Revenger

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Protectorate Logo.jpg Revenger

Protectorate Light Warjack

Mk4 icon.png
Prime
This model is available in two Prime Armies, Final Interdiction and Temple Guardians. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

The primary function of the Revenger is to channel a warcaster’s divine power, which protects the faithful and consumes heretics in the cleansing fires of Menoth’s wrath. These warjacks are critical to the Lawgiver’s crusades, and their armament is designed to keep the Revenger in the fight long after other warjacks would fall. The sturdy repulsor shield is inlaid with powerful runes that rebuke enemies and hurl them away from the Revenger, where they can be cut down with the warjack’s heavy polearm.

Basic Info

Revenger
Missing Info
Revenger.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR 9
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 17 / 19 (★)
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 26
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA U
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 8
N/A
N/A
(★) 19 including the Shield bonus
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

Weapons

Repulsor Shield
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S   LOCATION 
0.5 2 11 Left
  • Shield symbol.jpg Shield
  • Repel - When this model hits an enemy model with this weapon during its activation, the model hit is pushed 1" directly away from this model. When this model is hit with a melee attack made by a model in its front arc, after the attack is resolved, the attacking model is pushed 1" directly away from this model. This model loses Repel while this weapon system is crippled.
Halberd
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S   LOCATION 
2 4 13 Right
  • Powerful Charge - This model gains +2 to charge attack rolls with this weapon.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Revenger

Revenger in a nutshell

It's the light arcnode for the Protectorate. Killing stuff is just extra gravy. Repel and long range help keep it's arc node useful and sets it up for enhanced charges.

Combos & Synergies

  • Any warcaster that wants to arc spells
  • Grand Scrutator Severius - Casting Vision on a Revenger ensures that its shield arm will survive a hit and push the enemy back. This can potentially space an enemy out of melee range to avoid extra primary/additional attacks, as well as give you space to move away in your next turn if desired and utilize the arc node.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • The character Revenger (Blessing of Vengeance) does a similar job but better. BoV is available in less themes, though.

Tricks & Tips

  • Run the thing around for back strikes, whether from its own attacks or as an arc node.
  • Its 2" reach with the halberd and the repulser shield make a decent "get in the way" 'jack.
  • The 2" range of its halberd means its harder to scoot around as it may get a free strike if your opponent isn't paying attention. It is also great at sneaking a stab or two in between the other models in a fight.
  • The shield gives it the same armor value as Menoth's heavies. Plus, the Repel special ability lets this light 'jack survive longer than it should. Basically if a heavy 'jack charges in and hits it, the attacker could be pushed back far enough that it is no longer in melee range, thereby wasting any excess focus or fury.
  • You can move the Revenger past an enemy model to be a hair in the opponent models melee range and if you hit it with your shield and position right, it opens you to back strikes against it. The technique is called Biscuiting after SirBiscuit who "discovered" it.


Other

Trivia

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)          
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Feora4 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Covenant1 - Covenant2 - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Repel      (Edit)

  • A model that starts in B2B with you will end exactly 1" away after the Repel, so their 1" melee weapons will still be in range. Similarly for 2" melee weapons and being repelled twice.
  • Push - General     (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • Pushed models do not change their facing.
    • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
    • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
    • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
    • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
    • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
      • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you push a model to a position where it regains Incorporeal (for instance you push it out of range of an Exorcist) then what happens is (Being Checked by Infernals)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Powerful Charge  and/or Brutal Charge     (Edit)

  • If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then the attack doesn't count as a "Charge Attack" and you won't get the bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler  and/or Arc Node     (Edit)
General

  • It is possible to channel a spell with a range of CTRL. The control range is still measured from the caster though, so channeling it has zero effect ... unless you've got something like Empowered Arc Node or Reaction Drive. Stuff like that can trigger. (Infernal Ruling)

Channeling in melee

  • A channeler that is engaged by an enemy model can not channel.
  • A channeler that is engaging an enemy model can channel. (For example, the channeler is standing in the enemy's back arc.)

Channeler - LOS

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS (but not to the DEF bonus).

Caster - Attack roll

  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the dice roll (but not to the LOS).

Stealth - It affects both LOS and the attack roll

  • Since Stealth has both a LOS modifier (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed) things get a little complicated.
  • If only the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models and block LOS, but the caster will auto-miss models more than 5" from the channeler.
  • If only the caster ignores stealth, then only models within 5" of the channeler block LOS, but the caster won't auto-miss no matter what you target.
  • If both channeler and caster ignore Stealth, it works as you'd expect.
  • Stealth Examples     [Show/Hide]
    • Caster has Eyeless Sight, channeler does not.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model doesn't block LOS
        • Attack roll - Doesn't auto-miss
     
    • Caster hasn't got Eyeless Sight, channeler does.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as the attacker doesn't ignore Stealth.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model blocks LOS, so you can't target the rear model.
        • Attack roll - N/A