|As of 2022.08 Warmachine University has turned into an archive for Mk3 rules (3rd Edition).|
Refer to the Privateer Press website for all modern Mk4 (4th Edition) related content.
This site has been kept online for any players who want to continue using Mk3 rules and/or anyone who wants to compare Mk4 Legacy models to Mk3 models.
Privateer Press have an official wiki that covers all their main game systems, and my understanding is that Warmachine Mk4 will be on the PP wiki.
More information can be found on the Talk:Main Page area of this wiki.
Mark IV Status: Prime - This model is available in one Prime Army, Talion Charter. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.
- Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.
Press Gangers are recruited to replace lost deck hands - and these hardened sea dogs have spent their life upon the waves - travelling from port to port. They frequent the local bars in rowdy gangs - subjecting the locals to beatings, often resulting in the forcible recruitment of new members...
||6 or 10
||7 or 12
|1.2 pts each
Mercenary - This unit will work for Crucible Guard, Cryx, Cygnar, Khador, or Protectorate.
- Entire Unit
- Ambush - You can choose not to deploy this unit at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place all models in the unit in formation completely within 3" of the chosen table edge.
- Advance Deployment
- Gang - When making a melee attack targeting an enemy model in the melee range of another model in this unit, this model gains +2 to melee attack and melee damage rolls.
- Shanghai - When a living enemy warrior in the melee range of two or more models in this unit is boxed by this model's melee attack, RFP the enemy model. You can add one Grunt to a friendly non-character Sea Dog unit in this model's command range. Place the Grunt in formation and completely within this model's command range. The Grunt must forfeit its Combat Action the turn it is put into play.
- She has +1 CMD.
- Seduction (★ Action) - RNG 3. Take control of a living enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model. If the model is in range, you can immediately make a full advance with the enemy model followed by a basic melee attack, then Seduction expires. The enemy model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement. A model can be affected by Seduction only once per turn.
Hand Weapon - 0.5" reach, POW 3, P+S 9 melee weapon.
- Other Factions
- Infernal players can use this unit in the Hearts of Darkness theme, but only if Crosse2 is leading the army.
- Furthermore, Mercenaries can be hired by other Factions. Normally those Factions' themes will have a limit on how many models they can hire. Refer to #Other Theme Forces, below.
Thoughts on Press Gangers
Press Gangers in a nutshell
Press Gangers punish your opponent for bringing living infantry. They die fast but come back almost as quickly. If your opponent brought warrior models, that is. If not, Press Gangers are weak against high ARM jacks and beasts. Assuming your opponent does not quickly deal with them, the unit can become quite large. They're either the first wave chaff with a tiny bit of jamming ability to deliver your real force or they're ambushing. But at 7 points for a minimum unit of advance deploying or ambushing tough models what do you expect? You get what you pay for, and for their cost Press Gangers aren't bad.
Combos & Synergies
Press Gangers are part of the normal Pirate boat and synergies with other Sea Dogs (by giving them more members) as well as Captain Phinneus Shae
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Downright awful stats.
- Gang is the only way they hit most targets - so they need to double team and bunch up.
- Vulnerable to blast damage.
- The Lass is an Officer model, not a Leader model, so you can't Field Promote a Grunt to replace her. When she dies, you lose Seduction entirely.
Tricks & Tips
- Press Gangers can add grunts to their own unit. So, split your unit up to "Daisy Chain" more Press Gangers. For instance:
- Send 6 Gangers into 3 enemy models, and 4 Gangers into 4 different enemies.
- When one of the first 6 trigger Shangai, place the new Press Ganger next to one of the other 4 so that he can (potentially) trigger Shangai too.
- Sculptor: Todd Harris
- Originally the guy with the lantern was the officer and the Lass was a grunt with special rules.
- Some players like buying models from other factions and converting them with pirate hats to represent people shanghai'd. This is why you occasionally see a Gallows Grove with a pirate hat (or other ridiculous model) as a member of the Sea Dog Boarding Crew.
