Reeves of Orboros

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Circle Logo.jpg

Reeves of Orboros
Circle Wolf Sworn Unit
Chieftain & Standard
Command Attachment


Basic Info

Reeves of Orboros
Missing Info
Reeves of Orboros.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 13
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10 +2CA
COST 10 / 16 +4CA
1.7 each
FA 2
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • Everyone
  • Officer only
    • He has +1 MAT, RAT, and 5 hitpoints.
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Granted: War-Tempered - While this model is in formation, models in its unit gain War-Tempered. (War-Tempered - Models with War-Tempered can make CRA vs targets in melee. If the attack misses and is randomised vs a new model, participants that would auto-miss the new model do not contribute to the CRA bonus but still forfeit their attacks.)
    • Go to Ground (Minifeat) - Once per game, models in this unit can gain cover and immunity to blast damage and will not block LOS for one round. The effect on each model ends after one round or if that model moves or is placed or engaged.
  • Standard only
    • Standard Bearer - While this model is within 5" of the unit commander, the unit commander gains +2 CMD.


  • Leader, Grunts, & Officer
    • Battle Blade - 0.5" reach, P+S 8 melee weapon.
    • Double Crossbow - 12" range, ROF 2, POW 8 gun
  • Standard
    • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Reeves of Orboros

Command attachment

Reeves in a Nutshell

Reeves each shoot twice and can combine their attacks to damage harder targets. Two shots lets them scythe through cannon fodder, the CRA to-hit bonus can give them game vs high DEF light infantry, and the CRA to-damage bonus can give them game vs medium infantry and light warbeasts.

Circle has a lot of choices for sweeping light infantry off the board but these guys are the favorite because of their range and flexibility ... that was, until themes became such a huge part of the game. Now they're still great, don't get me wrong, but the number of lists they're going into is much less.

Thoughts on adding the CA

The Chieftain is normally taken because he protects them against blast damage and gives them a chance of shooting into melee (remember that CRAs can normally never do this, and most of the time Reeeves want to be doing at least a 2-man CRA).

Combos & Synergies

Reeves vs 1HP models under Tanith's Affliction
Enemy DEF Without aiming With aiming
13 16 dead 20 dead
14 13 dead 18 dead
15 9 dead 16 dead
16 6 dead 13 dead
So, for example, 5 aiming Reeves could reliably wipe out ten DEF 13 models, leaving the rest of your unit to go after non-Afflicted targets.
  • Wolf Lord Morraig gives them +1 to attack rolls, getting their RAT up to Nyss Hunter level.
  • The Reeve Hunter gives them Quick Work (although why you want to be in melee in the first place is a good question).
  • Tanith can put Affliction on a hard target, mountain king getting you down? Land twenty points of damage on him.
  • The War Wolf can be sent after things they hit - or use their bolts to charge deep and then charge the enemy support after that.
  • Grayle the Farstrider gives them Tactician, letting them see and shoot through each other, Warpborn Skinwalkers, and Wolves of Orboros
  • Any warlock that hands out mass debuffs, with special mention to Tanith and her Affliction spell:
    • They become effective RAT 7 (9 if aiming), and can clear 22 one-wound infantry models off the table. See table on the right.
    • Or they can put 22 points of damage into any heavy/colossal, regardless of its ARM value.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Not a lot of killing power in melee
  • Vulnerable to blasts outside of Go to Ground
  • Each model lost means the loss of 2 attacks

Tricks & Tips

  • Their RAT is a little low, so normally they need to either aim or make two-person CRAs to have decent odds of hitting.



Other Circle models

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves

Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder - Gallows Grove - Lord of the Feast - Reeve Hunter - Primal Archon - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - Una the Falconer - War Wolf - Wolf Lord Morraig

Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.07

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed     (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Ranged Attack     (Edit)

  • CRA cannot target models in melee ... unless the target is a huge-based model or the attacker has War-Tempered.
  • If you give the attack-leader a buff to their attack (such as Guidance) then that buff applies to the combined attack (even though the other participants don't have the buff). (Locked thread)
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hunter     (Edit)

  • Although you ignore cover/concealment, you don't ignore "secondary" bonuses a model gets from it. For example, a model with Prowl will still gain Stealth from their concealment. (Infernal Ruling)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer     (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tacticsvs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : War-Tempered     (Edit)

  • If a CRA against a model in melee misses, after determining the new random target you have to work out your CRA bonus again. ie work out how many participants have the new target in LOS and range, and use that for the revised CRA bonus.
  • If the new target is out of the primary attacker's LOS or range, the shot will just miss. There's no need to work out the revised CRA bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Go to Ground     (Edit)

  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
      Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Being pushed counts as moving. (Locked thread)
  • RC symbol.png

    Rules Clarification : Standard Bearer     (Edit)

    • If the Officer dies, the Standard Bearer can give the CMD bonus to the Leader model.

    Wrench symbol.png

    Note to Editors
    To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here