Ripjaw

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1330 articles and 90% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Cryx Logo.jpg Ripjaw

Cryx Light Warjack

The Ripjaw’s pincer-like jaws are used to hold its victims in place while its bone saw cuts them into mangled and unidentifiable bits. Necrotechs take particular delight in using the Ripjaw, as the ’jack efficiently dismembers its victims into component pieces. Regardless of these lethal armaments, the Ripjaw remains quick and agile like its brethren and serves its master by maneuvering its arc node to wherever required to disrupt the plans of the enemies of Cryx.

Info icon.png

When you go to physically buy Ripjaws, you get a box with 2 models. Despite this, they are added to your army one model at a time.

Basic Info

Ripjaw
Missing Info
Ripjaw.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 7
STR 7
MAT 5
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 14
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 20
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 7
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

Weapons

  • Bone Saw - 0.5" reach, P+S 10 melee attack
    • Powerful Attack - When attacking with this weapon, this model can spend 1 focus point to boost all attack and damage rolls for the attack.
    • Critical Armor-Piercing - When calculating damage from this weapon on a critical hit, halve the base ARM stat of models hit.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Ripjaw

Ripjaw in a nutshell

Ripjaw as an arc node

The Arc Node is one of the most useful abilities a model can have, and with Cryx you can field them very cheaply. An arc node allows your warcaster to cast spells using the arc node as the point of origin. The obvious benefit is casting spells on the frontline while staying safely in the backline. You can also use it to launch surprise attacks from unexpected angles, by running an arc node right across the board into a good position before activating your warcaster. For this reason it pays to keep at least one arc node on the outskirts of the conflict, waiting for an opportunity.

Ripjaw as a combat jack

With Powerful Attack it's quite an efficient melee combatant with a good chance of rolling a crit for large damage spikes. And it's only 1 point more than the Deathripper, the absolute cheapest arc node.

Cryx's arc nodes are not renown for being a threat in combat, often used solely as arc nodes. Use this misconception to surprise your opponents.

Combos & Synergies

  • If you want to use it in melee, try Empowering it with a Warwitch Siren first. With 2 focus it has a better chance of killing whatever it attacks and thus getting itself un-engaged and free to arc spells again.
  • Skarre1 can cast Dark Guidance for an extra attack die, giving it a fantastic chance of rolling a critical.
  • Likewise, casters or models that grant rerolls can help reach a critical roll

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Its damage grid has just enough boxes to allow the bonejack to take a good hit and keep going, but a second one will likely leave it crippled if not totally destroyed. This sets the tone for Cryx bonejacks being fast and hard to hit, but easily damaged if they are struck.

Tricks & Tips

  • Slam a target to cause damage and leave it knocked down. This has the added benefit of leaving the Ripjaw out of combat afterwards so its arc node may still be used.

Other

Trivia

  • Released in Forces of Warmachine: Cryx (June 2010)
  • Nickname(s): Bonechicken, Deathchicken, Chicken (these names can refer to any of the Cryx arc nodes)

Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments

The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Doctor Stygius (Partisan) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)

Other Warjack Controllers

Jack Marshals: Iron Lich Overseer       "Junior Warcasters": Aiakos1 - Asphyxious4 - Deneghra0

Light

Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker

Heavy

Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Asphyxious4 - Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Carrion Thralls - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - Soulhunters - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - The Withershadow Combine

Solos

Aiakos1 - Agrimony - Axiara - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Darragh Wrathe - Doctor Stygius - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Misery Cage - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Severa Blacktide - Soul Trapper - Warwitch Siren

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2020.03

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler  and/or Arc Node     (Edit)
Channeler - LOS

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.

Caster - Attack roll

  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the dice roll.

Stealth - It affects both LOS and the attack roll

  • Since Stealth has both a LOS modifier (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed) things get a little complicated.
  • If only the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models and block LOS, but the caster will auto-miss models more than 5" from the channeler.
  • If only the caster ignores stealth, then only models within 5" of the channeler block LOS, but the caster won't auto-miss no matter what you target.
  • If both channeler and caster ignore Stealth, it works as you'd expect.
  • Stealth Examples     [Show/Hide]
    • Caster has Eyeless Sight, channeler does not.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model doesn't block LOS
        • Attack roll - Doesn't auto-miss
     
    • Caster hasn't got Eyeless Sight, channeler does.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as the attacker doesn't ignore Stealth.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model blocks LOS, so you can't target the rear model.
        • Attack roll - N/A
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Powerful Attack      (Edit)

  • You must declare whether you're using Powerful Attack before making any attack rolls. You can't try and mix-and-match it to avoid friendly models. (Infernal Ruling)
  • It has to be declared at the attack stage. If you choose not to use it on attack rolls, you can't trigger it on damage rolls. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your attack auto-misses, such as an AOE vs Stealth, then you can declare it after deviation but before making damage rolls. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The Powerful Attack bonus doesn't apply to "secondary" damage such as Magic Bullet or Electro Leap.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Armor-Piercing and/or Case Cracker     (Edit)