Mulg the Ancient

From LOS Warmachine University
Jump to: navigation, search
We have 1356 articles and 93% are complete!   Please help review these models from 12+ months ago: (and/or the rest) (Edit)  

Trollblood Logo.jpg Mulg the Ancient

Trollblood Dire Troll Character Heavy Warbeast

As reputedly the most ancient and ferocious dire troll ever to walk Caen, Mulg has become increasingly dangerous and tenacious over the centuries. Envious of trollkin sigils of power, he ordered runes carved into the stony flesh of his back depicting his many great deeds and ancient history. Mulg can focus his inhuman rage into these runes to stifle the power of enemy beasts.

Basic Info

Mulg the Ancient
Missing Info
MulgTheAncient.jpg
COST {{{cacost}}}
UNIT SIZE {{{casize}}}
FA {{{cafa}}}
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 4
STR 13
MAT 7
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 19
CMD N/A
ESSENCE {{{essence}}}
FOCUS N/A
FURY 4 (★)
THRS 7
HP 34
F. Field N/A
WJP {{{wjp}}}
WBP {{{wbp}}}
IHP {{{ihp}}}
FA C
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 20
N/A
N/A
(★) FURY 5 with Doomshaper
Warcaster 1
COST N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good. Click here for a newbie-friendly recap, or click here for the full rules.

Abilities

  • Arcane Vortex - This model can immediately negate any spell that targets it or a model within 3" of it by spending 1 fury token. The negated spell does not take effect, but its COST remains spent.
  • Bond [ Doomshaper ] - If this model begins the game in Doomshaper's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Doomshaper, it gains +1 FURY
  • Hyper-Regeneration - Remove d3 damage points from this model at the start of each of its activations.
  • Primal Rage - Once per turn, when this model suffers damage from an enemy attack at any time except while it is advancing, after the attack is resolved it can immediately make a full advance toward the attacking model and can make one basic melee attack.
  • Relentless Charge - While advancing as part of a charge, this model gains Pathfinder.
  • Snacking - When this model boxes a living model with a melee attack, it can choose to RFP the boxed model. When it does, this model can remove d3 damage points.
Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
Mulg spends fury to use Arcane Vortex, he is not forced to use it.

Weapons

Rune Club
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
2 6 19
  • Magical dam symbol.jpg Damage Type: Magical
  • Critical Smite - On a critical hit, the model hit can be slammed d6" directly away from this model. If the model hit has a larger base than the attacking model, it is moved only half the distance rolled. The POW of collateral damage is equal to the STR of this model.
Big Meaty Fist
Sword icon.jpg  RNG   POW   P+S 
1 4 17

Animus

COST RNG AOE POW DUR OFF
Rites of Power

1 SELF - - Turn No
This model’s controller can channel spells through it. When a spell is channeled through it, this model immediately suffers d3 damage points. Rites of Power lasts for one turn.

Theme Forces

Recent Changes

2020.11 Vengeance of Dhunia CID

  • Points cost down to 20 (from 22)

Thoughts on Mulg the Ancient

Mulg the Ancient in a nutshell

Mulg is the Trollbloods biggest basher who neither has nor needs an animus-based damage buff. Which means that he's absolutely great if you either want just one heavy to do your hitting or you already have a Dire Troll Mauler or Rök in your army. Simple and hard hitting Mulg can do his job very effectively.

Combos & Synergies

  • Doomshaper, for the bond.
    • Doomshaper3 in particula lets him cast his animus for free thanks to the Scroll of the Call of Troqal. This means you can use Arcane Vortex to eat your own Animus and remove one fury point. With the bond Mulg is thus an effective FURY 7 warbeast.
  • Krielstone works well, as always.
  • The Troll Axer's animus gives him +2" and pathfinder, to better be able to get into the fight.
  • Boomhowler3 - Lets him Hoof it o savety after doing his job, or give him some extra speed on the charge.
  • The Hermit for Telemetry.
  • Dhunian Archons heal him and prevent damage.
  • Troll Whelps for Fury management and healing.

