The trollkin are never closer to their goddess Dhunia than when walking beside the shamans and runeshapers who work their magic through the will of the Great Mother. Drawing upon their deep connection to earth and stone, trollkin mystics shape the battlefield to their will and manipulate the arcane might flowing through their very veins to mobilize a great number of true trolls lured by the power of the goddess. This close connection passes to the mighty trolls who accompany the trollkin. The touch of Dhunia soothes the trolls’ minds and keeps their hunger for flesh in check as it suffuses their bodies with her bountiful powers of regeneration.
- For the core rules on how Theme Forces work, see this article.
An army made using the Power of Dhunia theme force can include only the following Trollblood models:
Full model list
The models allowed in Power of Dhunia
This list was last updated: 2021.10 (Edit)
- All non-character Trollblood warbeasts
- Mulg the Ancient
- Other character warbeasts can be taken, but only if they have a bond and they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.
- Up to one Minion solo
- Up to one Minion unit
You can spend each Requisition Point on either:
- One Dhunian Knot unit
- Five Troll Whelp solos
- One other Small- or medium-based Trollblood solo with a point cost of 5 or less
- Trollkin Runeshaper units become FA:U
- When a living warbeast in is forced to use its animus while in its controller’s control range, reduce the COST of the animus by 1.
- Friendly models/units can begin the game affected by the upkeep spells of models in this army.
- These spells and their targets must be declared before either player deploys their models.
- Warlocks in this army do not have to pay to upkeep their spells during your first turn of the game.
- Due to the wording lesser warlocks can start with their upkeeps in play, but still need to pay to upkeep them (this is possibly a typo in the spoiler)
2021.10 - Madrak0 released
2021.10 Mega Update
- Free solo must now cost 5 points or less
Thoughts on Power of Dhunia
Power of Dhunia in a Nutshell
This is the Trollblood warbeast theme. Just warbeasts their standard support options & Runeshapers thrown in for good measure.
If you are playing Power of Dhunia you are pretty much accepting that your enemy will outnumber you. The theme also contains a lot of non combatants like whelps, Stone scribes and the Dhunian Knot so its easy to cause support bloat.
On the flip side with all animi costing 1 less your beasts can do that much more to cover your low model count and lack of combat units. The Pyre Troll, Slag Troll & Dire Troll Mauler are the main damage multipliers and taking at least 2 of the 3 is often recommended to abuse their 1 cost support animi.
Boomhowler3 is regularly taken in the minion slot as his fell calls are a great speed modifier for you beasts.
There's also a variant list that's Runeshaper heavy (mostly played by mk2 players who already own the models, a holdover from them buying into a powerful mk2 theme list that allowed unlimited Runeshapers).
Lacklustre unit options
- Power of Dhunia does not have much in the way of units; with the Dhunian Knot and the Krielstone you will seldom use them to score far away circular zones. As they can’t fulfil their support function. So the only real option are Runeshapers, but they are decidedly average units unless spammed and backed up by a swat of support, so they don't fill the throwaway chaff roles in the same way, say, Wolves of Orboros or Press Gangers are, and they certainly aren't elite units like Kayazy Eliminators are. The best remedy for this is using minion units like Boomhowler1, Farrow Valkyries or Swamp Gobber Bellows Crews, but you'll only ever get one.
In Faction Competition
- The main draw of this theme is that you get cheaper animi and all your support is in 1 place, but for players willing to forgo the Runebearer & Troll Whelps, you have Vengeance of Dhunia, a theme with a wider range of beasts and unit options, with 1 free animus cast per turn as a theme benefit.
For your Requisition slots you are most likely starting with your 2 most expensive options a Dhunian Knot unit and a Dhunian Archon, then depending on your warlock and play style you are probably reaching for a Runebearer or a group of 5 Troll Whelps.
For warlocks who lack an innate damage buff Horgle1 allows another cast of a Pyre or Slag Troll animus - which can remove some of the burden on your caster (as they still need to pay full price for casting an animus)
- Doomshaper2 still really likes this theme, he doesn’t have enough upkeeps for the Storm of the North benefit to be that interesting and his Attuned spirit doesn’t stack with the Vengeance of Dhunia benefit.
If you want to try the infamous Runeshaper spam list, consider bringing 5 of them, to have enough bodies for the strategy to work. Back them up with Janissa, the Hermit, two Dhunian Archons and most importantly: Swamp Shamblers as cheap throwaway bodies, which trigger the healing ability of the Archons and make more of themselves when Shapers die.
- Grissel1 traditionally ran this list the best, as Calamity makes the Shapers hit hard, and Boundless Charge and Guardian Protector make Mulg a real threat, plus she can do all kinds of shinanagence with her Fell Calls.
Starting a 25 point Brawl list
In 2021.03 Phillip Melvin, one of the LOS authors, put together this list for the Brawlmachine format. He even wrote about it's playstyle and expanding it beyond 25 points, which you can read here.
