Once a Llaelese noble turned to the vile arts of necromancy, the Thamarite called the Ragman has been drawn to the battlefields of western Immoren by the palpable odor of death. As he picks among the dead for his unnatural purposes, his profane magic lets him kill with a glance and animate his victims to serve him.
- Walking Stick - 0.5" reach, P+S 8 melee attack
- Sacrificial Pawn [ Living Model ] - When this model is directly hit by an enemy ranged attack, you can have one friendly, non-incorporeal Living Model model within 3" of it hit instead. That model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects.
- Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can cast spells. Normally this uses up the model's Combat Action and as such is limited to one spell per activation, but exceptions do exist.
| Bone Shaker
| (★ Attack)
|When Bone Shaker boxes a living or undead non-warcaster, non-warlock enemy warrior model, you can immediately take control of the model and make a full advance with the enemy model followed by a basic melee attack, then the boxed model is removed from play.The boxed model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement.
| Death Field
| (★ Action)
|While within 3" of this model, friendly models gain Dark Shroud. Death Field lasts for one turn.
- Dark Shroud - While in the melee range of a model with Dark Shroud, enemy models suffer -2 ARM.
- Other Factions
- Mercenary models can be hired by other Factions. Normally those Factions' themes will have a limit on how many models they can hire. Refer to #Other Theme Forces, below.
- Aside from that, there are a few themes that will change what Faction this model counts as (and thus what "friendly Faction only" buffs it can receive). They are:
No changes since 2019.08
Thoughts on Ragman
Ragman in a nutshell
Ragman is a desirable support solo for his Death Field ability as many armies lack the ARM debuff he brings. This alone makes him a staple of mercenary armies. He also has an RFP spell for those matchups where Death Field isn't that important. Also he has a magical stick.
Combos & Synergies
- Use Major Harrison Gibbs to let him reposition after using Death Field to extend the Dark Shroud bubble, which is a big deal.
- In Flames in the Darkness he's one of your primary damage booster beside the Hermit and Gabriel Throne. You can combine the three of them as you like, or spread them out to cover most of your army.
- Between Sac Pawn and a respectable amount of Shield Guards (Priest of Morrow or the Morrowan Archon) you can build up "chains" of shield guards to transfer a shot from Ragman into a Priest to provide his unit Vengeance.
- The Thamarite Archon may help you to land a key Bone Shaker if needed.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Enemies know him and hate him. The enemy will try to snipe him and the same turn they expose their heavy armour.
- You need to activate him early in your turn to get Death Field in effect. Depending on what you're using him alongside of, it can be easy to accidentally block him in the backlines - or have him block models that later need to charge!
- He doesn't even get Tactician from Gabriel Throne.
- He used to be very popular as one of the few damage buffs available, not just for Mercenaries but everyone he works for too. These days there is a lot of competition for the "damage buff bot" such as Hermit, Gabriel Throne, Void Archons, Asphyxious4 - and most of those other options are preferable because they can do more than just buff damage or are easier to apply.
Tricks & Tips
- Don't try and give Death Field to an entire unit, all you'll end up with is a positioning nightmare (figuring out where he needs to stand before the unit charges in, without blocking their charge lanes).
Instead, figure out what you actually need to debuff, and who you will get to apply that debuff, and where that model will stand.
- Use base width and melee range to your advantage. Ragman doesn't need to be within 3" of the target you want to Dark Shroud, he needs to be within 3" of a friend who has melee range to the target. So, for example, he could stand within 3" of a huge base model that has 2" reach, and he'll be applying from Dark Shroud about 9.7" away!
