When the blighted ogrun tribes go to war, they do so with the blessings of Everblight by their side. Fighting with little regard for personal safety, howling warbands descend upon their foes crazed by the prospect of spilling blood for their war chiefs and their korune, Thagrosh. Even mortal wounds suffered in battle do not deter them. Instead, such injuries goad them to drive even deeper into the enemy’s heart to shed even more blood before they expire.
An army made use the Primal Terrors theme force can include only the following Legion models:
- This army can also include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Legion.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Legion] rule.
- Minion units can have non-Ranking Officer attachments
Full model list
The models allowed in Primal Terrors
This list was last updated: 2019.07 (Edit)
- All non-character Legion warbeasts
- Other character warbeasts can be taken, but only if they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.
- Up to one solo
- Up to one unit
You can spend each Requisition Point on either:
- One Hellmouth unit
- One Legion CA
- One small- or medium-based Legion solo
- Blighted Ogrun Warmongers and Blighted Ogrun Warspears units gain Vengeance.
- Vengeance - During your Maintenance Phase, if one or more models in a unit with Vengeance were damaged by enemy attacks during the last round, each model in the unit can advance 3" and make one basic melee attack.
2019.07 Theme Remix
- Game-wide Remix changes
- Same models allowed
- Freebies now allow any solo (used to be ogrun solos)
- Kept the Vengeance benefit, lost the +2" deployment benefit
Thoughts on Primal Terrors
Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.
See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.
Primal Terrors in a nutshell
Ogruns everywhere! As of 2018 September, Primal Terrors is considered to be the Legion's first and foremost theme for competitive builds. Beside free Hellmouths, this list is pretty resilient and have access to all the survival, accuracy and damage bonuses they previously needed. The list itself often revolves around its staple warlock, Anamag, who takes all the theme's perks up to 11. It is not the fastest list in the faction, but definitely takes the punch better than most of the other Legion builds, and can still respond in kind.
- Apart of the Chosen and your battlegroup monsters, the rest of the list may struggle with terrain more than other Legion theme forces.
- Kind of bland - there are almost self-evident choices, way superior to others. Expect to see Anamag and 2 Hellmouths 99/100 times.
- Few magical weapons. Though Ammok's Exorcist aura can deal with Incorporeal models in a large circle, he can't be everywhere at once, and for enemies spamming incorporeal denial pieces, he will be a priority target. Consider bringing the Naga Nightlurker and/or a Mist Speaker as your minion choice.
- Your range presence mainly revolves around the - minimal - battlegroup (usually a Blightbringer) and the Warspears. Fast armies with Stealth might close in on you unopposed .
Unlike most themes, Primal Terrors have a starter set. This is a distinctly average purchase as you only save about 6% over buying the contents individually. The contents are:
You'll notice that there is no warlock or warbeasts included.
- Blightbringer - Usually the cornerstone of your battlegroup and your support engine. Though he received only a minor update in his SPD and CMD, it is more than enough now to keep up with your force, and to cast its blighted aura in an almost 17" diameter circle. Whatever you won't reach with your aura, will likely be covered by your 5" AoE, giving plenty of space for your troops to maneuver around, and still reap the benefits of the Blight Ash. The best thing is that these aura abilities are neither spells, nor special actions, so cannot be shut down by anti-upkeep, or anti-spell tactics. Blessed weapons also have to deal with the increased ARM of the models, as it is not a spell-related bonus. Anti-shooting tricks might hinder the delivery of the Blighted Fire AoEs, but it is usually a minor inconvenience.
- Chosen of Everblight - Your shock troopers. Despite sporting inferior SPD compared to the other factions' heavy cavalries, the extra deployment zone, plus their resiliency is more than a compensation for that flaw. It is not unheard of bringing 2 full unit of them, soaking up initial fire and stomp flat everything in your way, until the rest of your force moves up.
- Hellmouth - Quite possibly the best return-on-investment free stuffs in the entire game, these units will give you decent board control and harassment pieces. With the possibility to deploy them literally up to half-table if you go second, you only have to watch out for their initial placement - it is really frustrating, if your Blightbringer has to run around your own Maw because it blocks his advance.
- Blighted Ogrun Warspears - A slow-ish unit with Thrown weapons and UA-dependency gets Vengeance and plenty of STR buffs? Plus occasionally a free unit attachment? Yes please. Though their threat range is not something to write home about, the stacking damage bonuses (Prey, Dragon's Breath, spells like Fury's Strength or Draconic Blessing) will make rocket launchers out of those spears. Their set defense brings them up to a respectable def vs charges, making them a decent front line unit if you need to absorb an alpha.
- Blighted Ogrun Warmongers - Previously one of the factions underdog units, Warmongers are now one of the most versatile tools in the theme. With Gorag's - and occasionally the Warmonger War Chief's - help they need few outside support. You can tailor them toward killing high DEF models with all the available MAT buffs, or deliver powerful blows with the STR bonus from the BB and their respective warlock, stopping unwanted fratricidal attacks with Blood Drinker.