- Ragnor Skysplitter, the Runemaster: [+30 WBP]
- Dhunian Archon: [Free] (6 pts)
- Janissa Stonetide: [4 pts]
- Troll Whelp: [1 pt]
- Swamp Gobber Chef: [1 pt]
- Trollkin Runeshapers: [8 pts]
- Krielstone Bearer & Stone Scribes (Min unit): [5 pts]
- Stone Scribe Elder: [3 pts]
Total RRP: USD $273 (based on PP's online store prices 2021.06)
For more Brawlmachine list ideas, see Category: Brawl List
Power of Dhunia suits any caster who wants a large battlegroup, but doesn’t have spare fury to throw around animi, all of the forms of Doomshaper are good example of this type of caster. Free upkeeps turn 1 can also be useful for casters like Jarl Skuld and Horgle2 - even if both of them prefer Storm of the North.
The infantry options are mostly self sufficient and are too small to dedicate spells to. Calandra1 generally improves every list with dice skew but she has the volume of fury to make this theme work while passively offering unit protection from star crossed.
One of the earliest themes officially released (2016.12)
Other Trollblood models/themes
Rules Clarification : Serenity (Edit)
- Each model with Serenity can pick one warbeast to remove fury from, that is within range of the ability. They may pick the same or different warbeasts.
So, for example, a warbeast with 4 Serenity models around it can have 4 fury removed from it. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Themes that change a model's Faction [Show/Hide]
- Many themes swap which Faction a model counts as. They're slightly inconsistent with how exactly this is worded. Despite this inconsistency - whenever a model is considered a different faction to normal, it will not be its original faction. (Infernal Ruling)
- For instance Lukas stops being a Crucible Guard model when taken in an Infernal army, and as a consequence he cannot take Toros or Vanguards in Infernals. (Infernal Ruling)
Rerolling the starting roll [Show/Hide]
- You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
- If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
- If the original loser still loses, fine.
- If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
- If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds [Show/Hide]
- A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
- This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Number of Mercenaries
- If your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- See also the section on Partisans
Including Partisan Mercenaries [Show/Hide]
Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)
- Partisans are Mercenary/Minion models, so there are two ways you can add them to a theme force:
- Freely: If the Partisan is on the list of allowed models, then you can take as many as you want plus another Mercenary unit/solo. (Infernal Ruling)
- They can be explicitly allowed (for example Jaws of the Wolf allows "Kayazy models/units" so Partisan Kayayz can be used freely).
- They can be implicitly allowed (for example Scourge of the Broken Coast allows "living Cryx models/units" and Partisan Cephalyx fit that criteria, so they can be used freely). (Infernal Ruling)
- Limited: If the Partisan isn't on the list of allowed models, it does use up your "Up to one Mercenary/Minion" slot, so you can only have the one.
- Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so:
- They can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description).
- For example Lanyssa can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- They will get any theme benefit that they fit the description for.
- For example Storm Division gives all Cygnar models Immunity Electricity, so Partisan Mercs in that theme get immunity too.
- For example Nemo4's Mechaniks get Reposition  in Heavy Metal. (Infernal Ruling)
Requisition Points [Show/Hide]
- You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
- You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
- If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
- Models with the Man-Sized rule count as small-based models for the purposes of being a Requistion Option. (Locked Thread)
Free models and Specialists (ADR) [Show/Hide]
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments [Show/Hide]
- If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
- If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
- If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a Requistion Option, you can spread them into different units. (Locked Thread)
- A non-character unit with a character attachment (i.e. Captain Karli) still counts as a non-character unit. (Infernal Ruling)
When to apply theme benefits [Show/Hide]
- With reference to special abilities that themes give to models, Ranking Officers, adding new models, and/or taking control of models:
- Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list or put a new model into play. A model already in play will not lose or gain any theme benefits mid-game based on any changes of faction status or otherwise. (Infernal Ruling)
- However, if the theme gives a benefit to models "at the beginning of the game" (such as Devourer's Host letting models begin the game with 1 corpse token) then this benefit does not apply to new models that are put into play mid-game. (Locked Thread)
- Example 1: Sons of the Tempest says "ATGM units in this army gain Pistoleer". If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Pistoleer while under their control even though it's currently not "in the army".
- Example 2: Storm Division gives Immunity:Electricity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.
- Example 3: Stange Bedfellows gives solos Swift Vengeance. If Nemo4 creates a new solo mid-game, that solo will have Swift Vengeance.
See also these Theme-Specific Rulings [Show/Hide]
Rules Clarification : Black Industries (Edit)
- The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models". Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
- The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Creator's Might (Edit)
- Elias Gade is allowed in Creator's Might. (Infernal Ruling)
- You can spend the "Two Vassal solos" requistion option on one Vassal Mechanik and one Vassal of Menoth. Warroom has a bug and tells you that you can't. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Flame in the Darkness (Edit)
- You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
- Morrowan Battle Priest:
- If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
- If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
- If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Bones of Orboros (Edit)
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : The Devourer's Host (Edit)
- Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
- If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : The Wild Hunt (Edit)
- The animus benefit doesn't apply to enemy warbeasts. (Infernal Ruling)
- The animus benefit doesn't stack with the Druid Wilder's Herding ability. (Infernal Ruling)
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
Rules Clarification : The Exalted (Edit)
- If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Band of Heroes (Edit)
- Boomhowler2 uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)
- Boomhowler3 does not use up your minion slot on account of having the Champion keyword.
Rules Clarification : Magnum Opus (Edit)
- If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)