    Power of Dhunia combos    

Anyone can control Mulg in this theme, which opens up a few more combos. In fact, some warlocks will choose to go into Dhunia just to get access to Mulg.

  • Any warlock with spells you want to channel, Calandra, Kolgrima, Grissel1 and Ragnor love having an arc node, for example.
  • The theme benefit also lets him cast his animus for free, so as with Doomshaper3, Mulg can eat his own Animus with Arcane Vortex and basically become a FURY 5 warbeast.
  • Borka2 gives his warbeasts Counter Charge, and he likes warbeasts that have reach. Also, triggering Mulg's Crit Smite on a counter charge is amazing.
  • Dhunian Knot - Healing, puppet master and a prayer cycle.

Drawbacks & Downsides

  • He's slow.
  • Unlike his rivals, no damage buff - so no turning lights into credible threats or allied heavies into Colossal-wreckers
  • You have to accept that Arcane Vortex will sometimes mess with your fury management.
    • If you get work out of it, you may find yourself without enough to leech.
    • If your opponent doesn't start throwing spells in his direction, you may have to accept some threshold checks with too much fury on the table.

Tricks & Tips

  • Screen him. He won't get the charge off on his own merits.
  • In the Power of Dhunia theme, he can be forced for fury 5/6 times (depending on Doomshaper leading the army) each activation:
    1. Force him as normal, to max
    2. Cast your animus for free (since the theme reduces it from COST 1 to zero)
    3. Spend a fury to use Arcane Vortex and cancel your own animus, dropping him down to 4 fury.
    4. Force him one last time.
    • this same trick can be used if you want Mulg to be a viable transfer target next turn.

Other

Trivia

Released in Hordes: Metamorphosis (2009)

Other Trollblood models

Trollblood Logo.jpg       Trollbloods Index       (Edit)
Battlegroup & Similar
Warlocks

Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn1 - Gunnbjorn2 - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor

Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units

Dannon Blythe & Bull - Boomhowler1 - Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Sons of Bragg - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - T Champions - T Fennblades - T Highwaymen - T Long Riders - T Runeshapers - T Scouts - T Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer

Solos

Boomhowler2 - Boomhowler3 - Braylen Wanderheart, Trollkin Outlaw - Bumbles - Dhunian Archon - Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - General 'Thunderstone' Brug - Horgle Ironstrike (1) - Horthol, Long Rider Hero - Janissa Stonetide - Ledfoot & Tredz - Northkin Shaman - Pyg Tank - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North

Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North - Vengeance of Dhunia
 
Minions that work for the Trollblooods
Refer to Who Works for Whom and/or Category: Trollblood Minion
This index was last updated: 2020.12

Rules Clarifications

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Mulg: Arcane Vortex & Power of Dhunia

  • Mulg can be forced one extra time in this theme, by casting his animus for free then using Arcane Vortex to get rid of one fury and cancel the animus. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Smite      (Edit)

  • This rule changed in Mk3 to no longer say it "adds the weapon's POW". It still does add the POW, however, because the whole section on calculating Slam damage was reworded in the main rulebook.
  • Smite is not a Power Attack Slam, it is just an attack which causes a model to be slammed. As such, you can smite friendly models.
  • You can trigger Critical Smite on a free strike.
  • If you Smite on a charge, then the slam damage will be boosted.
  • Chain Attack Smite only - Unlile the other versions of Smite, a Chain Attack one doesn't have the distance halved when a smaller base model smites a larger. The Knights Exemplar Seneschal is just that awesome.
  • See also the clarifications on being slammed
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist  (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • Throw - General ( Edit )
    • See also the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • Because you move the target model between the attack roll and the damage roll, you can get different buffs applied to the two rolls. For instance, if you throw the target in or out of a Flanking model's melee range.
  • Throw - Power Attack
    • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws. (Locked Thread)
    • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
    • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack roll vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. (Infernal Checking)
    • Even though you make a "melee attack roll" vs Model [B] you don't actually make a melee attack vs it. Also, the damage it suffers is from Collateral damage, not from the original attack. So you can't trigger stuff like Snacking from damage you did to Model B.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unlike in Mk2, in Mk3 if a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and a spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation.
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a frenzying warbeast can't reach its charge target (because the charge lane is blocked by terrain, etc) then it will make a failed charge and end its activation. (Locked thread)
  • If a frenzying warbeast has two melee weapons with the same POW, it can choose which one to use. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Arcane Vortex      (Edit)

