Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
99% of this website is about Mark 3 (mk3), which is the previous edition of the game (2016 to 2022). The reasons for this are explained here.

1% of the website is about Mark 4 (mk4), but only in regards to which mk3 models are useable in mk4 Prime and which are mk4 Unlimited. See Legacy Armies for more detail.
Cryx Logo.jpg Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls

Cryx Thrall Unit

Mk4 icon.png
This model has not (yet) been updated with Mk IV rules, as of 2022.11. Privateer Press have promised it will get updated ... eventually.
You can view the Mk3 models that have been updated on this page.

Note that the rest of this page is about the model's Mark III rules.

A necrosurgeon accompanies each band of mechanikally enhanced necromantic soldiers that march from one killing field to the next; this specialist among necrotechs was created to maintain thralls and craft replacements as they are destroyed.

Basic Info

Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls
Missing Info
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Surgeon / Thrall
BASE Small
MAT 5 / -
M.A. N/A
DEF 14
ARM 12
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
HP 5 / 1
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA 2
UNIT SIZE 1 Necrosurgeon 3 Stitch Thralls
Warcaster 1
the Statblock


  • Necrosurgeon
    • Officer symbol.jpg Officer
    • Undead symbol.jpg Undead
    • Body Snatcher - When a living or undead model is destroyed within 5˝ of this model or a Grunt that is in in its unit and in formation, this model gains the destroyed model’s corpse token. This model can have up to 5 corpse tokens at any time.
    • Necrosurgery (★ Action) - RNG B2B. Target friendly Faction undead model. If the model is in range, remove d6 damage points from it.
    • Ressurectionist (★ Action) - Remove up to 3 corpse tokens from this model to add to play one small-based Grunt to a friendly Thrall unit in this model's command range for each token removed. Place these Grunts in formation completely within 3" of this model. They must forfeit their Combat Action the turn they are put into play.
    • Sacrificial PawnThrall ] - When this model is directly hit by an enemy ranged attack, you can have one friendly, non-incorporeal Thrall model within 3" of it directly hit instead. That model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. The Sacrificial Pawn special rule can only trigger once per attack roll.


  • Stitch Thrall Grunts
    • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.
  • Necrosurgeon
    • Gut Splitter - 0.5" reach, POW 5, P+S 9 melee weapon

Theme Forces

Thoughts on Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls

Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls in a nutshell

You take the Necrosurgeon if you're fielding Thralls, and she greatly increases their resilience.

She also has some use as a healer.

Combos & Synergies

  • Terminus loves undead infantry spam, as his 'Shadow of Death' ability makes all the Thralls Tough, and the Necrosurgeon will add insult to injury (spam to spam).
  • Fielding Mechanithralls, the Necrosurgeon, and a Sepulcher can make your recursion mechanic extremely hard to stop.
  • Goreshade3 can use Mockery of Life to return a Grunt to play after you've collected its corpse, once again giving you two undead bodies for the price of one.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • If the entire Thrall unit is wiped out, you can't use Ressurectionist.
  • The Thralls can't do anything useful on the turn they enter play (except advance and jam, which is their best thing, anyway).
  • If you position the Necrosurgeon badly, she could be killed easily. For instance an AOE weapon that scatters onto her can kill her quite easily, and she can't trigger Sacrificial Pawn against it because it's not a direct hit.
  • The Stitch Thralls have no melee weapons, which means they can't charge nor engage enemies nor make free strikes. The best they can do (other than collect corpses) is block enemy charge lanes.
  • Sometimes you run into activation order dilemmas:
    • You want the Stitch Thralls in place to collect the enemy corpses. So you need to activate the Necrosurgeon unit first and run into position. But position them badly, and the Stitch Thralls can block the combat Thralls charges.
    • You want to run the Stitch Thralls forward to collect as many corpses as possible. But you can't use the Necrosurgeon's action and run the Stitch Thralls on the same turn. So if you're moving slowly and using your Action, you risk the Stitch Thralls not being in position to collect.
    • You want the Necrosurgeon safely hidden at the back of the Thrall swarm, but you want the Stitch Thralls out front to collect corpses when the Combat Thralls kill the enemy. This can mean the Combat Thralls block the Necrosurgeon unit moving forwards.
  • You can get around a lot of these issues by having more than one Necrosurgeon and/or more than one Thrall unit.

Tricks & Tips

  • Keep one Grunt towards the back of the table, that way your opponent can never completely wipe out the unit and can always use Necrosurgery. This is called the "insurance model".
  • If the Necrosurgeon dies, the stitch thralls can still control/contest scenario objectives or block charge lanes.
  • Be smart about where you move before using Necrosurgery - with clever positioning your newly-created Thralls can engage enemies, bypass free strikes, or even get placed on the far side of walls!
  • In a pinch, one surgeon can collect from two units of Thralls by carefully spreading out your stitch thralls.
  • The Necrosurgeon can create more Stitch Thrall Grunts in her own unit, extending her own collection area.



