Orsus the Chained

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Khador Logo.jpg Orsus the Chained

Khador Doom Reaver Character Solo

The most infamous warcaster to ravage the Iron Kingdoms, Khador’s Orsus Zoktavir lost his mind when Lola, his beloved battle axe, was destroyed in battle. Unable to lead, Orsus was stripped of his station and for his remaining days was sentenced to serve as one of the Empire’s notorious doom reavers—penitent criminals chained to the arcane weapons that drive them into a berserker rage in battle. With his nation in shambles, Orsus now offers his formidable combat skills to fortune hunters while secretly on a quest to recover his long-lost Lola.


Basic Info

Butcher4
Missing Info
Butcher4.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR 8
MAT 9
RAT 5
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 15
CMD 1
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 10
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 7
N/A
N/A
FA C
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock
  • Riot Quest - Although this model has rules which allow it to be played in Warmachine and Hordes, it was primarily designed for the Riot Quest game. RQ is set in an alternate timeline where the Infernals won the war. Some of the RQ models have a deliberately goofy aesthetic.

Abilities

  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Berserk - When this model destroys one or more models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved it must make one additional melee attack against another model in its melee range.
  • Blood Bath - This model cannot become knocked down. If it is hit by an enemy attack at any time except while it is advancing, after the attack is resolved this model is pushed d3" in a direction determined by the deviation template, then you can choose its facing. After pushed as a result of Blood Bath, this model can make one basic melee attack against an enemy model.
  • Carapace - This model gains +4 ARM against ranged attack damage rolls.
  • Relentless Charge - While advancing as part of a charge, a model with Relentless Charge gains Pathfinder.
  • Spell Ward - This model cannot be targeted by spells.

Weapons

  • Fell Lola - 2" reach, POW 8, P+S 16 melee attack
    • Damage Type: Magical
    • Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
    • Dispel - When this weapon hits a model/unit, upkeep spells and animi on that model/unit immediately expire.
  • Gauntlet - 0.5" reach, POW 4, P+S 12 melee attack
    • Beat Back - Immediately after a basic attack with this weapon is resolved during this model's Combat Action, the enemy model hit can be pushed 1" directly away from the attacking model. After the enemy model is pushed, the attacking model can advance up to 1" directly toward it.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Butcher4

Recent Release icon.jpg

New model - This article is a Work In Progress
This model has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Please don't delete this warning unless you (1) have played several games with the final rules (games with CID rules don't count) and (2) you've reviewed this article and it mostly(★) matches your experiences.

(★) Bearing in mind that other editors may make suggestions you don't think are the "best" but that doesn't make them "wrong". Don't delete stuff just because you disagree with it, please.
See also Category: Recent Release and Category: Recent Change.

Butcher4 in a nutshell

Good old Butcher does what Butcher does best: Wrecking face. He's an easily deliverable combat solo that will leave a dent in anything he gets his hands on, and he offers some very good utility to any Wolves of Winter theme list by bringing Dispel, so he can be put on duty to strip pesky upkeeps from enemy models or units.

Combos & Synergies

  • Sorscha1 - She makes him DEF 16 ARM 18 with 10 boxes against shooting, which is to say: Not worth shooting at. This, combined with Spell Ward, means he pretty much has to be taken down in melee.
  • Greylord Ternion - They can give him a Blizzard cloud replicating the above in theme.
  • Malakov2 - He can stealth him if you give him a cloud to stand in (Veil of Mist is also a nice movement buff) and his feat and Blood Bath both trigger at the same time, letting you choose which to resolve first (you still get both), this can set him op for some choice Throat Cutting.
  • Vlad2 - He lets him boost attack or damage rolls on his already ludicrous combat profile with Arcane Might.
  • The Koldun Lord and Void Archon are in theme damage buffs that make him hit as hard as a heavy warjack, on top of him being a Weapon Master.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • Blood Bath can be used against you, since all you need to do to trigger it is hitting him; if he staggers forward, charge him, if he staggers backwards he might be out of threat range on his next activation. DEF buffs and threat range extenders thus go a long way for him. It can also be used to have him wander of a flag.
  • Spell Ward prevents targeting by friendly spells as well, meaning buffs like Boundless Charge can't be applied to him.