  • Mulg spends fury to use it, he is not forced for fury. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Arcane vortex can be used to counter spells with "Range: Self". (Infernal Ruling)
  • Some spells do not have a target, mostly CTRL area spells (such as Siege's Foxhole) but also some (★ Action) (such as Ragman's Death Field). These cannot be cancelled by Arcane Vortex. Infernal Ruling)
  • The "Cost" for non-warcaster models includes stuff like "using your special action" or "killing a Mind Bender Drudge."
  • Arcane Vortex triggers at step 3 of the spellcasting sequence. (Resolve effects that occur when a model is targeted by a spell.) (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a channeled spell is cancelled, it doesn't count as being channeled, so the channeler can't trigger stuff like Reaction Drive or Spell Martyr. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There are a couple of odd spells:
    1. (Primal Shock and Essence Blast) - Both these spells "Choose" model A, then gets to "Target" model B with an attack. In this case you can trigger Arcane Vortex only when model B is targeted.
    2. (Crevasse) - This spell attacks model A, then gets to use model A to make another attack vs model B. In this case you can trigger Arcane Vortex only when model A is targeted.
(Infernal Ruling for both of the above.)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • This is true even if the caster isn't a full warcaster or warlock (this interaction changed as of 2018.06).

Rules Clarification : Hyper-Regeneration - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Primal Rage - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Relentless Charge      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Snacking      (Edit)

  • You can use Snacking to RFP your target even if you're at full health. (Locked thread)
  • Snacking occurs at boxed, and thus:
    • Doesn't prevent abilities that trigger at disabled (such as Tough, Self-Sacrifice, etc).
    • Might prevent abilities that trigger at boxed, depending on who the active player is and whose model the ability triggered on. Refer the 'Triggers' section (pg 10 of the pdf)
    • Does prevent abilties that trigger at destroyed (such as collecting soul tokens, etc)
  • You can snack friendly models.
  • You may choose where each individual point of healing goes.
  • If you kill multiple models with a single attack (such as trampling over them) then you get to heal once for each model killed.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Rites of Power      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler  and/or Arc Node     (Edit)
Channeling in melee

  • A channeler that is engaged by an enemy model can not channel.
  • A channeler that is engaging an enemy model can channel. (For example, the channeler is standing in the enemy's back arc.)

Channeler - LOS

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.

Caster - Attack roll

  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the dice roll.

Stealth - It affects both LOS and the attack roll

  • Since Stealth has both a LOS modifier (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed) things get a little complicated.
  • If only the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models and block LOS, but the caster will auto-miss models more than 5" from the channeler.
  • If only the caster ignores stealth, then only models within 5" of the channeler block LOS, but the caster won't auto-miss no matter what you target.
  • If both channeler and caster ignore Stealth, it works as you'd expect.
  • Stealth Examples     [Show/Hide]
    • Caster has Eyeless Sight, channeler does not.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model doesn't block LOS
        • Attack roll - Doesn't auto-miss
     
    • Caster hasn't got Eyeless Sight, channeler does.
      1. Stealth model is within 5" of channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
      2. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler
        • LOS - The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth.
        • Attack roll - If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as the attacker doesn't ignore Stealth.
      3. Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a model behind it.
        • LOS - The front model blocks LOS, so you can't target the rear model.
        • Attack roll - N/A