Reflex Servitors

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Convergence Logo.jpg Reflex Servitors

Convergence Servitor Solo

Mk4 icon.png
Prime
This model is available in one Prime Army, Convergence of Cyriss. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

The reflex servitor represents precise function given deadly form. In many respects, its efficiency and lethality perfectly embody the Convergence’s basic combat doctrine. Though it is programmed to eliminate enemies through its own detonation, it does not sacrifice itself randomly. Indeed, the reflex servitor resembles a predator stalking prey, waiting for the proper moment to strike.

Basic Info

Reflex Servitors
Missing Info
ReflexServitors WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 3
MAT 5
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 13
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 3 (9 solos)
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 3 points for 3 solos
1 each
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Construct symbol.jpg Construct
  • AD symbol.jpg Advance Deployment
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
  • Dig In (★ Action) - This model gains cover, does not suffer blast damage, and does not block LOS. The model remains dug in until it moves, is placed, or is engaged. It can begin the game dug in.
  • Steady - This model cannot become knocked down.

Weapons

  • Probability Mine – 0.5" reach, P+S 3. Only P+S three?! That's probably not going to hurt ... right?
    • Detonation - (HIT) If this attack directly hits, instead of dealing damage normally, center a 4" AOE on the model hit and RFP this model. The model hit suffers an unboostable POW 14 damage roll. (MISS) If the attack misses, center the AOE on this model and RFP this model. (BLAST) Models in the AOE other than the model directly hit are hit and suffer an unboostable POW 7 blast damage roll. Blast damage from this attack is not considered to have been caused by an attack. Detonation damage is unboostable.

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions
    • Mercenary players can also use this model via the Strange Bedfellows theme.


Thoughts on Reflex Servitors

Reflex Servitors in a nutshell

One of two Advance Deployers in Convergence, Reflex servitors are highly annoying proximity mines. It excels when threatening high DEF skirmishers, thus restricting their movement and attracting enemy fire.

Combos & Synergies

  • Prime Axiom : Actually, axiom can spawn these little buggers where they hurt the most. Considering Reflex servitors are expensive to field, it is somewhat reasonable to just 'create' a solo while boasting a colossal.
  • Inverter : Whether you're placing them with Axis or Lucant, an Inverter shrouded with Reflex servitors are hard to crack. Even better in Destruction Initiative, as they're shield guards with dig in.

Warcasters

  • Iron Mother Directrix : Her main support action, aperture beam, can increase servitor's detonation damage. A well-placed servitor can wipe out half a squad in this way, particularly useful when facing Infantry hordes.
  • Axis, The Harmonic Enforcer : Countercharge for everyone! They're great screening your main vectors, forcing them to calculate countercharge lanes.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Expensive to field ... per attack. They cost just the same as Attunement Servitors, but you're only getting 3 attacks the entire game.
  • Their main role is to harass the enemy, but this task goes hard when your enemy bring beefy units. You can't make a scratch.
  • Likewise, don't expect it survive throughout the game. If this happens, something is wrong. Whether it is you or your opponent.

Tricks & Tips

  • In Destruction Initiative, these little fellas are free, dig-in able, AD able shield guards. Best friends with Conservator.
  • Their AD, and great MOV means that these guys are perfect friendly-fire target. Flare, craters are essential to our game-making. If you cannot hit enemy's nimble solo, how about blast damage?
  • In the scenario-focused SR2017 they are great to contest zones, even if they are not able to control it. Imagine a dig-in Reflex Servitor on a hill or way behind a forest at the edge of your opponent's own zone. It will need an annoying amount of ressources to get rid of a 0-point model denying scoring for him.
  • Don't forget that after they attacked an enemy model, they are gone. So no jammming up the opponent after that.

Other

Trivia

Other Convergence models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters

Aurora1 - Aurora2 - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion

Light

Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator - Negator - Tesselator

Heavy

Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor

Colossals

Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Asphyxious4 - Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Negation Angels - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Destructotron 3000 - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Prefect Hypatia - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector - Widget, Mathlete Archeologist

Battle Engines

Nemo4 - TEP

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Clockwork Legions - Destruction Initiative - Strange Bedfellows

Refer to Category: Convergence of Cyriss Mercenary

This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Detonation and/or Death Burst     (Edit)

  • The Servitor / Scrap Thrall is on the table for the attack roll, but it is removed before the damage roll. So stuff that affects a model's damage roll (like Positive Charge) won't apply to the damage. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Damage is never boosted, even if the model charged before making the melee attack.
  • Not considered an attack & "Non-attack damage roll" (Edit)   [Show/Hide]
    • There are two ways you can get these "non-attack" damage rolls.
      • Type 1 - A secondary damage roll that is not considered to be an attack. Some attacks create a second damage roll that is explicitly "not considered an attack" (such as Electro Leap).
        (Note that although the secondary damage roll is not an attack, the original attack certainly is and will trigger stuff normally. These clarifications don't apply to the original attack.)
      • Type 2 - A damage roll that's not from an attack. Some special abilities & special actions tell you to make a damage roll without mentioning whether it is considered an attack or not (such as Vent Steam and Flak Field).
    • When it comes to other abilities that trigger on damage (such as Vengeance) both types function the same way. For brevity we'll refer to both as "Pure Damage".

