Rattler

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1198 articles and 94% are complete!   Please help us finish these articles (and/or the rest) (Edit)  
Golab (1 year review) Tanith1 (battlebox strategy)


Rattler
Grymkin Light Warbeast

"Fingers of knives and skin of chain, the Rattler comes to reap your pain."

Named for the jangling of the iron links that wrap it as it trembles with feral hatred for the Defiers’ corrupt foes, the gaunt rattler is the most spiteful nightmare serving the Wicked Harvest. Catching sight of the enemy throws a rattler into a mad rage, and in this frenzy it hurtles into crowds of the unfortunate to lay waste with its bladed claws.

Basic Info[edit]

Rattler
Missing Info
Rattler.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 6
STR 9
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 13
ARM 16
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 3
THRS 7
HP 22
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 8
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities[edit]

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here to read the long version.
  • Berserk - When this model destroys one or more models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved it must make one additional melee attack against another model in its melee range.
  • Overtake - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a basic melee attack during its Combat Action, after the attack is resolved it can immediately advance up to 1".

Weapons[edit]

Claw (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 13 melee weapons

Animus[edit]

For one round, the caster gains Countercharge. (Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.)


Analysis of the Rattler[edit]

Rattler in a nutshell[edit]

It's lean, its mean, and its an infantry killing machine. The Rattler is something of a legendary Grymkin beast, capable of killing entire units in a single activation vs unprepared opponents, and it might not even have to buy a single attack to do it. Despite this laser focus on murdering infantry the Rattler is actually not bad at fighting for a light either, buffable P+S 13 with two initials is not bad.

Why Should I Bring Rattlers in my Army?[edit]

Bring Rattlers when you want a battlegroup answer to infantry. They are sheer efficiency and value machines. It is very possible, and not unlikely at all that one or two rattlers do more work against infantry spam lists than the rest of your list combined. They count for free points in Dark Menagerie too. Just in general, you'll bring them more in Dark Menagerie because when running a smaller list with more beasts you need a way to generate a volume of attacks to deal with a lot of infantry. Between them and Skin & Moans you'll be impressed at what a low model count can do to a larger army.

Competitive Viability
As of June 2018 Rattlers are considered very viable. They're typically run at least one of them in a list pair, and seeing double rattler in Dark Menagerie is not uncommon. They just bring so much efficiency that the moment you're in a small based infantry situation they print money.

The fact that the meta is moving towards more medium base resiliant models and introducing cavalry like The Chosen of Everblight, and overhauling Exemplar Vengers means that Rattlers may see rougher times for a while however. Watch this space.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Accuracy buffs that make the Rattler's Berserk+Overtake combo more reliable are a huge thing for this guy. He struggles vs def 13 infantry because rolling multiple 7s in a row is harsh.
    • Old Witch 3 allows it to re-roll missed attack rolls when she chooses that particular arcane machinery or feats
    • The Dreamer gives the Rattler Manifest Destiny. a big bonus of this is Manifest Destiny just buffs everyone so the Rattler benefits even when other models are the focus
    • Glimmer Imps apply -2 DEF to key targets
  • It loves some form of Pathfinder or SPD buff to assist delivery
    • The Dreamer can give Mirage to one, Mirage isn't the best movement buff and it really really telegraphs your intention, but its still effective
    • Old Witch 3 has boundless charge which is both a movement buff and pathfinder. She probably runs rattlers the best in the entire faction.
    • The King of Nothing gives them ghostly with Host of Shadows which makes sure they wont be slowed by terrain, and dont have to fear free strikes.
  • Cage Ragers animus Wraithbane can be a really strong buff for the Rattler because infantry love their defense and armor buffs.
  • The Accursed arcana can smooth over their problems with Tough Models
    • The Death Knell can do this on a smaller, more local scale as well

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Without buffs it won't hurt heavies very well, and it'll be fairly unimpressive against tanky medium base infantry or cavalry. That's not to say it can't have its power buffed to space to kill those models, but they'll be much more spread out than normal infantry too.
  • Lacks pathfinder and the threat range is fairly pedestrian
  • MAT 6 is fairly unimpressive when infantry have better defensive stats than normal.
  • If your opponent never clumps up enough you'll struggle to gain a lot of value
  • They really really don't like Tough. It ruins the berserk+overtake chain

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Overtake happens before Berserk. During this movement you're not immune to free strikes.
  • Killing with Throw triggers Berserk, but does not trigger Overtake, so be careful with throwing enemies around.
  • If you want to cut its Berserk short, The Dreamer can pop out a phantasm with Hat Trick. as the model is removed from play, neither Berserk or Overtake triggers
    • Of course, this can be considered a downside if you want your phantasms out but dont want to interrupt the master at work
  • Rattlers are excellent counter punch. It's honestly really hard to stay spread out with infantry, especially once they go into melee. All sorts of situations can occur and you can end up with little model bridges that carry you around and even into their back line.
    • Once infantry charge your resiliant heavies, in go the rattlers to clean up!
  • Rattlers can do really well being shielded, sitting under arcane vortex, shield guard etc protection and behind the heavies in match ups where they are key, to ensure that they are a serious, terrifying threat of retribution against any infantry alpha strike.
  • Don't be afraid to send them in on heavies with damage buffs. A Rattler under Manifest Destiny with Fortune's Path up for example is essentially hitting at POW 15.5


