fewer than 3 fury points on the Sentry Stone during your Maintenance Phase, place d3 fury points on it. This model can have up to three fury points at any time. 2) If there are fewer than three Mannikin Grunts in this unit in play during your Maintenance Phase, put one Mannikin Grunt into play, in formation. 3) If this model is destroyed or removed from play, the Mannikin Grunts are removed from play.


  • Mannikins
    • Claws - 0.5" reach, P+S 11melee weapon.
    • Splinter Burst - 8" spray, POW 10 ranged attack
  • Sentry Stone
    • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Theme Forces

  • The Bones of Orboros - despite their being a unit you can get a Sentry Stone & Mannikins for a requisition point in this theme.

Thoughts on Sentry Stone & Mannikins

Sentry Stone & Mannikins in a nutshell

An excellent front-line unit which can help ensure that you get the alpha, assist in piece trading (as the stone is difficult to remove at range, and often requires something more expensive to commit to killing it), clear jams, and reach deep into the enemy's backline support with surprisingly accurate (and magical!) sprays—at least when they boost.

Combos & Synergies

  • Gobber Chef - there is nothing tastier or more nutritious than a mannikin. Maybe it's just a twiggy salad—but it's certainly the cheapest thing to sacrifice for fury management.
  • Any caster with the Rapid Growth spell can put a large Forestwall on the table.
  • They work better in pairs than one on their own.
  • Most casters can't go wrong with two Sentry Stones as a start to a list. They're relatively cheap, hard to remove, and will nearly always make back more than their points in either actual casualties or in pure aggravation to the opponent.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • The Sentry Stone is easy to hit and if it dies, all the Mannikins get removed. Of course between stealth, damage boxes, and high ARM this isn't always easy.
  • Kara Sloan, Siege, and anyone who can give a ranged battlegroup True Sight or even Guidance make Sentry Stones cry, as they ignore their principal defense (Stealth) and often pack enough of a punch to remove them fairly trivially.
  • They can't really hurt heavy warbeasts or warjacks.
  • The Stone makes an excellent target for things like electro-leaps and Ashes to Ashes. Be mindful of putting anything valuable too close to them.

Tricks & Tips

  • Even without its Mannikins, the Stone makes an excellent blocker. Between high ARM/boxes and Immobile, it can ruin charge lanes and contest zones with the best of them.



Released in Hordes: Evolution (2007)

Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed     (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment     (Edit)

  • If you attach a WA or CA to this unit, and the attachment doesn't have Advance Deployment, then they all get to Advance Deploy anyway. (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder     (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Fury-Linked - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer     (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Immovableand/or Immobile and/or Buried     (Edit)

  • There is no functional difference between "cannot move" and "cannot be moved".
    Even if you gain bonus movement (such as Dodge) via a spell or theme benefit, you still can't move. (Locked thread)
  • Witchwood only:
    • Since the Witchwood doesn't have Normal Movement, it can't gain the Aiming bonus.

Rules Clarification : Strange Growth - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prowl     (Edit)

  • Whether you can trigger Prowl is a bit awkward; As long as you have concealment you can trigger Prowl ... even if the attacker ignores concealment, (such as with Hunter).
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds for LOS" (such as Bird's Eye) you get Prowl.
    • If you're standing in a cloud, and the attacker "ignores clouds completely" (such as Alchemical Mask) you don't get Prowl. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Similar for standing in a forest.
  • If a debuff removes Stealth, Prowl does not reapply stealth. But this ruling is being rechecked. (Infernal Checking)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth     (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Forest Growth     (Edit)

  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
      Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Wellspring     (Edit)

  • This is not a "Return to Play" ability, so it doesn't matter if the original Mannikin was RFP'd or not.