Theme - Power of Dhunia

From LOS Warmachine University
(Redirected from Power of Dhunia)
Jump to: navigation, search
Trollblood Logo.jpg Theme - Power of Dhunia

Trollblood Theme Force
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North

The trollkin are never closer to their goddess Dhunia than when walking beside the shamans and runeshapers who work their magic through the will of the Great Mother. Drawing upon their deep connection to earth and stone, trollkin mystics shape the battlefield to their will and manipulate the arcane might flowing through their very veins to mobilize a great number of true trolls lured by the power of the goddess. This close connection passes to the mighty trolls who accompany the trollkin. The touch of Dhunia soothes the trolls’ minds and keeps their hunger for flesh in check as it suffuses their bodies with her bountiful powers of regeneration.

Theme Rules - Remix

CID icon.jpg

Rules subject to change - 2019 Theme Remix
All existing theme forces are changing from the "free cards" system into a new "Requistion Points" system. There will be an interim period between the end of 2019.07 to mid 2019.09 where players can use whichever system they prefer.

The Remixed version became officially available on the 26th July.

Theme Restrictions

An army made using the Power of Dhunia theme force can include only the following Trollblood models:

  • This army can also include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for the Trollbloods.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Trollblood] rule.
    • Minion units can have non-Ranking Officer attachments

Full model list

The models allowed in Power of Dhunia are:   [Show/Hide]

This list was last updated: 2019.07   (Edit)

Warlocks

  • All Trollblood warlocks

Warbeasts

  • All non-character Trollblood warbeasts
  • Mulg the Ancient
  • Other character warbeasts can be taken, but only if they have a bond and they're in their bonded model's battlegroup.

Units

Solos

Minions

  • Up to one solo
  • Up to one unit

Requisition Points

You can spend each Requisition Point on either:

Theme Bonuses

  1. Trollkin Runeshaper units become FA:U
  2. Dhunian Knot units gain Serenity.
    Serenity - At the beginning of your Control Phase, before leeching, you can remove 1 fury point from a friendly Faction warbeast within 1" of this model.
  3. Friendly models/units can begin the game affected by the upkeep spells of models in this army.
    These spells and their targets must be declared before either player deploys their models.
    Warlocks in this army do not have to pay to upkeep their spells during your first turn of the game.
    Due to the wording lesser warlocks can start with their upkeeps in play, but still need to pay to upkeep them (this is possibly a typo in the spoiler)

Recent Changes

2019.07 Theme Remix

  • Game-wide Remix changes
  • Dhunian Archon added to the list of allowed models
  • Dhunian Knot added to the freebies.
  • The benefits all stayed the same.

Theme Rules - Old Version

Old Restrictions   [Show/Hide]

An army made using the Power of Dhunia theme force can include only the following Trollblood models:

Old Bonuses   [Show/Hide]
  1. This army can also include one Minion solo and one Minion unit that will work for Trollbloods.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Trollblood] rule.
    • Minion units can have attachments, including a Ranking Officer
  2. For every 25 points spent on warbeasts in this army, you can add free of cost either:
  3. Friendly models/units can begin the game affected by the upkeep spells of models in this army.
    • These spells and their targets must be declared before either player deploys any models.
    • Models in this army do not have to pay to upkeep their spells during your first turn of the game.
    • This benefit applies to Lesser Warlocks as well as your normal warlock.
  4. Runeshapers become FA:U
  5. Dhunian Knot units gain Serenity.
    • Serenity - At the beginning of your Control Phase, before leeching, you can remove 1 fury point from a friendly Faction warbeast within 1" of this model.

Thoughts on Power of Dhunia

Recent Change icon.png

Recent Errata - This article needs updating
The "Basic Info" section has been updated to match a recent errata/spoiler, but the "Thoughts On" section hasn't been brushed up yet.
If you play this Faction, please delete the old irrelevant info and then delete this warning.

See also Category: Recent Change and Category: Recent Release.

Initial Thoughts on the Remix

This is one of the themes that on the surface hasn't changed, but the underlying change to Requisition Points have opened it up for new army builds and new strategies.

Previously the theme would only be used by battlegroup-focussed warlocks spamming 75 or 100 points of beasts to get 3 or 4 free solos respectively. Now it is ... well it remains to be seen if new, interesting, and competitive lists can be built in this theme.

Power of Dhunia in a Nutshell

This is the Trollblood warbeast theme. Just warbeasts and their standard support.

The core strength of Power of Dhunia is warbeasts, normally with free Troll Whelps. You simply want a big troll warbeast list and a Krielstone.

