Renegade

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Mercenary Logo.jpg Renegade

Mercenary Light Warjack

Another of Magnus the Traitor's creations, the Renegade is his idea of the perfect support warjack. With the obliterator rocket able to destroy targets at long range, the shredder's ability to tear enemies apart in melee, and an arc node that allows Magnus the ability of slinging spells over the field, the Renegade performs a variety of battlefield roles.

Basic Info

Renegade
Missing Info
Renegade.jpeg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR 8
MAT 6
RAT 6
M.A. N/A
DEF 11
ARM 17 / 18 (★)
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 26
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 8
N/A
N/A
(★) 18 including the Buckler bonus
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Custom Warjack [ Magnus ] - This model can be included only in a battlegroup controlled by Magnus.

Abilities

Weapons

Obliterator
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW   LOCATION 
14 1 4 16 Left
  • Buckler symbol.jpg Buckler
  • Arcing Fire - When attacking with this weapon, this model can ignore intervening models except those within 1" of the target.
  • Knockdown - When a model is hit by an attack with this weapon, it becomes knocked down.
  • One Shot - An attack with this weapon can be made only once per game.
Shredder
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S   LOCATION 
1 5 13 Right
  • Critical Shred - On a critical hit with this weapon during this model's Combat Action, after the attack is resolved this model can make one additional attack with this weapon against the model hit.
  • Sustained Attack - During this model's activation, when it makes an attack with this weapon against the last model hit by the weapon this activation, the attack automatically hits.

Theme Forces

It can only be taken in theme forces with Magnus. Surprise!

Recent Changes

2021.10 Mega Update

  • Point cost dropped from 10 to 8

Thoughts on Renegade

Renegade in a nutshell

The Renegade can only be used in the battle group of either version of Magnus, and they're limited to two in any given army. If you're playing Magnus1, you probably want to bring along at least one. While they can only fire once, you can consider them walking mini-feats. Combine that with an arc node, and you've got a real threat to warcasters. Magnus2 is often seen without them in warjack heavy builds.

Combos & Synergies

  • The fact that it's a arc node opens up all sorts of tactics with Magnus the Traitor, such as sniping a 'jack in the back with Arcantrik Bolt to stationary it for other units to attack, casting Snipe on itself to give it more range on its Obliterator missile, or firing off a Scourge to add more knockdown potential versus the enemy. Alternately, casting Blur and putting it in concealment makes it very hard to take down with ranged fire, allowing it to close to where it can use its Obliterator on a vulnerable target. Iron Aggression can give the Renegade an impressive number of attacks combined with its Critical Shred ability, but is probably best cast on other 'jacks.
  • Magnus the Warlord uses it to arc Calamity or sometimes Obliteration, which can occasionally be used to clear a lot of models or take out a hard to reach high value target. His field marshal also makes it ARM 19 in melee which is very servicable for a light.
  • Freebooter - With trash it serves as a follow up to mop up everything the rocket knocks down.

Drawbacks and Downsides

  • You only get one shot with the Obliterator; make it count!
    • Be on the lookout for Shield Guards, Sac Pawn models or those with the Sucker! rule around.
  • There are rare conditions where the enemy can take over your warjack (chiefly the Domination spell and the Machine Wraith). Watch out for Cryx and Haley2 and 3.
  • Backstab is based on where Magnus is standing, not where the Renegade is. You don't get it because the Renegade has run behind someone.

Tricks and Tips

  • The Renegade's Obliterator Missile does powerful damage, but more importantly knocks down everything it hits, making it perfect when setting up for assassinations or just to knock down a powerful unit so your other troops can pound it. Make sure you reserve a Focus to boost its attack roll to be sure you land the hit.
  • Sometimes the threat of the Obliterator is as good as firing it. An opposing warcaster will usually be wary of the Renegade getting into a good firing position.
  • Due to Arcing Fire only a huge-based model can screen a target from your Obliterator rocket - in every other situation you'll clip it, either with the blast damage, or with a direct hit via arcing fire (an Obliterator AoE has a 50,8 mm radius, 0,4 mm larger than a large base's radius plus the max 1" distance where arcing fire won't trigger). Don't forget that other targeting restrictions still apply.

Other

Trivia

  • The Renegade's rules with Magnus are so weird because it was the prototype for character jacks and dates back all the way to Warmachine: Superiority (2006)
  • They are likely the only non-character warjacks without FA:U that are restricted to a single caster. This is because Magnus only ever built two and the design has not been copied like the Mangler's.

Who can take this warjack?