Other Cryx models

Cryx Logo.jpg       Cryx Index       (Edit)            
Battlegroup & Similar

Agathia - Aiakos2 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Coven - Deathjack2 - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Rahera - Scaverous - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Terminus - Venethrax

Warcaster attachments

The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Doctor Stygius (Partisan) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)

Other Warjack Controllers

Jack Marshals: Iron Lich Overseer       "Junior Warcasters": Aiakos1 - Asphyxious4 - Deneghra0


Cankerworm - Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker


Barathrum - Corruptor - Deathjack1 - Desecrator - Erebus - Harrower - Kharybdis - Inflictor - Leviathan - Malice - Nightmare - Reaper - Seether - Slayer

Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
Units, Solos, Battle Engines, & Structures

Asphyxious4 - Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Blackbane's Ghost Raiders - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Carrion Thralls - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates - Soulhunters - The Devil's Shadow Mutineers - The Withershadow Combine


Aiakos1 - Agrimony - Axiara - Bane Lord Tartarus - Bloat Thrall - BTO Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Darragh Wrathe - Doctor Stygius - Deneghra0 - Gerlak - Hellslinger - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Master Gurglepox - Misery Cage - Necrotech - Ol' Grim - Pistol Wraith - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Severa Blacktide - Soul Trapper - Warwitch Siren

Battle Engines & Structures Wraith Engine
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Cryx Mercenary
This index was last updated: 2021.11

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Body Snatcher      (Edit)

  • You can collect corpses from Brute Thralls.
  • You do not need LOS to the destroyed models.
  • If there are multiple models eligible for collecting a corpse token and you need to determine the closest, then you measure to the Necrosurgeon, not to the Stitch Thralls.
    • The Stitches don't count as "models eligible for collection" - they merely extend the range the Necrosurgeon can collect from.
  • A Stitch that dies in the same attack as a Thrall (caught in the same AOE for instance) may collect the corpse token, because the Stitch Thrall model is still on the table when both of them reach the "destroyed" stage.

Rules Clarification : Necrosurgery - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ressurectionist      (Edit)

  • You can add one Grunt to three different units, or any other combo you can think of, if you want. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The new Grunts must be placed in formation with an existing unit, you may not create a new unit.
  • Only one existing Thrall from the unit needs to be in the Necrosurgeon's CMD range, not the entire unit. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You don't need LOS to any models that you create.
  • The following is no longer true since the 2017.06 errata, but the wording is being checked by PP staff Staff comment
    • A Thrall unit with a Skarlock Commander attached is (still a Thrall unit) (not true RAW), and a valid target for Ressurectionist. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Even if every Thrall is killed, and the unit is reduced to just the Skarlock Commander, it is (still a Thrall unit) (not true RAW) and still a valid target. (Infernal Ruling)

Return/Add to Play - Typical (Edit)

  • If you're returning/adding multiple models simultaneously, they are placed sequentially. Often this will let you leapfrog the "within 3" of [x]" requirement.
  • If you're adding models to a unit, then typically there is no limit and you can go over the unit's starting size. However, some abilities do have a limit (such as Stir the Dead)
    If you're returning models to a unit, then you're limited by how many there are in the "dead but not removed from play" pile.
        (See Add, Return, and Remove From Play for further detail.)
  • If you're adding more models than you started with, then in a Tournament you must physically own the correct models - proxies are not allowed in tournaments. (Locked thread)

Return/Add to Play - Other Units (Edit)

  • "Return to Play" and "Add to Play" are quite simple if you only return models to your own unit (like Blood-Bound) or only return independent models (like Thagrosh1's feat). But if you're returning/adding models to other units, then click to read more.   [Show/Hide]
    • If you can return multiple troopers at once, they don't all have to be the same unit. Spread the love around.
    • Troopers must return to their original unit. Even if you have two units of the same type (such as two units of Convergence Eradicators) then you can't have 4 die from unit [A] and return them all to unit [B].
    • If your rule is something like "return d3 models to units within CMD range" (Old Witch3) then it is d3 models total, not d3 models to each and every unit.
    • If your rule is something like "spend 1 soul to return 1 Grunt" (Enigma Foundry) then it doesn't matter where the souls came from originally. Think of them like currency, in this case.
    • You can Return models even after a unit is reduced to just Attachments (Weapon or Command)
      • If your Return ability lets you return a Leader or Officer model, then they will immediately become the unit commander and redefine the "in formation" bubble.
      • If your Return ability only allows Grunts, then the Grunt will not be field promoted when he arrives.
        This means that, in the unusual scenario where the Leader model has different wargear to the Grunts (such as Cygnar Stormguard), then that wargear is effectively 'lost'.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

  • Sacrificial Pawn is optional.
    Grim Salvation and Sucker are not optional.
  • Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, chain attacks.
    • Spells are not basic attacks, because they are not "made with a weapon". (Infernal Ruling)
    • CRA and CMA are basic attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If a Special Attack generates an additional attack (such as Multi-Fire), the second attack will be basic and as such can have Grim Salvation used vs it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
  • None of them work vs magic attacks (spells).
    All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
  • The model the attack is transferred to is always hit, even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed (such as Stealth).
    Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than when the attack is moved. (Infernal Ruling)

From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable

  • Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model.
  • The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
  • Sprays and AOEs
    • With reference to the timing chart in Appendix A: placing a spray template down occurs at Step 3. Using Sacrificial Pawn occurs at step 6. Placing an AOE template down occurs at step 7.
      Therefore if you use Sac Pawn vs a spray, the placement of the spray template does not change. If you use Sac Pawn vs an AOE, the placement of the AOE template does change.
    • A model indirectly hit by an AOE attack cannot use Sac Pawn vs it.
    • Since a spray template doesn't move, it may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
    • When/if you shift an AOE template, the original target may be clipped by the edge of the AOE anyway (depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are).
  • Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn (Edit)
    • If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
    • This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.