From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Razor Wall)
| Razor Wall
|Place the wall template anywhere completely within the spellcaster's control range where it does not touch a model's base, an obstruction, or an obstacle. When a model enters or ends its activation in the wall template, it suffers 1 damage point.
||Edit this spell template
Rules Clarification : Razor Wall (Edit)
- The size of the wall template is 0.75" by 4". (Infernal Ruling)
- The template is not "Wall terrain". It is not an obstacle, it does not provide cover, and it doesn't block charges. Models can even end their movement overlapping the Razor Wall.
- (In comparison, see the spell Rock Wall which is a wall.)
Templates that do damage
- Most templates that do damage to models that walk into them are defined as "Hazards" (such as Burning Ground) but there are a few that aren't Hazards (such as Creeping Barrage and Wall of Fire). The differences are:
- A hazard is a terrain element
- Damage from a hazard template is never considered to be from the model or weapon/spell that put it into play. So hazards never gain special rules of the weapon/spell (such as a Damage Type or Poison), nor does it gain special rules of the model (such as Hand of Fate).
- Damage from a non-hazard template is considered to be from the model that put it in play. So non-hazards do get stuff like Hand of Fate. (Infernal Ruling)
- Damage from a hazard is not from an attack (so won't trigger stuff like Vengeance)
- Damage from a non-hazard is also not from an attack. Instead it will be a Special Action (Covering Fire), or a "instead of making an attack, place a template" (Creeping Barrage), or etc.
- Damage templates from spells is complicated:
- (Infernal Ruling)
- Spells that leave templates that are not hazards (such as Razor Wall) do Damage Type: Magical.
- Spells that leave templates that are hazards (such as Breath of Corruption) follow the rules for hazards, which are most likely not magical damage but it varies by the hazard.
- The initial damage when you place the template, if any, is Damage Type: Magical.
- For example, Breath of Corruption's initial POW 12 corrosion damage roll is Damage Type: Magical in addition to Damage Type: Corrosion. But the hazard that is put into play from Breath of Corruption is not Damage Type: Magical, just Damage Type: Corrosion.
- By default, when you put a template into play it doesn't do damage to models they overlap. The exceptions are templates that are created by an AOE weapon, and templates that explicitly say they do damage when they're placed.
- A model which is "placed" also counts as "entering" an area, so the template will damage any one who teleports/spawns into it, too.
- If two templates are overlapping, a model that enters them will take two points of damage.
Pages in category "Razor Wall"
The following 2 pages are in this category, out of 2 total.