    • Pure damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • Pure damage is not an attack, so doesn't benefit from stuff that affects 'attack damage rolls' (such as Bethayne1's feat). (Infernal Ruling)
    • Pure damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • Pure damage is not from an attack, but it is (normally) damage from the original model. This has two implications:
      1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
        • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
        • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
      2. It is a damage roll from a model so:
    • Exception: Some damage is not from an attack and not from a model (for example, Collateral damage). In this case, you should reverse the stuff listed under #2 above.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

    Timing    
  • If the moving model has Assault, the Countercharge is resolved before the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling).
  • If the moving model has a rule that resolves "at the end of Normal Movement" (such as Slipstream), the Countercharge is resolved before the other rule. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The moving model cannot use an "Any Time" after finishing their advance but before your Countercharge. They can use it only after the Countercharge is resolved.
  • If the non-countercharging player has a similar "ends an advance" trigger (such as Admonition) then they can trigger and resolve that from your countercharge movement.
    • Example: Model [A] charges, and triggers Countercharge on [B]. Model [B] countercharges, and triggers Admonition on [C].
      Resolve Admonition on [C]. Then finish resolving Countercharge on [B]. Then finish model [A]'s activation.

    Triggering Countercharge    

  • You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
  • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
  • Some abilities let you "ignore intervening models when declaring a charge" (such as Flight). Unfortunately, you still need LOS to trigger Countercharge, and it's only after CC is triggered that you actually get to declare a charge. In other words, Flight and Countercharge don't work together for LOS purposes.
  • What does trigger Countercharge
    • Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Countercharge
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • When a unit is moving, countercharge is triggered on a model-by-model basis. So you can countercharge after any model in the unit has finished its move within range, but you can only countercharge that model who just finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the entire unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

    Attacks, Boosting, & Other Triggers    

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.
  • Countercharge occurs outside of activation so you can't spend fury/focus to boost a countercharge attack, nor buy additional attacks afterwards, not trigger stuff that only happens during your Combat Action (like Berserk).
  • Even if you trigger Countercharge during your own activation, for the duration of you resolving the CC it "no longer counts" as being in your activation. (Infernal Ruling)

    After the Countercharge    

  • The countercharging model cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint), as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)

    Other interactions    

  • Countercharge during your own activation (Countercharge vs Admonition etc) ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation, but only if an enemy model moves during your activation. For instance, you move towards a model who has Admonition and they trigger that to try to move away. (You do a normal move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge from their admonition-move.)
    • However countercharge always counts as being out-of-activation, no matter when you trigger it. (Infernal Ruling)
    As a result, you can't trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack).
    • On the other hand, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge). (Infernal Ruling)
      This ruling still applies even after the 2018.07 update (Infernal Re-ruling)
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge Inception
    • If a model [A] has Countercharge, and it charges an enemy model [B] that has Countercharge and Admonition, then ...
      • Model [A] charges and triggers CC and Admo on [B]
      • Model [B] Admo moves but before it can resolve its own CC, it triggers CC on [A]
      • You now have two models that have triggered CC simultaneously. So the Active player gets to resolve their one first.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dig In and/or Foxhole Buddy     (Edit)

  • Unlike nearly every ability in the game, Dig In doesn't have a "expires after one turn/round" clause.
  • Thus you could spend your action on turn 1 to Dig In and (assuming you don't move or get engaged) stay Dug In on turn 2 and use your action to make ranged attacks.
  • Being pushed counts as moving. (Locked thread)
  • If a model with Dig In is added to play or returned to play, it does not count as "starting the game". It can't be put into play already Dug In. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can use Dig In while you're in someone's back arc. You are engaging, but not engaged.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Steady      (Edit)

  • If you are hit by a knockdown effect during your own turn then ... nothing happens. Unless it was a Slam or a Throw that knocked you down.
    In that situation, there is a core rule that says "models immune to knockdown that become knocked down from a slam or throw must forfeit either movement or action when they activate". But that core rule doesn't apply to other knockdowns (lots of players assume it does)
  • Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any). For instance, a Head Butt attack causes damage and knockdown - a Steady model would still take the damage.
  • A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.
  • Steady models who make a tough check during an advance can continue advancing. (Locked Thread)