There's also a variant list that's Runeshaper heavy (mostly played by mk2 players who already own the models, a holdover from them buying into a powerful mk2 theme list that allowed unlimited Runeshapers).

Theme Weaknesses

Low model count
As a warbeast-heavy force, you may not have sufficient units/solos capable of holding zones in scenario games. Especially if the zones are spread out a bit. Try to put a couple of cheap, fast solos in your list that you can at least contest with.

Lacklustre theme benefits
Many other warbeast/warjack centric themes (and even some infantry centric themes) grant warbeasts some special abilities like Carapace, Hyper Agressive or Advance Move. PoD doesn't, instead it makes a unit thar is not that great in the first place FA:U. Serenity on the Knot is decent, but forces a squishy unit to be within 1" of your beasts, which will probably be on the frontline.

Lacklustre free options
The Rune Bearer and Whelps are great, but it ends there. Janissa or the Shaman are okay, the Chronicler is terrible and the mandatory Krielstone CA can't be taken for free at all. The lack of a good lesser warlock to further ease the fury burden hurts especially, as Horgle1 just isn't good. Also some other warbeast centric themes offer light or lesser warbeasts as free options, PoD doesn't.

List-Building Tips

Free Whelps for your trolls? Yes please! Seriously, look at any list where you planned to go warbeast heavy and then see whether the character beasts and non-beasts you'd want to use are worth three sets of free whelps (or one of the other options).

Starting a 25 point list

If you want to try this theme but are still stuck for ideas, try this. It's relatively newbie friendly.

Warlock Thoughts

Upkeep dependent casters like Jarl Skuld suddenly become able to load up the Krielstone on Turn 1, making them much more viable in a semi-brick. This helps the most with Horgle who has 3 very important upkeeps. Since he usually plays some shooting beasts in his army, to burn things from afar with his Firestarter (i.e. a Bomber) and possibly Mulg with fury on him to let him use Arcane Vortex, the serenity on the Dhunian Knot is crucial for fury management.

Other

Trivia

One of the earliest themes officially released (2016.12)

Other Trollblood models/themes

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor
Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dannon Blythe & Bull - Greygore Boomhowler & Co. (1) - Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Sons of Bragg - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - T Champions - T Fennblades - T Highwaymen - T Long Riders - T Runeshapers - T Scouts - T Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer

Solos

Boomhowler, Solo Artist (2) - Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Ledfoot & Tredz - Northkin Shaman - Pyg Tank - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2019.08

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Serenity      (Edit)

  • Each model with Serenity can pick one warbeast to remove fury from, that is within range of the ability. They may pick the same or different warbeasts.
    So, for example, a warbeast with 4 Serenity models around it can have 4 fury removed from it. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)

Rerolling the starting roll   [Show/Hide]
  • You cannot use the theme benefit to reroll if it is a draw. Instead both players reroll until there is a loser, and then the loser can use their reroll benefit (if they have it). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If both players have a reroll, first the original loser uses their reroll.
    • If the original loser still loses, fine.
    • If the original loser now wins, the other player can use their reroll.
    • If it is now a draw, both players reroll until there is a loser. Then the player that hasn't used their theme benefit reroll can still use it, if they want.
Warjacks/Warbeasts with bonds   [Show/Hide]
  • A warjack/warbeast with a bond can always be included in a theme force, whether or not they're in the list of allowed models, but only if they're controlled by that bonded model.
  • This applies even if that bonded model isn't a full warcaster/warlock (changed as of 2018.06).
Including Mercenaries   [Show/Hide]

Number of Mercenaries

  • If your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to not only take one Merc solo/unit, but the entire FA of that Merc solo/unit. It's a bug.

Partisans & Theme Forces (Edit)

  1. If the theme force has the Partisan model on the list of allowed models, then it doesn't use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and so you can take the full FA plus another mercenary. Example: Cephalyx in Black Industries or Kayazy in Jaws of the Wolf. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. If the Partisan isn't on the list, it does use up your "Up to one mercenary" slot, and you can only take one. (There is a known bug in Warroom that allows you to take the full FA.)
  • Whether you used option 1 or 2 above, once they're in your theme force they count as a Faction model and so can be taken as a Requistion Option (if they fit the Requistion description). For instance, Eiryss1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Quasi-Partisans