Tricks & Tips

  • His Blood Bath ability has since been changed from development to now be a push instead of advance so he does not cause free strikes against himself.


Other

Trivia

  • Released 2019.10

Other Khador models

Khador Logo.jpg       Khador Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warcasters

Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Sorscha3 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2

Warcaster attachments

Khador: War Dog - Greylord Adjunct
Mercenary: Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr

Other Warjack Controllers

"Junior" Warcasters: Malakov1 - Sorscha0
'Jack Marshals: Man-o-War Kovnik - Greylord Forge Seer

Heavy Warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood - MOW Atanas & Standard
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos

Greylord Adjunct - Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - MOW Strike Tanker - MOW Suppresion Tanker - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Sofya - Sorscha0 - Yuri

Battle Engines Gun Carriage - Man-o-War Siege Chariot - Man-o-War Assault Chariot
Theme Forces
Armored Korps - Flame in the Darkness - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Warriors of the Old Faith - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter
Mercenaries
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Khador Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2019.08

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Berserk     (Edit)

  • Berserk grants an additional attack which by definition can only occur during your Combat Action. Therefore Berserk doesn't work on free strikes, impact attacks, etc.
  • If Berserk triggers at the same time as another "attack generating" ability (such as Black Spot), Berserk means you must make an attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words you can't say "I trigger both Berserk and Black Spot, I choose Black Spot, Black Spot is optional, so I'm not making any more attacks".
    • If your other generated-attack is a ranged attack (such as Quick Work or Kill Shot) then you can't use it. Not unless everything in melee range is dead, at which point you can't resolve Berserk. (Infernal Ruling)
  • "Immediately" means you can't save it until later in your activation. Berserk must be resolved at step 14 of the attack sequence (refer Apdx A).
  • You cannot use "Any Time" abilities while resolving the original attack, the Berserk attack, or between the attacks. Refer Apdx A.
  • Berserk doesn't trigger during a frenzy. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Berserk will not trigger if the target uses an ability to move the damage to another model (such as a warlock transfer).
    • But it will trigger if they use an ability to move the attack to a different model (such as Grim Salvation).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blood Bath     (Edit)

  • When using the deviation template, the "4" should point towards the origin of the damage. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Carapace - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Relentless Charge     (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sacred Wardand/or Spell Ward     (Edit)

  • Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dispel     (Edit)

  • Dispel can't be used versus upkeeps that are not "on" a model/unit (such as Rock Wall, Void Gate, etc), because you can't "hit" them.
  • Because Dispel causes spells to expire on a hit, it will prevent spells that trigger on a hit from triggering at all.
    • For instance, the defensive animus Spiny Growth causes any model that hits the target to suffer d3 damage. This damage will not occur if it's hit by a Dispel weapon.
  • Anti-Upkeep vs a unit (Edit)
    • If an upkeep is on a unit, then all you need to do is make it expire off any member of the unit and the spell will expire from the entire unit.
    • It doesn't matter if the target is in formation or not. (Locked thread)
    • However, if an upkeep is on a single model within a unit (such as Scything Touch) then you need to dispel it off that particular model to make it dispel. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Beat Back     (Edit)

  • You cannot use Beat Back if you destroy the target; because you can't advance towards a model that is no longer on the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You can trigger Beat Back even if the model is no longer in your melee range after the attack. For instance, if you used a Pitch to throw it away, you can still Beat it Back. (Locked thread)
  • The free advance doesn't depend on the target being pushed, but it is dependent on you trying to push them:
    • If you try to push something which Cannot Be Pushed (such as a Colossal), then it won't move and then you can advance directly towards it.
    • If you choose not to push your target, then you choose not to trigger Beat Back, so you don't get to advance.
  • Beat Back can be used to push larger models.
  • See also the clarifications on Pushes.