Praetorian Karax

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Skorne Logo.jpg

Praetorian Karax
Praetorian Unit
Officer & Standard
Command Attachment

The proud Karax form imposing phalanxes of interlocking shields to impale closing enemies, sweep aside all incoming blows, and protect themselves, and those behind them, from explosive blasts. Endless training in unit tactics removes all trace of individual initiative and allows Karax to advance resolutely into even of the most earth-shuddering artillery barrage as shrapnel and fire wash harmlessly over their shields.

In battle, a force of karax under a strong officer's command becomes an unbreakable wall of steel acting in perfect tandem to strike swiftly and directly. Skorne tyrants understand that a phalanx of karax at the fore of their cohort can mean the difference between magnificent victory and ignominious defeat.

Basic Info

Praetorian Karax
Missing Info
Praetorian Karax.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 6
STR 6
MAT 5
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 15
CMD 8
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10 +2CA
COST 7 / 11 +4CA
1.2 each
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Everyone
    • Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
    • Girded - This model and friendly models B2B with it do not suffer blast damage.
    • Set Defense - A model in this model's front arc suffers -2 on charge, slam power attack, and impact attack rolls against this model.
    • Shield Wall (Order) - Until the start of their next activation, each affected model gains +4 ARM while B2B with another affected model in its unit. This bonus does not apply to damage originating in the model's back arc. Models in this unit can begin the game affected by Shield Wall.
  • Officer
    • He has +1 MAT and 5 hitpoints
    • Iron Zeal (Minifeat) - Once per game, for one round the unit gains +3 ARM and cannot become stationary or knocked down. Models lose the bonus while out of formation.
    • Tactics: Practiced Maneuvers - Models in this unit gain Practiced Maneuvers. (Practiced Maneuvers - Each model in this unit can ignore other models in this unit when determining LOS and can advance through them if it has enough movement to move completely past them.)
  • Standard
    • He doesn't have CMA
    • Standard Bearer - While this model is within 5" of the unit commander, the unit commander gains +2 CMD.
    • Take Up - If this model is destroyed, you can choose a Grunt in this unit within 1" of it to be destroyed instead. Effects on this model expire, and it gains the effects on the chosen Grunt. Remove the Grunt from the table instead of this model. This model has the same number of unmarked damage boxes as the chosen Grunt.

Weapons

  • Leader, Grunts, and Officer
    • Pike - 2" reach, POW 4, P+S 10 melee weapon
  • Standard Bearer
    • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Praetorian Karax

Command Attachment

Praetorian Karax in a nutshell

Praetorian Karax are an extremely cheap and fairly durable unit. They are pretty good at surviving charges thanks to set defense. Blast damage doesn't hurt them. In shield wall most anti-infantry shooting doesn't worry them (in addition to their blast damage immunity) and most infantry attacks bounce off. For their cost they take an exceptional amount of work to put down.

The Officer & Standard Bearer in a nutshell

The officer and standard bearer trade the major virtue of being possibly the joint cheapest non-Cryxian combat unit in the game for a turn either of exceptional ARM (meaning they take even fewer casualties) or of running and spreading out at higher ARM than most anti-infantry attacks can deal with. One virtue or the other. Generally consensus seems to be that Karax are cheap enough you want extra Karax.

Combos & Synergies

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Very weak melee attacks for a combat unit. It's all in the defense.
  • Smart enemies will often just walk out of melee with them.
  • It's generally not worth going for a turn of Iron Zeal; if you're that worried about extra ARM, rather than the UA you probably want to protect everyone with the only slightly more expensive Agonizer

Tricks & Tips

  • You can choose to run rather than shield wall.
  • Against some enemies spreading out the Karax and putting them base to base with your other models makes blasts bounce off.
  • Shield walls are best in three person arrowhead formations so they have to kill two to get at the undefended one.
  • If you're expecting to take a charge you may want to simply spread out; boosted damage from almost anyone will kill Karax (assuming they don't have Iron Zeal up)
  • practiced maneuvers is good, makes them surprisingly effective vs weaker targets ( very easy to get lots of cmas on a solo or two ).
  • try hiding a unit of venator slingers behind them in b2b- much safer than usual.


