Reclaimer Gatekeeper

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Protectorate Logo.jpg Reclaimer Gatekeeper

Protectorate Reclaimer Solo - ('Jack Marshal)

Whether with an enemy's blade or bullet or with the Cinerator's fiery touch, the Reclaimers send the souls of the fallen to the afterlife. The soul energy transferred into them during the exchange can be harnessed to protect them from harm, unleash blasts of spiritual energy, or fuel the divine cortexes of warjacks.

Basic Info

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support As of 2019.09, PP have removed the SOS info from the Retailer Support website.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Missing Info
Reclaimer.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 5
STR
MAT 5
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 13
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 3
N/A
N/A
FA 2
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • 'Jack Marshal - This model can control a Faction warjack, albeit in a limited manner. Click the link for the full rules.
  • Ashen Veil - This model has concealment. Living enemy models without Fire immunity suffer -2 to attack rolls while within 2" of this model.
  • Soul Taker: Soul Keeper - A Reclaimer collects souls from living friendly Protectorate models destroyed in its command range. It can have up to 3 souls.
  • Soul Mastery - At any time during its activation, this model can spend soul tokens to use one of the following effects for each token spent:
    • Ashes of Urcaen - Target friendly Faction model within 3" gains Ashen Veil. (Ashen Veil - This model has concealment. Living enemy models without Fire immunity suffer -2 to attack rolls while within 2" of this model.)
    • Glimpse of Fate - Target friendly Faction model within 3" gains Future Sight. (Future Sight - This model can boost attack and damage rolls after rolling.)
    • Obscuring Haze - Centre a 3" AOE cloud on the Reclaimer. The cloud follows the Reclaimer if he moves, but is removed if he dies.

Weapons

Theme Forces

  • Other Factions

Thoughts on Reclaimer Gatekeeper

Reclaimer Gatekeeper in a nutshell

The Reclaimer serves two roles - first it's the cheap jack marshal in Protectorate, and secondly it hands out buffs - Future Sight or Ashen Veil. To get the most out of it, you'll want an infantry-heavy list that'll keep his soul abilities fueled.

Combos & Synergies

  • Repenter - a really nasty spray.
  • Redeemer - the three Skyhammer shots can all get the damage bonus on them from the jack marshal as well as from the Choir of Menoth for some really obnoxious shooting, especially if you can somehow knock your target down.
  • Sanctifier - yes it feuds with the Reclaimer over souls, but when it throws down after being jack marshaled there are few jacks to beat it.
  • Severius2 - Any spellcaster or heavy likes Future Sight, but Sev2 on feat turn can theoretically be rolling damage on 5 feat targets, hit with 4 casts of Ashes, and then 16 damage rolls from Ashes. Future Sight is uniquely efficient here, especially since you can't feat on an important solo twice if you blow the damage roll.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He's a special order model.
  • Squishy and doesn't get much work done on its own.

Tricks & Tips

  • Stand the Reclaimer close enough to your cannon fodder to collect their souls, but not so close he puts a bullseye on his own head.


Other

Trivia

Released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)

Other Protectorate models

Protectorate Logo.jpg       Protectorate Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Amon - Cyrenia - Durant2 - Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Harbinger - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Thyra - Vindictus

Warcaster attachments Hierophant - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Durant1 - Severius0
Marshals Bastion Seneschal - Reclaimer Gatekeeper
Light

Blessing of Vengeance - Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant

Heavy

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Castigator - Crusader - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Guardian - Hand of Judgment - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Scourge of Heresy - Templar - Vanquisher

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units

Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Initiates of the Wall - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard - Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer CA: Attendant Priest

Solos

Allegiant of the Order of the Fist - Champion of the Order of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Warder Elias Gade - Exemplar Warder - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hand of Silence - Hierophant - High Exemplar Gravus - High Paladin Dartan Vilmon - Initiate Tristan Durant - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Menite Archon - Nicia, Tear of Vengeance - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Pyrrhus, Flameguard Hero - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Scrutator Potentate Severius - The Covenant of Menoth Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Battle Engines & Structures Vessel of Judgment (BE) - Shrine of the Lawgiver (Structure)
Theme Forces
Exemplar Interdiction - Guardians of the Temple - The Creator's Might - The Faithful Masses - Warriors of the Old Faith
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Protectorate of Menoth Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.05

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire     (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
  • In terms of which player's clock is running down during the Maintenance Phase: The active player will roll for expiration of all the continuous effects. Then the inactive player will roll for all the damages of the continuous effects. (Judge Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : 'Jack Marshal     (Edit)

  • If a warjack gets a marshal benefit (such as Crush) but then moves out of the marshal's CMD range, it keeps the benefit. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Marshals can control character warjacks. (Closed thread)
  • Although they never get the Power Up bonus, a marshaled warjack can gain focus via other means (such as Accumulator, Empower, Spirit Harvester, etc).
    • They can do this even after the Marshal dies and they become autonomous.
  • 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
    • If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ashen Veiland/or Swarm     (Edit)

  • The concealment bonus and the attack roll penalty do stack with each other, so someone making a ranged or magic attack while within 2" of you will suffer -4 to the attack.

Rules Clarification : Soul Keeper - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Soul Mastery     (Edit)

  • A Soul Master can spend as many souls as it likes to gain as many effects as it likes.
  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
      Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ashes of Urcaen     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ashen Veiland/or Swarm     (Edit)

  • The concealment bonus and the attack roll penalty do stack with each other, so someone making a ranged or magic attack while within 2" of you will suffer -4 to the attack.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Glimpse of Fate     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Future Sight     (Edit)

  • Adding/Removing dice (from other abilities)
    • If you are under an effect that causes you to roll extra dice and drop the lowest/highest (such as Star Crossed or Manifest Destiny), it goes (Infernal Ruling):
      1. Step 5a. Add/remove all dice (as per normal) except the dice you'd get from boosting (not normal, but as per Future Sight)
      2. Step 5b. Roll the dice (as per normal)
      3. Step 5b.1 Decide whether or not to boost (not normal, but as per Future Sight)
      4. Step 5c. Remove the dice (as per normal)
  • Rerolls
    • If you use Future Sight before deciding to reroll, then you must keep the boost. You don't get to "unspend" the focus/fury.
      So it would go [Roll]-[Future Sight boost]-[Reroll with boost] (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you haven't used Future Sight before deciding to reroll, then you still have the option to use it after the reroll. You haven't "lost" Future Sight just because you didn't use it the first time.
      So it would go [Roll]-[Reroll with no boost]-[Future Sight boost]
  • Attack rolls
    • With reference to the Apdx A Timing chart; Future Sight moves "Boosting the roll" from Step 5a to straight after Step 5b. (Infernal Ruling)
    • All other effects that add/remove dice are still carried out at Step 5a.
  • Damage rolls
    • Vs warjacks/warbeasts you must complete the damage roll (step 9) before rolling the location (step 10).
      If you're one of those players that roll damage and location together, you have forfeited your option to boost after seeing the dice roll. (Because otherwise you'd be like "Oh, I rolled column 4. I'll boost it to make sure I cripple the arc node.")

Rules Clarification : Obscuring Haze - None yet. (Edit)