- Originally released in Pirates of the Broken Coast (2007)
Other Theme Forces
Protectorate of Menoth (Edit)
Crucible Guard (Edit)
Other Mercenary models
| Mercenary Index (Edit)
| Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
| Warcaster attachments
Doctor Stygius -
Madelyn Corbeau -
| Lesser Warlocks
|| Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
| Non-character Units
Cephalyx Mind Bender -
Cephalyx Mind Slaver -
Cephalyx Overlords -
High Shields -
Artillery Corps -
Forge Guard -
Idrian Skirmishers -
Kayazy Assassins -
Kayazy Eliminators -
Legion of Lost Souls -
Ogrun Assault Corps -
OoI Resolutes -
OoI Vigilants -
Precursor Knights -
Press Gangers -
Sea Dog Pirates -
Deck Gun -
SH Cannon -
SH Halberdiers -
SH Cavalry -
SH Mortar -
SH Riflemen -
SH Volley Gun -
Tactical Arcanist Corps -
Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator (small or medium based units) -
Special WA: Morrowan Battle Priest (Morrow units)
| Character Units
Croe's Cutthroats -
Cylena Raefyll & Nyss Hunters -
Blythe & Bull -
Herne & Jonne -
Lady Aiyana & Master Holt -
Lynus & Edrea -
The Commodore Cannon -
The Devil's Shadow Mutineers
| Non-character Solos
Cephalyx Agitator -
Death Archon -
Gobber Tinker -
Menite Archon -
Morrowan Archon -
Ogrun Bokur -
Powder Monkey -
SH Arcanist -
SH Ironhead -
SH Gunner -
Swamp Gobber River Raider
Thamarite Advocate -
Thamarite Archon -
| Character Solos
Alten Ashley -
Anastasia Di Bray -
Balthazar Bamfist -
Black Bella1 -
Black Bella2 -
Bloody Bradigan -
Bosun Grogspar -
Brun Cragback & Lug -
Captain Crawtooth -
Colbie Sterling, Captain of the BRI -
Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath -
Dirty Meg -
Doc Killingsworth -
Doctor Stygius -
First Mate Hawk -
Flubbin2 & Dreyfus2 -
Flugwug the Filcher -
Glyn Cormier, Illuminated One -
Grand Master Gabriel Throne -
Harlan Versh, Illuminated One -
Harlowe Holdemhigh -
Hermit of Henge Hold -
Hutchuk, Ogrun Bounty Hunter -
Kell Bailoch -
Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress -
Lord Rockbottom -
Major Harrison Gibbs -
Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile -
Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor -
Princess Delores Graciela -
Raluk Moorclaw, the Ironmonger -
Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord -
Rorsh & Brine -
Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer -
Savio Montero Acosta -
Saxon Orrik -
Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye -
Stannis Brocker -
Taryn Di La Rovissi, Llaelese Gun Mage -
Thor Steinhammer -
Underboss Vizkoya -
Viktor Pendrake -
Weird Wendell -
Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
| Battle Engines
Hammerfall Siege Crawler -
| Independent Warjack
Malvin1 & Mayhem1
| Theme Forces (Edit)
| Flame in the Darkness - Hammer Strike - Llaelese Resistance - Operating Theater - Soldiers of Fortune - Strange Bedfellows - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - The Talion Charter
|This index was last updated: 2021.11
Rules Clarification : Gang and/or Gang Fighter and/or Tag Team and/or Team Effort (Edit)
- You can gain the Gang bonus on free strikes, but generally only the first "Ganger" will get it.
- For example, if a target is engaged by two models with Gang, when it leaves the melee range of the first Ganger it suffers a free strike with the Gang bonus. Then it leaves the melee range of the second and suffers a normal free strike.
Rules Clarification : Shanghai (Edit)
- There is no upper limit on how many models you add via the Shanghai ability. (Locked thread)
Return/Add to Play - Typical (Edit)
- If you're returning/adding multiple models simultaneously, they are placed sequentially. Often this will let you leapfrog the "within 3" of [x]" requirement.
- If you're adding models to a unit, then typically there is no limit and you can go over the unit's starting size. However, some abilities do have a limit (such as Stir the Dead)
If you're returning models to a unit, then you're limited by how many there are in the "dead but not removed from play" pile.
