Rip Horn Satyr

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Riphorn Satyr)
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1213 articles and 91% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Crucible Guard Assault Troopers (one year review) Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (one year review) Cinerators CA (one year review) Exemplar Warder (one year review)


Circle Logo.jpg Rip Horn Satyr

Circle Satyr Heavy Warbeast

Satyrs are elusive beasts, protected for centuries by the druids of the Circle Orboros. Only recently have these loyal creatures been called upon to join battles abroad. Rip horns are more cunning than their cousins but every bit as fierce, smashing into their enemies to break their lines and formations.

Basic Info

Rip Horn Satyr
Missing Info
Riphorn Satyr.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 3
THRS 8
HP 30
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 14
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here to read the long version.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Aggressive - This model can run or charge for free.
  • Bulldoze - When this model is B2B with an enemy model during its Normal Movement, it can push that model up to 2" directly away from it. A model can be pushed by Bulldoze only once per turn. Bulldoze has no effect when this model makes a trample power attack.

Weapons

  • Horns - 1" reach, P+S 15 melee attack
    • Hard Head - This model can add this weapon's POW to its head-butt and slam power attack damage rolls.
  • Bladed Gauntlet (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 16 melee attacks

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF


Ornery

1 SELF - - Round -
The caster gains Retaliatory Strike. Ornery lasts for one round, or until the caster makes the Retaliatory Strike attack.
Retaliatory Strike - If a model with Retaliatory Strike is hit by a melee attack made by an enemy model during your opponent's turn, after that attack is resolved the model with Retaliatory Strike can immediately make one basic melee attack against that model. A model can make one Retaliatory Strike per turn.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2018.10 Tharn Dynamic Update

  • Gained Pathfinder, +3 hitpoints, and +1 POW on the gauntlets.
  • It used to have to cast its animus Irresistible Force to get Bulldoze. Now it has Bulldoze innately and the animus became Ornery instead.

Thoughts on Rip Horn Satyr

Rip Horn Satyr in a nutshell

The Rip Horn Satyr is a cheap combat heavy. With Aggressive, it effectively has as much Fury as a Warp Wolf. And it excels in heavy vs heavy combat, throwing the shattered remnants of the enemy away and standing triumphant.

Cheap heavy warbeasts are balanced against cheap warjacks on the basis that in order to work at full capacity the warjack needs to be allocated two focus - so allocating a warjack a two fury buff is about equivalent. Nowhere is this more evident than in the design of Circle's Satyrs and in the case of the Riphorn it charges for free and can then make two initial claw attacks, its chain headbutt (or two handed throw), its initial horns attack, and buy three more attacks for a total of seven attacks from a 14 point warbeast. At P+S 16 this isn't going to shatter an arm 19 Skorne or Protectorate heavy, never mind a an ARM 20 Khadoran or de facto ARM 20 troll - but the impact of any buffs it receives is multiplied by these seven attacks while a standard charging heavy warjack would receive only two if it charged.

Combos & Synergies

As mentioned the Riphorn on its own needs buffs to do work.

  • Gorax Rager or Feral Warpwolf - bonus to hit and to damage from Primal? Yes Please. And with the Rip Horn being cheap by circle standards Primal hurts less than it would on a Warpwolf
  • Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress or the Blackclad Wayfarer - Hunter's Mark is an excellent threat range extender - not that it needs the free charges.
  • Kromac, Champion of the Wurm - the feat increases both his MAT and damage and his throw distance
  • Kaya the Wildheart - Synergy is everything the Satyrs want. It takes the Riphorn up to MAT 9 and P+S 19. You can even primal them up to MAT 11, P+S 21, which is incredible for a bargain basement warbeast, and not very hard to do either (although probably not worth it).
  • Morvahna the Autumnblade - Mortality is really good with the Rip Horn, especially with the Chain Attack.
  • Morvahna the Dawnshadow - Rerolls are superb on chain attacks.
  • Tanith the Feral Song - Scything Touch is a decent hitting power buff for a warbeast.
  • Mohsar the Desertwalker or Wurmwood1 - Curse of Shadows is a two point ARM debuff. This scales, but is frequently better used to help infantry.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • If you can't buff it then it doesn't break open heavies. This is a warbeast dependent on getting extra hitting power but that rewards you lavishly for that. It's not a beast for all casters.
  • Like all models with a Chain Attack, your chances of getting your hits off in succession are going to be a lot lower than you think. Your more than likely going to want to boost your attack.
  • For a melee combat heavy, it's very pillow fisted. Without a damage buff, it won't do much damage to other heavies.
  • You can't head-butt or throw a model with a larger base, so the chain attack doesn't work on huge based models (gargauntuans, colossals, battle engines, and some casters).