Raggedy Mandy, Limited Edition Sculpt (Mini Crate)
Other Theme Forces
Crucible Guard (Edit)
Other Mercenary models
| Mercenary Index (Edit)
| Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
| Warcaster attachments
Doctor Stygius -
Madelyn Corbeau -
| Lesser Warlocks
|| Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
| Non-character Units
Cephalyx Mind Bender -
Cephalyx Mind Slaver -
Cephalyx Overlords -
High Shields -
Artillery Corps -
Forge Guard -
Idrian Skirmishers -
Kayazy Assassins -
Kayazy Eliminators -
Legion of Lost Souls -
Ogrun Assault Corps -
OoI Resolutes -
OoI Vigilants -
Precursor Knights -
Press Gangers -
Sea Dog Pirates -
Deck Gun -
SH Cannon -
SH Halberdiers -
SH Cavalry -
SH Mortar -
SH Riflemen -
SH Volley Gun -
Tactical Arcanist Corps -
Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) -
Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)
| Character Units
Croe's Cutthroats -
Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters -
Blythe & Bull -
Herne & Jonne -
Lady Aiyana & Master Holt -
Lynus & Edrea -
The Commodore Cannon -
The Devil's Shadow Mutineers
| Non-character Solos
Cephalyx Agitator -
Death Archon -
Gobber Tinker -
Menite Archon -
Morrowan Archon -
Ogrun Bokur -
Powder Monkey -
SH Arcanist -
SH Ironhead -
SH Gunner -
Swamp Gobber River Raider
Thamarite Advocate -
Thamarite Archon -
| Character Solos
Alten Ashley -
Anastasia Di Bray -
Balthazar Bamfist -
Black Bella1 -
Black Bella2 -
Bloody Bradigan -
Bosun Grogspar -
Brun Cragback & Lug -
Captain Crawtooth -
Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI -
Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath -
Dirty Meg -
Doc Killingsworth -
Doctor Stygius -
First Mate Hawk -
Flugwug the Filcher -
Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One -
Grand Master Gabriel Throne -
Harlan Versh, Illuminated One -
Harlowe Holdemhigh -
Hermit of Henge Hold -
Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter -
Kell Bailoch -
Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress -
Lord Rockbottom -
Major Harrison Gibbs -
Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile -
Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor -
Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger -
Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord -
Rorsh & Brine -
Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer -
Savio Montero Acosta -
Saxon Orrik -
Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye -
Stannis Brocker -
Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage -
Thor Steinhammer -
Underboss Vizkoya -
Viktor Pendrake -
Weird Wendell -
Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
| Battle Engines
Hammerfall Siege Crawler -
| Independent Warjack
Malvin & Mayhem
| Theme Forces (Edit)
| Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
|This index was last updated: 2021.03
Rules Clarification : Magic Ability (Edit)
- Nearly all Magic Ability spells require the spellcaster to use their Combat Action to cast the spell. As such it is not an "at any time" ability (like it is when warcasters/warlocks cast spells). This means ...
- You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
- A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot make initial ranged or initial melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
- You cannot buy additional melee/ranged attacks after using a MA special attack. Refer to the core rulebook, "Special attacks listed as a rule of the model itself are neither melee attacks nor ranged attacks. The rules for these special attacks indicate the nature of any additional attacks that can be made afterward, if any."
- You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
- There are a few models that can use a Magic Ability without using their Combat Action. These models get around all the restrictions listed above.
- Models with Geomancy or Necromancy can use a Magic Ability at "any time" just like a warcaster/warlock.
- Models with Battle Wizard or Necrophage can make melee attacks then get a bonus "free" spell.
- Models with Combat Caster can cast a spell before charging, then do a normal charge + melee attack.
- Note that Battle Wizards, Combat Casters, etc have the option to use their Combat Action to cast a spell. Their special rule is in addition to the normal spell casting, not instead of.
Rules Clarification : Bone Shaker (Edit)
Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit) [Show/Hide]
- Several abilities start with the sentence "Take control of a model" then a full stop, then a bunch of stuff you can do with that model. You can't uncouple the first sentence from the rest of the "do stuff" sentence(s), in other words if you want to "do stuff" then you have to "Take control". (Infernal Ruling)
- Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
- This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
- If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
- The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
- You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
- Buffs and effects:
- The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
- If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
- Theme abilities:
- If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)
- You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
- The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
- Many "Take Control" abilities allow a basic melee attack. Some allow a basic attack. Gunfighters cannot make a ranged attack unless they're allowed the later.
- Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
- Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
- With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
- As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
- It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
- Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
- Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
- You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
- It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
- Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
- Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
- A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
- Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
- If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel! (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Dark Shroud (Edit)
- Dark Shroud only applies to your melee range, and this doesn't include behind you. Refer to the latest errata.
- The ARM debuff still applies during a free strike.
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
|* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification: : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- Sacrificial Pawn is optional.
Grim Salvation and Sucker are not optional.
- Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, chain attacks.
- Spells are not basic attacks, because they are not "made with a weapon". (Infernal Ruling)
- CRA and CMA are basic attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a Special Attack generates an additional attack (such as Multi-Fire), the second attack will be basic and as such can have Grim Salvation used vs it. (Infernal Ruling)
- Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
- None of them work vs magic attacks (spells).
All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
- The model the attack is transferred to is always hit, even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed (such as Stealth).
Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than when the attack is moved. (Infernal Ruling)
From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable
- Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model.
- The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
- Sprays and AOEs
- With reference to the timing chart in Appendix A: placing a spray template down occurs at Step 3. Using Sacrificial Pawn occurs at step 6. Placing an AOE template down occurs at step 7.
Therefore if you use Sac Pawn vs a spray, the placement of the spray template does not change. If you use Sac Pawn vs an AOE, the placement of the AOE template does change.
- A model indirectly hit by an AOE attack cannot use Sac Pawn vs it.
- Since a spray template doesn't move, it may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
- When/if you shift an AOE template, the original target may be clipped by the edge of the AOE anyway (depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are).
- Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
- If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
- Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
- Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn (Edit)
- If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
- This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.