Other

Trivia

  • The Praetorian units are named after the ancient Roman "Praetoriani" the elite of the elite of Roman legionaries meant to guard the most important military leaders. Obviously Privateer Press isn't that worried about units being like their real world inspirations on the tabletop.
  • Released in Hordes: Evolution (2007)

Other Skorne models

Skorne Logo.jpg       Skorne Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Hexeris1 - Hexeris2 - Jalaam1 - Rasheth1 - Makeda1 - Makeda2 - Makeda3 - Mordikaar1 - Morghoul1 - Morghoul2 - Morghoul3 - Naaresh1 - Xekaar1 - Xerxis1 - Xerxis2 - Zaal1 - Zaal2 - Zaadesh2
Lessers & Attachments Aptimus Marketh (Warlock attachment) - Zaadesh1 (Lesser Warlock)
Lesser Lesser Warbeasts: Agonizer - Aradus Scarab - Reptile Hounds
Light Basilisk Drake - Basilisk Krea - Cyclops Brute - Cyclops Raider - Cyclops Savage - Cyclops Shaman - Razor Worm
Heavy Aradus Sentinel - Aradus Soldier - Archidon - Bronzeback Titan - Rhinodon - Titan Cannoneer - Titan Gladiator - Titan Sentry
Chiron - Despoiler - Molik Karn - Tiberion
Gargantuans Desert Hydra - Mammoth
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Cataphract Arcuarii - Cataphract Cetrati - Cataphract Incindiarii - Immortals - Legends of Halaak - Nihilators - Paingiver Beast Handlers - Paingiver Bloodrunners - Praetorian Ferox - Praetorian Karax - Praetorian Keltarii - Praetorian Swordsmen - Tyrant Commander & Standard Bearer - Venator Catapult Crew - Venator Flayer Cannon Crew - Venator Reivers - Venator Slingers

Solos

Abidan the Keeper - Ancestral Guardian - Aptimus Marketh - Extoller Novitiate - Extoller Soulward - Hakaar the Destroyer - Immortal Vessel - Mortitheurge Willbreaker - Paingiver Bloodrunner Master Tormentor - Paingiver Task Master - Tyrant Rhadeim - Venator Dakar - Void Spirit - Zaadesh1

Battle Engines Siege Animantarax - Supreme Guardian
Theme Forces
Disciples of Agony - Masters of War - The Exalted - Winds of Death
Minions
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Skorne Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.09

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as intervening terrain) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, or two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.

Rules Clarification : Girded - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Set Defense - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield Wall      (Edit)

  • You don't need to have the entire unit in B2B to get the bonus. Even just two models in B2B will give it to each other. Which way they're facing doesn't matter, either.
  • You can still get Shield Wall while knocked down.
  • Shield Wall works against all damage except damage originating in your back arc.
    • If a damage roll doesn't have an origin point (such as Scather, Old Witch1's feat, continuous fire, etc) then by definition it can't originate in your back arc, and you'll get your bonus vs it.
    • It won't work vs stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
  • If you start the game in Shield Wall, it will expire when you activate the unit. It doesn't let you run and be in Shield Wall on turn 1.
  • Since models move in straight lines, it impossible to keep two models B2B while advancing. Thus you cannot benefit from Shield Wall while moving through acid clouds etc.
    • Unless you have something that lets you move through models, like Tactician.
  • Orders affect unit attachments, even if that attachment doesn't have the order on their card (such as a Soulless Escort benefiting from the Shield Wall order). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You get your Shield Wall bonus vs continuous fire in the Maintenance Phase. Shield Wall doesn't expire until the unit activates. (Locked thread)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Iron Zeal      (Edit)

  • Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)         [Show/Hide]
    • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. Before any compulsory forfeiture of movement/action. See step 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    2. After the model with the "Any Time" ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolved something which includes the phrase "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    3. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    5. When you're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    6. When you're in the middle of an attack. Which also includes effects that occur "after the attack is resolved".
      (Although the attack is "resolved" at Step 11, in terms of using an "Any Time" ability the attack is not "finished" until after Step 14. Refer to the first paragraph of Apdx A.)
    7. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities (such as Countercharge).
    8. Units: See below.

    • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
    • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)

    Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • You cannot use an "Any Time" ability before issuing/receiving orders. See step 1 and 2 of the activation sequence, appendix A.
    • A model in a unit can't use an "Any Time" ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
      Because doing one of those things makes that specific model's activation to end (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.

Rules Clarification : Practiced Maneuvers - None yet. (Edit)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Standard Bearer      (Edit)

  • If the Officer dies, the Standard Bearer can give the CMD bonus to the Leader model.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Take Up      (Edit)

  • The model taken off the table is effectively killed by Take Up, not the original attack, so it will stop abilities like Berserk and Killing Spree. (Locked thread)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here