(See Add, Return, and Remove From Play for further detail.)
- If you're adding more models than you started with, then in a Tournament you must physically own the correct models - proxies are not allowed in tournaments. (Locked thread)
Return/Add to Play - Other Units (Edit)
"Return to Play" and "Add to Play" are quite simple if you only return models to your own unit (like Blood-Bound
) or only return independent models (like Thagrosh1
's feat). But if you're returning/adding models to other
units, then click to read more. [Show/Hide]
- If you can return multiple troopers at once, they don't all have to be the same unit. Spread the love around.
- Troopers must return to their original unit. Even if you have two units of the same type (such as two units of Convergence Eradicators) then you can't have 4 die from unit [A] and return them all to unit [B].
- If your rule is something like "return d3 models to units within CMD range" (Old Witch3) then it is d3 models total, not d3 models to each and every unit.
- If your rule is something like "spend 1 soul to return 1 Grunt" (Enigma Foundry) then it doesn't matter where the souls came from originally. Think of them like currency, in this case.
- You can Return models even after a unit is reduced to just Attachments (Weapon or Command)
- If your Return ability lets you return a Leader or Officer model, then they will immediately become the unit commander and redefine the "in formation" bubble.
- If your Return ability only allows Grunts, then the Grunt will not be field promoted when he arrives.
This means that, in the unusual scenario where the Leader model has different wargear to the Grunts (such as Cygnar Stormguard), then that wargear is effectively 'lost'.
Rules Clarification : Seduction (Edit)
- Seduction does not target so does not require LOS. You can even take control of someone in your rear arc.
- Seduction does not require an attack roll.
- Seduction Spell only
- When Seduction is listed under Magic Ability, it is a spell so follows all the rules that interact with spells (such as Spell Vortex & Arcane Consumption).
- However, since it doesn't target anyone, it can get around some anti-spell stuff (such as Spell Ward).
Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit) [Show/Hide]
- Several abilities start with the sentence "Take control of a model" then a full stop, then a bunch of stuff you can do with that model. You can't uncouple the first sentence from the rest of the "do stuff" sentence(s), in other words if you want to "do stuff" then you have to "Take control". (Infernal Ruling)
- Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
- This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
- If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
- The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
- You can use abilities on the controlled model, as long as they're not restricted to "during its activation" or "during its Combat Action". For example, you can use Mental Force. (Infernal Ruling)
- Buffs and effects:
- The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any "while within" (aura) buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
- If the controlled model has already been hit by a "currently within" (pulse) debuff, then it will keep that debuff while under your control. Even if that pulse only affected enemy models (such as Deneghra1's feat) - temporarily changing who is friendly/enemy doesn't change who was/wasn't affected by the pulse.
- If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
- Theme abilities:
- If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, it keeps the theme ability. (Infernal Ruling)
- You can advance a model into an area and force them to take damage (like an acid cloud, or a Razor Wall template), but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of said area to inflict infinite damage.
- The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
- Many "Take Control" abilities allow a basic melee attack. Some allow a basic attack. Gunfighters cannot make a ranged attack unless they're allowed the later.
- Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
- With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
- As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
- It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
- Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
- Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
- You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
- It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
- Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
- Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
- A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
- Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
- If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel! (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Officer (Edit)
- Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
- When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
- But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment (Edit)
- Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)
Rules Clarification : Ambush (Edit)
- If you attach a WA or CA to this unit, and the attachment doesn't have Ambush, then they all get to Ambush anyway. (Locked Thread)
- Ambush and Apparition both occur at Step 5 of the Control Phase. However, Ambush specifies the "end" of the Control Phase so you cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)
- Declaring Ambush:
- Choosing whether a unit deploys normally or ambushes needs to happen before deployment.
- So it goes: do the starting roll, Player 2 chooses sides, Player 1 declares Ambushes (if any), then Player 2 declares Ambushes (if any), then Player 1 starts deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you have both Prey and Ambush, then you declare your Prey target at the normal time (even though the Prey-er isn't currently on the table). (Infernal Ruling)