Nicia, Hound of the Abyss

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
Infernal Logo.jpg Nicia, Hound of the Abyss

Infernal Solo

Mk4 icon.png
Prime
This model is available in one Prime Army, Infernals. It can also be used in the Unlimited game mode. You can view the other Mk3 models that made it into a Legacy Army at this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

With a rage utterly unfettered by the constraints of humanity, Nicia has bound herself the infernal cause. A peerless killer, she stalks the battlefield, unleashing death and misery in her wake.

Basic Info

Nicia2
Missing Info
Kezia.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Small
SPD 7
STR 5
MAT 7
RAT 7
M.A. N/A
DEF 16
ARM 12
CMD 7
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP 5
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 4
N/A
N/A
N/A
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Abilities

  • AD symbol.jpg Advance Deployment
  • Parry symbol.jpg Parry
  • Pathfinder symbol.jpg Pathfinder
  • Stealth symbol.jpg Stealth
  • Acrobatics - This model can advance through other models if it has enough movement to move completely past their bases. This model ignores intervening models when declaring its charge target.
  • Marked Soul - This model is a Marked Soul.
  • Quick Work - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved it can make one basic ranged attack.
  • Run & Gun - At the end of its activation, if this model destroyed one or more enemy models with a ranged attacks during that activation, it can make a full advance.

Weapons

Death Song
Gun icon.jpg  RNG   ROF   AOE   POW 
12 1 3 13
  • Magical dam symbol.jpg Damage Type: Magical
  • Devour Soul - When this model destroys a living enemy model with this weapon and generates a soul token, you choose which model with the Soul Taker ability gains the destroyed model’s soul, regardless of the proximity of other models. Enemy models cannot gain soul tokens from models destroyed by this weapon.
  • Luck - When attacking with this weapon, this model can reroll missed attack rolls. Each attack roll can only be rerolled once as a result of Luck.
Blade (x2)
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
0.5 3 8

Theme Forces


Thoughts on Nicia2

Nicia2 in a Nutshell

Nicia is a ranged combat solo who hunts down and executes enemy models with a vengeance. Her primary role is to provide a powerful ranged weapon that collects and distributes the Souls of her fallen foes. She is extremely difficult to pin down with her array of movement and defensive abilities, and if the enemy does manage to corner her, they're gonna taste her blades!

Combos & Synergies

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • as with all high def low arm solos wandering AOEs and basically anything that hits her will likely kill her

Tricks & Tips

  • With her impressive list of mobility abilities, she can very easily find her way into places your opponent will not like a horror to be summoned.

Other

Trivia

  • Released with the Faction release (2019.06)
  • Prior to release, PP hid the identity of Nicia2 from players. Her concept art was "unfortunatley not complete in time for CID" and she was called a completely different name (Kezia Brand, the Screaming Night). She was revealed via a "Wanted Poster" placed on Facebook in the week just before the Faction was released.

Other Infernal models

Infernal Logo.jpg       Infernal Index       (Edit)
Unique Rules : Masters, Horrors, Essence, & Summoning
Battlegroup
Infernal Masters Agathon - Omodamos - Zaateroth
Attachment (1) Lord Roget d'Vyaros
Master Infernalist Princess Regna
Lesser Foreboder Heavy Desolator - Soul Stalker - Tormentor
Light Lamenter - Shrieker Colossal Guardian of Souls - Harvester of Souls
Units, Solos, & Structures
Structures Infernal Gate
Solos

Eilish1 - Eilish2 - Great Princess Regna Gravnoy (Master Infernalist) - Hermit of Henge Hold - Lord Roget d'Vyaros (Attachment) - Lynda the Forgotten - Nicia2 - Orin1 - Saxon Orrik - Runewood2 - The Wretch - Umbral Guardian - Valin Hauke, The Fallen Knight

Units

Croe's Cutthroats - Cultist Band - Griever Swarm - Howlers

Theme Forces Mercenaries
Dark Legacy - Hearts of Darkness J.A.I.M.s

This index was last updated: 2021.07

(1) - Note that an Infernal Master Attachment is not part of the battlegroup, they are merely listed there for convenience.

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment      (Edit)

  • Sometimes you can attach a WA or CA that doesn't have AD to a unit that does have AD. If you do, the attachment effectively gains AD and they can all advance deploy together. (Locked Thread)

Rules Clarification : Parry - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • Stealth models are not invisible and you can target them - you'll just auto-miss most of the time.
  • You can target them with a charge.
  • You can target them with an AOE, have it auto-miss and scatter, luckily land on top of them anyway, and that will hit them.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Acrobatics      (Edit)

  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Marked Soul      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Quick Work      (Edit)

  • If you're still engaged in melee when Quick Work triggers, you won't be able to make the ranged attack.
  • Quick Work specifies "Combat Action" so doesn't work with Impact Attacks or out-of-activation attacks
  • Attack-Generating Abilities (Edit)
    • From the core rulebook: When a model is granted more attacks as a result of an attack it made, it gains only one. If two or more special rules would grant the model another attack as a result of making an attack, its controlling player chooses which special rule to apply.
    • If you trigger two attack-generating abilities (such as Black Spot and Kill Shot) you choose to resolve one and "lose" the other (unless you trigger it again later).
    • If you trigger two attack-generating abilities, and one of them is compulsory (such as Black Spot and Berserk), you must choose to resolve the compulsory one. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Sprint  and/or Run & Gun     (Edit)

  • You cannot use this ability after an out-of-activation attack (such as Countercharge), only during real activations. (Locked thread)
  • Run & Gun won't trigger if you RFP the model, but Sprint will.
  • End of Activation (Edit)
You cannot resolve two end-of-activation movement effects (refer to "End of Activation Movement" in the core rulebook). For EOA stuff that doesn't involve movement, though, it gets a bit more murky:
  • Some EOA abilities explicitly state your activation ends as part of resolving the ability (like Reposition), and some don't (like Refuge).
Whether it is explicit it or not, by definition an EOA ability is the last thing you can do for that activation. For instance, if you resolve Refuge and then continue your activation to cast more spells, then you have not used Refuge at the end of your activation.
You cannot do an "at any time" ability during or after triggering an EOA ability; you cannot cast spells, purchase additional attacks, use a mini-feat, etc.
  • If you start resolving an EOA movement (such as Reposition) then you cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground). Because you can't trigger it while resolving the EOA movement, and after the EOA movement your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For units: if any model in the unit starts resolving the unit's EOA movement, then no model in the unit can trigger an any-time ability. (Infernal Ruling)
  • See also the training article: LPG - End of Activation.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Devour Soul      (Edit)

  • There is no range limit to who Nicia can give the soul to. (Infernal Ruling)
  • "Regardless of proximity" soul takers (Edit)
    • The model which ignores distance doesn't always get the soul. Abilities which say you "can't" collect souls (such as Soul Ward) trump it, due to the general rule that "can't trumps can".
    • If there are multiple models that all have the "regardless of proximity" clause, then you randomise who the soul goes to. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Luck - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)