The Renegade can be included only in a battlegroup belonging to Asheth Magnus. As of 2020-09 there are two versions of Magnus:

  1. Magnus the Traitor
  2. Magnus the Warlord

Other Mercenary models

Mercenary Logo.jpg       Mercenary Index       (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Human) (Edit)
Warcasters

Ashlynn1 - Ashlynn2 - Aurora2 - Blaize - Caine3 - Crosse2 - Damiano - Fiona - Macbain - Magnus1 - Magnus2 - Montador - Rahera - Shae

"Juniors"

Asphyxious4 - Crosse1 - Nemo4

'Jack Marshals

Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - MacHorne1 - MacHorne2 - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Steelhead Ironhead

Mercenary Warjacks (Human)   (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Scallywag - Swashbuckler - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Gallant - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rocinante - Rover - Toro - Swabber
Colossal Blockader - Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcaster Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
'Jack Marshal Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments

Doctor Stygius - Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Non-character Units

Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Legion of Lost Souls - Ogrun Assault Corps - OoI Resolutes - OoI Vigilants - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - SH Cannon - SH Halberdiers - SH Cavalry - SH Mortar - SH Riflemen - SH Volley Gun - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) - Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)

Character Units

Alexia1 - Asphyxious4 - Croe's Cutthroats - Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Herne & Jonne - Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus & Edrea - MacHorne1 - The Commodore Cannon - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers

Non-character Solos

Cephalyx Agitator - Death Archon - Gobber Tinker - Menite Archon - Morrowan Archon - Ogrun Bokur - Powder Monkey - SH Arcanist - SH Ironhead - SH Gunner - Swamp Gobber River Raider Thamarite Advocate - Thamarite Archon - Void Archon

Character Solos

Alexia2 - Alexia3 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Balthazar Bamfist - Black Bella1 - Black Bella2 - Bloody Bradigan - Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Bosun Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Captain Crawtooth - Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Dez1 - Dez2 - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Doctor Stygius - Eilish1 - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Eiryss4 - First Mate Hawk - Flubbin1 - Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 - Flugwug the Filcher - Crosse1 - Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One - Gorman1 - Gorman2 - Grand Master Gabriel Throne - Gubbin1 - Gubbin2 - Gudrun1 - Gudrun2 - Harlan Versh, Illuminated One - Harlowe Holdemhigh - Hermit of Henge Hold - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - J.A.I.M.s - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Lord Rockbottom - MacHorne2 - Major Harrison Gibbs - Malvin2 - Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile - Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor - Princess Delores Graciela - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger - Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer - Savio Montero Acosta - Saxon Orrik - Scythe - Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye - Stannis Brocker - Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage - Thor Steinhammer - Tubbin - Underboss Vizkoya - Viktor Pendrake - Weird Wendell - Widget1 - Widget2 - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines

Hammerfall Siege Crawler - Nemo4

Independent Warjack

Malvin1 & Mayhem1

Theme Forces (Edit)
Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Arcing Fire      (Edit)

  • Arcing Fire lets you ignore models but not terrain. You don't ignore clouds, forests or buildings.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.

Rules Clarification : One Shot - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sustained Attack      (Edit)

  • Translation for newbies : Once you hit your target, your next attack(s) with the same weapon will auto-hit.
  • If your target becomes out of range in between attacks (somehow), then Sustained Attack will not let you auto-hit. Refer Step 3 vs Step 4 of the Attack Sequence (Apdx A).
  • If you have sustained attack on a weapon that makes simultaneous attacks (e.g. Prime Axiom making a Sweep attack), then all the models you hit are "the last model hit" and whichever one you choose to attack next is the one you get the auto-hit bonus vs. (Infernal Ruling)
  • This only applies to the first attack after a simultaneous one - once you make that next attack, it's all reset back to being "just one" last model hit.
    • Example : you Sweep and hit models A, B, C. Then you buy an attack vs model C. It is auto-hit because it was (one of) the last model(s) hit. Then you buy another attack, now you can only auto-hit C because it is the last model hit.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Critical Shred      (Edit)

  • Shred only triggers during your Combat Action, so not on free strikes, countercharges, etc.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Inert warjacks

  • Abilities that say they cannot be used if the model is stationary (such as Shield Guard) cannot be used while a warjack is inert, either. Refer "Warcaster Destruction", page 59 of the core rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Custom Warjack - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler  and/or Arc Node     (Edit)
General

  • It is possible to channel a spell with a range of CTRL. The control range is still measured from the caster though, so channeling it has zero effect ... unless you've got something like Empowered Arc Node or Reaction Drive. Stuff like that can trigger. (Infernal Ruling)

Channeling in melee

  • A channeler that is engaged by an enemy model can not channel.
  • A channeler that is engaging an enemy model can channel. (For example, the channeler is standing in the enemy's back arc.)

Channeler - LOS

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS (but not to the DEF bonus).

Caster - Attack roll

  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the dice roll (but not to the LOS).

Stealth - It affects both LOS and the attack roll

  • Since Stealth has both a LOS modifier (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed) things get a little complicated.
  • If only the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models and block LOS, but the caster will auto-miss models more than 5" from the channeler.
  • If only the caster ignores stealth, then only models within 5" of the channeler block LOS, but the caster won't auto-miss no matter what you target.
  • If both channeler and caster ignore Stealth, it works as you'd expect.
  • Stealth Examples     [Show/Hide]
    • Caster has Eyeless Sight, channeler does not.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model doesn't block LOS
        • Attack roll - Doesn't auto-miss
     
    • Caster hasn't got Eyeless Sight, channeler does.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as the attacker doesn't ignore Stealth.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model blocks LOS, so you can't target the rear model.
        • Attack roll - N/A