Scourge of Heresy

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Feora2 (theme thoughts) Imperatus (Dawnguard and non-vyros combos)


Protectorate Logo.jpg Scourge of Heresy

Protectorate Character Heavy Warjack

Like its master, High Executioner Servath Reznik, Scourge of Heresy is well equipped to destroy the infidels who stand against the Protectorate of Menoth. With a fiery blade and a blazing flail, Scourge of Heresy brings searing pain and retribution to the enemies of the Protectorate, especially those who dare to unleash profane magic upon Menoth’s chosen.

Basic Info

Scourge of Heresy
Missing Info
ScourgeofHeresy.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 4
STR 11
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 32
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 16
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click the link for a full run-down.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Arcane Vortex - This model can immediately negate any spell that targets this model or a model within 3" of it by spending a focus token. The negated spell does not take effect, but its COST remains spent.
  • Bond [Reznik] - If Scourge of Heresy begins the game in Reznik's battlegroup, it is bonded to him/her/them. Scourge of Heresy is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While Scourge of Heresy is bonded to Reznik and in their control range, if Reznik destroys or RFPs an enemy model with a melee attack, then Scourge can make a full advance.

Weapons

  • Punisher - 2" reach, POW 7, P+S 18 melee weapon.
    • Continuous Fire - A model hit by this attack is set on fire. A model on fire suffers a POW 12 fire damage roll in the Maintenance phase of its owner's turn until the fire expires.
    • Purgation - Add an additional die to attack and damage rolls if the target has an enemy upkeep spell or animus on them.
  • Blazing Star - 2" reach, POW 5, P+S 16 melee weapon.
    • Chain Weapon - Attacks with this weapon ignore the ARM bonus from Bucklers, Shields, and Shield Wall.
    • Thresher (★ Attack) - This model makes one melee attack with this weapon against each model in its LOS that is in this weapon's melee range. Thresher attacks are simultaneous.

Theme Forces

When taken by Reznik
When taken by anyone else
  • No one else can take Scourge of Heresy in a theme force.


Thoughts on Scourge of Heresy

Scourge of Heresy in a nutshell

Scourge of Heresy is a heavy melee warjack that can thresh infantry, protect against spells, and dish out a lot of hurt.

Combos & Synergies

  • Reznik gives it some much needed speed.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Arcane Vortex normally just causes a skilled enemy to retarget spells - while wasting you focus (since you left one on Scourge doing "nothing").
    • On the other hand, if you can create a 8" bubble of "don't bother casting here" then that's not exactly wasted, is it?
  • It costs 60% more than a Crusader, but is no more durable. Most of that point goes to extra utility (spell and bit of infantry hate) and 2" reach, higher dmg output shows it's face only again against targets with upkeeps.

Tricks & Tips

  • There are a very few enemies Arcane Vortex and Purgation will be amazing against. Know your local metagame.


Other

Trivia

Released in the Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond: Reznik

  • The "by melee attacks" applies to both sides of the "or". (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
  • In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Purgation      (Edit)

  • Purgation does not ignore any buffs the upkeep spell is giving your target (you'll want something like Blessed to do that).
  • Purgation applies if you're attacking friendly models with an enemy upkeep on them.
  • If the upkeep expires after the model is hit (for instance being hit by Eiryss2's Spell Breaker), then Purgation won't be applied to the damage roll. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Chain Weapon - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Thresher and/or Flashing Blade and/or Cyclone     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Resolving the attack

Under this heading, the word "Thresher" is used interchangeably for "Flashing Blade" and "Cyclone" too

  • Thresher makes an attack against every model, and as such it targets every model. Thus if a model "may not be targeted by melee attacks", you have to 'skip' it when you resolve the attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • All attacks made by a Thresher attack are simultaneous.
    • If a model is out of LOS when you start the Thresh, then you may not attack it as part of the Thresh (even if the Thresh kills what is blocking your LOS)
    • This means you need to target everything, then resolve all effects that trigger on "target" before starting any attack rolls. Then complete all attack rolls and do everything that triggers on "hit" before starting any damage rolls, and etc.
    • In practice and to save time though, if neither player has effects that trigger on "being targetted, hit, damaged, etc" then they'll normally do the hit and damage rolls on a model-by-model basis.
    • If a model collects tokens (for instance the Cryx Harrower that collects souls), it cannot collect them until all Thresh attacks are resolved.

Thresher only

  • All attacks made by a Thresher are special melee attacks, and as such won't trigger stuff like Grim Salvation or Rhyas's feat. (Infernal Ruling)
  • No matter how many enemy you kill, Thresher only counts as a single attack for the purposes of triggering Berserk, Quick Work, Black Spot, etc
  • You can do a Thresher on a charge (it's a special melee attack).
    • If you charge & Thresher, only the damage roll against your charge target is automatically boosted - other models caught in the thresh suffer an unboosted damage roll (although you can spend focus/fury to boost it)
  • You can't buy additional Thresher attacks, because they're (★ Attack). You can buy additional normal melee attacks, though.
  • Thresher will hit friendly models.

Flashing Blade only

  • You can cast it after your charge movement but before your charge attack.
    • This will essentially interrupt your charge attack, so no damage roll is boosted while resolving the spell's attacks (unless you pay to boost it).
    • If your charge target survives the spell , then you'll get your boosted charge attack against it.
  • Flashing Blade doesn't hit friendly models

Cyclone only

  • You can cast it after your charge movement but before your charge attack.
    • This will essentially interrupt your charge attack, so no damage roll is boosted while resolving the spell's attacks (unless you pay to boost it).
    • If your charge target survives the spell and is still in range, then you'll get your boosted charge attack against it.
    • If you used the advance to move out of range of your charge target, it was still as successful charge so it won't cause your activation to end. However, you are still limited to making melee attacks only.
  • Cyclone will hit friendly models.
  • The attack(s) from Cyclone occur simultaneously with "Ends its movement" triggers (such as Admonition). As such, the active player can use the Cyclone attacks before the inactive player uses his Admonition move. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Arcane Vortex      (Edit)

  • Mulg spends fury to use it, he is not forced for fury. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Arcane vortex can be used to counter spells with "Range: Self". (Infernal Ruling)
  • Some spells do not have a target, mostly CTRL area spells (such as Siege's Foxhole) but also some (★ Action) (such as Ragman's Death Field). These cannot be cancelled by Arcane Vortex. Infernal Ruling)
  • The "Cost" for non-warcaster models includes stuff like "using your special action" or "killing a Mind Bender Drudge."
  • Arcane Vortex triggers at step 3 of the spellcasting sequence. (Resolve effects that occur when a model is targeted by a spell.) (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a channeled spell is cancelled, it doesn't count as being channeled, so the channeler can't trigger stuff like Reaction Drive or Spell Martyr. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There are a couple of odd spells:
    1. (Primal Shock and Essence Blast) - Both these spells "Choose" model A, then gets to "Target" model B with an attack. In this case you can trigger Arcane Vortex only when model B is targeted.
    2. (Crevasse) - This spell attacks model A, then gets to use model A to make another attack vs model B. In this case you can trigger Arcane Vortex only when model A is targeted.
(Infernal Ruling for both of the above.)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).