Reeve Hunter

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search

We have 1159 articles and 85% are complete! Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  


Reeve Hunter
Circle Wolf Sworn Reeve of Orboros Solo

Alone or leading a group of reeves, the reeve hunter is a stealthy predator who uses the forest and his own mastery of woodlore to remain unseen. When the reeve hunter chooses to attack, it is usually with a volley of well-placed bolts, unleashed in a split second from his double crossbow. However, the reeve hunter is also armed with a deadly cleft sword, which he uses simultaneously with his crossbow, cutting down one enemy in melee and feathering another before his initial target hits the ground.

Basic Info[edit]

Reeve Hunter
Missing Info
Reeve Hunter.png
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR N/A
MAT 6
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 13
CMD 7
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Double Crossbow - 12" range, ROF 2, POW 8 ranged attack
  • Battle Blade - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon
  • Cleft Sword - 1" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon
    • Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
    • Powerful Charge - This model gains +2 to hit on charge attacks with this weapon.

Abilities[edit]

  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Assault - This model may make a ranged attack as part of its charge. Click the link for the full rules text.
  • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Hunter - This model ignores cover and concealment when shooting.
  • Leadership [Reeves of Orboros] - Friendly Reeves of Orboros models in this model's command range gain Quick Work.
  • Quick Work - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved it can make one basic ranged attack.
  • Sprint - At the end of an activation in which it destroyed or removed from play one or more enemy models with melee attacks, this model can immediately make a full advance, then its activation ends.


Analysis of Reeve Hunter[edit]

Reeve Hunter in a Nutshell[edit]

The Reeve Hunter is an elite member of the Reeves of Orboros. He is adept both at range and in melee, though he isn't outstanding at either.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • The Reeve Hunter is more expensive and less effective as a pure ranged model than two ordinary Reeves. He needs to use his blade to trigger Quick Work and shoot deep into the backline support models for him to be worth his points.
  • Quick Work doesn't let him make a ranged attack if he is still in melee when it triggers.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Your ideal charge target is two knocked down models. Because they're knocked down, they can't engage you and prevent you triggering Quick Work twice.
  • You don't always want to use your Assault shot. Either because you want to trigger Quick Work and shoot even further, or because your charge target has something like Dodge or Poltergeist.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Forces of Hordes: Circle Orboros (2010)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Circle models[edit]

Circle Logo.jpg       Circle Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Baldur1 - Baldur2 - Bradigus1 - Grayle1 - Iona1 - Kaya1 - Kaya2 - Kaya3 - Kromac1 - Kromac2 - Krueger1 - Krueger2 - Mohsar1 - Morvahna1 - Morvahna2 - Tanith1 - Una2 - Wurmwood1
Lessers & Attachments Druid Wilder (Attached) - Una1 (Lesser)
Light Argus Moonhound - Winter Argus - Wild Argus - Gorax Rager - Razorwing Griffon - Rotterhorn Griffon - Scarsfell Griffon - Wold Wight - Woldwatcher - Woldwyrd
Heavy Gnarlhorn Satyr - Riphorn Satyr - Shadowhorn Satyr - Feral Warpwolf - Pureblood Warpwolf - Warpwolf Stalker - Wold Guardian - Woldwarden
Brennos the Elderhorn (Satyr) - Ghetorix (Warpwolf) - Loki (Warpwolf) - Megalith (Woldwarden)
Gargantuans Storm Raptor - Woldwrath
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Druid Mist Riders - Druids of Orboros & CA - Reeves of Orboros & CA - Sentry Stone & Mannikins - Shifting Stones & CA - Stoneward & Woldstalkers - Tharn Bloodtrackers & Character UA - Tharn Bloodweavers & CA - Tharn Blood Pack - Tharn Ravagers & CA - Tharn Wolf Riders - Warpborn Skinwalkers & CA - Wolves of Orboros & CA
Brighid & Caul - Death Wolves
Solos Blackclad Stoneshaper - Blackclad Wayfarer - Bloodweaver Night Witch - Druid Wilder (Attached) - Gallows Grove - Reeve Hunter - Tharn Blood Shaman - Tharn Ravager Shaman - Tharn Ravager White Mane - Tharn Wolf Rider Champion - War Wolf
Lord of the Feast - Una1 (Lesser) - Wolf Lord Morraig
Battle Engines & Structures Celestial Fulcrum (Engine) - Well of Orboros (Structure)
Theme Forces
Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Circle Orboros Minion
This index was last updated: 2018.10

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Powerful Charge      (Edit)

  • If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then the attack doesn't count as a "Charge Attack" and you won't get the bonus.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Assault      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

General

Step 1: Declare the charge

  1. Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
    • If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
    • If no, continue to Step 2.
  2. Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
    • You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).

Step 2: Move the charging model

  1. As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
    • Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
    • Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
  2. Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). Refer to the latest Errata.
  3. Did you fail the charge? You will get the Assault shot anyway (not yet though).
    • Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee" (not yet though). Refer to the latest Errata and also this (Infernal Ruling)
  4. Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you (or your opponent) can trigger "Ends Movement" effects. (after this, you can make the ranged attack).
    • Nothing that happens from this point onwards will retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge, or vice versa.
  5. If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
  6. If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
Assault is not a "triggered ability" and it will never trigger simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot.

Step 3: Make the ranged attack

  1. The ranged attack is optional.
  2. Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
  3. Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
  4. Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
    • If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
  5. Is the target in melee with the shooter?
    • If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
    • If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.

Step 4: If you miss

  1. If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
  2. If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, do not reroll the attack against another model. It misses completely.

Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack

  1. If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
  2. If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
    • still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
    • dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
  3. Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).


Units

  • Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Other

  • Warbeasts
    • Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Hunter      (Edit)

  • Although you ignore cover/concealment, you don't ignore "secondary" bonuses a model gets from it. For example, a model with Prowl will still gain Stealth from their concealment. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Leadership      (Edit)

  • If you have two Leaders handing out the same buff, then sometimes they stack (Bronzeback) and sometimes they don't (Exemplar Bastion). (Infernal Ruling)
  • See specific models for case-by-case clarifications.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Quick Work      (Edit)

  • If you're still engaged in melee when Quick Work triggers, you won't be able to make the ranged attack.
  • Quick Work specifies "Combat Action" so doesn't work with Impact Attacks or out-of-activation attacks
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sprint and/or Run & Gun     (Edit)

  • You cannot use this ability after an out-of-activation attack (such as Countercharge), only during real activations. (Locked thread)
  • You can't purchase additional attacks after the move, because you can only buy attacks during your Combat Action and by definition "the end of your activation" happens after "your Combat Action".
  • Differences
    • With Sprint, you cannot trigger other abilities that also occur "at the end of activation" (such as Reposition), because Sprint includes the phrase "and then its activation ends". Click here for a detailed explanation
    • Run & Gun doesn't have this restriction.
    • Run & Gun won't trigger if you RFP the model, but Sprint will.