Obstructors

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Convergence Logo.jpg Obstructors

Convergence Unit

Having achieved the first step in their greater journey among the Convergence by having their souls installed in intricate clockwork vessels, Obstructors know neither fatigue nor pain. In battle their shields interlock through an intricate mechanism of gears to present an unbreakable steel wall to their enemies. They serve as the primary cogs around which the greater Convergence army is ordered.

SOM icon.jpg

Special Order Model
This model is no longer available through normal US distributors (as of 2018.04). Instead your local game store needs to order it through PP's Special Order Service. More info is available at PP Retailer Support As of 2019.09, PP have removed the SOS info from the Retailer Support website.

International distributors can still access the entire catalog of models.

See also the Official Press Release and/or Category: Special Order Model.

As of 2019.09, PP has removed

Basic Info

Obstructors
Missing Info
Obstructors WEB.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Medium
SPD 5
STR
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 12
ARM 14
CMD 7
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
UNIT SIZE 6 / 10
COST 7 / 11
1.1 each
N/A
FA
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
  • Shield Wall (Order) - Until the start of their next activation, each affected model gains +4 ARM while B2B with another affected model in its unit. This bonus does not apply to damage originating in the model's back arc. Models in this unit can begin the game affected by Shield Wall.
  • Soul Vessel - This model generates soul tokens as if it were a living model.

Weapons

Command Attachment

They can have a Transverse Enumerator. His info has been omitted for brevity.

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Obstructors

Obstructors in a nutshell

Cheap Shield Wall infantry, Obstructors are Cyriss' meat(or cog)shield, soaking up damage as they advance. They do little damage when engaging the enemy, but that's not what they are there for.

Combos & Synergies

  • Enigma Foundry : A notorious combo. Able to revive up to 3 Obstructors per turn, a single foundry can greatly increase Obstructors' survival rate, while standing safely behind the shield wall. Use this to tarpit the enemy.
  • Conservator : Obstructors are great for activating its hand of vengeance. After servitors, Obstructors are the cheapest way way to trigger Hand of Vengeance, even better if they are revived afterwards.
  • Reductors : Often used behind Obstructors shield wall, they can unjam Obstructors by firing sprays through them thanks to the clear! rule.

Casters:

  • Axis, The Harmonic Enforcer : Our melee caster can make these guys pack some punch. Even outside feat, giving them pathfinder is no joke. Tip for feat charge: single wound infantry or 5-box infantry can be dealt with by a single obstructor, 8-box infantry or light warjacks need a 2-man CMA.
  • Aurora, Numen of Aerogenesis : A secondary charger, Obstructors can gain flight, and with her spell they can boost CMA attack/damage rolls.
  • Father Lucant, The Divinity Architect : Defensive caster to use with these guys. Very often fielded, and can be supported with Positive charge to increase damage output.
  • Iron Mother Directrix : She can give them reposition 3, allowing them to move surprisingly quickly in shield wall.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • They're a special order model.
  • They're chaff infantry. Don't expect much damage from them.
  • Be mindful of AoE with effects like Puncture or Continuous Corrosion; they will wipe this unit off the board in a turn.

Tricks & Tips

  • Don't forget the chain weapon, you can clear out a shield wall unit pretty quickly. Also, when in melee with other warrior units, you may have reach on more models than your opponent.

Other

Trivia & Lore

Other Convergence models

Convergence Logo.jpg       Convergence Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup
Warcasters Aurora - Axis - Directrix - Locke - Lucant - Orion - Syntherion
Light Corollary (Attached) - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator
Heavy Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor
Colossals Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors
Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator
Solos

Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Frustum Locus - J.A.I.M.s - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector

Battle Engines Transfinite Emergence Projector & Permutation Servitors
Theme Forces Mercenaries
Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions

Eilish Garrity, the Occultist - Hermit of Henge Hold - Void Archon

This index was last updated: 2019.04

Rules Clarifications

Rules Clarification : Chain Weapon - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as intervening terrain) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, or two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield Wall      (Edit)

  • You don't need to have the entire unit in B2B to get the bonus. Even just two models in B2B will give it to each other. Which way they're facing doesn't matter, either.
  • You can still get Shield Wall while knocked down.
  • Shield Wall works against all damage except damage originating in your back arc.
    • If a damage roll doesn't have an origin point (such as Scather, Old Witch1's feat, continuous fire, etc) then by definition it can't originate in your back arc, and you'll get your bonus vs it.
    • It won't work vs stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
  • If you start the game in Shield Wall, it will expire when you activate the unit. It doesn't let you run and be in Shield Wall on turn 1.
  • Since models move in straight lines, it impossible to keep two models B2B while advancing. Thus you cannot benefit from Shield Wall while moving through acid clouds etc.
    • Unless you have something that lets you move through models, like Tactician.
  • Orders affect unit attachments, even if that attachment doesn't have the order on their card (such as a Soulless Escort benefiting from the Shield Wall order). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You get your Shield Wall bonus vs continuous fire in the Maintenance Phase. Shield Wall doesn't expire until the unit activates. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Soul Vessel      (Edit)

  • A Soul Vessel is not a living model in any way, so it will not trigger anything like Bloodthirst or Poison.
  • The only thing Soul Vessel means is that it produces a soul when it is destroyed, as if it were a living model.
    • This does lead to the odd situation where an ability that would normally RFP a living model and prevent a soul token being generated (such as Snacking) will not work vs a Soul Vessel. So the Vessel can't get snacked and will produce a soul.