Starting a 25 point list
If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.
Anamag came, saw, and conquered. She was released at the same time the theme was expanded, and it should come as no surprise she runs it very well. She supports every aspect of this list, be it resilience, hitting power or accuracy. If it weren't enough, her feat has a huge impact on the war of attrition. Other warlocks rarely match the versatility of her support arsenal, and even if they have a signature ability, giving up on Anamag's other bonuses rarely worth the consideration.
Just like Anamag, Kallus1 is also a fairly passive support warlock, who likes to stroll around the mid-field and let his army do the heavy lifting. Dark Guidance makes everything murderously accurate in close combat, and with Ignite you can boost further their combat effectiveness. Warspears in his Unyielding aura plus with the Blightbringer's Dragon's Breath can have enormous staying power if they get stuck in melee. Even if the enemy brings them down under your feat, they just manage to create a DEF16/ARM19 Incubus out of them.
The Ogrun warlock, Thagrosh, was the number 1 choice for an Ogrun brick list before the arrival of Anamag. With Death Shroud, all the Ogruns (and Hellmouths) have outstanding staying power, while Draconic Blessing and Fog of War kept most of your army safe.
- Released in 2017.09, and expanded in 2018.03
Other Legion models
Rules Clarification : Vengeance and/or Righteous Vengeance and/or Retaliation and/or Swift Vengeance and/or Tantrum (Edit)
- Vengeance moves do not have to be towards an enemy model.
- You can choose to not move, but still get the attack. One is not conditional on the other.
- Vengeance is not an activation. It does not prevent the model/unit from activating and acting normally later in the turn.
- Stationary and knocked down models may not perform Vengeance moves nor attacks.
- Units only
- Out of formation models cannot make Vengeance moves nor Vengeance attacks.
However if the unit commander uses their movement to bring the Grunts back into formation, then they can move and attack.
- When resolving Vengeance, move all models in the unit before making any attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you have more than one unit with Vengeance, move all of unit A then complete all of unit A's attacks, before starting to move unit B.
- If you manage to spawn new models during the Maintenance Phase (such as with Reconstruction or Blood-Bound) then those new models can also make Vengeance attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Due to the way it is worded Vengeance can be "inherited" by unit attachments that do not actually have the Vengeance ability themselves. For instance, a Soulless Escort attached to the Spears of Scyrah.
- If anyone is damaged, including the attachment, everyone in the unit gets to trigger Vengeance.
- But if everyone is killed except the attachment, then he doesn't get to trigger Vengeance because the rule is "no longer on the table".
- Only enemy attacks trigger Vengeance. There are plenty of ways enemies can damage you without attacking you (such as Electro Leap) and these will not trigger Vengeance.
- If a CA has Granted: Vengeance then only models in formation have it. However, models that are damaged while out of formation can trigger Vengeance, they just will not benefit from it. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Themes that change a model's Faction [Show/Hide]
- Many themes swap which Faction a model counts as. They're slightly inconsistent with how exactly this is worded. Despite this inconsistency - whenever a model is considered a different faction to normal, it will not be its original faction. (Infernal Ruling)
- For instance Lukas stops being a Crucible Guard model when taken in an Infernal army, and as a consequence he cannot take Toros or Vanguards in Infernals. (Infernal Ruling)
Rerolling the starting roll [Show/Hide]
- You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
- If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
- If the original loser still loses, fine.
- If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
- If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- If your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- See also the section on Partisans
Including Partisan Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- Since Partisans are Mercenary/Minion models, there are two ways you can add them to a theme force:
- If they are on the list of allowed models, then you can take as many as you want, plus another Mercenary unit/solo.(Infernal Ruling)
- They can be explicitly allowed (for example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf).
- They can be implicitly allowed (for example Scourge of the Broken Coast allows "living Cryx models" and Partisan Cephalyx fit that criteria). (Infernal Ruling)
- If the Partisan isn't on the list of allowed models, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so:
- They can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description).
- For example Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- They will get any theme benefit that they fit the description for.
- For example Storm Division gives all Cygnar models Immunity Electricity, so Partisan Mercs in that theme get immunity too.
- For example Nemo4's Mechaniks get Reposition  in Heavy Metal. (Infernal Ruling)
Requisition Points [Show/Hide]
- You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
- You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
- If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments [Show/Hide]
- If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
- If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
- For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
- For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
See also these Theme-Specific Rulings [Show/Hide]
Rules Clarification : Black Industries (Edit)
- The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models". Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
- The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Flame in the Darkness (Edit)
- You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
- Morrowan Battle Priest:
- If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
- If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
- If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Bones of Orboros (Edit)
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Devourer's Host (Edit)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : The Exalted (Edit)
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Band of Heroes (Edit)
- Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Magnum Opus (Edit)
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)