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Beta rules released in the Grymkin CID (2017.03), final rules with the Faction release (2017.06)

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for generic warbeasts (Edit)

Other Grymkin models[edit]

Grymkin Logo.jpg       Grymkin Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup
Warlocks

The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Arcana
Warlock Attachment: Baron Tonguelick

Warbeasts Lesser

Crabbit

Light

Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler

Heavy

Cage Rager - Clockatrice - Skin & Moans

Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Malady Man - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks - Twilight Sisters

Solos

Baron Tonguelick, Lord of Warts - Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Grave Ghoul - Gremlin Swarm - Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow - Trapperkin - Witchwood

Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - J.A.I.M.s - Primal Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target, then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Berserk      (Edit)

  • Berserk grants an additional attack which by definition can only occur during your Combat Action. Therefore Berserk doesn't work on free strikes, impact attacks, etc.
  • If Berserk triggers at the same time as another "attack generating" ability (such as Black Spot), Berserk means you must make an attack. But it can be either a Berserk attack or the other one. (Infernal Ruling)
    In other words you can't say "I trigger both Berserk and Black Spot, I choose Black Spot, Black Spot is optional, so I'm not making any more attacks".
  • "Immediately" means you can't save it until later in your activation. Berserk must be resolved at step 14 of the attack sequence (refer Apdx A).
  • You cannot use "Any Time" abilities while resolving the original attack, the Berserk attack, or between the attacks. Refer Apdx A.
  • Berserk doesn't trigger during a frenzy. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Berserk will not trigger if the target uses an ability to move the damage to another model (such as a warlock transfer).
    • But it will trigger if they use an ability to move the attack to a different model (such as Grim Salvation).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Swift Hunter and/or Overtake     (Edit)

  • The free move must be resolved before other abilities that involve attacks (such as Quick Work or Berserk). Refer Step 12 vs 14 in Appendix A.
  • This ability does not trigger off special attacks, only basic ones.
  • An important difference:
    • Swift Hunter can be triggered by any attack, including out-of-activation attacks.
    • Overtake only works on attacks during your Combat Action. Even stuff like Impact Attacks won't trigger it.
  • Blood Boon & Overtake (Edit)
    As of 2019.03, this interaction is only available to Iona the Unseen   [Show/Hide]
    • Overtake is resolved at Step 12. Blood Boon is resolved at either Step 12 or 14 depending on whether you cast an offensive spell or not.
    • You can choose whether to trigger Overtake or Blood Boon first.
    • If you decide to cast a spell before resolving Overtake, that's fine. But if you choose an offensive spell, then you've skipped ahead to Step 14 and you've lost your chance to use Overtake.
    • (Infernal Ruling for all of the above)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Still as Death      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Triggering Countercharge
  • You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
  • If an enemy ends an advance out of LOS, but you have an ability that lets you "ignore LOS when declaring a charge target" (such as Flight) then that does not let you trigger countercharge. Because you need to meet the countercharge trigger conditions before you can declare a charge.
  • What does trigger Countercharge
    • Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Countercharge
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • When a unit is moving, countercharge is triggered on a model-by-model basis. So you can countercharge after any model in the unit has finished its move within range, but you can only countercharge that model who just finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the entire unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

What can your opponent do?

  • Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
  • They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).

Attacks & Boosting

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.

After the Countercharge

  • You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)

Enemy "Skipping" their movement

  • If your opponent 'forgets' to move their model and didn't declare they're forfeiting movement (they just said "I'm activating this model and making an attack") then do they count as moving or not?
  • Technically the rules don't have a default condition for this, and it becomes a Sportsmanship issue for you to sort out with your opponent.
  • However, the Judges document (which is used to run all official PP events) states that the model officially counts as "Advancing 0 inches" and thus will trigger Counter Charge. Most players follow the Judges document for casual play as well.

Unit with countercharge

  • This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
  • Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
  • If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
  • If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
  • If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
  • If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).

Other interactions

  • Since Countercharge isn't an actual activation, you can't trigger in-activation stuff like Sprint or Quick Work.
    • Exception: Very rarely you can trigger Countercharge during your own activation. For instance your opponent triggers Admonition to try and move away.
  • Countercharge vs. Admonition (etc) ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation - if a model with Admonition (or similar) uses it to (try to) move away.
      • You move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge off their admonition-move.
    • In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
    • Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge).
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
    • Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
    • This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).