Theme - Prima Materia

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Prima Materia)
Jump to: navigation, search
CG Logo.png Theme - Prima Materia

Crucible Guard Theme Force
Magnum Opus - Prima Materia

The Order of the Golden Crucible is jealous of its secrets. Its members have experienced first-hand what can happen when their alchemical and mechanikal innovations fall into the wrong hands. The most technologically advanced divisions of the Crucible Guard are insular and allow no outsiders, lest their secrets be stolen. Wielding the newest and most devastating weapons in the Guard’s arsenal, they bring destruction to enemies of the Order.

Theme Rules

Theme Restrictions

An army made use the Magnum Opus theme force can include only the following Crucible Guard models:

  • This army can also include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for the Crucible Guard.
This theme is notable in that it does not have that standard clause, and cannot have any Mercenaries (except for the Partisans).

Full model list

The models allowed in Prima Materia are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2018.03   (Edit)

Warcasters

  • All Crucible Guard warcasters

Warjacks

  • All non-character Crucible Guard warjacks

Battle Engines

Units

Solos

Mercenaries

  • Zero mercenaries are allowed in Prima Materia (other than their Partisans)

Requisition Options

Each Requistion Point can be spent on either:

Theme Bonuses

  1. Vanguard warjacks in this army can use Shield Guard twice per turn.
  2. Friendly models/units can begin the game affected by the upkeep spells of warcasters in this army.
    • These spells and their targets must be declared before either player deploys any models.
    • Warcasters in this army do not have to pay focus to upkeep their spells during your first turn of the game.

Recent Changes

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • Game-wide Remix changes
  • Gorman2 added to the list of allowed models.
  • Lost the +2" deployment zone benefit
  • Gained the upkeep benefit.
  • Multi-model options added to the potential freebies.


Thoughts on Prima Materia

Recent Change icon.png

Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.

See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.

Prime Materia in a nutshell

In any other faction, Prima Materia would be described as a "warjack theme". In Crucible Guard however, a more appropriate description would be "armoured company theme". This is due to the ability to take up to three Railless Interceptors under Mackay, a list few could rightly call "warjack themed".

This theme force represents the highest level of Crucible technology - secrets that they would not share with other mercenaries or factions, keeping the best for themselves. This concept is shown by the lack of Mercenary options you commonly see in theme forces (note that stand out mercenaries Gorman & Hutchuk can still be included).

Theme weakness

Low model count

With most of your points spent on warjacks, and few units available, it can leave you with a small force that makes it difficult to score scenario zones.

If your opponent can land a few critical debuffs and stop even a few models from participating meaningfully, it can completely kneecap your army.

Also, with fewer models you potentially have fewer attacks, making it harder to deal with infantry swarms or anything else that needs you to roll a lot of dice. You can offset by having "high value" attacks - rather than hinging your strategy on lots of attacks at low MAT/RAT you have fewer attacks with good MAT/RAT.

List Building Tips

Generally, Prima Materia lists start with a couple of heavies and a pair of Vanguards. Once there however, Prima Materia can really go in any direction you want.

  • Prospero: Of special note here is Guard's junior. He does so much to help ALL the jacks in the army (Veteran Leader & Instability Equation both target friendly warjacks, not battlegroup), it would be foolish to not at least consider him in a list running multiple heavies.

Caster thoughts

  • Mackay: Prima Materia is Mackay's preferred theme. She comes with spells that help warjacks and synergises with the Railless Interceptor. She really likes double-Shield Giard Vanguards, and generally prefers smaller model count armies (to reduce the effect of self-jam). Beyond the standard double-heavy, double-Vanguard, Mackay doesn't automatically push for any specific option. She likes running with other huge bases (especially a Vulcan under Prospero). She likes having lots of heavies which can do work. She likes having an Ambushing solo.
  • Locke: The other Crucible Guard caster who immediately prefers Prima Materia. Locke is a heavy battlegroup caster (or perhaps more accurately heavies battlegroup caster), and she wants to have at least four jacks who can make use of Road to War & Jackhammer (one jack per turn). Your first two Vanguards should not be considered in this four, as they stand a good chance of getting crippled by enemy shooting. Locke really likes a Railless, to act both as a highly mobile way (thanks to Road to War) to contest zones & jam enemy units, but also as a potent screening tool for otherwise soft Guard heavies. All the heavies are amazing with Locke; she runs a five heavy list very effectively.

Other

Trivia

  • Released with the launch of the CG Faction, 2018.06
  • In Alchemy, Prima Materia is the "first material", the secret essence that underpins reality and it is required for all alchemical processes.

Other CG models

CG Logo.png       Crucible Guard Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Gearhart - Locke - Lukas - Mackay - Syvestro

Warcaster attachments Aurum Legate Alyce Marc (Crucible) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Warjack Controllers Prospero (BGC)
Light Liberator - Retaliator - Vanguard
Heavy Suppresor - Toro - Vindicator
Colossal Vulcan
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures
Units Infantry - Assault Troopers - Combat Alchemists - Dragon's Breath Rocket - Rocketmen - Shock Troopers -
Ranking Officer : Doctor Alejandro Mosby
Solos

CG Mechanik - Gorman di Wulfe, Rogue Alchemist (1) - Gorman the Mad (2) - Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter - Prospero - Rocketman Ace - Trancer

Battle Engines Railless Interceptor
Theme Forces
Magnum Opus - Prima Materia
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Crucible Guard Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. (There is a known bug in Warroom that allows you to take the full FA.)
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as Order of Illumination Resolutes in Heavy Metal), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a freebie, you can spread them into different units.
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Black Industries   [Show/Hide]
  • The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models"​. Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
  • The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
  • (Infernal Ruling)

Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Flame in the Darkness   [Show/Hide]
  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
  • Morrowan Battle Priest:
    • If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
      Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
    • If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
    • If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Band of Heroes   [Show/Hide]
  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]