Sanctifier

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Protectorate Logo.jpg Sanctifier

Protectorate Heavy Warjack

Mk4 icon.png
Prime
This model is available in one Prime Army, Temple Guardians. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

The Sanctifier is employed in battle to ensure the spirits of the righteous are ushered to Urcaen; as battle wears on, it becomes a vessel for Menite souls, fueling its power even as it protects the righteous.

Basic Info

Sanctifier
Missing Info
Sanctifier.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 32
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 14
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • Fire Imm symbol.jpg Immunity: Fire
  • Ashen Veil - This model has concealment. Living enemy models without Immunity: Fire suffer -2 to attack rolls while within 2" of this model.
  • Exorcist - While within 10" of this models, enemy models lose Incorporeal.
  • Soul Taker: Cenotaph - This model can gain soul tokens. When a friendly living Faction model is destroyed within 5" of this model, this model gainst the destroyed model's soul token. This model can have up to five soul tokens at any time. At the start of this model's activation, you can remove soul tokens from this model to give it 1 focus point for each token removed. This model can spend soul tokens for the following:
    • Hand of Fate - This model can spend a soul token at any time during its activation to gain Hand of Fate for one turn. (A model with Hand of Fate gains an additional die on attack and damage rolls. Discard the low die in each roll.)

Weapons

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Sanctifier

Sanctifier in a nutshell

The Sanctifier is a beat-stick that is a bit pillow-fisted compared to the dedicated melee heavies of other factions such as the Ironclad or Juggernaut or even its "little" brother the Crusader, but makes up for it by collecting the souls of your army for focus. Casters that run very infantry heavy or are focus strapped, such as Vice Scrutator Vindictus, love this jack as it will fuel itself. The trade-off is that the Sanctifier really can't hit very hard, making the Choir even more mandatory.

Combos & Synergies

  • Works really well with Exemplar Errants due to the new changes of Self-Sacrifice.
  • Holy Zealots are a relatively cheap chaff unit for purposes of soul collection that can be brought back with the CA to allow for more recycling.
  • Durst with Bulwark up or Harbinger with Awe makes this DEF 14 against living.
  • The Faithful Masses theme forces does wonders for this jack, as it features lots of victim stats troops to fuel its soul collection, and it gains Hand of Vengeance to boot, further increasing its damage output.
  • The Hand of Silence offers Direct Spirits, making soul allocation less of a hassle.
  • If they were giving out a prize to "Warjack that really shines under a 'Jack Marshall", it'd go to the Sanctifier. Being able to receive Drive bonuses and fill itself with focus via Cenotaph makes this machine a force to be reckoned with.
    • Reclaimer Gatekeeper: Being a cheap choice to make it marshalled, but comes with the price of soul taking conflicts, because both models want souls from friendlies. However, being able to give Future sight to a Sanctifier with lots of souls is a gift from the Creator himself.
    • Exemplar Bastion Seneschal: Doubles the price and a bit harder to keep alive in some ways, its Drive turns the Sanctifier into an elite combatant via Flank when paired with Bastions, most likely killing anything they couldn't.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • If you simply want a jack that hits stuff hard (which is what the Sanctifier will end up doing most of the time anyway), the Crusader comes at meagre 10 points.
  • Enemies with removed from play abilities denies the Sanctifier to receive souls.
  • Unless you also bring the Hand of Silence, effectively increasing the jacks price tag by 7, other models with Soul Taker can become a problem for the Sanctifier, especially if they go to the enemy, but also with other friendlies like Reclaimer Gatekeeper and High Exemplar Gravus.

Tips & Tricks

  • Activate your unit of cheap cannon fodder, advance 3 of them within 5" of the Sanctifier then use the rest to stab/shoot them in the back. Now activate your Sanctifier and enjoy the sweet-sweet focus.
  • Incorporeal models (or even Hymn of Shielding in the mirror match) are common enough for the Sanctifier's Exorcist ability to be occasionally very useful.

Other

Trivia

  • Released in the Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)

Other Menoth Models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)          
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Feora4 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Covenant1 - Covenant2 - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • If a model is somehow thrown at itself (which can happen with Durst1's feat) it would not move, it would be knocked down, and it would take a standard power attack damage roll but it would not take an additional die for colliding with itself. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Incorporeal vs Slammed/Thrown models ( Edit )
    • Incorporeal models cannot be moved by someone trying to slam them.
    • Slammed models can move through Incorporeal models.
      • If they have enough movement to get past them, no dramas.
      • If they land on them, you move the Incorporeal model out of the way as per the Rule of Least Disturbance.
      • If the Incorporeal model cannot be moved (i.e. it's a flag) then you move the slammed model out of the way, also by the rule of Least Disturbance.
      • For the purposes of Collateral Damage, only the model(s) you contacted before you applied the rule of Least Disturbance count as contacted.
    • The same logic applies to Throws.
  • Collateral Damage
    • Collateral damage cannot be boosted and is not considered damage from an attack or model. Refer page 33 of the 2021.08 version of the rules pdf. As a result:
      • It doesn't trigger stuff that relies on being hit by an enemy (such as Shock Field) or damaged by an enemy (such as Vengeance).
      • It doesn't get bonus damage from stuff that adds to a model's damage roll (such as Signs & Portents or Prey).
      • It doesn't matter if the attacker has crippled weapon systems or aspects.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws. (Locked Thread)
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ashen Veil and/or Swarm     (Edit)

  • The concealment bonus and the attack roll penalty stack with each other. If a living model targets you with a gun/spell, and they're within 2" of you, they effectively suffer -4 to the attack.
  • The attack roll penalty applies to all types of attacks.
  • The attack roll penalty applies even if the enemy model is trying to target something completely different.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • If you deploy in fire hazard terrain (Burning Earth), then you get set on fire before the game starts.
Deploying a model in a hazard counts as being "put into play" in the hazard. Being put into play counts as "entering". When you enter a hazard, you trigger the hazard.
  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
  • In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Exorcist - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Cenotaph      (Edit)

  • A Sanctifier cannot go over its normal focus limit (which is 3 for most jacks) as a result of Cenotaph. Refer to the Cortex rules. Even though it can carry 5 souls, you can't convert all of them to focus. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can kill your own troops and gain the souls. The rule just says "destroyed", it doesn't say "destroyed by an enemy attack".
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hand of Fate and/or Manifest Destiny and/or Signs & Portents     (Edit)

  • This buff affects any damage roll that is caused by a model, not just normal attacks. For instance, it can affect the damage roll when a Berserker explodes via Unstable. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Discard Die (Edit)
    • If you're discarding lowest or highest, you have to discard even if you want it for a critical hit.
    For instance: if you discard "the lowest die", need 6+ to hit, and roll a 3, 3, and a 4 ... then you must discard one of the 3s, and you'll end up with a non-critical hit with the 3 + 4.