Tricks & Tips

  • Look for targets to two-handed throw people into.
  • By the same token if you can threaten two enemy heavies at once you can charge the first, hit it twice and then throw it away - and use your horns and all your bought attacks on the second.
  • Always charge given the choice. It may get you a free boost.

Other

Trivia

  • Comes in a triple kit with the other two satyrs
  • Released in Hordes: Evolution (2007)

Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hard Head      (Edit)

  • You can add the POW even if the weapon system is crippled.
  • Hard Head doesn't get applied to collateral damage, because that is a separate type of roll. Refer page 45 of the mini rulebook.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Chain Attack Grab & Smash      (Edit)

  • Grab & Smash allows you to make a Power Attack during the same activation that you charged. (Locked thread)
  • You may want to refresh yourself on the Rules Clarifications on Throws and Head-Butts.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Chain Attack      (Edit)

  • Some Chain Attacks generate a Power Attack (such as Chain Attack: Throw. These Chains can be used after charging, even though Power Attacks normally can't be used after a charge. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buying extra attacks with fury or focus cannot trigger a Chain Attack - only initial attacks can trigger it.
  • If you have 3 weapons but only 2 of them are associated with the Chain Attack, then you can make that 3rd initial attack at any point without it preventing the Chain Attack from triggering.
    Also, interrupting your initials to resolve the Chain Attack will not prevent you taking the 3rd initial.
    For example, the Cryx Nightmare has two Claws with a Chain Attack, plus some Tusks. When he makes his initial attacks he can go:
    • [Claw] - [Tusks] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack] ... even though the two Claw attacks weren't sequential.
    • [Claw] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack] - [Tusks] ... even though he did the Chain Attack before getting to his initial Tusk.
    • [Tusks] - [Claw] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack]
    • He cannot go ... [Claw] - [Claw] - [Tusks] - [Chain Attack] ... because you must resolve the Chain Attack as soon as it's triggered, or not at all.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target, then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Aggressive - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Bulldoze      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

(A) People think Bulldoze works like a bowling ball hitting tenpins.
But this is wrong because the models haven't been moved DIRECTLY away.
(B) Whereas if you move models DIRECTLY away, you bulldoze the first guy okay, but then the next one's path is blocked (shown in red), and you get stuck.

Bulldoze - General

  • Models are pushed directly away from you at the point of contact. Some players do this incorrectly, refer to the section on moving models, below.
  • You cannot cast spells or use any other "any time" abilities when you 'stop' to resolve the Bulldoze movement. It's just a pause, not a stop.
  • The size of the Bulldozer vs the Bulldozed does not matter. A small model bulldozes a large model just fine. (Just don't expect to move a Colossal etc.)
  • Bulldoze only works during your Normal Movement. This includes full advances, runs, charges, and slams, but doesn't include stuff like Reposition or Energizer.
  • You can't make free strikes against models you Bulldoze (because for them it is involuntary movement).
  • Enemy models with 2" melee range will still engage you after being bulldozed. Because they will be exactly 2" away and thus still within 2".
  • An enemy model can only be pushed once by the Bulldozer, but if you have multiple Bulldozer models then you could push the same enemy multiple times.
  • If you contact a model you want to Bulldoze while overlapping another model or an obstacle, then you can "pause" on top of that other model/obstacle while resolving the Bulldoze, then continue your movement off the other model/obstacle. (Locked thread)


Bulldoze - Charges / Slams

  • If you attempt to Bulldoze a model out of your charge lane but it does not move far enough, you can't Bulldoze again. You will continue your charge, contact it again, and stop.
  • You can use Bulldoze to get the charge bonus against models between 1 and 3" away. Simply move into B2B, bulldoze them 2" to make some more room, then you can move 2" further forward to get to the "moved at least 3 inches" requirement.
    • Similarly for Slams vs models within 1-3".
  • If you Bulldoze your charge target out of your melee range, this doesn't break the "once in your melee range the target must stay in your melee range" rule. Bulldoze is an exception. (Infernal Ruling)


Bulldoze - Moving the models
A lot of people think they can bulldoze straight through the enemy lines, like shown on Image A. But what actually happens is more like Image B. This is due to 3 important factors you need to apply:

  1. Bulldoze pushes models directly away from your base. Not at an angle. Directly. Away.
  2. If there is a model behind the bulldozed model, the model will STOP.
    • And in this situation, a model beside the pushed model is effectively behind it unless you're pushing at a perfect tangent.
  3. A model can be pushed only one time via Bulldoze.
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ornery      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Retaliatory Strike      (Edit)

  • "Basic melee attack" also includes Mount Attacks. Refer to the definition of 'Basic Attack' in the rulebook.
  • You can't make Retaliatory Strikes vs free strikes, because the free striker is defined to be in your back arc (regardless of the actual model's facings) and thus you don't have LOS to it. (Infernal Ruling)