  • Some themes include a benefit that says "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model instead of a Mercenary model". For example Greygore in Kriel Company.
    In this case, the mercenary model has effectively gained Partisan and is subject to the FA limits described above. To reiterate:
    • If that Merc is in the list of allowed models allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as Order of Illumination Resolutes in Heavy Metal), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
Requisition Points   [Show/Hide]
  • You can choose the same Requisition option as many times as you like, as long as it doesn't put you over a FA limit.
  • You can't mix and match models from different options. Say one option allows 3 Machine Wraiths and another allows 3 Necrotechs. You can't use your Requisition Point to get 2 Wraiths and 1 Necrotech.
  • If you have an option that allows one other solo, you can't use it to get something already on the list. For instance, Ghost Fleet allows 3 Misery Cages (which are FA 4) for one Requistion Point, and it allows 1 other solo. That "other solo" can't be a 4th Cage.
Free models and Specialists (ADR)    [Show/Hide]
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments   [Show/Hide]
  • If a unit is allowed in a theme, any-and-all of its attachments are allowed too. Exception: Ranking Officers are not allowed unless explicitily mentioned.
  • If the theme force gives a benefit to a specific unit, any-and-all attachments to that unit will benefit too. Even if it is a "generic" attachment like the Void Leech. (Infernal Ruling)
    For example, a Trollkin Sorcerer will gain Serenity if its attached to a Dhunian Knot unit in a Power of Dhunia theme force.
  • If your theme allows "3 weapon attachments" as a freebie, you can spread them into different units.
When to apply theme benefits   [Show/Hide]
  • Theme force benefits are applied when you construct your list and models keep the benefit for the whole game. You don't gain/lose theme benefits due to in-game changes.
    Also, if you put a new model into play midgame, they immediately gain any relevant benefits too. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, Scourge of the Broken Coast gives Dodge to "models in the army." If your opponent takes control of one of them, it keeps Dodge even though it's currently not "in the army".
    • For example, Storm Division gives lightning immunity to "Cygnar models in the army." If you include a Mercenary unit with a Ranking Officer, they will get the theme benefit and also keep it even after the Ranking Officer dies.

Cryx - Black Industries   [Show/Hide]
  • The entry which allows "Cephalyx models/units" only applies to Partisan Cephalyx. That's because the theme's rules start off with "this army can only include the following Cryx models"​. Partisan Cephalyx are the only ones that fill that condition.
  • The Cephalyx Agitator also works for Cryx and can go in Black Industries but, because it is not a Partisan, it will use up your Mercenary solo slot.
  • (Infernal Ruling)

Protectorate - The Creator's Might   [Show/Hide]

Mercenary - Flame in the Darkness   [Show/Hide]
  • You can take any number of Mercenary jacks. You can also select two additional jacks from Khador and Cygnar in any combination you like. Character warjacks with a bond don't count against this limit of 2. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows you to take two Cygnar and two Khador jacks.
  • Morrowan Battle Priest:
    • If your warcaster is a Cygnar model that makes every unit you take a Cygnar unit, and Battle Priests can be attached to any unit.
      Warroom has a known bug where it doesn't allow this interaction.
    • If your warcaster is a Mercenary or Khador model, though, the only units the Battle Priest can attach to are the Morrow ones.
    • If you attach the Battle Priest to The Devil's Shadows Mutineers then it can be returned via Blood Bound. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - Llaelese Resistance   [Show/Hide]
  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary - The Talion Charter   [Show/Hide]
  • The 3rd benefit is "Sac Pawn [Sea Dog trooper]", not just any Sea Dog. (Infernal ruling)

Circle - The Bones of Orboros   [Show/Hide]
  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Circle - The Devourer's Host   [Show/Hide]
  • Bradigus1 is not legal in this theme. The theme only allows living warbeasts, his rules only allow construct warbeasts, and you can't just 'skip' his battlegroup - you have to spend your warbeast points.
  • If you create a new model mid-game (ie with the Well of Orboros and that model can have corpse tokens, that model does not enter play with a corpse. Because it's not the beginning of the game. (Locked thread)
Circle - The Wild Hunt   [Show/Hide]
  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Skorne - The Exalted   [Show/Hide]
  • If a Construct model loses the Construct advantage mid-game, it keeps the theme benefit anyway. (Infernal Ruling)

Trollblood - Band of Heroes   [Show/Hide]
  • Boomhowler uses up your Minion slot. His Fell Calls ability is not enough to make him a "Fell Caller model/unit". (Infernal Ruling)

Crucible Guard - Magnum Opus   [Show/Hide]
  • If Mosby is attached to a Mercenary weapon crew unit, they would gain 3" reposition and would not lose it if Mosby is no longer in the unit. (Infernal Ruling)

Infernals - Hearts of Darkness   [Show/Hide]